BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Demon Made Me Do It (Demonblood Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 282 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(193)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book!!!

I had a friend who read this book and loved it, and recommended it to me to read. I'm so glad she did! It was fabulous. It had it all.romance, danger, action, suspense.and it was FUNNY! I literally was laughing out loud at so many parts at the characters witty and snark...
I had a friend who read this book and loved it, and recommended it to me to read. I'm so glad she did! It was fabulous. It had it all.romance, danger, action, suspense.and it was FUNNY! I literally was laughing out loud at so many parts at the characters witty and snarky dialogue. And the alternating points of view from the two girls was very cool.each part left me wanting more. And speaking of wanting more, can we just talk about chapter 22??? EeeeGads! I won't post any spoilers but I am DEFINITELY getting the next in the series! I highly recommend this book and it's probably more appropriate for older young adults (is that a word?) There is some mild violence, some language in a few places, and some romance scenes (did I mention chapter 22??) Anxious to get my hands on the next book, but in the meantime I think I'll reread this one again.

posted by NaughtyBlogger on June 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good book

This book was really good but i wasnt really atracted to it like my usual kind of books. But thats my opinion. And in this story im not a really big fan of the ending. Im not going to spoil it but the ending wasnt really what u would predict and sometimes i hate it when...
This book was really good but i wasnt really atracted to it like my usual kind of books. But thats my opinion. And in this story im not a really big fan of the ending. Im not going to spoil it but the ending wasnt really what u would predict and sometimes i hate it when my ideas and predictions r wrong sometimes. Some parts im the book are good but some parts drone on and on and on.

posted by 14918055 on July 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 193 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    I loved this book!!!

    I had a friend who read this book and loved it, and recommended it to me to read. I'm so glad she did! It was fabulous. It had it all.romance, danger, action, suspense.and it was FUNNY! I literally was laughing out loud at so many parts at the characters witty and snarky dialogue. And the alternating points of view from the two girls was very cool.each part left me wanting more. And speaking of wanting more, can we just talk about chapter 22??? EeeeGads! I won't post any spoilers but I am DEFINITELY getting the next in the series! I highly recommend this book and it's probably more appropriate for older young adults (is that a word?) There is some mild violence, some language in a few places, and some romance scenes (did I mention chapter 22??) Anxious to get my hands on the next book, but in the meantime I think I'll reread this one again.

    43 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    An absolute must read even for those who don't normally read this sort of thing!

    I loved this book beyond words! In a way, this surprised me since I don't normally read fantasy, much less demon oriented books, but King does such a masterful job at creating a world and characters that capture your attention, I couldn't put it down. Sure, teen angst has been done a million times. But never like this! King's unusual take on the struggles of navigating the teenage years is absolutely refreshing.

    Liora Greyson would like nothing more than to live a normal life, but that seems to be impossible when she has to share her body with a demon named Lucky. It's hard enough to make excuses as to why she can't attend sleepovers or parties, but with Lucky set on getting revenge for the murders of her friends, things get even trickier for Liora. But when Liora meets the new kid, Kieron, things start to look up for a change. Maybe she actually has a shot at a normal relationship. Well, as normal as it can possibly get when she is only herself during the daylight hours. She might have some explaining to do if she ever meets Kieron after dark-when her demonic side comes out.

    Lucky goes berserk when she discovers Liora has been spending time with the mysterious Kieron. Lucky's sure Kieron's hiding something. Something that can destroy both of their worlds. Thankfully, Lucky has Bones to watch out for her. Bones is her best friend who happens to be an incubus and a hound of hell. Not to mention he's incredibly sexy. Bones is the desire of every young girl's heart-at least for one night-but for Lucky, he's always been her best friend. Nothing more. Whatever their relationship happens to be, Bones won't let anything happen to Lucky. But what happens when Lucky discovers the secrets that Kieron's been keeping and both Lucky and Liora's worlds are threatened?

    The thing I loved most about this story was King's way with the characters. She creates such unique personalities that made me fall in love with all of them. In most books, I tend to choose one or two characters I like more and root for them. In A DEMON MADE ME DO IT, I loved them all. That is definitely the work of a fantastic writer. I highly recommend this book and am on the edge of my seat for book two of the series. Penelope King has found herself a devoted reader in me.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Crazy Highly Recommend

    As an aspiring author I have been trying my best to read as much Y.A. as possible. Honestly, most of the popular titles are basically the same plot with different characters. The moment I dove into the pages of a "A Demon Made Me Do It" I felt myself COMPLETELY unable to pry my fingers from my Nook. Not only is this FINALLY worlds apart from the vampire/werewolf stuff, it is also the sort of novel that you actually care about every personality King brings to the stage. Since I brought up personalities, let me also add, Penelope King's twited plot has personality galore! Her writing style is totally believable and screams what teenagers ACTUALLY sound like. Girlfriend has found her nitch in Y.A. fantasy! Can NOT wait for round two of this awesome series! Whatever possesed her to write this fast paced novel I hope continues to keep her fingers typing! (I couldn't help it heehee)

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Amazing!!!!

