Customer Reviews for

Demonglass (Hex Hall Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 550 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(387)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Blkosiner's Book BLog

    I was spell bound from page one until the end, and then I wanted even more.
    Though I'd forgotten a bit, there was a nice refresher that came naturally, and it came back :) Sophie is still amazing and sarcastic. I laughed so much, and I loved that she could always lessen the tension with her comments.
    I couldn't decide between Archer and Cal, they are both awesome, and have their own merits. They are both well developed, and though I have a feeling who Sophie will chose, I am still torn. Cal played a bigger role in this one, and maybe added to my feelings.
    Jenna is in this one too, and she shows a lot of growth.
    I ended up really liking Sophie's Dad, he's solid and I was shocked by some of the things revealed.
    I totally wasn't expecting a lot of things in this book, and the ending made me wish I already had the 3rd in my hands!

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Demonglass

    Dis book is hawt. :3

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Great book

    I loved this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Rachel Hawkins has done it again! Demon Glass is full of the sna

    Rachel Hawkins has done it again! Demon Glass is full of the snarky, sassy Sophie-goodness that made me fall in love with Hex Hall. It’s not as chock full of funny as its predecessor, but the new location (a sprawling English mansion) and the new characters (including two unpredictable, kind of unstable demon teens) make for a more than interesting foray into the supernatural.

    This time around, readers get to see Sophie far out of her comfort zone. Sure, she still has Jenna – who I still love – and Cal is around – love him too! – but all the scenes with her Dad show just how uncomfortable she is with both him and what they are. Despite Sophie and her Dad not having that familial connection, they have this lovely chemistry that bubbles with their growing affection for one another. Readers get to see them develop that father daughter love (insert sappy aww).

    Now, I know everyone is probably wondering where Archer is….fear not, he’s in Demon Glass as well. The steamy that radiated from Hex Hall’s pages is a bit dulled this time, but it’s most definitely there. But keep in mind that Archer is technically the bad guy, so any steamy is made 1000x more steamy because it’s so illicit. Discovering who Archer really is and how he fits into the huge political mess of the supernatural world is complicated, but so worth it.

    Demon Glass has different feel than Hex Hall, but the new atmosphere and complications amp up the tension and force Sophie to come to terms with who, and what, she is. The fighting is intense, the politics come into play, the building badness lingers, and the characters become so much stronger. Oh, and the cliffhanger is a killer. All of these things make Demon Glass a sure winner for Hex Hall fans!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    Not for the faint hearted

    This book is suspenseful, exciting and at times terrifying. Though the author brings you well into another level of the book your left again with an ending that leaves you craving for more!! I cannot wait for the story to continue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    After reading Hex Hall, I was definitely eager to get my hands on Demonglass. Hawkins has created a lead character that I really adore! I think I liked Demonglass even more than I liked Hex Hall.

    The story starts of with a bang. Sophie gets thrown into a pond all tied up with no clue how to save herself (as a school exercise). Of course long lost Dad shows up just at this precise time. He wants to take her to England so she can learn some family history and all about being a demons. Since she gets to take Jenna with her, you think this would be fun right. Yeah, not going to happen.

    I loved that chain of events. We learn a lot about Sophie's history in this book. I liked learning about how a demon is made and how this could be connected to what is going on now. I also really liked learning more about The Eye. Of course we get more of Archer, but I'm still not sure of him. I guess time will tell.

    The ending was such a cliffhanger. I loved the sequence of events that lead up too it. The truth was a little bit of a shocker for me. I can't wait until the next one (which is way to far away)!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Loved

    I love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    -

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Hyuhfjubuhguhbhyujiojgfxggyujjyuuhuygyuiuiuihuuu87jjjjihi

    Vhgyghuhuuguuughhihijijuiytftfesfggjokjbnbuuujvgfyguuuuijfygjjhhhikimnmkjbvhhuhuhuuhuhuojjkijjjjiijgvbhvcfvbhcagbhcgghnkjnfhjnhbhbbb b nbhgggvhhhhujhhhjunhbbb hhhhbbjjjjjjjkihhtjunjokomnihkjimkjkjkmkijijjnjnbuhhhhhuhjbuhhvhjuhihihihihhbhgvhvhvhvvghvgvhgygyghghbvvghv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Well, what a cliffhanger, right? I am not usually a fan of cliff

    Well, what a cliffhanger, right? I am not usually a fan of cliffhangers, but I so enjoyed this story that it really didn't matter. And since the next book was already out when I read this one, it didn't make much of a difference since I could move right on to the final installment.




    I have to say that I just love the covers of these books. Something about the reflection of the girl on the front just draws me right in. It certainly made me want to read it for sure.




