Customer Reviews for

The Demon King (Seven Realms Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 489 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(348)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Don't pass it up!!

This is really one of the best books that I have read in a long time. When I first bought it, I thought that it would be one of those books you read, then put it on a shelf in your closet and forget about it. I couldn't have been more wrong!! This book has excellent p...
This is really one of the best books that I have read in a long time. When I first bought it, I thought that it would be one of those books you read, then put it on a shelf in your closet and forget about it. I couldn't have been more wrong!! This book has excellent plot, well thought-out politics (but they don't dominate the book), beleivable characters, and just a bit of romance. It reminds me of the Farsala Trilogy. It should appeal to any fan of fantasy fiction. The only thing I regret about buying this book, is that now I'm hooked and the sequel hasn't been published yet! Whatever you do, DO NOT PASS THIS BOOK UP!!!!!!

posted by 747981 on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Obviously a second book is planned

I liked Demon King. My problem is that the story wasn't "finished" usually with this auther the book could stand on it's own for a story. This book is meant as a lead in to a series, which I understand, but it left too many loose ends to finish up later. I was disapp...
I liked Demon King. My problem is that the story wasn't "finished" usually with this auther the book could stand on it's own for a story. This book is meant as a lead in to a series, which I understand, but it left too many loose ends to finish up later. I was disappointed.

posted by breezembhm on February 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 493 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 25
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    epic fantasy for teens

    Life in the Fells hasn't been easy for Hanson Alister. He's left a life of crime behind and now is just trying to keep his mom and younger sister off the streets. While hunting in the woods one day with his friend Fire Dancer, the two come across a trio of young wizards who should not be anywhere near the mountain. Trying to make the wizards pay for their trespass, the boys take an amulet of magic from their leader, Micah Bayar, not having any idea how powerful said amulet is. But Micah's father is the High Wizard and he knows exactly how powerful the amulet is and will stop at nothing to get it back.

    As distant from Han and his troubles in the streets is Raisa ana'Marianna, Princess Heir of the Fells is struggling with her own set of problems. Even though she's only 16, he mother wants to marry her off as soon as possible, a move which Raisa can only see as bad for everyone in their country. Unlike her flighty mother the Queen, Raisa wants to take a more hands-on approach to the monarchy, but continually meets resistance at every turn. When Raisa's clandestine escape from the palace takes an unexpected detour and she ends up in the path of 'Cuffs,' her entire outlook on the city - and the criminal himself - will change.

    There are so many good things going on in the Demon King. While I really enjoyed Cinda Williams Chima's Heir series, I often found myself not completely focusing on the story at hand, but The Demon King? It shares no such flaw and is miles above it's predecessors. Fabulous world-building, flawed characters with closets stuffed full of skeletons make this an unputdownable read even though it boasts a weighty 512 pages. I will confess that it did take me a good 50 or 100 pages to really get into the rhythm of The Demon King. Perhaps it was the setup of so many characters and different cultures, but I did have a hard time at first connecting. But boy howdy, once I got Ms. Chima's groove - I was moving fast and hard through the Fells so completely caught up in the story, I was more than miffed when it ended unexpectedly. Cliff hangers!! Gah!! I don't know how to handle the wait.

    And speaking of characters, let's talk about Han for a moment: the boy is a chameleon - he's a dutiful brother and son who is trying his hardest to keep his nose out of trouble when the easiest way for him to protect and provide for his mom and sister would be to return to his life of crime in the streets. Han was fostered with the Marisa Pines clan, a group who live separate from most of the people in the Fells: full of earth magic and splendid craftsmen where everyone has a story; a past and a future. Han would like nothing more than to be a part of that structure. Then there are the silver cuffs on his wrists he's had since birth, which no blacksmith has ever been able to scratch, no less remove. And ironies of ironies is that they are one thing he could really sell for money but simply won't come off. Han's emotions are full of turmoil and you Just Know he's got a past full of secrets that will make everything understandable if only you (or he) had all the pieces. Trust me when I say I'm sticking around to find out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Yes!!

    Pick this book up now. Really though, do it. Fantasy readers everywhere will fall in love with this book, and its part of a series, so the adventure just goes on.
    I really havn't found a book that I've gotten into like this in a long time, and am now starting the thrid book in the series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    a MUST read

    I absolutely loved the characters, the setting, and basically everything about this book. The fantasy isn't too hard core, and the story has just enough magic to appeal to die hard fantasy fanatics. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Awesome

    Amazing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Induling

    The next books just get better. This is only the begginig. Come to me if u ever need to read the others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Excellent

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Awesome Read

    I saw the Review for the third book in this series in Entertainment Weekly Magazine, with high marks, so thought I'd give the series a try. Absolutely loved it! I have read all three in the series now, and was so upset that I have to wait for the fourth and final book to come out fall of 2012. The books get better and better as you move on. The characters are colorful, and have purpose. The plot has twists and turns so creative and intertwined. I recommend the entire series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Great Book

    This book is a little like Lord of the Rings meets Merlin. I finished it in 1 day.I even purchased the other books in series, I can't wait to read them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    The best book ever

    Best book series i have ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Love it

    Love this series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Love it!

    Is it just me on page 103? The lines are overlapped with some other line...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Loved it!

    I really like the author who wrote this, i have read all of her teen books. I hihgly recomend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Amazing!

    The Demon King is aan amazing book! It takes you through the lives of two kids, one a commoner, and one the princeas heir. You watch as their lives intervine, and surprising things happen. It is very hard to write a book report on, though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    The demon king book 1

    This is the type of book that makes you want to keep reading it until the end. This is agreat opener to the first three books, it is so amazing that I have already read it over ghree times. Word of advice you will defintly want to have the other books in waiting and we still have to wait anouther year for the fourth one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Great Series

    Very well written....will continue to read all this authors work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Best series ever!!!

    Read it now

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book has a decent length, a great story that leaves you on a cliffhanger wanting the next book! Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Great book

    Rassia was a great character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Page turner...

    I didn't want to put it down. At no point did I feel the story was predictable. The character development is great and pulls you in to their lives. Having read the previous Series by Williams Chima I came with expectations and she delivered. The hardest part is pacing yourself because not all the books are out yet so I don't want to be stuck waiting for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Love it!

    I really recommend reading this book the 2nd and 3rd one are even better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 493 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 25