Customer Reviews for

Demon from the Dark (Immortals after Dark Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 786 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(518)

4 Star

(177)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

1/2 Demon + 1/2 Vampire = a WHOLE lot of Hot Vemon!!

Amazingly, Kresley Cole has topped herself with a new Lore hero! Malkom Slaine, a vemon (1/2 demon/½ vampire), is damaged by his troubled past and has spent centuries being haunted by the beatings and betrayals he has had to endure. He lives for vengeance. Once ...
Amazingly, Kresley Cole has topped herself with a new Lore hero! Malkom Slaine, a vemon (1/2 demon/½ vampire), is damaged by his troubled past and has spent centuries being haunted by the beatings and betrayals he has had to endure. He lives for vengeance. Once you betray him, you pay. Enter Carrow Graie, party witch extraordinaire with her own damage. Carrow has been captured by The Order, an evil group rounding up immortals for their own nefarious reasons. The Order threaten to kill Ruby, Carrow's orphaned neice, if Carrow doesn't lure Malkom to the Order. Even though neither speaks the other's language, they are able to communicate. Many LOL moments with Malkom and Carrow "negotiating" in sign language! Though Carrow is falling for her vemon, she knows she must save Ruby. Yet another betrayal for Malkom, who is mesmerized by his mate. Will Malkom be able to forgive Carrow, just when she realizes she can't live without him? Whether he forgives her or not, Malkom's not about to let her go and will go to any lengths to keep her.

Kresley Cole delivers yet another amazing installment in the Immortals After Dark series! And as an extra treat we get to catch up with favorites like Mariketa and Bowen, Rydstrom and Sabine. Malkom and Carrow's book is a page-turner you won't be able to put down!

posted by OpheliaTX on August 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

ebooks, B&N!

I certainly hope that this is not going to be a boondoggle like the last release of Ms. Cole's book. I love her stories, but I bought a nook so that I wouldn't have to drive out of my way to get my favorite new releases on release day. The last one was released a day ...
I certainly hope that this is not going to be a boondoggle like the last release of Ms. Cole's book. I love her stories, but I bought a nook so that I wouldn't have to drive out of my way to get my favorite new releases on release day. The last one was released a day or two after the paperbacks were out. If the physical copy is available for prepurchase, then why can't the ebook go up at the same time?

posted by houndstooth on July 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 795 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 40
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    1/2 Demon + 1/2 Vampire = a WHOLE lot of Hot Vemon!!

    Amazingly, Kresley Cole has topped herself with a new Lore hero! Malkom Slaine, a vemon (1/2 demon/½ vampire), is damaged by his troubled past and has spent centuries being haunted by the beatings and betrayals he has had to endure. He lives for vengeance. Once you betray him, you pay. Enter Carrow Graie, party witch extraordinaire with her own damage. Carrow has been captured by The Order, an evil group rounding up immortals for their own nefarious reasons. The Order threaten to kill Ruby, Carrow's orphaned neice, if Carrow doesn't lure Malkom to the Order. Even though neither speaks the other's language, they are able to communicate. Many LOL moments with Malkom and Carrow "negotiating" in sign language! Though Carrow is falling for her vemon, she knows she must save Ruby. Yet another betrayal for Malkom, who is mesmerized by his mate. Will Malkom be able to forgive Carrow, just when she realizes she can't live without him? Whether he forgives her or not, Malkom's not about to let her go and will go to any lengths to keep her.

    Kresley Cole delivers yet another amazing installment in the Immortals After Dark series! And as an extra treat we get to catch up with favorites like Mariketa and Bowen, Rydstrom and Sabine. Malkom and Carrow's book is a page-turner you won't be able to put down!

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Kresley! Another FAB story!!

    I loved Carrow and Malkom!! Even Ruby was cute [and I don't enjoy children in books...I don't know why?] With all the characters Kresley had introduced us to, she could write 50 books in this series...and I'd buy them ALL!! I'm thrilled when a writer keeps other favorites in current stories. Like Conrad, Bowen [yum], Rydstrom, Mari, Garreth...etc. The communication trouble the two had between demonish and anglish was hilarious! Drawing pictures and signing. I could see it all plain as day. But when she blooded him, and she knew it...that was my favorite part...along with how BAD he WANTED her after, his female. Poor Maklom had been through alot growing up, same with Crow, so it was a wonderful ending that the two of them helped HEAL eathothers hearts. I wish there was a new book to read each month from this series...but I wait patiently with baited breath for the next...?

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kresley Cole owns the paranormal genre and proves it once again with this book

    Trust is not a given between any two people even those so fated to spend eternity together. It is an earned feeling and if the person you love most breaks the bond of trust you have in them, the faith you had may never return.

