BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Demon Trapper's Daughter: A Demon Trappers Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 232 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(137)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    can it get any better!!

    ok so I normally wait until I finish the book to write a review, but O M GOSH!!! I could not wait. I am 37 years old and started reading this to see if my 11 year old could read this and what a pleasant surprise. I found a new and exciting author. This story line had me captavated from beginning to well um... middle. It has a few words that we couldv'e done without ( cursing and vulgarity ), but a great plot and strength in a female leading lady

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Pretty good read

    I love series books. I had downloaded the free ebook "Retro-demonology" and it had a free preview of "the demon trapper's daughter". At the end of the free preview, I was mad when I remembered it was only a preview. So, naturally, I bought the ebook. And it was good. There are so many vampire and werewolf stories now trying to capitalize on the current craze that it was refreshing to read something else in the same realm that was a different story. I enjoyed it and the second book and look forward to the third.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Refreshing plot, but slightly irritating dialogue.

    I quickly finished this book and immediately wanted to get my hands on the sequel. The characters are likable, it's full of suspense, and the plot is very unique. My only problem was that I found the dialogue to be a little annoying and unnatural, but it wasn't so bad that I couldn't focus on the story. Overall, The Demon Trapper's Daughter was an enjoyable read and I am anticipating the next book in the series!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Gritty and unique

    This novel launches readers straight into the thick of the action. Jana Oliver holds no punches, immediately introducing readers to the harsh realities of this grim and gritty future. Riley finds herself in one unbearable situation after another, and the men in her Guild are far from supportive (considering she's the only female trapper -- ever). Though this world is bleak, it is brilliantly constructed: descriptive, complex, complete and self-contained. The fascinating demonology ranges from the downright gruesome to the adorably gremlin-like. It is especially intriguing that the demons are not a secret, but a daily fact of life in this brutal future. The mythology Oliver has built is rich, and half the fun is learning more about its intricacies.

    Yet, there is an interesting contrast between this grungy world and the quippy narration. Riley is definitely a cynic, and she is strong, smart and determined to prove herself. The novel evokes the hopelessness of this future with apparent ease, and it is impossible not to feel for Riley as she endures the unimaginable. However, though Riley is a sympathetic and rounded character, it is nearly impossible to like the rest of the Guild. The male-dominant world is appallingly misogynistic and crass. While that may be the effect the author was going for, it sometimes made reading uncomfortable. Yet, it is refreshing to read a YA novel in which romance is not the primary focus. THE DEMON TRAPPER'S DAUGHTER does feature some teen love, but by-and-large it centers on the fur-flying, demon-trapping antics of the Guild -- full of action, danger and mystery. Jana Oliver has created a fascinating, utterly original story that will add spice to the repetitive YA fare.

    ~Review from thebookishtype[dot]blogspot[dot]com

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Great story, missing backstory.

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading "The Demon Trapper's Daughter." I really liked the characters, especially Riley who is a strong, independent leading female character and I often feel a strong lack of characters like her in YA books. I also found myself torn between both boys in this book, Beck and Simon are both so likeable that I felt torn through most of the novel which makes me look forward to the next book to see if relationships will last, change, etc. My only complaint about this is that there is a real lack of backstory that I just kept waiting to have explained but that never happened. I am hoping in the next book to maybe get an explanation on a few things that were never laid out clearly. Overall, it was an excellent book that I would reccomend to any YA readers and I anticipate more from this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I couldn't stop reading it! Its an easy read and it really keeps you interested. Reading the 2nd book now and I cant wait for the 3rd!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    Can't wait for the 2nd book on the series. I thought the idea for the book was original and very interesting. Riley faces many challenges but stays strong! I have to admit as nice as Simon and Ori are I am rooting for Beck ! Enjoy this is a great read !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Wow

    Just started and im already crying. Its so good and im not even half done

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    I dont know

    Could a 12 year old girl read this without being scared from it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Too good to explain

    This book is amazing!!!! I LOVED THE ACTION PACKED PARTS AND THE LOVING PARTS!!!!! IM ROOTING FOR RILEY AND BECK TO GET TOGETHER BUT THEY REFUSE TO LISTEN!!!! LETS EE WHAT HAPPENS IN THE NEXT BOOK, SOUL THIEF!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2014

    I like her shoes

    In the picture. Converse heh :3 go, conzies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I read hundreds of books each year. I have read some amazing boo

    I read hundreds of books each year. I have read some amazing books so far this year and I would have to say that The Demon Trapper's Daughter has to have been one of my absolute favorites!

