Customer Reviews for

Demon's Bride

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    Wonderful combination of historical and paranormal! Great series!

    When I read the first installment of the series, I could see the building blocks being laid and set. Since Ms. Archer had accomplished that task so well in Devil’s Kiss, she released the second installment of the Hellraisers series; Demon’s Bride, full steam and doesn’t look back. Leo Bailey was gifted from the Devil, the ability to see the future by. All he needs is an item from a person and he can see the disasters that will plague the owner. He then uses that knowledge for evil and personal gain. Either pushing that person towards their inevitable disastrous future or plainly betting against them. Leo’s passion is the exchange market and he uses his talent to control every aspect of it. Because of his cunning and skill, he is simply known as Demon. While Anne Hartfield may be the daughter of a baron, she knew from the very beginning her marriage to Leo was not a love match. He dutifully wooed and courted her, but the love spark was never there. All her hopes blossomed on her wedding night to only be crushed just as quickly. Now she is determined to make the best of her marriage. She will do everything in her power to win her husband’s heart. From the first “I Do’s” things begin to change for these two people. Neither expected what was in store for them and quickly things begin to turn. Good, evil and other forces are converging to shape the future. It’s too bad Leo can’t see what is ahead for himself, because he never expected to fall in love with his wife and that very well may ruin his life forever. In my opinion, Ms. Archer has improved on the series. I loved how Demon’s Bride had more of a sinister feeling to it. You can’t help but hate the Hellraisers. They are marvelously evil, encompassing all of man’s sins. While their power may focus on one attribute, you can feel the lust, greed, wickedness and power radiating off of all them. Ms. Archer did an outstanding job writing them with malevolence and still make them all seem human. I enjoyed how Anne was so willing to make the best of her circumstances and didn’t cower. She showed such strength throughout the story, when most women of that time would have crumbled. The turmoil that she put Leo through was just as delightful. Everyday his reserve was crumbling as he fell for Anne. I was utterly shocked at some of the sad developments in the story. In an odd way, I can agree with the choices that were made, though they must have been hard decisions to make for the storyline. I am absolutely bewildered and have no idea which direction the series will take now. This new development has thrown me and I actually find it wonderful. Ms. Archer has removed the predictability that some series encounter and she has made me want the next story even the more. Demon’s Bride is a remarkable historical paranormal that has a familiarity feel to it right along with an unpredictability too. Zoe Archer has written an innovative novel that is sexy, beautiful and suspenseful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Flowery

    Flowery language. Very descriptive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Much better than the 1st book. Unfortunately you will ahve to r

    Much better than the 1st book. Unfortunately you will ahve to read the 1st book to understand the situation is this one. The 2 main characters had much better chemistry than the main character in the 1st book. Leo's past lent more credibility to why he could not just let the power go. This book redeemed the series enough that I may purchase the 3rd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Zoe Archer returns with book two in the Hellraisers series, whic

    Zoe Archer returns with book two in the Hellraisers series, which will once again prove good, must triumph over evil. It will take one of the strongest in the still enraptured group of men known as The Hellraisers to help save the others from the fate that has befallen them. Leo Bailey, not of noble birth whose only purpose in life is to find himself regarded on equal footing as one among the nobility, has a secret and talent no one can match. Leo knows how to make money, known as the Demon of the Exchange, he is determined to take it from those who have shunned him. A member of the Hellraisers, who has also succumbed that not so long ago night to the gift which contains promises of all he desires made to him by the mysterious Mr. Holliday, finds he now needs more than the wealth he has amassed. Leo needs a ticket into the circles he himself cannot enter alone. Leo believes his instincts which have not failed him thus far that Anne Hartfield is that ticket for him and by marrying her, the noble gates, although grudgingly, will open for him and provide access to that very world he covets. As she says the words that will bind her to this man who stands beside her, Anne Hartfield knows she is marrying a stranger. However, what choice did she have as the eldest daughter (considered well past the age of marrying), of an indebted country baron. How especially, with the terms of the arrangement proposed to her father by the wealthy Mr. Bailey could she refuse? Anne vows this day, she will not become some retrained wife molded by the whims of her husband, although this is not a love match. Unbeknownst to Leo and Anne the bond made on the day of their marriage will prove to be the strength they need to carry them through the upcoming tests made by forces not of this world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Leo Bailey was born the poor son of a saddler. He used his brai

    Leo Bailey was born the poor son of a saddler. He used his brains and his determination to crawl out of poverty, but that is not enough for Leo. Leo gladly makes a deal with the devil for the ability to see the future and the financial ruin of his competitors, so he can not only grow his own wealth, but to take down those of the aristocracy who will always look down on him no matter how much money he acquires. He makes his deal with the devil with no thought as to what the cost may truly be to him.

