Customer Reviews for

A Demon Made Me Do It (Demonblood Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 291 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(198)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

46 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book!!!

I had a friend who read this book and loved it, and recommended it to me to read. I'm so glad she did! It was fabulous. It had it all.romance, danger, action, suspense.and it was FUNNY! I literally was laughing out loud at so many parts at the characters witty and snark...
I had a friend who read this book and loved it, and recommended it to me to read. I'm so glad she did! It was fabulous. It had it all.romance, danger, action, suspense.and it was FUNNY! I literally was laughing out loud at so many parts at the characters witty and snarky dialogue. And the alternating points of view from the two girls was very cool.each part left me wanting more. And speaking of wanting more, can we just talk about chapter 22??? EeeeGads! I won't post any spoilers but I am DEFINITELY getting the next in the series! I highly recommend this book and it's probably more appropriate for older young adults (is that a word?) There is some mild violence, some language in a few places, and some romance scenes (did I mention chapter 22??) Anxious to get my hands on the next book, but in the meantime I think I'll reread this one again.

posted by NaughtyBlogger on June 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good book

This book was really good but i wasnt really atracted to it like my usual kind of books. But thats my opinion. And in this story im not a really big fan of the ending. Im not going to spoil it but the ending wasnt really what u would predict and sometimes i hate it when...
This book was really good but i wasnt really atracted to it like my usual kind of books. But thats my opinion. And in this story im not a really big fan of the ending. Im not going to spoil it but the ending wasnt really what u would predict and sometimes i hate it when my ideas and predictions r wrong sometimes. Some parts im the book are good but some parts drone on and on and on.

posted by 14918055 on July 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was really great. Nothing that I expected. This is my

    This book was really great. Nothing that I expected. This is my first reading strictly based on demons.
    Lucky and Liora are two parts of a whole. Lucky is the demon side whereas Liora is the human side. Because of a tragic indecent, their soul was split in half and they have been living this way for 5 years. Liora remains human during the day, while Lucky comes out at night.
    I really love how the book is written from the two different points of view. We get Liora's side: the caring, loving human who knows she will never live a normal life. The human who hates demons because of what they did to her friends years ago. The human who wants nothing to do with her demon half. Then we see Lucky's side: the frisky demon who believes nothing can harm her or stop her from her mission of finding the demons who killed her friends. She feisty and sexy, all the things Liora is not. And she dislikes Liora because due to her human side, Lucky still feels pain, sorrow and love while she wishes she could just be down with emotions completely. The differences between them are drastic.
    They both fall for the same guy, Kieron, who turns out to also be a demon. He's a gorgeous mixture of sex and love. He's a bounty hunter after the same demons Lucky hunts. But, while she wants to slay these demons, he must bring them back alive to receive his freedom. Kieron falls for both Lucky and Liora and they, in turn, fall for him. In the end, he helps them both face their own "demons" and make choices they would not normally have made.
    We also meet a few of Liora and Lucky's friends. There's Corrine, the shy, overweight girl that has befriended Liora and never questioned her strange need to always be home by dark. There's Bones, who is Lucky's best friend but also has feelings for her. Corrine kind of annoys me. She's very filled with self-doubt, but we don't see much more of her than that. Bones is easily the most lovable character in this book. He's that guy who is always your best friend but wishes he was more. Gorgeous and seductive, due to him being an inccubus, he's hard for anyone to resist.
    Then there's Tatiana, Liora and Lucky's guardian. She is a witch who tries her hardest to steer the girls in the right direction. To help them find peace, love and happiness by showing them they must look inside themselves to see what is really there.
    I like that you really see both Lucky and Liora grow during this book. They change and become accepting of their certain fate as two distinct beings living in one body. They learn to love and to open themselves up to the possibility that they can be whole, even while living the two separate lives.
    The only issue I had with this book was that I really cannot picture Lucky/Liora in my mind. Aside from the cover picture, I can't see her in my mind. To me she is not described in enough detail. This is something I really like to see in a book. I want to be able to picture the characters in my mind so I know exactly what they look like.
    I give this book a strong 3.5, maybe even a 4 out of 5. It was a very enjoyable read and I look forward to the next book in the series.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    I love this sooo much!!!!!