    Sophie is such a great character. She has that typical teen angst thing going on, but it's not annoying. She's spunky and fun. She has those doubts that teenagers will have, which is nice as she really seems her age. And she once again shows great growth in this book. Best of all, she's got such great wit infused with sarcasm. It's right up my alley, so I could totally relate to her. She is presented in a real way, which is also nice considering she has paranormal aspects to her. It was nice to watch her form a relationship with the father she never knew. And she's not angry at him, but more curious if anything.
    Cal, well, he certainly shows his colors in this book. You can see he is definitely interested in Sophie and once she learns they are betrothed, that is certainly heightened on both their parts. He plays a nice part to the love triangle, although you can certainly see that Sophie loves him but doesn't seem to be in love with him. He's still a bit mysterious, and I didn't totally trust him. I almost felt like he had an ulterior motive which was not ever revealed. There's just something off about his character.
    And I'm so glad that we got to see Archer once again. I was worried he would perhaps be missing a bit in this book, after his huge exit in the last book. But he did show up and he did show Sophie that he truly cares. I love their banter, it really makes their relationship. And the way they call each other by their last names really makes me giggle every time I see it.
    We meet some new characters in this book and they make for a good addition. They really helped to move the story along and keep up the intrigue that surrounds Sophie.




    The plot is well thought out and easy to follow. It certainly had many twists and turns I was not expecting which kept me totally and completely interested. Hawkins has great ease with her charcater development and their relationships to each other. There are no characters introduced that aren't somehow integral to the plot. And of course the fact that we are presented with some more of Sophie's history as accounted by her father is a great addition to the story line.




    The one thing that I felt could have used more development was the relationship between Sophie and Cal. After they find out they are betrothed, I feel very little changes. IF they are supposed to be in a love triangle, I wasn't feeling it all that much. If a love triangle is to be introduced I need to feel it's believable and to me this one is just not. Sophie is too focused on Archer to worry that Cal is even in the picture.




    Overall I really enjoyed this book and I'm looking forward to reading the next one and finding out the ending to the story!




    4/5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    This book us awesome..

    Yeh. My library at school has this book( and series) but its the week end and i couldnt wait for the sample. How do you delete books on here. Like samples such as this obe or if you are finish wih them or you bought a book and you dont or didnt like it?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Hex hall

    One direction is awsome... so is demon glass

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    3.75stars ¿ A good expansion of the series This time around Sop

    3.75stars – A good expansion of the series

    This time around Sophie’s world expands from Hex Hall as she is whisked off to England to spend time with dad. Luckily for her she takes Jenna along and Cal is also invited for this fast moving sequel. On the one hand, the mystery of Eye expands and on another it contracts as some answers are given for the gaps in book and there is a nice set up for book three.

    There are new characters as we also get more knowledge on some of the older ones. Although this is the middle book of a trilogy, it read very much like more than a conduit between two more important volumes. Archer’s re-appearance is more than a reason to navel gaze as he is even more important than we originally thought from book on.

    I enjoyed this installment more than the last and am looking forward to book 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    enjoyed the first book, now am waiting to read second.

    enjoyed the first book, now am waiting to read second.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    It was great!

    I liked it a lot!!!!! I liked it better than the first!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Did not disappoint!

    After everything Sophie went through in her first year at Hex Hall I wasn't sure what to expect in this second installment. A smooth and carefree existence is most certainly not in the cards for her. Despite such a dramatic closing I was mainly wondering how things would pan out for Sophie and Archer. I know I wasn't alone in that curiosity either.

    Hawkins did not disappoint. With Sophie now wanting to go through the removal process, all the stakes were raised. Starting with...wait for it...Sophie and her dad don't seem to be the only demons as she first thought. Yikes! So along with her father, Jenna, the Heccate Hall grounds keeper Cal, the journey begins as they venture to London and trouble of course follows. While all the original characters I cam to really like were involved, Cal quickly grabbed my attention and held it. So many questions surround him and I was fascinated.

    Demonglass really was a great follow up to Hex Hall and proved Hawkins anything but a one hit wonder. She's got a fun and exciting series on her hands and with yet another huge cliffhanger at the end of this installment, the third in this series, Spell Bound (Hex Hall, #3) due out March 13, 2012 seems oh so very far away!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    read this if your smart!

    in one word, A-W-E-S-O-M-E. there are definite time when I got SO frustrated at Sophie, but she really is a good character. I love her friends, JENNA AND CAL YOU R SO AMAZING, and I love the love triangle she has. I was going back and forth threw out the entire book on what guy I wanted her to have, and I'm still not sure who I like best! I mean, SERIOUSLY! she is a VERY lucky girl, 1 to have the hotties, 2 to have the all around amazing guy hotties, and 3 I think almost every girl in U.S., Europe, Canada, Russia, Thailand, Vancouver, and practically any place on earth wants to have some of that. She has such a developing relationship with her father that just continues to grow. The book will have you having a O MY GOOD GOD, WORM HIDDEN IN THE MOSSSY ROCK, ARE YOU B.S.ING ME moments. One out of ten, ten being drop dead one the best books ever read in my oh so short lie time and 1 being a book you better be glad that I didn't make you a zero for lame, suckish, literally could have thrown up after the first chapter, this book was a solid 8 at the very least, and that's pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Surprizing and a little annoying

    The romance is a bit comfusing and the acenes that are full romance break your heart into littlw fragments of anger . I bet that her mom is the person that she is going to meet in the next book which comes out when? I am aeriously sick of waiting to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Must Read Trilogy

    Wow couldn't put it down!!! Hurry up 2012!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Great Book

    I read this and the first book each in one day AMAZING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6