    From the very first page, Jana Oliver had me hooked. She is a perfect example of a great writer whose books will become the new rage. Her character development was perfect, you came to love and sympathize with them or hate them all together. I think that a great writer will get the reader to have an emotional response to what is going on within the pages, this seems to be Oliver's specialty. Riley was so well written and the back and forth with Simon is great. And while some of them don't make a HUGE appearance, the demons were pretty lifelike ... I came to really enjoy when certain ones would make an appearance because I was excited to see how Riley would react.

    Writing about the struggle between good and evil isn't exactly a new endeavor in the literary world. What is unique is the way that Oliver went about weaving the story. The concept that she came up with (demons walking around terrorizing society with trappers hunting them down and catching them) was interesting and gripping.

    The awesome thing is that there are three other books in this series and I've heard that they are all just as good as the first installment! Unfortunately, I haven't had the opportunity to read them yet because I have a reading list longer than the Great Wall but I will get to them soon!

    Amazing book, a must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    Riley is a girl trying to make her way in a man's world. She wan

    Riley is a girl trying to make her way in a man's world. She wants to follow in her father's footsteps and trap the demons that now run loose. But, it's not really something that girls do. Only eventually, she needs to step up and do it anyway, learning the ropes from her father's partner Beck. There's something going on, though. The demons know her by name and someone appears to be sabotaging the trappers' efforts. Riley needs to figure out what's happening before she becomes a casualty too.

    This is my first exposure to Jana Oliver, and I am absolutely taken with her. Holy world building, Batman. I loved her concept of 2018 demon-ridden Atlanta. It appears that sometime in the next five years, inflation skyrockets, which forces much of the population into poverty. Gas is 10 bucks a gallon, businesses have been shuttered and, oh yeah - demons ranked 1 through 5 (with 1s being relatively harmless and 5s being bringers of brimstone and death) run rampant through the city.

    This look into the not too distant future was pretty awesome. I loved how Oliver weaved the picture of down-trodden Atlanta with the supernatural aspect of demons. And, she did it so seamlessly too. Much more seamlessly than most passes at urban fantasy. The different levels of demons were super creative and totally awesome. And the set-up of the trappers and their rivals, the demon hunters - who kill rather than capture their targets, was captivating and riveting.

    Riley is a great female character. She's plucky and brave and super smart. I think she's way too hard on Beck. Talk about a woman scorned. Sheesh. She had a crush on him when she was 15 and he turned her away. Ever since then, she treats him like crap with a capital C. She does have her moments of weakness when it comes to him, but they are few and far between.

    And, Beck. My boy Beck is a whole lot of awesomesauce wrapped up in utter stubbornness. He's actually a really good match for Riley. He too is brave and wild and a little nuts. He's had a tough life and has learned to push pretty much everyone away. Despite what he displays on the outside, he seems to genuinely care about Riley. However, being the chivalrous guy he is, Beck thinks that keeping Riley at arm's length is what would be best for her, so he consistently pushes her away with abrasiveness and tons of grrr. Riley and Beck are equal parts frustrating. The good kind, of course.

    The side characters are pretty cool too. There's Simon, Riley's fellow apprentice trapper who appears to be her boyfriend. Something's off with that dude though. Riley's dad made my heart hurt. He works super hard and is really good at what he does, but he doesn't have any time for Riley, and that sucks for both of them. The only side character I didn't really get was Riley's BFF, Peter. He seems to like her like her, yet he never declares it. His mom never wants him to see her. And truthfully, most of their interactions are via the phone. He was pretty non-essential to the story. I could've done without him.

    I'm excited to continue on with the series and find out what's in store next for Riley and Beck. And, I owe Jennifer L. Armentrout a huge thank you for turning me on to this awesome series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Awesome

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Justin

    Umm. People not that book the other one. Me, kindel, an andrew are already there halley. Hurry up.
    To below:how did you get here. Noone knows where were at. We have right to free speech. ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The series is Amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Summary

