Customer Reviews for

The Demon King (Seven Realms Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 506 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(361)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Don't pass it up!!

This is really one of the best books that I have read in a long time. When I first bought it, I thought that it would be one of those books you read, then put it on a shelf in your closet and forget about it. I couldn't have been more wrong!! This book has excellent p...
This is really one of the best books that I have read in a long time. When I first bought it, I thought that it would be one of those books you read, then put it on a shelf in your closet and forget about it. I couldn't have been more wrong!! This book has excellent plot, well thought-out politics (but they don't dominate the book), beleivable characters, and just a bit of romance. It reminds me of the Farsala Trilogy. It should appeal to any fan of fantasy fiction. The only thing I regret about buying this book, is that now I'm hooked and the sequel hasn't been published yet! Whatever you do, DO NOT PASS THIS BOOK UP!!!!!!

posted by 747981 on January 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Obviously a second book is planned

I liked Demon King. My problem is that the story wasn't "finished" usually with this auther the book could stand on it's own for a story. This book is meant as a lead in to a series, which I understand, but it left too many loose ends to finish up later. I was disapp...
I liked Demon King. My problem is that the story wasn't "finished" usually with this auther the book could stand on it's own for a story. This book is meant as a lead in to a series, which I understand, but it left too many loose ends to finish up later. I was disappointed.

posted by breezembhm on February 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Induling

    The next books just get better. This is only the begginig. Come to me if u ever need to read the others.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Great Book

    This book is a little like Lord of the Rings meets Merlin. I finished it in 1 day.I even purchased the other books in series, I can't wait to read them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    Not just for teens.

    Highly Recommend,not just for the teens,makes you want more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good, but slightly cliched fantasy novel

    I really enjoyed this book. A lot. The characters were fascinating. The only thing I really didn't enjoy was the Queendom royal politics garbage. I really hate books like that. At first, I expected it to be an epic fantasy adventure, but it turned out being very cliched. Especially with Gavan and Micah Bayar controlling the queen. That plot has been used many a time. Evil wizard tricks king into doing this or that to gain power, you know what I mean. I wasn't a big fan of the princess. She kind of irritated me. The Bayars were perfect though. Rich, evil, and suave. They reminded me a lot of Draco and Lucius Malfoy.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Gets good towards the end

    The thing I like about this book- it's told in 2 & a few times 3 POV's. The thing I did not like about this book-it was told in 2 & a few times 3 POV's. I felt as soon as I would get into 1 it would switch to the next character who really in this book have nothing to do with each other. They are thrown together for a bit but that's it. The story is very interesting though & I think maybe the last 80-100 pages are pretty exciting! Can't wait for the next book! I have so much hatred for one family I can't wait to see what they have comeing for them! I think the Seven Realms Series is going to be a good one! Especially once we start getting a the answers to all the questions!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    One of my favorites.

    When i first saw this book i didn't think i would enjoy it much. I only chose it because it met the requirements for a class assingnment. Now i'm glad i read it. It was one of the best books i ever read. In fact it was the only book i couldn't put down. i usually never read books unless i have to but when the sequel comes out i will definitly be one of the first to read it. The story had so many twists to it that i sat for hours trying to figure out what was going to happen. The only thing i didn't like was the end where it leaves you hangging. Overall i would recomend this book to anyone who is looking for a good novel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    Eh. Fell short of expectations.

    Enjoyable, but slow at some parts. Will continue to read second one, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Demon king series by cinda williams chima

    Very good book series! Origional and captivating! I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Sounds good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    So so

    Its fun but i think tht at someparts there r unneeded details and those details kind of drags the book.... alot.... but it was still interesting and im sure tht i want to read the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    Although the characters are teenagers, the voice is on the high

    Although the characters are teenagers, the voice is on the high end of YA, low end of adult...sort of a borderline style. The story is fairly good, though you need to give the story some time before the characters take on complexity. The only true flaw in the book is the copy editing. There were more errors in this book than in the previous three books I've read combined. Still, it's worth the read if you enjoy the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Good book