    Malkom Slaine had been abused, abandoned and almost killed by everyone that was ever dear to him. He is unique in the Lore as he had been turned into a demon and his powers were strong. But life had not been kind to him and he had been left to rot in the demon plane that is a virtual hell where he now is forced to live with none of his powers working and his daily life a battle to survive. Carrow Graie is a witch who lives with her coven in relative safety and never expected to be taken prisoner by "The Order" a human group bent on the destruction of the paranormal community which consists of everyone Carrow knows and loves. Her powers have been stripped and she is living in a cage listening to others beg for their existence. But The Order will give her back her freedom and return her powers if she can retrieve Malkom and convince him to transport through the portal so the enemy analyze him. The fact that they are holding Ruby, one dear 7 year-old witch that Carrow adores as collateral for this to happen seals this deal. This manipulation forces Carrow to use whatever she has to in order to bring Malkom back to face whatever fate should occur to free Ruby and ensure that she is safely returned to their coven.

    However, Carrow never thought that the one male she can't care about is the one she has been fated to and perhaps the one that can give her purpose in her out of control life and make her happy. Love has been fleeting and rarely given so when Malkom extends his hand to show her affection Carrow is more likely to bite it than kiss it. Malkom knows from his now beating heart and over whelming desire to mate that Carrow is the one woman he has been waiting for and he will have her no matter how it has to happen. He takes her to his shelter, lets her care for him and shows her in his rudimentary way what she means to him. But Carrow knows that she has a mission and that mission is not to fall in love with this demon but to get him back through the portal and the clock is ticking. Malkom makes the mistake of trusting her and the steps that occur after forces their relationship to collapse and the struggle to regain the feelings they once shared require giant leaps not baby steps.

    Freedom comes at a high cost to both of them and protecting Ruby is their number one priority. But can Malkom get past Carrow's deception and move forward toward a life together or are they stranded on the island of despair and loneliness never knowing what true passion and emotional release can feel like?

    Kresley Cole is one of the writer's who has created an alternate universe that is so deep in characters and plot that you have to stop and remind yourself this is not real. She is the master of this genre and the books in this series grow more fascinating and intriguing while remaining fresh which is a difficult task. Ms. Cole has written such wonderful characters with Malkom and Carrow that you find yourself not only rooting for their success to freedom but also that they figure out how amazing their love is. Thank you as always Kresley for writing these works of art.

    Mary Gramlich is The Reading Reviewer at www.marygramlich.com

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't Help But Fall in Love with Malkom Slaine!!

    The book was so good that I couldn't put it down until I finished it. I downloaded the sample and was instantly hooked! You couldn't help but feel for the characters and Kresley Cole has a great way of letting the readers see and feel through each character as if you could be any one of them. Demon from the Dark's main characters, Malkom and Carrow, couldn't have been more opposite and more right for each other. You wanted them to be together and rooted for them. My only negative opinion about this book was that it ended too soon and too abruptly for me. But all in all, a great book and a great read. Definitely recommend!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just when I think Kresley Cole can't impress me any more!

    I read an excerpt from "Demon from the Dark" and wasn't sure if it would hold my attention, but I trust Mrs. Cole to deliver the goods and boy did she ever! Over the past year I've been reading a lot of the 'paranormal romance' series and The Immortals After Dark series has to be one of the best written series. Are the sex scenes hot? You betcha! But what really makes the IAD series work is the characters. I've read too many romance books in which it is only about the couple, not the two individual characters who make up the couple. When I read a romance book, I want to know that I can enjoy these two individual characters on their own and that's what Mrs. Cole does in the IAD series and it is evident in "Demon From the Dark". I've read about Carrow in the other IAD books and I got a sense of who she was, but this book really made the character more rounded. You find that there is more to her than just the partying, that she can be someone that a person (or demon) can depend on. When she meets Malkom, you know that they are going to hook up, but it's the journey that makes the story. The tragic life that the Vemon (Vampire/Demon) had endure up until he meets Carrow, lets you know that their road to happiness will be bumpy...really bumpy. I'm a big fan of the Demons and Werewolves in the IAD series, so it was nice to see another one take center stage...with a little Vampire thrown in. But really...the sex scenes are scorching hot! We all need a little Vemon now and again!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    On my second read!

