Customer Reviews for

The Demon Lover (Fairwick Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Simmering Intellectual Gothic Read

Redonk Nutshell: PhD expert in folklore has explicitly intimate encounters with the subjects of her study upon moving to a small secluded Northeastern town to teach at a small college

Though this cover is beautiful, it screams YA! to me. Note to all: THIS IS SOOOOO ...
Redonk Nutshell: PhD expert in folklore has explicitly intimate encounters with the subjects of her study upon moving to a small secluded Northeastern town to teach at a small college

Though this cover is beautiful, it screams YA! to me. Note to all: THIS IS SOOOOO NOT YA. No, no, my fellow Raunchers. I was delightfully intrigued to find The Demon Lover was an enthralling sultry and intellectual story, a combination that reminded me of Deborah Harkness's A Discovery of Witches, which attempted the same alchemy but didn't...quite...make it. Juliet Dark, aka Carol Goodman, bursts out the door running with her first supernatural erotic thriller. I ended up really enjoying this book and am likely going to list it in my top favorites for 2011.

Dr Cailleach McFay is an independent brilliant woman who is interviewing for positions as a professor of folklore at several colleges. She's charmed by the small school town of Fairwick and ends up accepting a position. She falls in love with an enchanting Victorian home with something of a sordid past, and before long she realizes that things aren't quite what they seem in the small town of Fairwick. Her coworkers are a bit...unique. Her house is harboring a...sex demon. And Callie realizes she herself might be the key to something hidden deep in the thicket surrounding her home.

Most romance novels are fluffy, fairly quick reads that are perfect for the beach or a quick getaway. The Demon Lover is too rich, too heady to rush through, and would be best relished on a cool rainy day with a cup of your favorite hot beverage. It's a fantastic Gothic treat. Callie's knowledge and experience with Gothic fiction and folklore add an intellectual perk to the dark and ravishing plot line, forcing the reader to slow down and process what's being thrown at them. There were moments where I checked out and had to go back and re-read, some details that didn't seem vital to the plot, but it didn't drag down the overall enjoyment of the book. Unlike A Discovery of Witches, this story was passionate and erotic while still maintaining an intellectual flair.

Author Carol Goodman stretches her legs in the paranormal fantasy genre under the pseudonym Juliet Dark. I have not read anything else by her (yet), though I'll be keeping an eye out for it. I had previously thought to read The Watchtower, another paranormal fantasy by Lee Carroll, who I discovered is actually a team comprised of Carol Goodman and her husband Lee Slonimsky. Now I'm definitely going to add it to my TBR stack.

Sexy, dark, and thrilling, I would consider The Demon Lover to be one of my favorite discoveries of 2011.

The Demon Lover by Juliet Dark

Rating: B+

Romance: 3/5 Raunch: 4/5

posted by Acanoffleas on August 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An enchanting read that will take your breath away. The haunting

An enchanting read that will take your breath away.
The hauntingly beautiful imagery set the stage for this imaginative new story. The setting helped to add to the enchanting storyline. It was an interesting read and had an air of mystery about it that I really liked. T...
An enchanting read that will take your breath away.
The hauntingly beautiful imagery set the stage for this imaginative new story. The setting helped to add to the enchanting storyline. It was an interesting read and had an air of mystery about it that I really liked. There were some twists and turns that kept me guessing a bit throughout the story and kept it exciting.
Callie as a character was interesting and fun, but a tad naïve. I enjoyed her as a character and liked seeing the mystery through her eyes. She was no pushover that’s for sure and that was a good thing since she needed to be strong in order to overcome this monster.
I liked the premise for this book and enjoyed getting to know some unique characters, but I wouldn’t really call this a romance. There were some romantic elements though that really brought out some intrigue in the story. Overall this was a fun fantasy mystery that I enjoyed reading.

posted by kcody03 on February 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Simmering Intellectual Gothic Read

    Redonk Nutshell: PhD expert in folklore has explicitly intimate encounters with the subjects of her study upon moving to a small secluded Northeastern town to teach at a small college

    Though this cover is beautiful, it screams YA! to me. Note to all: THIS IS SOOOOO NOT YA. No, no, my fellow Raunchers. I was delightfully intrigued to find The Demon Lover was an enthralling sultry and intellectual story, a combination that reminded me of Deborah Harkness's A Discovery of Witches, which attempted the same alchemy but didn't...quite...make it. Juliet Dark, aka Carol Goodman, bursts out the door running with her first supernatural erotic thriller. I ended up really enjoying this book and am likely going to list it in my top favorites for 2011.