    Leo also knows the only way into the ranks of the aristocracy for someone like him is to wed a nobleman’s daughter. He chooses quiet Anne Hartfield, the daughter of a Duke who is on the verge of poverty. Except once the marriage night approaches, Anne is overwrought with nerves. Since Leo’s parents were a love match, he doesn’t want to force himself on his new wife as his aristocratic brethren would have done. So Leo offers to wait on the consummation of their marriage until they have had an opportunity to get to know each other.

    As Leo and Anne get to know each other and their mutual respect grows, Leo cannot believe how lucky he is in his choice of a wife, and as the love grows between them, Leo knows that he cannot allow Anne to ever know of his about his deal with the devil, but can one hide that much sin. The epic fight for Leo’s soul begins once Anne claims his heart.

    I looked several times at Devil’s Kiss when it came out and I kept wavering back and forth whether I wanted to read what was Book 1 of this series. When I read the back cover of this one, the premise definitely caught my attention and I put it on my TBR list. This was a great story and the most interesting part is that at the beginning of this story, the hero and heroine from Book 1 begin as our antagonists. As we soon learn, they are truly the protagonists as they are trying to save the souls of the Hellraisers, all five of whom have made a similar deal in trade for different powers granted from the devil. With the help of Whit and Zora, Leo and Anne fight the demons to reclaim Leo’s soul before it is too late and the darkness consumes him.

    Anne starts out in our story as a very shy woman, but she grows into a powerful and determined heroine as our story goes on with the Leo support, and as the love and respect grow between them. Sadly, we see the foundation created between them torn apart once Anne finds out the truth about Leo, especially considering the darkness was so deep in Leo that although he knew he couldn’t let Anne find out about his powers, it took him a looonnng time for him to figure out that he needs to let go of that power to reclaim his soul and rebuild that foundation with his wife.

    Fabulous story! I can’t wait to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Unexpected Ending

    Reviewed by Angela & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    Ms. Zoe Archer did not disappoint. This 2nd installment of the Hellraisers is just as good as the first and then some.

    Leopold Bailey, the son of a saddler, has made a deal with the Devil. As all of the Hellraisers, each of them now possess a power gifted by the Devil himself to be used in exchange for their souls. The problem is that the more they use their power the more of their soul is consumed by the devil and more evil is unleashed around them.
    Leo’s gift is the ability to see one’s future. He used this gift wisely to gain power and wealth but his long time desire to be accepted by the people who treated him poorly was not within his grasp. Leo will never be of noble birth and the only way to get similar recognition is to marry with name and station. With evil and greed, will it ever be enough?....

    Ann Hartfield, daughter of a Barron, knew exactly what she married into. She married a man who has made his own wealth and she knew exactly of his family background. But what she didn’t know was that the man she married had deep secrets.

    I must say that I enjoyed this book a lot. The character build up was well done. Both Ann and Leo had grown in a respectable time within the book. Ann grew from this demurred woman to a strong willed heroine who can take care of herself. And Leo, well, we already know he’s a greedy man, but his realization of his predicament was well done. He did not just wake up and said…“oh, I'm so SOL”. He had time to see what he might be losing…..

    The best was their romance. Although they were married for business, they both decided to take the time to get to know each other and up until the very end Ms. Archer made it to the point that…trust is not easily given. Of course, because of his love, Leo will definitely take the challenge.

    We got a good amount of Whit and Bram in this book which I loved. Bram is one hottie Hellraiser to watch out for, mark my words. I think he is the most intriguing of them all. We also get a glimpse of John and Edmund, which I thought was NOT enough of. The ladies Zora, Livia and Rosalind were also there briefly.

    By the end of this book, we are left with half of the Hellraisers with their souls still to be saved. I was left with my mouth open with one question in mind: Did that just happened? Oh yes, an unexpected outcome just for our couple to get their HEA. I cannot wait to see what Ms. Archer has for the next book.

    *ARC provided by author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1