    I thought this was an excellent book!!! I would recommend this book to people who enjoy very adult content with an imagination for the supernatural!!! The book has both romance and action. I was never bored with the book and had a difficult time putting it down!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Highs and Lows

    I liked this book a lot. The main character Carrow was likable, the child was entertaining without being annoying and Malkom... well he was quite likable as well. The story had pretty good interludes of the character's backgrounds. The relationship between Malkom and Carrow was hot, hot hot. Malkom himself had some very entertaining scenes as he was adjusting to life with Carrow. I recommend it as a weekend read. I was a little put off that the majority of the book lacked action - the characters spend a week either cooped up in a cave or in a cabin(and the fact that they stay in the cabin so long without being caught by the other creatures doesn't seem plausible.. but then again this is a book about demons and vampires :-P) Parts were a little slow but once the action kicked in after they step through the portal, I literally couldn't put my nook down. And apparently this is an "erotic" book, but it was written realitively subdued. Just enough lust to make it interesting but not so much that it deterred from the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark and complex

    Demon from the Dark is attractively dark and complex. Even as some of the minor characters could have used development, I just love the brilliant and sometimes frightening Malkom! An unforgettable adult read with rich fantasy elements.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    Wonderful!

    I must say that I am a fan and no matter what I would have read it. But, this book opened the door to leading up to the "Ascension" that has been talked about since book 1. I really did love the fact that this story was a demon and a witch. Unlikely combination but on top of that this demon was a particular creation "venom". I would like to have seen a little more elaborated on the "Order" and their mysterious island. I think there is a lot missing to let us know what twisted things the mortals are up too and who is really pulling the strings - we have a mystery there - which is alluded to. I am also very happy how this book ends - Ms. Cole has quite the challenge ahead of her to show what happens in the "rescue". I am sure that the next book is going to to show us all our favorites and add a few new.
    This is entertaining and Ms. Cole brings the sexy romance to hilt - anyone looking for a wonderful series of books need to read these!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    Excellent!

    Best one in the Series. I bought it and read it in one day. Can't wait for the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    Best Book in the Series

    I LOVED this book! It is by far my favorite of the series. I couldn't put it down. You can't help but hope for Malkom and Carrow. Their interactions in the beginning are hilarious and heart tugging in the end. I am totally addicted to this series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    Great Book But...

    Why is the ebook price more expensive than the paperback price?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended***Story was amazing

    I don't usually get into all the different immortals but Kresley Cole does an awesome job in this entire series. I started out only wanting to read vampire books, but this series has really captured me. And this one was no exception. I just couldn't put it down. Malkom Slaine is such a good "bad" guy. I Loooooovvvvvvvvveeeeeeeddddd it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really Enjoyed it!

    Kresley's style is funny and sexy all at the same time! I was really looking forward to the next installment in her series to see where she would take the storyline. I LOVE the new direction and the endless possibilities! I will say that there was some necessary set-up in this story that wasn't in the others since they all center around the 'hie' and all the intertwined stories associated with it. After the last book, we had the answer and it left me wondering where she would go. If you haven't given Kresley a try yet - she won't disappoint!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    One of my favorites out of the series!

    I absolutely loved this book! I enjoy the writing style of Kresley Cole. This book had action, betrayal, suspense, and Hot! Hot! scenes. I thought the characters were well developed and the plot was great. Can't wait for the next installment. There is always a be continued in her series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    OMG! IAD....Gotta Love Them!

    This is a very good series, well worth the read. But, gosh it's like the batman tv show: To be continued...BAM!...till next week...WHAM! That I do not care for, but I am now addicted to IAD and I will wait till next week's show (in reality till next year) because I want to find out how the other's back :-( and Kresley Cole does write extremely well..

    The story-line is like XMEN the movie in this one :_)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2010

    Loved it!!

    Don't usually write reviews but loved this book! Kresley Cole gets better with each book and I love how this one wrapped other characters into it..........great read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZING!

    THIS IS MY FAVORITE BOOK SO FAR IN THE SERIES!!!!!!! I Love Carrow and Malkom together....the story wasnt what i thought it would be it was so much better!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    kresley cole has done it again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    what can i say besides, where can i find my very own vemon!!!!!!!!! the world kresley creates, is by far one of the best in paranormal romances to date. ALL of her characters pull you in and make you want to become a part of he lore. this is one of her best to date, I don't know how she will top this one, all I do know is I'll be waiting holding my breath!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I'm so glad I came back to this series.  This has become one of

    I'm so glad I came back to this series.  This has become one of my favorites!  Vemons were introduced as evil and stronger than any Vampire or Demon.  
    To see one played like this in Malkom just shows puts a whole new spin on it.  I felt for Malkom from the beginning.  I was angry at the 
    author at first for allowing the "good guy" to be made into a vemon.  Then, out of all the witches to put him with, Carrow.  The one who needs 
    happiness to work her magic, that was perfect!  As always, I liked how she told more and more of the background of the main characters.
    I thought that the internal struggle Malkom had with trust was realistic too.  Too many times you see the "I don't trust you" but "I love you" ok, "I trust you again."It just doesn't work that way.  Anyway, on to the next one.  I'm rehooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 795 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 40