Customer Reviews for

Demon from the Dark (Immortals after Dark Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 793 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(524)

4 Star

(177)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

1/2 Demon + 1/2 Vampire = a WHOLE lot of Hot Vemon!!

Amazingly, Kresley Cole has topped herself with a new Lore hero! Malkom Slaine, a vemon (1/2 demon/½ vampire), is damaged by his troubled past and has spent centuries being haunted by the beatings and betrayals he has had to endure. He lives for vengeance. Once ...
Amazingly, Kresley Cole has topped herself with a new Lore hero! Malkom Slaine, a vemon (1/2 demon/½ vampire), is damaged by his troubled past and has spent centuries being haunted by the beatings and betrayals he has had to endure. He lives for vengeance. Once you betray him, you pay. Enter Carrow Graie, party witch extraordinaire with her own damage. Carrow has been captured by The Order, an evil group rounding up immortals for their own nefarious reasons. The Order threaten to kill Ruby, Carrow's orphaned neice, if Carrow doesn't lure Malkom to the Order. Even though neither speaks the other's language, they are able to communicate. Many LOL moments with Malkom and Carrow "negotiating" in sign language! Though Carrow is falling for her vemon, she knows she must save Ruby. Yet another betrayal for Malkom, who is mesmerized by his mate. Will Malkom be able to forgive Carrow, just when she realizes she can't live without him? Whether he forgives her or not, Malkom's not about to let her go and will go to any lengths to keep her.

Kresley Cole delivers yet another amazing installment in the Immortals After Dark series! And as an extra treat we get to catch up with favorites like Mariketa and Bowen, Rydstrom and Sabine. Malkom and Carrow's book is a page-turner you won't be able to put down!

posted by OpheliaTX on August 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

ebooks, B&N!

I certainly hope that this is not going to be a boondoggle like the last release of Ms. Cole's book. I love her stories, but I bought a nook so that I wouldn't have to drive out of my way to get my favorite new releases on release day. The last one was released a day ...
I certainly hope that this is not going to be a boondoggle like the last release of Ms. Cole's book. I love her stories, but I bought a nook so that I wouldn't have to drive out of my way to get my favorite new releases on release day. The last one was released a day or two after the paperbacks were out. If the physical copy is available for prepurchase, then why can't the ebook go up at the same time?

posted by houndstooth on July 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Kresley! Another FAB story!!

    I loved Carrow and Malkom!! Even Ruby was cute [and I don't enjoy children in books...I don't know why?] With all the characters Kresley had introduced us to, she could write 50 books in this series...and I'd buy them ALL!! I'm thrilled when a writer keeps other favorites in current stories. Like Conrad, Bowen [yum], Rydstrom, Mari, Garreth...etc. The communication trouble the two had between demonish and anglish was hilarious! Drawing pictures and signing. I could see it all plain as day. But when she blooded him, and she knew it...that was my favorite part...along with how BAD he WANTED her after, his female. Poor Maklom had been through alot growing up, same with Crow, so it was a wonderful ending that the two of them helped HEAL eathothers hearts. I wish there was a new book to read each month from this series...but I wait patiently with baited breath for the next...?

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Highs and Lows

    I liked this book a lot. The main character Carrow was likable, the child was entertaining without being annoying and Malkom... well he was quite likable as well. The story had pretty good interludes of the character's backgrounds. The relationship between Malkom and Carrow was hot, hot hot. Malkom himself had some very entertaining scenes as he was adjusting to life with Carrow. I recommend it as a weekend read. I was a little put off that the majority of the book lacked action - the characters spend a week either cooped up in a cave or in a cabin(and the fact that they stay in the cabin so long without being caught by the other creatures doesn't seem plausible.. but then again this is a book about demons and vampires :-P) Parts were a little slow but once the action kicked in after they step through the portal, I literally couldn't put my nook down. And apparently this is an "erotic" book, but it was written realitively subdued. Just enough lust to make it interesting but not so much that it deterred from the story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark and complex

    Demon from the Dark is attractively dark and complex. Even as some of the minor characters could have used development, I just love the brilliant and sometimes frightening Malkom! An unforgettable adult read with rich fantasy elements.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    Wonderful!

    I must say that I am a fan and no matter what I would have read it. But, this book opened the door to leading up to the "Ascension" that has been talked about since book 1. I really did love the fact that this story was a demon and a witch. Unlikely combination but on top of that this demon was a particular creation "venom". I would like to have seen a little more elaborated on the "Order" and their mysterious island. I think there is a lot missing to let us know what twisted things the mortals are up too and who is really pulling the strings - we have a mystery there - which is alluded to. I am also very happy how this book ends - Ms. Cole has quite the challenge ahead of her to show what happens in the "rescue". I am sure that the next book is going to to show us all our favorites and add a few new.
    This is entertaining and Ms. Cole brings the sexy romance to hilt - anyone looking for a wonderful series of books need to read these!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really Enjoyed it!

