Customer Reviews for

Demon in My View (Den of Shadows Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 372 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(286)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great sequel to a stunning debut!

This amazing sequel picks up where In the Forests of the Night left off. The characters are fully explored a lot more, with a new twist. I won't say a lot, just pick up and enjoy!

posted by Anonymous on June 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

after reading in the forests of the night, i found out about this book and was happy that aubrey came back but sad that riskika didn't but is mentioned. now we have a new character called Caryn and her family of witches. was in the first book though not by name until n...
after reading in the forests of the night, i found out about this book and was happy that aubrey came back but sad that riskika didn't but is mentioned. now we have a new character called Caryn and her family of witches. was in the first book though not by name until now, jessica who's secretely an author, has discovered that the new students at her school seem awfully familiar from the book she had written and has made some enemeies who don't want her writing about them. fala for one is angry as heck and threatens to kill her but Aubrey has a different idea. Jessica and Caryn can be annoying at times but its still an alright book. read in the forests of the night first then demon in my view to know the old characters from the new characters. seems after twilight that everyone's like great now everyon's writing about vampires, let me remind you that this book came out way before Twilight and is actually not that bad of a vampire story. don't be quick to judge. twilight isn't that perfect of a book but a great book none the less. no offense to the twilighters who love the twilight series. my personal favorite is new moon.

posted by Anonymous on May 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    This really was a great book!!!!

    this book was one of the best books i have ever read and i read a lot!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    I got to give her kudos

    This book is totally awsome. I read it in about an hour. One thing I love is how jessica can just be a loner and can live with it, and just go's off on her own into the dark and stay there for hours. my most favorite character is Aubry he's so quiet in the book'well I think'. Ameliea has done it again!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2000

    More Aubrey!

    This book was better than the first. Jessica was better developed than Risika and didn't cram morals down people's throat. Also, she wasn't a whiner. I wish that Amelia would write a book all about Aubrey and how he came to be a vampire. That would be nice. he's my favorite character. But, I also wish that Jessica would have been nicer to Caryn when Caryn was nothing but nice to her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Wow

    This book was short but it felt long. But in a good way. I will tell all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Awesome, BUT...

    I love the story and the characters quite a bit - have since I was 12 and now I'm 21. However, someone needs to go back through and proof-read everthing. The grammatical mistakes take away from the story itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story

    This is a great story. I am impressed with this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2008

    Great Read

    This book is wrote by only a 15year old girl and it's great. It's about vampires and witches. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    GOOD!!!

    Very good Book. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2006

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    Jessica Allodola, a senior at Ramsa High School, is not your average teenager. Under the pen name Ash Night, Jessica has already published a vampire novel entitled TIGER, TIGER. She also has a pretty mean spirit, goes mostly ignored by her fellow students, and acts mostly indignantly towards her adopted mother. The problem is that with the arrival of two new students in school, Caryn and Alex, her book seems to be coming to life. Caryn claims to be a witch, descended from the Smoke line that Jessica wrote about in her book. Alex, a spitting image for her anti-hero, Aubrey, might very well be a vampire. And suddenly life starts to get a whole lot more confusing. DEMON IN MY VIEW is an entertaining vampire story, but it never gains the potential it might have if the story was fleshed out a bit more. Although Jessica's fiction begins to merge with real life, the chapters of the book are short, and the characters, though interesting, aren't as well-rounded as they could have been. What really irritated me about the book was the ending. Aubrey turns Jessica into a vampire to save her life, but there's no resolution after that. Wham..she's a vampire..the end. I would have liked to have seen how the story progressed. Overall, DEMON IN MY VIEW is a quick, fun read, but it's definitely not the best young adult vampire story out there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2005

