BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Demon Thief (Demonata Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2007

    This book rocks

    His books are page turning, crazy ending phenominons. I love reading them and they are all good books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    Another great example of a book!

    When i finished this book i couldn't believe what i just read. The Demon Thief had a very good story line that will amaze you, awe you, and defiantly surprise and shock you! Once you pick this book up, there's no possible way you can put it down. It's just that good of a book! Darren Shan (the author) has made another masterpiece once again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    demon thief-the second book to the demonata series

    this is the best sequal to the demonata series!!I enjoyed this book and i really think this is the book to read after you read lord loss the first book to the demonata series.I will hope that all the other books to the demonata series are as suspensful and thrilling as the first two books of the demonata series were.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    I really really liked this book. I actually was just in my school library when I found this book, but I had to get back to class. I saw this book on a table and thought it looked interesting. I now am intent on reading all the books in Darren Shan's thrilling series, 'The Demonata'. I loved the way he was so imaginitive and clear about the ideas and asthetics of the demon worlds. It wasn't cheesy or predictable. The demon worlds were completely seperate concepts than our known universe. This gave every step through a light window new curiosity and adventure. The events in this book were excellently pieced together in order to create a plot line worthy of my highest praise. The book ws magnificent and I am intent on investigating Darren Shan's other works. I highly recommend this book to anyone, especially those interested in horror and fantasy. Find The Demon Thief!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    Twisted and dark.

    This book was interesting to me cause the young child thinking he was weird and how he saw the patches of lights on his wall the lights were always a portal to the other world.The world of Demonta the boy Kernel Fleck had to save his brother from going into one portal after another. I enjoyed this novel and i like the other ones Demon Theif was one of my favorites.I think you have to love grewsome novels and demons and vampires to like darren's books the demonta series is a big deal to me and iam not like other readers after i read the books i love to share the stories with my dad so i tell him what they were about.this book is totaly recommended by me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    What I like about the series, is that the pacing keeps you readi

    What I like about the series, is that the pacing keeps you reading. Then once you get to the last page, you want to read the next book right away. This one we have Dervish who finds his brother Art missing and goes to find him. All the while he can see lights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Love the book!

    Wasn't sure about the books when I started reading the series, but now I'm addicted!! I read this book just over the weekend! Definitely a must read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Nice adventure story

    This series is already really good. I have only read the first and second. But theyre definitely interesting. The only thing im unsure of is how book 2 will fit in with the rest of the series. Ill just have to read and see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Demon Thief - Mira's Review

    It was amazing, another display of Shan's work, but I still have to say, Cirque du Freak was better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    As Awesome

    Most amazing author loved the first on reading the second

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Luv

    I just luved the first book but dont know if get second

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Em

    Awesome books! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    I lovedb the first book

    Best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    OMG!!! Another Outstanding Novel From Darren Shan!!! The Best Yet!!!

    This is the second novel in a series of ten called the Demonata. A really unique thing about this novel is it starts out with completely new characters a new setting and the perfect storyline. There are a few returning characters from the first novel Lord Loss like Dervish and Lord Loss. But this story is set sixteen years before the events of Lord Loss and the new main character has a unique, special power(just like Grubbs from Lord Loss). This story sets the pace and a standard for all the books in the rest of the series. There is non-stop action and gore.And again Darren Shan has made a terrific connection with all the characters throughout the story making it one of the best of the series. But the best thing in the novel is the HUGE HUGE HUGE HUGE HUGE HUGE HUGE HUGE plot twist at the end!!! Another good thing about this story is it describes a lot of the universe of the Demonata making you feel like you are in the story yourself. Making this the all-time best novel in the world.

    Warning: This novel is even way more gory than Lord Loss. Meaning that on a scale from one to ten on gore this book is a 199!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2007

    BEST AUTHOR EVER

    Darren Shan is a book god!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2006

    Freak'n Awesome

    Dude, i love to read books that have vampires, demons, witches, and werewovles. And Darren Shan totally knows how to put one of those monsters in a story, and he also knows how to make it as grusome as possible, with leaving it a teen level book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2006

    amazing.

    his books are amazing, hes cirque du freak series and his new demonata series his book combines realistic kids with a twisting fantasy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    Holy Crap!

    I'm usually not into books like this but I can say that Lord Loss and Demon Thief have spoiled me. Now I'll compare every other book to these and think....'man these suck and are nothing like LL and DT!' Can't wait for the third!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2006

    this guy above me is just like me!

    I have read all of darrens books and he just keeps the great books coming and i dont put them down until im done literally and i wont even stop for dinner. but darren is an encredible writer and everyone should buy his books because even adults would enjoy these books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2006

    Darren Shan!!!

    Oh I LOVE Darren's books. They are a must read. A fantastic combo of fantasy and realism!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4