Customer Reviews for

Demon Seed

Average Rating 3.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Twisted

    Even though its odd and creepy I liked it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    I liked this book

    Proteus portrays himself as being good, being imperfect, being the total opposite of what his actions show: He is insane. Honestly. He stalks Susan, he locks her in her home, he uses Shenk to kill someone close to Susan, his plan almost succeeds and you can just imagine him laughing like a madman. I liked how in the end, Proteus abruptly stopped talking. It gave the impression that Proteus was unplugged, since it was from his point of view and he couldn't just say he'd basically died. I haven't read other works of Dean Koontz, which I somehow know is a pen name, so I can't compare this to others. But I think it would be unfair to make comparisons in any case, if only because it could be seen by the author or authors as insulting.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Sorry.

    Sorry. My mom took my NOOK away for a couple months.

    Silver

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Amy

    No bad bad bad I smack flame o the head till he spit rose out

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Flame

    Swallowed to late he growledf.flame spottedpaw opened his ears and they flopper put he wailed for amy.spottedpaw

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Lilly and Rosie

    They began to relax bellies full

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Autumnleaf

    First let's finish our patrol. -walked along but didn't see or scent anything unusual. She scent marked the borders- (gtg)

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Mossclan

    Woods and stream where u hunt for prey and get water

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Crazy but good

    ;)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Response to reviews

    This book was written many years ago when fod on the table was paramount. It was written by DK but he was given a basic plot line and a limited number of pages. If I am not mistaken, DK was the first to write this plot. The movie is okay but character development was weaker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Very short!

    This is short compact book, not at all what we're used to from DK. Really didn't care for the book too much. I think I will have to find the movie that was made from it and see how that went.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent

    Excellent story and argument against AI. Absolutely brilliant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Not bad

    This book was ok. It was too short to be a very good book but just long enough to get to know the characters. The plot has been done before but I like how Dean did it. Pick it up if you have nothing else to read right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2007

    It had its good and bad parts

    Overall I liked this book, I've read the other reviews and people have said it started out slow, but in my opinion it jumped right into the action after the first few pages. I liked and didn't like the ending because I felt that he had to many loose ends, they were great story ideas but it should have been better explained to make the story more beleivable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2005

    OK, but a little disappointing.

    I don't read very often, but when I do, I like to read horrors and spine tingling thrillers. This book did have a good story line about an artificial intelligence that becomes obsessed with a reclusive woman who lives alone. I was a little bit disappointed with the book, but I still recommend it to anyone else who wants to read it. Dean Koontz a good author, and that book was indeed a good idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2005

    OK

    It was , overall, a good book. It could've been better or compromised, but I would suggest it to anyone that has intrest in his field of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    This must've been written by a Dean Koontz 'surrogate' writer..

    Was this really written by Dean Koontz? I know that famous writers sometimes pay competent writers to write mimetically for them--is this an example of such a case? (I also believe that avid fans of an author can tell when a work isn't a true & total effort of that author himself.) The story started off well, but went downhill from there. There was that scene when the heroine flashes back to being molested by her father--a weak attempt to shock the reader into a sense of intrigue? In fact it was weak and almost expected, like the various other attempts at weaving twists into the tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2004

    Worse idea ever

    Ok, well I have read at least 10 Dean Koontz books in the past 3 years starting with Intensity and let me tell you they were all good, but then I read Demon Seed which had been given good reviews by somebody. Well I should have known this wasn't going to be good when I practically forced myself to read and finish the book. It was exciting how the computer took over the house and shut everything down and used the lady as surrogante mother for it's own demise, but really where was the real suspense? We get some story line from the girl about being abused by her father, but she never goes into it in full detail and the rest of the story is taken over by the robot or whatever it truly was. I swear that machine got on my last nerves. The ending was weak and the whole book had minumal thrills. I'll give it two stars just because Dean Koontz wrote it and I really like his writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2004

    Intriguing, but failed ultimately

    I am a Koontz fan and as such praise most of his works. This, however, left much to be desired. Mr. Koontz's use of language and situational irony are top notch, but the story itself progresses rather slowly. It felt like I was wading knee deep in molasses. I also was extremely dissapointed with the ending. Avoid Demon Seed if this is your first foray into the world of Dean Koontz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    HELLO

    FIRST OFF, I READ ALMOST ANYTHING TO HIT THE MARKET--EXCEPT WILD FANTASIES ABOUT COMPUTERS. LOVE DEAN KOONTZ, HATE THE IDEA. SECOND OF ALL-THIS WAS NOT THE FIRST ONE TO MAKE IT TO THE MOVIES. CHECK OUT WATCHERS 1 AND 2 IN A VIDEO STORE NEAR YOU.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3