    Totally. Blown. Away. I think. I might. DIE. This master peice is so unique, outstanding and overall, perfect. Its so creative. Not ur typical fantasy romance. Instead of vampires and werewolves ( i hated twilight) its demon and angels and hell hounds! The rules of their world is so intricate and well thought out! The suprise twists always get me.
    I was not disapointed at all!!! Completely exceded my empectations!!!! So worth the money!!!!!!!

    Oh and, if u really end up liking this (i swear on my life u will) u should try Of Posiedon :) its a fresh point of veiw on merpeople. Its amazing too! Not ad good as this... but a close second!!!!!!!!!

    15 year old girl.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Soooo awesome!!

    Great!!!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    great voice and intriguing storyline.

    Just when I thought I was done with the ya paranormal-romance scene I read a book like this and it sucks me back in! The story, told from the perspective of two distinct narrators, the demon girl and the human girl, was awesome. I liked each character and really connected to the writing.I'm glad to see this is part of a series because I'd love to read more!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Surprise Attention grabber!

    I'm not sure what made me buy this book. I was looking for something fun to read on the beach and the blurb on the back caught my eye. Instead of waiting until I left for vacation to start, I immediately snuggled in for a read. The premises grabbed me right away. Wow, two distinct personalities, one body. As I delved deeper into the the story I realized it wasn't just a silly little read about teenage angst. Basically it grabbed me by the eyelashes and wouldn't let go.

    Liora and Lucky, for me, were more than just a demion and a human sharing the same body. They were a symbol for a battle which rages inside of everyone. The cocky devish side who wants to have fun and fight for her rights, and the shy demure side that just wants desparately to blend into the crowd.

    I have to say even though it'd be difficult to "love" Bones, I did. And Kieron? Oh Swoon! Honestly I can't wait until the next installment, because I feel sort of protective over the two girls and can't wait to see what life has in store for them. Wonderful Read Pick it up Now :D

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You won't be able to put this one down!!!

    From the first page to the last, I read this book straight through in a few hours then once I was done, I instantly wanted more! I highly recommend this book to everyone!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    Couldn't put it down

    A friend recommended this book to read, so I downloaded it to my nook that day. I stayed up into the night to finish it, because I couldn't stop reading. And it's not one of those annoying books where the writing isn't good, but you still have to keep reading to find out what happens. I enjoyed the writing style, too. It was a fun little escape from reality and I can't wait for another from the series to be published!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Loved this book!

    I can't believe this was a free book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Raisa

    Walked over to Jake and sat next to him.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Amazing

    I couldnt stop reading tjis book! Great discription!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Amazing book

    When i started reding this book i had been a huge reading slump and couldnt get out of it. This book pulled me out of it. This book pulled me into its world and i couldnt put it down. I was completely consumed in this amazing and complex world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    omg

    I love this book. I love demons so i just had to read this wonderful book. Although it has alot of pages it is so very amazing. Ithink everyone who can understand this book should read it because it is so very entertaining. You wont want to put this book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Terrifically exciting

    Ok so this was one of the bestbooks i ever read. It was hard for me to put the book down. It has many twists and turns that keep you going. I definitely would recommend thisbook to anyone who love fantasy with a little romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Best book ever

    I really loved this book. I would recommend it to all of my friends. Cant wait to read the second book.

    P.S. No I have a huge crush on Bones and Kieron :p

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    awesome book. Great story and author. A must read.. On to the ne

    awesome book. Great story and author. A must read.. On to the next one now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    It really doesn't get much more awesome than this!!!! LOVED the

    It really doesn't get much more awesome than this!!!! LOVED the two sided story about a girl who is human during day and truns in to a bada$$ demon at night. And Bones? I am in Looooove with Him!!! ahhhhh he needs his own book!! <3 <3 <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Best thing ive ever read

    I have never really loved books that swich charactor every chapter but this ( wonderful) ather has a smooth trasnisan beteen the to.

    Any way this book had a way of pulling me in and not stop reading it. I highly recamend it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    Really Great Read

    I know I am not the target audience for this book, but I really liked it. Easy to read, well written, and with a great story. Already looking forward to the second book of the series (10/31/11).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 193 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10