Customer Reviews for

Demon's Fall

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    I loved it!

    This story had everything I was looking for in a quick read. Full of romance, adventure, and mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Angels and Devils Oh My

    I would actually give this book a 3.5. While it was so not my cup of tea I still thought it was well written and the ending was very sweet. To see the Demon Kenan work so hard for his love the Angel - Jahel made for a nice story. I received this book soon after getting my nook and it felt good to accomplish getting it crossed off my to read list as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Demon's Fall

    (from Murphy's Library - rated 2 and a half there)

    Jahel is an angel ready to be sold. Yeah. You read it right. Sold. After being captured in a city with mostly demons and lost souls, that was her destiny: being in a cage, waiting for the one who will buy her. The surprise is when she ends up being bought by a demon, Kenan. Could it be the beginning of her end?

    His intentions clearly aren't the best, as we could expected from a demon. It is obvious that her end will be souless, right?

    I thought the plot was interesting when I read the synopses, and I wasn't wrong: it is an interesting book. The narrative is very good, and the balance between characters was well made.

    So, what was my problem with it? Yes, I had a problem with this book: it was just <em>too</em> short. There were so many things I thought could have been better explained, turning the book into a real book and not just a tale, like it seemed to be. The story, the author, the characters, had potencial for more than the few pages that this book had, and I felt, at the end, like it was missing pages. The story is concluded, this wasn't the problem... But we could have had so much more in the <em>middle.</em>

    Overall, it was a good book. Could be great if we had more, but I think it did an <em>OK</em> job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Imaginative and Fun

    If you ever wonder what might happen when an angel meets a demon look no further! Actually, I'm kidding, you might want to look a little further, but I can't deny the fun quality to the story. It takes place in this imaginative world and mixes in a fairytale! Cute! The characters are lovable even if they are predictable, though I will say the angel took me for surprise just a wee bit. I hadn't quite expected that story. It was an easy read and the perfect bedtime story.

    Warning: not really a children's story. A sweet romance, but like most romances it did have a few descriptive sex scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A fantasic angels & demons read!

    The novel opens with Jahel, an angel, in the last place you would expect to find an angel, trapped in a cage, ready to be sold to whomever pays the right price. She has been captured in Hellsgate, a city populated by demons and lost mortals, caught between the mortal realm and Hell itself. She came to Hellsgate to find the soul of her former charge, feeling she failed to guard her. Instead, she found herself being purchased by a demon, an incubus named Kenan who, unbeknownst to her, plans to seduce her and steal her soul to add to his collection. Instead, he helps her, falls in love with her, and breaks all the rules in order to protect her.

    Too many times, in novels with the theme of good versus evil, one or both sides are too much, either too good or too evil. For a mere mortal such as I, I know that rarely is anyone purely good or purely evil. I very much liked that in Demon's Fall, the author created a whole world, one in which there are shades of grey. In essence, both Jahel and Kenan have very much the same role, to collect souls, just for different ends. The interplay between the angel and the demon as they fell in love was interesting as the themes of good versus evil was shown in a way that made it seem as if it were coming from it's own pantheon or belief system, rather than using the traditional Christian views.

    I also liked the fact that, while erotic, the sex in the novel wasn't gratuitous. It was integral to the story in that it both illustrated a non-traditional view of angels and demons and it enhanced the romance of the story. I would definately recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    read it

    I'm always intrigued by stories that feature an angel-demon dynamic and interweave Biblical beliefs. I won't lie - I have a degree in Biblical Studies so I'm a bit of a snob for when things are taken and twisted to be something else. However, those that either do it well or create their own world are the ones to be really admired.

    Demon's Fall creates it's own world; I was never certain what time period to call it, which made it all that much more interesting. The bulk of the story takes place in Hellsgate, a city of mixed mortal and demonic population just this side of Hell. Here demons and mortals co-exist. The worldbuilding was really cool; the author acknowledges the self-serving nature of both angels and demons; angels want humans to go to Heaven because it's better - demons want humans souls to commit to hell, because in both instances the angel or demon gets something. There is also a reference to a third path humans can take but it's only mentioned in passing.

    Demon's Fall does take some Biblical prophecy and craft it to its own purposes. This could be cliché; I know I've seen so many things that twist the book of Revelations that I almost squirm and fight to not roll my eyes - but the way that it was done in Demon's Fall was just really cool. It no longer seemed as if the author was twisting Christianity to fit the story, but that we were talking about something completely different - a whole other pantheon and prophecy.

    The novella is, despite my long winded assessment of the setting and prophecy of the story, a love story. A demon purchases a caged angel and proceeds to fall in love with her. The story is told from Kenan's point of view, which I thought was interesting because in the long run it was Jahel who had more to lose. My biggest problem with most romance novellas is that the actual step to falling in love rarely feels plausible. I will admit that the romance didn't 100% convince me that they were in love, and perhaps that was why - oh wait, that would be a spoiler ;D about three fourths of the way through I was liking the build of the romance, but it's that last chapter that sealed it for me and made me wanna go - aawweee.

    Demon's Fall is also an erotic novella, so yes, there is sex and it is graphic in nature - it's erotic. But despite the titillating factor it is motivated by the story, it's not just sex for the sake of having sex depicted on the page. On a purely logistical nature, it's interesting to see how one would manage wings and sex.

    Not for younger readers, or readers who are easily offended by warping traditional Christian beliefs. But if you like a short romance that is both erotic and fantastical - read it. I liked it a lot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Demon's Fall

    An Okay Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2