Customer Reviews for

Demon's Kiss (Wings in the Night Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book will grab you by the throat and will not let go until the end. It WILL keep you guessing. And it WILL give you a reason to stay in your room and hide away from the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Book

    P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This One I'll pass

    I've actually seen and heard about this book a lot- seen it in the bookshelves, been told that it is a "must read for fans of Charlaine Harris and Sherrilyn Kenyon" both of whom I worship, and finally picked it up from the library, only to be disappointed.
    The story was stretched is what I felt after reading it. I loved the sci-fi portrayal of the vampires in it at first, sort of reminded my of the Sookie Stackhouse books in a different manner. I liked the start of the book, and the introduction of Reaper, Seth and Vixen. Then onwards, there was some kind of a downhill slope to the whole book. I didn't like most of the story and felt the plot lacked direction, I didn't like the writing that went from good to okay to mediocre to excellent in jumps and starts that left me unable to form an opinion about the writer and I didn't like the cover.
    THE COVER!
    I know some people loved the cover, but honestly.it looked sort of like something a self taught PS lover could have come up with any day, using a few lightning pictures and some random guy who fit the description of "good-looking broody dude". It didn't capture the energy of the book. It didn't scream "pick me up, pick me up, pick me up" the way some books do. It wasn't true to the book, wasn't true to its spirit.
    THE PLOT and CHARACTERS
    It was just barely okay. Perhaps the problem of the book was the Bond-movie kind of narrative. The women were all way too gorgeous (okay, I get it is about vampires, but can they be a little less tight clothed and over enthusiastic?) and the language was a little too vulgar for my taste. I like a little cussing in books, its fun. Bad language and bad descriptions are DIFFERENT. I couldn't bond with most of the characters as the narrative simply skipped from one person to another. I couldn't get why the villain was so awful (other than the fact that he uses a poker). He sort of seemed stupid and slow to me. Again, is this sci-fi or paranormal? I don't know. Because I couldn't find time to fit into the scenario of the book, or identify with a character.
    Reaper, I felt, was the high point of the book.but in some parts where he was supposed to be scary, I just got the impression of a lumbering big guy. He would have been a great character, if he'd been described a little better. Seth was enjoyably loud-mouthed and had the perfect balance of heroism and immaturity that felt fresh in a character from a book belonging to the paranormal genre. Roxy reminded me so much of some other character.I can't place her yet, but I will, and was described like a Bond movie gone wrong again. Vixen was all right, Topaz was some sort of an emotional thundercloud, Jack was pretty well characterized and Briar.I loved Briar's darkness, one of the main reasons I got through the book. Another thing I loved about this book was the pace. If anything, at least the book moves.
    All in all, I wish there had been better characters and a narrative that settled on one or two characters' point of view. A slightly better plot would have been welcome. There was no why should I care factor in it for me. The cover was deprecating, character descriptions often depressing.

    What I loved: Briar, and Seth. To an extent the character of Reaper. A few character introductions.
    What I didnt: Cover, language, under-done descriptions, shifting third person narrative, no why should I care factor.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Characters, Unexpected Twists

    enjoyable interesting read, not captivating but not boring or difficult to follow. A bit more complex than easy reading allows me. not a must read but a good one for anytime you want something new in paranormal relationships and suspense. For those who might reject it based on title, its not really relative to the storyline, only suggestive to add mystery.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Torture

    Hmmm, let's see. It was a light, easy read. Too easy, like it was written by a 12 year old. The story had a lot of potential but it falls very short. It just didn't grab my attention. The character development was lacking. You couldn't really get into any one character...there were no main characters as they all had equal time in the book. However, it did give a different spin on vampires than any other paranormal book that I've read. Try again Ms. Shayne

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2007

    not bad

    I found a few things about this book that I didn't like. For example, some of the lines sounded cheesey and I had a hard time putting myself in the story. But all-in-all the book was not bad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    of romantic fantasy will appreciate Maggie Shayne¿s entertaining thriller

    When he worked as a cover operator for the CIA he was human though he preferred being a lone wolf as he felt safer depending on himself rather than the screw-ups of a teammate. Since those days, Raphael ¿Reaper¿ Rivera has become a vampire, but he remains dedicated to being a lone wolf as he plans to live a long time.---------------- Rhiannon hires Reaper to kill rogue vampire Gregor and his pack that are spread all over the southeast United States causing havoc, but figures he is the right person for the job because he is a lone assassin with no emotional ties. Rhiannon says he lies about his feelings as he cares about the Chosen Seth Connor, who he protects. However, he suddenly has an apprentice, just turned undead Seth, who admires Reaper and wants him to mentor him. Not happy to have to protect a sidekick, he soon finds himself with an unwanted pack as Roxy the human healer, Topaz the rich vampiress and Vixen the shapeshifter join his newly formed squad after he rescues the two females from Gregor¿s growing zombie vampires--------------- This is a much more complex tale than described above, as Reaper¿s team pairs off romantically. Although no one stands out amongst the players, each person on Reaper¿s team contains a different personality that the individual maintains throughout whether in danger or love. Fans of romantic fantasy will appreciate Maggie Shayne¿s entertaining thriller, just keep a scorecard handy.--------- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2