    It was a good read, slow at the beginning witch most series books are. I also thought they could have added more to it once it started to get good it was the end. Good read though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    I believe that this book is an amazing piece of literature and h

    I believe that this book is an amazing piece of literature and has helped me grow up in a sense and was defiantly worth reading and I believe everyone who enjoys fantasy novels should give it a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Hey

    How many pgs

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    A bit soapy at times but very excellent

    An incredibly interesting and well plotted first book. I ripped through it in days, a feat i rarely accomplish. The scenes of woman accidentally glimpsing men's rippled and bronzed chests grew a bit tiresome--perhaps if the author had included pictures of said warrior chests, this reader would have overlooked such Valley of the Dollsian passages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Must read!

    This book was excellent! However the were one or two complaints but it is a must read Icouldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Excellent

    The book met my expectations, even though the plot was fairly routine. What made up for it was the author's style. I have read her work previously and enjoyed it thoroughly. This series beginning was no exception. It is a fine read and I recommend this novel to fantasy lovers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    I'm Hooked!

    I read this book during my Sisterlocks installation at a salon (took a whopping 11 hours over 2 days!). I read a lot of fantasy/Scifi and this is one of the better YA ones. I enjoy reading YA because as a whole, YA books don't try to be anything other than what they are...there isn't a deeper meaning just waiting for you to decipher it, as it can be with some adult titles.

    Anyhoo..."The Demon King" is a story told on two fronts, from the point of view of street kid Hans Alister and Princess Raisa ana¿Marianna. Hans would like to be able to take care of his family and himself while avoiding becoming the criminal that many seem to think he is destined for. Raisa would like to be the kind of ruler that Hanalea, the legendary warrior queen who killed the Demon King and saved the world, was but her mother has other plans for her. While Hans runs afoul some young wizards and sets himself on a path he never knew was available, Raisa struggles with the obligations that being the eldest daughter and therefore the next to rule. Their paths will cross as they find themselves on a collision course to save the Seven Realms.

    This is Book 1 of 4 in "The Seven Realms" series.

    I really enjoyed this book! Though I can kind of tell where it's going with Hans and Raisa, it is still totally engrossing. When an author creates entertaining and believable characters, it encourages you to care about them or at the very least, want to know what happens to them and Ms. Chima has done so with this book. I can't wait to read the other books in the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    I loved this book!!

    This book had a wonderful balance of everything! it had hate love jelousy laughter etc i loved it! One of my favorite books!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Demon King review by YA Fantasy Guide

    "The Demon King" is a novel from two disparate perspectives that eventually begin to weave together. We have Han Alister, who at sixteen years old is already a former thief and gang leader, trying to live his life honestly. But even when staying out of town, trouble still finds him, and before long he is tangling with wizards and getting into worse trouble than he ever did as a gang leader.

    The flip side of the novel follows Raisa, princess and soon to be heir to the Queendom of the Fells. Life isn't as sweet and simple as it should be for a princess as Raisa becomes more and more aware and involved in politics that are as old as the Queendom. The closer Raisa gets to her 16th birthday and "Name Day," the more convinced she becomes of something running afoul in the Queendom. And somehow, her mother the Queen seems to be at the heart of it.

    First, the con. The novel makes so many allusions to past events and history in this first novels that I spent the first third of the book convinced that I had missed a preceding volume or even series. No such book existed, sadly, which makes it even more baffling. I understand the desire to start a story already in motion, so that the reader can discover the world of the characters. Sometimes, that works. Sometimes, it doesn't. In this case, it almost didn't work.

    However, if you can plow forward in the book, things will snap together and start to make sense. As soon as they do, the book is a rush of action and revelation even when it quickly becomes evident that there is going to be little conclusion in this volume. The stories of Han and Raisa loosely weave together and apart in a way that will leave the reader eagerly anticipating the next page. And for every revelation we receive, there is a hint that we are only hearing a part of the story.

    This first volume of the Seven Realms offers a lot of promise, and I'm looking forward to reading the next volume to see if Chima pays off. If you're looking for a story with conflicting love interests, magic, and the threat of a kingdom spiraling into war, the first act of the Seven Realms series is a good place to start. Enjoy!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5