    ┬┐Demon in my View┬┐ is wonderful

    This book was so wonderful I couldn¿t put it down. Atwater-Rhodes did it again, she topped herself and I can not wait for the next book. In ¿Demon in my View¿ an average social misfit, high school student, Jessica, writes novels under a pen name. When two new students start at her school she notices a lot of similarities to one of the characters in her book. She is intrigued at the qualities he possesses because they match what she is writing in her newest book. Is the new kid for real? What happens when you fall in love with your writing? To find out pick up this book, it will be worth your time. I recommend this book to anyone who loves horror and vampires, but is also a sucker for a good love story. This book combines the best of the two worlds leaving out all the sappy stuff of a romance novel that makes you physically ill, and includes all the cool things you can find in a horror novel, like vampires. A must read, as i¿m sure all her future books will be. I¿m totally hooked Atwater-Rhodes is number one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    demon in my view

    I really, really surprised by this book i wasn't sure how it would be, and i wasn't familiar with Amelia's writing but this book totally blew me away I think it is excellent. I book any vampire fan can enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2005

    Great for preteens

    I read this book back in middle school and I thought it was pretty awesome. I loved Aubrey and everything was...uh, swell. However, this book, compared to In the Forests of the Night and Shattered Mirror (the only books I've read by her) is the best of the three. It's a fun and quick read. =D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2005

    Demon in My View

    This book was excellent and love the character Aubrey. In this one you notice a character who was in In the Forests of the Night and seemed as a sequel but know if this one is. Loved the opening of the story and the ending was okay too. Nice setting though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    Nice

    A really nice book, really short though, but still a good book. Its a good quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2004

    could not put it down!

    i loved the book.it was so good for how old she was. it is a must read.but i dont think the title fits the story to well.i all ways thought of the main vampire as a soft love bound guy.i have read all her books so far,and Hawksong was the best by far.the older she gets the better she gets.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    Tyte... ::smile::

    this book was awesome! but the way the author portrays vampires was waaaaay different from what im used to. i loved the book but i wasnt quite okay with the fact that the vampires could walk in the light of day and not be harmed. it was awesome.. ::smile::

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    Pretty Good...An Admiral Work

    I must tell you the truth. I was pretty upset that Amelia Atwaters Rhodes had potential of being the next Anne Rice for i to pledge to be her kin (as of writing).Yet, i'm mighty impressed...i love Aubrey but as he turned into a softie i was skeptical of finishing but the struggle kept me hook in away Anne Rice has with Armand and Lestat.All i have to say is watch out for me and my writing...i may be competation.^^

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2003

    I've Read Better

    I have to admit that I've read better vampire lure in my life. This book not something I'd go out of my way to buy at the store. I would check it out from a library from time to time. I wouldn't obsess over it as most of my friends do. But they, of course, have never picked up an Anne Rice book in their lives. Jessica seems too dark and shut out from everyone in the book. And the blood of the witches being more satisfying than that of a human, clearly taken from Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I don't see anything that would make me want to go rush out to find posters for it. I can't tell you why my friends love this book so much. As I said before though, they've never read Anne Rice and have no idea what true vampire horror is.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2002

    .....?

    When I first started reading the book I thought it was about something completly different. I started to realize that it didnt matter what I thought it was about because I was so caught up in the story. You can get lost in the book... I dont read and I finished this book in 6 hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2001

    A non stop read

    A non-stop read, this sequel to In the Forests of the Night by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes takes the villain in that book, Aubrey, and casts him in an entirely new light. Much in the same way that The Vampire Lestat by Anne Rice brings in to fuller view the humanity of Lestat, Demon in My View challenges Aubrey's notions of what it is to be if not to be human. The main character in this story is Jessica who is a senior in high school and also the alias author, Ash Night. Without a father and adopted by a mother to whom she can no longer relate, much less tolerate, Jessica is not even able to turn to friends for consolation as most of the students at Ramsa High School avoid her like she has the plague. Thus, she turns to writing on her computer as a release from the bonds of nothingness that seem to define her existence. However, her writing is almost uncontrollable and the ideas from her books come to her in visions and dreams that demand to be printed on the page. All of this seems to Jessica to be quite natural until she meets Alex who has more than an uncanny resemblance to Aubrey, the villain vampire in her first book. Too soon she must confront the honesty of her fiction and choose between the shadow casting sun or the all too illuminating veil of night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3