Customer Reviews for

The Demon King (Seven Realms Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 489 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(348)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Don't pass it up!!

This is really one of the best books that I have read in a long time. When I first bought it, I thought that it would be one of those books you read, then put it on a shelf in your closet and forget about it. I couldn't have been more wrong!! This book has excellent p...
This is really one of the best books that I have read in a long time. When I first bought it, I thought that it would be one of those books you read, then put it on a shelf in your closet and forget about it. I couldn't have been more wrong!! This book has excellent plot, well thought-out politics (but they don't dominate the book), beleivable characters, and just a bit of romance. It reminds me of the Farsala Trilogy. It should appeal to any fan of fantasy fiction. The only thing I regret about buying this book, is that now I'm hooked and the sequel hasn't been published yet! Whatever you do, DO NOT PASS THIS BOOK UP!!!!!!

posted by 747981 on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Obviously a second book is planned

I liked Demon King. My problem is that the story wasn't "finished" usually with this auther the book could stand on it's own for a story. This book is meant as a lead in to a series, which I understand, but it left too many loose ends to finish up later. I was disapp...
I liked Demon King. My problem is that the story wasn't "finished" usually with this auther the book could stand on it's own for a story. This book is meant as a lead in to a series, which I understand, but it left too many loose ends to finish up later. I was disappointed.

posted by breezembhm on February 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 493 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Don't pass it up!!

    This is really one of the best books that I have read in a long time. When I first bought it, I thought that it would be one of those books you read, then put it on a shelf in your closet and forget about it. I couldn't have been more wrong!! This book has excellent plot, well thought-out politics (but they don't dominate the book), beleivable characters, and just a bit of romance. It reminds me of the Farsala Trilogy. It should appeal to any fan of fantasy fiction. The only thing I regret about buying this book, is that now I'm hooked and the sequel hasn't been published yet! Whatever you do, DO NOT PASS THIS BOOK UP!!!!!!

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    EXCELLENT!

    Cunning and deeply woven with parallel characters both of equal intrigue and complexity. Han and Raisa--each characters' story is told by alternating chapters and at the end of each of their chapters is a suspense that keeps the pages turning. Excellent read! can't wait for the next installment!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully Written, Gripping story

    When I was looking at this book I wasn't sure. Figured I'd start if and if I didn't like it could always take it back. Was I WAY OFF on that presumption. I started to read it and I couldn't put it down. This story is written well, with courts, lords, guards and princes and princesses from other realms not to mention the street dwellers of the city. I love the way Chima blends the Native Indians into this story - especially with courts and court life, very different but a great feel to the story. It tells the story from 2 main characters prespectives: Hanson Allister and Raisa ana Marianna. You go through the events that are taking place in each of their lives which are on complete opposite ends of the spectrum that will mold them into what they will become. Chima starts to slowly mesh the characters lives together. The next story I believe will pull them together in ways that will surprise us all.

    However, I did envision the cuffs that Han wears much larger then the ones that are shown on her website. I can't wait for the next book to come out. Oh why do these writters do this do us - make us wait to find out what will happen.

    This would be fantastic on the big screen.


    Bravo

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Awesome fantasy book!

    They should make a seven realms movie or tv series!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Cant wait for the rest of the series

    this book is like the other books that i have read by this author: The Warrior Heir books. it is like an echo but a very good echo. it kept me on the edge of my seat making me want to read it over and over again. it keeps the readers on their toes not knowing what is going to happen the Han and Dancer and if Amon and Raisa will get together. Or what will happen with the wizard family and Raisa's mom.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Outstanding

    A wonderful story that stays with you long after you finish the last sentence. I could not put this book down and am eagerly awaiting the last installment!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Cinda is a writing genius.

    At first I was reluctant to read this book, but boy am I glad I read it! I think it's one of my favorite books of all time. There's not a time when I got bored. Cinda Williams Chima truly is a writing Genius.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Wow

    This is such a great book if you like her other series you will like this one even more. If you call your self a reader then read this book and the next book in the series. i just finshied the 3 rd and its just as good as this one...another good series is The Heroes Of Olympus

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Cinda Chima's brilliance grows more and more with every book!

    I had previously read the Warrior Heir Series when I was in middle school and I absolutely loved them. I was hesitant on reading this book for very childish reasons but I decided to give it a chance!
    It isn't a very intense book like the Hunger Games, it was pretty predictable at times (but this may just be me), but it still made me want to read the book all the same.
    The book feels like a pretext to the entire series. Most series each book has it's own story but this one feels like it is just a part of a really really large book.
    All in all I cannot wait to start the next book in the series. I can only hope that it will be just as great as this one. But this one is a good indicator that Ms. Chima has not lost her spark!
    MUST READ.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Amazing!!