    Dr Cailleach McFay is an independent brilliant woman who is interviewing for positions as a professor of folklore at several colleges. She's charmed by the small school town of Fairwick and ends up accepting a position. She falls in love with an enchanting Victorian home with something of a sordid past, and before long she realizes that things aren't quite what they seem in the small town of Fairwick. Her coworkers are a bit...unique. Her house is harboring a...sex demon. And Callie realizes she herself might be the key to something hidden deep in the thicket surrounding her home.

    Most romance novels are fluffy, fairly quick reads that are perfect for the beach or a quick getaway. The Demon Lover is too rich, too heady to rush through, and would be best relished on a cool rainy day with a cup of your favorite hot beverage. It's a fantastic Gothic treat. Callie's knowledge and experience with Gothic fiction and folklore add an intellectual perk to the dark and ravishing plot line, forcing the reader to slow down and process what's being thrown at them. There were moments where I checked out and had to go back and re-read, some details that didn't seem vital to the plot, but it didn't drag down the overall enjoyment of the book. Unlike A Discovery of Witches, this story was passionate and erotic while still maintaining an intellectual flair.

    Author Carol Goodman stretches her legs in the paranormal fantasy genre under the pseudonym Juliet Dark. I have not read anything else by her (yet), though I'll be keeping an eye out for it. I had previously thought to read The Watchtower, another paranormal fantasy by Lee Carroll, who I discovered is actually a team comprised of Carol Goodman and her husband Lee Slonimsky. Now I'm definitely going to add it to my TBR stack.

    Sexy, dark, and thrilling, I would consider The Demon Lover to be one of my favorite discoveries of 2011.

    The Demon Lover by Juliet Dark

    Rating: B+

    Romance: 3/5 Raunch: 4/5

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    A mature Harry Potter world with romance. A Magical world!

    By reading the summary I had expected this book to be dark and light with romance but I had not expected how beautiful the story and the world the author describes in this book. I have not bad things to say about reading this book. It reminded me a lot of a mature Harry Potter world with all the supernatural and fairy tale creatures. It also had a spark of Pratical Magic with the witches and demons. The only thing I could say is that the beginning was a little slow but it picks up really quickly. It keeps you on the edge of your seat with all the surprises it has in this amazing magical world that is Fairwick, New York!

    I loved all the characters and unusual names the author writes. Every character has a story behind them and as soon as you read about them there's something that shocks you and leaves you in aww. There is so much uniqueness and beauty in each chapter that leaves you wanting more.

    I really enjoyed how the author made Callie have a real life breakup rather than just have you think everything was a dream. The way she ends up in Fairwick was so perfectly told and doesn't leave any details out. I loved how Callie was a writer of folklore and loved the supernatural things. The way the story has books and writers just made more enjoyable. I felt really attached to Callie and her relationship with the new Professor Liam, who you meet in the middle of the book. I really wanted to finally have someone be there for her and not just her being there for others. Callie is a lovable, friendly, strong, powerful woman that everyone in Fairwick, especially the students, look up to.

    The author did an spectacular job on the supernatural, action, suspense, shock value, love & sex part that just makes you devour this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    Sucked in and loved every moment! This is like nothing I¿ve eve

    Sucked in and loved every moment!

    This is like nothing I’ve ever read before. From page one I was pulled in. I mean, how could I not? A dark and handsome incubus appears by the light of the moon to ravish women and give them mind blowing orgasms!

    The Demon Lover is so much more than an adult fantasy or romance novel, though.

    Something very peculiar is going on in Fairwick, NY. Fantastical, often weather related, occurrences besiege the town and campus. Creatures hide in plain sight, some in human form. Someone, or something, is sucking the life force out of students and even faculty. One student is doomed by a decades old curse. Can it be broken?

    I absolutely adored this novel! I wasn’t expecting it to be a series so it came as a bonus to learn that book two, The Water Witch, releases NEXT month. Can’t wait!

    Demon Lover goes on my favorite read’s list.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    This book was fantastic! I didn't want to put it down and certa

    This book was fantastic! I didn't want to put it down and certainly didn't want it to end.
    I'm ready for her next one!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Annonymous

    Really glad I gave this author a try. Entertaining read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Loved Loved Loved!!!