    I must say that i reslly loved this book and couldnt put it down. Once u read u want be able to stop!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Nhhhmmhh good book! I want more!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    Ingrid

    It was great, I just finished reading it and i loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2014

    This was weird and awesome at the same time

    overall book is great its just living in one body with two people and having the same boyfriend is kind of a bit much. but i'll read the next book to get a better feeling of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    Good light read, well done character development

    The main character and her other half are likeable even though one is a demon. Some suspense, and a possible love triangle/quadrangle? The jumps from one character to the other are well done. I liked it and probably will read part 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Good

    Very Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Cool

    This book is so good you people have to read it!!<3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Okay

    Really good but I hate Kieron and it just makes me so mad what he is doing with Lucky and Liera ( is that how its spelled?) It just annoys me and stuff because when I read books I connect with the characters an this whole shinnanigan is nonsense. I hate that Liera doesnt know and he is cheating on her with her Demon half, Lucky and ugh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    I really enjoyed the characters in this book. Lucky and Liora we

    I really enjoyed the characters in this book. Lucky and Liora were two completely different characters sharing the same body, and oh, boy, did they dislike one another. Liora, the human half, just wanted to be a perfectly normal girl, while Lucky, the demon, wanted to kick butt and paint the town red. The switch between the two halves was well done, an the conflict between them was also believable. After all ... who wants to share?

    I adored Bones, Lucky's (and it turns out Liora's) half-hellhound, half-incubus friend. I felt sorry for him, though, because he really did love Lucky and his Incubus half made that love impossible. After all, who wants a boyfriend who needs to seduce nubile young virgins every single night to keep that half dominant or he'll turn into a pure hellhound forever?

    [*talk about your relationship going to the dogs! *]

    The only person I didn't like was Kieron. He was too goody-two-shoes, too patient, too unbelievable, and too perfect. I kept waiting for the other shoe to drop, to find out he was evil, or had some redeeming character flaw, or something. It never came. All along, it felt as though he was using Lucky/Liora for his own purpose and even the big climax at the end ... meh ... it was almost anti-climatic.

    So ... fascinating story ... looking forward to reading the next book in the series ... more Bones! But if I never see Kieron again with the Lucky/Liora shift, I'll be perfectly content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Love this book.

    I saw this and had to get it. And now that I read it, im glad i got it. I read books like this all the time, but iloved this one. Itwas diferent and so good. I have to read more like it.p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    really 4.5 stars. Okay, the writing was super, the plot was sup

    really 4.5 stars.

    Okay, the writing was super, the plot was super, the pacing was super, the voice was super. This was a super read!

    The great part about this book is that Liora's human and demon halves really want nothing to do with the other. They despise each
     other. When one's awake, the other sleeps. And they piss each other off to the extent that they really try to stay asleep while the other
    one's awake, because what the other one does grosses out the other half. Twisted, right? Right! And so awesome!

    Seriously, there were times when one half or the other would really put the screws to the other, and I'd be like, come on, give the girl
    a break. But that's good, because it means I was invested in the character(s).

    Liora's demon half, Lucky, has a best friend named Bones. Oh, boy, I'd love to meet Bones in real life. Is there any cover art for this
    stud muffin? Too bad he's an incubus in search of nubile virgins every night, otherwise he'd be the yummy stuff boyfriends are made
    of. But who wants to share? Not Lucky.

    Kiernon is cool. I wasn't as attached to him as I was to the other characters. Maybe it was because I kept waiting for the other shoe to
     drop. I was never quite sure if he'd be good in the end, or bad. In the end it was interesting... but almost disappointing. I wanted
     more... I don't know .... BANG. I'm not explaining myself well, but read the book and form your own opinions.

    The only real issue I had was with setting. I got a little confused. The writing led me to think the setting was approaching winter,
    gray, leaf-less trees and kind of cold. But then they'd drive an hour into the mountains, and they'd be fishing and having picnics and
    I think flowers were mentioned. Huh? I didn't get it. 

    Other than that, excellent. Definitely put this on your 'to be read' pile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Good

    This book was kind of long but was still good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Wat wid da bookworm thang?

    Im confuzzled

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    The deimon made me do it

    Awesome love heart breaking action story




    O

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Good

    The book is 653 pages with a sneak peak of the next book making it 717 pages. The book is wrapped with romance, sadness, comedy and a touch of horror. I reccomend the book to people who want to have a bit of an adventure with werewolves, deamons, and killer- like people. It is a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Good Story

    I like the book and the only thibg i think is 2 people that r 1 but hate each other. The curse needs to find someone else to tormt. First kiss dead not long after.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Great read

    This book was free and a pleasant surprise. Well thought out and intreguing from the start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    I liked it

    Enjoyable read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Good book!

    I liked it a lot, cant wait to read book #2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3