    This whole series was one of the best i have ever read!!! I love the suspense, the romance, and the adventure. This is definitly for teens and young adults. The romance between han and raisa wad very intriging. I would definatly recomend this book! The heir series is also very good. Go check it out!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A great first book in the new Seven Realms series.

    If you enjoy fantasy, I think you will truly enjoy this book. Everything about the book, plot, characters, action, interrelationships between the characters is very well done. I couldn't recommend it any more highly.

    I would also very, very highly recommend the "Heir Chronicles" ("Warrior, "Wizard" and "Dragon" Heir books).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    great read!

    this is the first book i have read by this author. But i cant waitfor the next book in the series.there book is full of suspence and action. at the end you dont know what the charecter is going to do next. which makes you want to keep reading the seriese.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Ms. Chima is my new favorite author!

    A throne in jeopardy, a lost magical lineage., and a princess with a mind of her own. This story is a wonderful beginning to an amazing trilogy! Can't wait for The Crimson Crown!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Spin6164

    Love Love Loved this book I picked this up while I was away on a business trip and immediately went and bought the other two. The characters are interesting and I love the fired queen and the thief turning over a new leaf for himself and his family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fantasy and world building done right!!!

    In this book we meet Raisa ana'Marianna a naive girl in a dangerous way, she is the next in line to become queen of the Fells and she discovers she really knows nothing about what is happening on the "queendom".
    This realisation strikes harder when her childhood friend Amon Bryne, son of the captain of the queens army, comes back home whit a new view of the world as a soldier. As a consequence she decides to battle her lack of knowledge on her people by disguising herself as a servant girl and see what life really is for the common folk, finding more than she expected to find.
    Then we have Han Alister who is an ex-thief now trying to live an honest life for his sister Mari, he now works as a delivery boy and has a great relationship with the clans. One day when he was trying to find a way to make some money he ends up hunting with his friend Fire Dancer who is clan born, they encounter some wizards that shouldn't be there and get tangled in a mess by taking away one of the wizards amulet.
    Afraid that the wizards would come back for revenge Han decides to hide the amulet for he soon discovers he has made some strong enemy's. Now he must try to stay alive while he becomes the prime suspect of killings happening to his old enemies and friends.

    This book is pure gold in the sense that you want to know about the way this world works, the story behind it and the politics that makes it all go around. Even tough both characters seem so different but this works great for the story because of their difference we get a wide view of what is going on in the Fells.
    This book is really worth your while, you get a full universe with a broad spectrum of stuff going on, you get to know about the past of this world, the story of this character and what makes them click and how they grow before your eyes. Cinda's description of the world in general makes it all come to life, and a little addicted to it, because even tough its complex its easy to understand and invites you in.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    If you like Hunger games you'll love this

    SO epic!I.Am.Obsessed. I cloudn't put it down till the wee hours of the moring and my eyes were scratching it is sooooo good. Ms.Chima had outdone herself with this series, i was unsure at first but by the second and third book couldn't put it down if i tried. Must-read for teen

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I purchased this book last week and I just could not put it down. It has it all, murder, mystery, magic, intrigue, and romance. I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joan Stradling for TeensReadToo.com

    Han Alister is a reformed thief trying to earn an honest living for his family. When he and his clan friend, Dancer, catch three young wizards setting the sacred mountain aflame, Han ends up taking an amulet from one of them. Han learns the amulet once belonged to the evil Demon King who almost destroyed the world, and the wizard Han stole the amulet from will stop at nothing to get it back.

    Han isn't the only one with problems; the princess, Raisa, has been living a life of freedom away from court and has returned after three years to discover her mother wants to marry her off. If that weren't bad enough, there's a sinister plot and strange things going on at court that threaten to ruin the queendom.

    A sweeping fantasy told through alternating points of view, Chima's tale of a world in turmoil is a page-turner the reader will be hard pressed to put down.

    I enjoyed getting to know the characters and the world, but would have liked more interaction between the two main characters. It just wasn't possible in this book, but it sets up a future where more of what I crave is a huge possibility. I can't wait to read more in THE EXILED QUEEN.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    First Novel Serves as a great teaser!

    I loved the Heir series from Ms. Chima. My opinion is that his first novel, "Demon King" started slow. However, it did an excellent job build the background of the new characters. Very complex motives and different upbringing makes the interaction between the would-be heroes and villians very intriguing. The last couple of chapters lead up to a phenomenal ending that leaves the readers longing for the next book. A bit frustrating to wait so long for the sequel(s) (not at all unreasonable, I'm just anxious for another good book from Chima).

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    One of the best books I have read.

    I am an avid Steven King and Michel Creighton reader and this story was as spell binding as either one of these. It is her best yet. I look forward to the next one. Great read. Once I started on it I could not put it down. Covers all emotions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 493 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 25