    I absolutely loved this book. It was definitely something different! A fun quick read. I just ordered the second book! Can't wait to read that one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    Very good

    Loved the book. I am buying the second book as I type this. I will be reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Very very good

    Great read. Can't wait to read the next two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    Rating: 4.75 out of 5 Stars Genre: Sci-Fi Fantasy (Erotic-ish) F

    Rating: 4.75 out of 5 Stars
    Genre: Sci-Fi Fantasy (Erotic-ish)
    Format: Print, E-Book
    Publisher: Random House/Ballantine Books
    Release Date: December 27, 2011
    Recommended Reading: 18+

    RECEIVED A FREE COPY IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW

    ****THERE ARE NO SPOILERS****

    THE GIST: Demon Lover (Not my favorite name, but GREAT cover) is an enchanting story that takes the reader on a journey to a world filled with magic, mystical creatures and a lot of small town charm, while steaming up the pages with a dark and sexy romance. It was thrilling, heartbreaking and completely addictive, ripe with flawlessly written oddball characters. At times the story dragged (only slightly) and I had a few issues with how the story played out, but overall this tale drew me in, stole my breath and left me wanting for so much more.

    SYNOPSIS: “I gasped . . . or tried to. My mouth opened, but I couldn’t draw breath. . . . His lips, pearly wet, parted and he blew into my mouth. My lungs expanded beneath his weight. When I exhaled he sucked in my breath and his weight turned from cold marble into warm living flesh.

    Since accepting a teaching position at remote Fairwick College in upstate New York, Callie McFay has experienced the same disturbingly erotic dream every night: A mist enters her bedroom, then takes the shape of a virile, seductive stranger who proceeds to ravish her in the most toe-curling, wholly satisfying ways possible. Perhaps these dreams are the result of writing her bestselling book, The Sex Lives of Demon Lovers. After all, Callie’s lifelong passion is the intersection of lurid fairy tales and Gothic literature—which is why she finds herself at Fairwick’s renowned folklore department, living in a once-stately Victorian house that, at first sight, seemed to call her name.

    But Callie soon realizes that her dreams are alarmingly real. She has a demon lover—an incubus—and he will seduce her, pleasure her, and eventually suck the very life from her. Then Callie makes another startling discovery: He’s not the only mythical creature in Fairwick. As the tenured witches of the college and the resident fairies in the surrounding woods prepare to cast out the incubus, Callie must accomplish something infinitely more difficult—banishing this demon lover from her heart.” (Random House – NetGalley)

    THE LOWDOWN: The name of this book immediately turned me off. It brought about images of a woman sheathed in chiffon, walking zombie-like through the halls of a Gothic castle searching for the red-faced demon looking to ravage her before devouring her whole. Boy am I glad I did NOT judge a book by its name, because the writing in this story is wonderful, the characters charming and I walked away needing more. The author made me feel as though I was a resident of Fairwick, the tiny town at the center of this incredibly imaginative story. She painted each character vividly, each with their own very distinct voice and personality.

    From the outset of the story I felt as though I understood exactly what Juliet Dark envisioned. Every breath the incubus sucked from the protagonist Callie felt like as though it was being drawn from me and every story told and heart-broken left an impression as well. The weaving in and out of the fictional past and the magical reality felt real and organic to the plot. So much so that by the end I was a believer.

    Callie, the lead protagonist was strong, yet vulnerable. Although I thought she was a little slow to catch on to the big picture, my frustration only made the big reveal that much more gratifying. I was pleased that she was not innocent and chaste to the night caller, but I didn’t really understand her reactions in the final chapters (I don’t spoil, so I won’t divulge anymore). What I can say is, I didn’t like how she distrusted her own emotions and her constant need to go back and forth between her feelings. It made her character, at times, a little too wishy-washy for my taste.

    Liam on the other hand was such a tremendous character. (Book crush? Absolutely!) I loved the mystery surrounding his past and the way his brazen nature fought his gentleness. Besides being a poet with a dark past, he was also clearly in love with Callie and unabashedly so. However, what I really fell in love with were the peripheral heroes. The city folk, the magic lurking in the forest and the mouse…yes the mouse.

    This self-reflective, redemptive and captivating story brought me to the brink of every emotion and I loved it. Check out Demon Lover and soon because the sequel The Water Witch (#2) comes out soon!