    I rated this book 4/5 which is saying something coming from me. I thought this book was great, but what I really loved about it was its characters! Riley Blackthorne is a very special girl and I mean it! In Rileys world seeing demons is normal for everyone, but seeing demons call you by your name, that only happens to Riley and her father, master demon trapper Paul Blackthorne. Riley has a very hard personality and although some of her dicisions in this series will infuriate you, trust me you will still be routing for her. Now you have to understand everything Riley has been through, her mother died of cancer, their condo burned down so now they live in a small apartment, then her father dies, which causes a whole lot of problems for her! So before you start thinking " oh i would be awesome in her position! Shes such a wimp!" You have to think about everything she has been through! And honestly do you seriously think you would be able to kick demon butt like her... no didnt think so! And to top it all off her dad made some reallybad dicisions when he was alive but it was all to protect her, and now all those dicisions have demons and fallen angels after Rileys soul and magicians after Rileys fathers body! But who cares because there is this really cute demon trapper that was close to Rileys father and is obiously secretly crushing on Riley but you dont figure that out till later in the series! And his name is Denver Beck! He served in the war in aphganistan, used to be real bad a**, is country, had an acholic sl*t for a mother, and he still has a really big heart, but he also still acts bad a** but in that nice way that makes you say ahhhhh when you figure out that he has a bunny because he didnt want it to get hurt in the wilderness when his ex told him to release it in a park! Sorry didnt mean to give so much away but that happens in like the second or third book! Then there is the religious demon trapper named simon who is supposedly reallt cute but trust me when i say its safer not to get too attached to him because he is going to do something that will get you really angry in the other books and towards the end he'll get better but things just wont be the same after that. There is also a really cute nerd named peter that is Rileys geneious friend! There are to many characters to mention but if you liked the ones i have already told you about (maybe a crush on Beck) then you will love the rest and even hate some of the characters! But youll have to read the books to figure it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Awesome

    Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    new author for me.....loved it

    already starting second book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    Forsaken is the first novel in the Demon Trappers series and fol

    Forsaken is the first novel in the Demon Trappers series and follows
    Riley Blackthorne, daughter of famous demon trapper Paul Blackthorne.
    Riley is working a standard job on a Grade One demon in the school
    library when something goes terribly wrong. A Grade Five demon pops up
    and overpowers Riley in a matter of seconds. This little event causes
    Riley to get a slap on the wrist – again – from the local demon trappers
    guild. They aren’t too thrilled with having a girl in their midst to
    begin with, and Riley’s constant screwing up only makes matters worse.
    The demon trappers aren’t buying her story about the Grade Five demon,
    and she’s forced to work as an apprentice for one of the Masters in the
    Guild, who turns out to be a raving alcoholic who rather puts his pupils
    in harms way than actually train them. On top of that, something
    terrible happens to Riley’s Dad during what was supposed to be a routine
    job. Riley and her Dad’s best friend and apprentice, Beck, are left to
    pick up the pieces. It’s obvious to both of them that something is
    stirring in the demon world…If only those stuck up masters of their
    guild wouldn’t be so foolish not to notice anything. Riley is an
    intriguing character. I loved her from the start. The author managed to
    give her main character a unique voice almost right away. I also liked
    how different Riley is from other heroines we meet all too often in
    young adult novels: the kick-ass, can defeat anything, uberly
    overpowered type and the weak, personality-less, cardboard-figure type
    like we see in Twilight. Riley is strong, but definitely not invincible.
    She’s used to doing things on her own, even if it would be a lot easier
    to just ask for help. She has a hard time opening up to people, and
    naturally, she feels more than a little lost without her Dad. Beck is
    an interesting character as well. The only thing I found annoying about
    him was the way he talked. “Ya” instead of “you”, for example. This
    annoys me endlessly, in all books. I’m glad it wasn’t overdone here
    though. Beck is tough but a bit of a loner. Paul Blackthorne, Riley’s
    Dad, wasn’t just his teacher, but also his best friend. When something
    happens to Paul, Beck can’t help but blame himself. Lost, confused and
    feeling guilty, he does everything he can to help out Riley, who doesn’t
    want his help at all, and to take revenge on the things that took his
    friend away. I liked Beck, and I thought his personality was very
    strong, although similar to some of the other male heroes I’ve read in
    YA, his voice still seemed unique enough for me to like him. What I
    really fell in love with, was the world Jana Oliver created in her Demon
    Trappers series. Good vs. evil, demons of different grades based on how
    difficult it is to defeat them, a world infested with creatures from
    hell, demon trappers guilds to try and defeat them, Holy Water, and a
    lot more. Her world is practically bursting with creativity. It’s grim
    and dark, but also intriguing and awesome. I wouldn’t mind spending a
    week or two there. If you’re a fan of YA paranormal romance and urban
    fantasy, then Forsaken is an excellent choice. It’s one hell of a ride,
    a pageturner that kept me glued to my seat from start to finish. Don’t
    miss out on this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 234 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12