Customer Reviews for

The Demon King (Seven Realms Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 511 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(364)

4 Star

(100)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Don't pass it up!!

This is really one of the best books that I have read in a long time. When I first bought it, I thought that it would be one of those books you read, then put it on a shelf in your closet and forget about it. I couldn't have been more wrong!! This book has excellent p...
This is really one of the best books that I have read in a long time. When I first bought it, I thought that it would be one of those books you read, then put it on a shelf in your closet and forget about it. I couldn't have been more wrong!! This book has excellent plot, well thought-out politics (but they don't dominate the book), beleivable characters, and just a bit of romance. It reminds me of the Farsala Trilogy. It should appeal to any fan of fantasy fiction. The only thing I regret about buying this book, is that now I'm hooked and the sequel hasn't been published yet! Whatever you do, DO NOT PASS THIS BOOK UP!!!!!!

posted by 747981 on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Obviously a second book is planned

I liked Demon King. My problem is that the story wasn't "finished" usually with this auther the book could stand on it's own for a story. This book is meant as a lead in to a series, which I understand, but it left too many loose ends to finish up later. I was disapp...
I liked Demon King. My problem is that the story wasn't "finished" usually with this auther the book could stand on it's own for a story. This book is meant as a lead in to a series, which I understand, but it left too many loose ends to finish up later. I was disappointed.

posted by breezembhm on February 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Mixed feelings

    I first noticed the second book on the shelf of the bookstore instead of this one. I thought I should read the first book before the second one, so I bought it. The beginning was excellent! It caught my attention and made me want to know what happened next. Even though the beginning was excellent, to me the rest wasn't. The story dragged on, the plot is obvious, the ending even more so. Over all, it was a struggle to finish. I understand this book is an introduction to the characters and giving the reader a taste of whats to come, so I'm hoping in the next book there will be more action, drama, and cliffhangers. I'm still going to finish this series because I feel I'm going to miss something that is going to switch my view on the whole series.
    -R

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Obviously a second book is planned

    I liked Demon King. My problem is that the story wasn't "finished" usually with this auther the book could stand on it's own for a story. This book is meant as a lead in to a series, which I understand, but it left too many loose ends to finish up later. I was disappointed.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    This is a great book and series.

    This is a great book and series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    # of pages?

    I really want to know.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Easy but likable read

    This is a very interesting book. It has wonderful potential for a series starter and captivates readers. The novel is a good book for people testing the waters of the fantasy genre and young readers, but if a more advanced reader is looking for a literary chanlange this is not one. Though the younger characters are well thought out they tend to lack some qualities that are found in almost every teen and appear more like 13 year olds instead of 16 year olds. The figurative language is a bit juvinile and lacking , but still paints the characters better than higher level books I've read. The plot was nice and creative but the plot twists were dredfully predictible from the begining. If I had read this when I was younger I could've enjoyed it more, but age takes from the quality of this book. I still liked reading this book and I have no hard feelings agains the author or her fans. I hope her writing evolves into something even more marvelous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Terror

    I doubt you could even lay a finger on me.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Slow to start.

    I almost put it down, but I'm glad I didn't. It's a fairly predictable read, but several twists in the end made it worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    not great

    i do like cinda chima's work, but this is not some of her better work. the entire purpose of the book is to write a sequel: there was no ending in the book, just a cliff hanger that you saw from miles away. Could have been a great novel, but halfway through the characters (who i loved and kept the book afloat) are running around with no direction and no motion towards a conclusion. I know that this story will take a few books to complete, but it felt like this was an introduction to the characters and place, not a beginning to a series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2