    Kresley's style is funny and sexy all at the same time! I was really looking forward to the next installment in her series to see where she would take the storyline. I LOVE the new direction and the endless possibilities! I will say that there was some necessary set-up in this story that wasn't in the others since they all center around the 'hie' and all the intertwined stories associated with it. After the last book, we had the answer and it left me wondering where she would go. If you haven't given Kresley a try yet - she won't disappoint!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Great new character!

    I didnt think I would like this book as much as the others, but suprisingly I did. Great new characters, and the story line was incredible. If your a fan of the series, you will love this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Love

    Loved Carrow and Malcom. Series keeps getting better and better. I think the hero has the darkest past so far. His life is hell and his past is one nightmare after another. Carrow is strong and smart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Once again, Kresley Cole delivers.

    Gosh. I surfed through my notes and see I don’t have too many. Bummer. It’ll make this review a bit tougher. Okay. Here goes. I didn’t think this was Ms. Cole’s best work. In fact, it was my least favorite of the series. But hold up. It wasn’t a bad read either. After all, not every book she writes can come in first place. It was more than okay, but it wasn’t fantastic. Most of my notes refer to Malkom. Whereas Carrow was the normal snarky heroine typical of Ms. Cole’s novels, our hero was unique. He reminded me of a maiden at times with his mentality and his experience. I loved it. When he wasn’t playing the role of the maiden, he was a Neanderthal. He had no problem swinging his woman over his shoulder and hauling her to his cave of love. The diversity was great. And he had this interesting sense of fairness. As if the world balanced out. After 400 years, one would think he’d learn. I’d give Demons from the Dark a 3.5-4 star read, whereas most of her books would be on a 4-5 star read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    ******

    Discovered a Great New Set of Hot Immortal Warriors!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended - A great read

    By far one of the best series I've read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Great book!

    Kresley Cole maintains her high bar with #9 in her After Dark Series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Highly recommend-

    Great book! Could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    Recommended to all Kresley Cole Fans and more!

    I always like Kresley Cole's paranormal romances. They are fun to read and just juicy enough to keep you drooling over the lead characters. Although this is not one of my favorites, I still enjoyed reading about Carrow's vemon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    Yay - the series is picking pack up!

    Demon from the Dark is the 8th full length novel in Kresley Cole's Imortals after Dark series. Carrow Graie is a witch who has been captured by a group seeking to add to their paranormal menagerie. They have tasked Carrow with locating Malkom Slaine, a Vemon (vampire/demon). They have her sweet niece Ruby as collateral to make her comply. Things get tricky when Carrow starts to fall in love with the beast. How can she possibly choose between Ruby or Malkom?

    I love this series, but the last couple of books have left me with a bad taste in my mouth, worried that the series isn't going anywhere. Things seemed a little stagnant in terms of the big war amongst the immortals. Well, I am happy to say this book pushed all those worries to the back of my mind. It was an incredible journey and things are finally starting to pick up in terms of the overall story arc. Yay!!!!

    I had a little bit of trouble getting into the story. It started out slow giving us Malkom's back story, plus coupled with my own preconceived notions, made me put it down and pick it back up repeatedly. Once I got past the first chapter (I know, short attention span) things really picked up. Malkom is a crazy beast of a man. Well, not exactly a man, a demon really. But he is completely Alpha with a soft, sensitive inner core. Carrow can't help but be drawn to him. He is fiercely protective, yet extremely inexperienced when it comes to women. He is a very unique hero and a lot of romance fans are going to adore him. I know I did.

    I really enjoyed Demon from the Dark. I have not been as enthusiastic about paranormal romance compared with urban fantasy, but I thought Demon from the Dark was up there with urban fantasy this time. I highly recommend this series and this book if you like paranormal romance. I recently posted an excerpt, which you can find here. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A great read with a new twist on the Supernatural!!

    Cole delivers an exiting twist to the normal vampire fantasy, bringing you into a world that will leave you convinced it's not just fiction. An intriguing combination of romance with a plot that is strong enough to captivate you on its own. Readers will find themselves drawn to Malkom Slaine as Cole delivers nicely on bringing his background of hurt and betrayal to the surface making you sympathize with his fate almost immediately. Carrow Graie is a witch but in a new twist on the normal that will have you wanting to turn the pages quickly to discover more about her heritage and the powers she possesses.

    Overall a great read and well worth my time.

    Cara Faith Donovan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 177 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9