    Just a quick warning – the love scenes that generally take place within dreams are explicit (just a minor blush – nothing too dirty)
    Share this:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!!! I could not stop reading. This book had me turnin



    LOVED IT!!! I could not stop reading. This book had me turning page after page with wanting and not wanting because every page brought me to the end. Juliet Dark did a great job with creating a world with Faerie creatures. Callie was great. I absolutely loved her. I wanted so bad for Callie to find love. My heart went out to Callie for all she had lost along this journey even though she gained a lot I wanted her to love and be loved. I didn't know if I wanted the demon lover to be good or bad and the author Juliet did an excellent job of keeping me guessing whether or not he was good or bad. I didn’t know if I should hate him or love him. Even after I had finished this book I still don't know his true intentions. Well that's not true or I hope that I am not wrong. I have to say cried at the end of this book because it was a bitter and sweet ending. I cannot wait until the next book is released which I do believe is in the next couple of weeks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Demon Lover Fairwick Chronicles Book One By Carol Goodman wr

    The Demon Lover
    Fairwick Chronicles Book One
    By Carol Goodman writing as Juliet Dark

    Callie McFay’s dreams are haunted, every night she has the same erotic encounter with a handsome stranger. What she assumes are just vivid dreams turn out to be an encounter with an incubus wanting nothing more than for her to love him. This is only the tip of the story as Callie has started teaching at Fairwick College and after her encounters with the incubus her colleagues assemble to aid her and she learns that most everyone at the college is not who they seem to be.

    There is no way I could do this novel justice, for one there are three main story lines to this book instead of the usual one and to tell you each of them is most likely going to spoil on or another of the twists that happen so regularly. Though the novel is a bit busy it makes it interesting as you have no idea what scene will lead to which conclusion. I had a ton of fun reading this one, not only is Callie a highly likable character but the surrounding cast each has their own interesting story. The romance is superb and the bonds that Callie creates make this more than just your average romance novel. I cannot wait to find out more about the college and what will happen next, it is a highly unique well written and beautiful novel.
    I was sent a free copy of this book for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    highly recommended

    This book kept my attentchion from begining to end. It left me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Surprising in Every Way

    It's very rare to pick up a book and have any and all expectations shattered. I thought from the cover to the summary and title that the premise was explicit, that The Demon Lover would be just another typical paranormal romance. But it wasn't. Everything about this book was a surprise.

    Callie McFay is use to the hustle and bustle of NYC high society but with the tough economy and jobs at a premium she finds herself excepting a position at a small college in upstate New York. Despite the change in her plans Callie finds herself drawn to the school, town, and her new home. She's even excited about continuing her research on gothic literature. But the Rockwellian town is far more than what it seems. And as Callie's haunting dreams become more real the secrets that surround her begin to unravel.

    The Demon Lover is nothing short of surprising. Juliet Dark is an expert tease taking the reader to the brink of sensuality then pulling back like a splash of cold water. The title evocative of so many sinfully written eroticas heavy handed in the bed but light in the plot, yet in no way does justice to the carefully constructed concept behind the complex threads. The Demon Lover intertwines the story within the study of a story. Dark uses the framework of a gothic romance like a needle and threads her paranormal romance throughout it which was a refreshing approach to world bulding. Any ideas of the content or supernatual focus of the book being demonic soon shifts to folklore and fairy tales, adding yet another layer of misperceived notions from first glance.

    Juliet Dark takes on an ambitious risk with this book. The intricate ideas, which so easily could have gone wrong, triumphantly payoff creating a rich vibrant depth of storytelling that will have readers lost in the ever shifting landscape of The Demon Lover's lore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    This book is not like the rest of the teen supernatural books today. It is steamy with hot scenes! Juliet Dark is an creative and wonderful writer. I couldn't put the book down!!It is a page turner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Get comfortable and let this story take you away.

    If you are looking for a quick read on the beach, grab a romance off the drug store shelf. This book is one you want to snuggle down with when you sitting by the fire on a snowy day with your favorite hot beverage by your side. It is written in a form reminiscent of Charlotte Bronte with vivid and detailed descriptions that draw you in to another world, albeit the theme is a little naughtier than the stories Ms. Bronte has written. The story is about Callie McFay who at the start of the story wanted to live and teach in NYC, but she drawn to the charm of Fairwick College and the beautiful Victorian-style Honeysuckle House in the upstate town of Fairwick, NY; or was she simply drawn by the incubus lover who wants her love to make him mortal. Although the first 50 pages go slow while the stage is set for the readers, when you start to notice the glances and whispers of neighbors who are in the know, you will be drawn in and you can't wait for them to share their secrets with you. Who is friend and who is foe? Will she accept the help of the local witches to free herself of the incubus or will she fall prey to his seduction? This story left me wanting more and I am happy to say this is the first of a three-part series. I for one am looking forward to see where the Town of Fairwick takes me. Received advance copy from NetGalley, courtesy of the publisher. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2