Customer Reviews for

The Demon's Lexicon (Demon's Lexicon Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    If you are ready to read a book you can''t put down, this is it!

    If you are ready to read a book you can''t put down, this is it! I loved the characters and enjoyed a few twists that I wasn't expecting, but that made perfect sense once I finished.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    great book! i want the second one already

    great book! i want the second one already

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    The Demon's Lexicon

    Title: The Demon's Lexicon
    Author: Sarah Rees Brennan
    Genre: YA Paranormal
    Publishing Information: 336 pages; June 2nd, 2009 by Margaret K. McElderry
    Series: The Demon's Lexicon #1

    Where I got it: Borders liquidation sale

    One sentence: Brothers Nick and Alan Ryves have always been on the run from the magicians and the demons who give them their power, until a brother and sister come to the Ryves for help and drag them deeper into a game of cat and mouse and secrets that could change Nick's life.

    Themes: Fantasy, demons, magicians, magic, siblings, paranormal

    Main character: 4/5
    I'll admit I was not enamored with either Nick or Alan at the outset of the novel, however as often happens, they grew on me. Nick is literally a sociopath, which is so different from anything I've ever read! A foil for Nick, Alan seemed like a pushover for most of the novel; however he definitely appeared in a different light at the end. The brothers' development created well-rounded, fascinating characters that I was emotionally invested in.

    Secondary characters: 4/5
    Brennan excelled at expert characterizations in even the most minor characters. Jamie and Mae were thoroughly written, full of twists, surprises and quirks. I found them to be slightly clingy and dependent in the first half, but again, they came into their own in the second part of the novel. Even Nick and Alan's mom is illustrated perfectly, despite her minimal appearance.

    Writing style: 3/5
    The writing started out slow and awkward, but picked up speed until the second half of the novel was nearly break-neck speed, making it impossible to put down. The action was intense and suspenseful, but was balanced out well with sometimes-over-the-top description. The foreshadowing was basically nonexistent.

    Plot: 4/5
    The world building was astounding- from the demons and magicians and the rules that govern their magic to the Goblin Market. What a treat to read! The plot was interesting and kept me engrossed in the tale of Nick and Alan. And that plot twist! Wow! I never really saw that one coming, but it definitely took the novel to a higher level.

    Ending: 4.5/5
    That plot twist definitely made the ending something to remember. There were so many possibilities and ways that Brennan could have ended the novel, but the myriad of twists and turns revealed more about the characters and made everything all the more richer.

    Best scene: The end!

    Positives: Interesting and unique characters, world building, PLOT TWISTS

    Negatives: Slow introduction, just okay writing style

    First Line: The pipe under the sink was leaking again.

    Cover: A little tacky, but definitely intriguing.

    Verdict: A fun demon read with world-building and twists that take it to the next level.

    Rating: 7.8 / 10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good book!

    I am so happy (dances around) that I had a chance to read this book. I loved Nick. His sarcasm had me laughing a lot. The whole plot of this book is great! I loved the whole witches, warlocks and demon fighting. Demon fighting rocks! Nick and his brother Alan kick butt at what they do!

    The plot is what instantly grabbed me. I enjoyed all the sword fighting, kick butt, demon killing action. Alan is a great older brother who took care of his brother and mother. Nick and Alan both are on the move in order to avoid meeting up with demons who want their mothers charm.


    Now I love secrets. And the secrets revealed in this book were absolutely yummy! I was shocked to find out but it also made sensed when I thought back in the things in the book. But shocked I was. I felt for them and the secret they were harboring. I can only hope that in the next book they will fight till the very end. My only gripe was the pace of the story. I really wanted just to dive in but it sort of held back a bit.


    The Demon's Lexicon is dark, adventurous read that had a secret like no other. It held me from the first page and I love it. I can't wait to read the second book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Action Packed Urban Fantasy

    Written in 3rd person narrative but has the feeling of a first person narrative as it is mainly focalized from Nick's point of view.
    Really interesting and well developed plot. Clever plot teasers are placed throughout the story, although there is a major plot twist it does not come as a complete shock, all the indicators are there for you to pick up on.
    Fabulous Gothic imagery entwined with modern appliances/architecture. Very easy to have the movie version playing in your imagination while you read this. The snake imagery at the beginning made me cringe (how I hate snakes!). The description of the shadows brought to mind those in Fallen.
    I found it rather a strange coincidence that this book as well as Heavenly both state the evils of alcohol and how due to the lowering of inhibitions it is easier for evil to take hold and consume. The idea of being branded for demon possession is truly frightening, I did find it hard to believe that anyone would be stupid enough to let a demon into their bedroom in the middle of the night. The saying 'nothing is what it seems' kept running through my mind.
    The theme of nature versus nurture throughout the plot is similar to that running through Beastly but this takes it to a whole new dimension. The ending was surprisingly touching and tender.
    An action packed debut novel for urban fantasy fans. I think Sarah Rees Brennan is one to look out for in the future ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun getaway!

    An emotionaly gripping story that you will find yourself falling into more after every page you turn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book!

    I thought it was a good read, I found it unpredictable. I never guessed the ending right even though the author left clues everywhere in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    demon's lexicon

    Upon opening The Demon's Lexicon, I was greeted with this intriguing first line:

    The pipe under the sink was leaking again. It wouldn't have been so bad, except that Nick kept his favorite sword under the sink.

    Attention getter huh?

    And things just took off from there. Nick and Alan have been on their own and on the run for their entire lives. Numerous groups of power-hungry magicians would love to get their hands on a powerful talisman their insane mother Olivia stole; only problem is that the talisman is the only thing keeping her alive. So over the years, they've learned to run fast and defend themselves when necessary: Nick with his physical strength and deadly sword (knew we were getting back to that, didn't you?) and Alan with his brains and a deadly shot. This picking and up and moving constantly has seemed to work until a brother and sister come to Nick and Alan requesting their aid in removing a demon's mark placed on Jamie. Alan has always been a pushover for people in trouble and will stop at nothing to help Jamie and his sister Mae. Frustrated and confused with his brother, Nick has always trusted him with their lives, but as Nick begins to discover secrets his brother has kept for many years, the bond between the brothers begins to unravel, threatening to tear them apart.

    Boiled down, this really is a story about two brothers and the bond between them. Good, bad and often ugly. Since Alan practically raised Nick, they know precisely which buttons to push to inflict the most hurt and pain even though they are intensely different people. Ouch. I've got a close sister, I know the truth in that. At different times I intensely disliked or mistrusted each and everyone one of the characters in this book - I also loved every character too, just at different moments. It made me a bit uncomfortable at times since I wasn't sure how I felt about them, but there is such a unexpected 'reveal' that once explained, I nodded my said and just said "ooohhhh" [insert light bulb turning on over my head]. All the seemingly weird scenes made sense and were totally understandable because, dang it, it finally clicked. Pretty impressive, since there was only slight foreshadowing and I had no idea what was in store for Alan and Nick. I'm a big fan of when that happens. I really enjoy urban fantasy in general, but this strangely dark and often creepy book contained so much character development and interesting secondary characters that I couldn't tear myself away.
    seemichelleread.blogspot.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    This book is full of mysteries!

    Nick and his brother Alan don't know of any other way of living. They have been on the run from magicians and demons for as long as they can remember. But this time something is different. They have to kids who desperately want their help, one of them marked, and Alan himself is marked. Then Nick starts discovering things about himself that Alan wishes would remain uncovered. Dive into the confusing but interesting world of Nick, demon and magician killer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Electrifying!

    Ok, let me say the Winchester brothers can definitely take Nick & Alan to the next level. Am I the only one who connected the dots? C'mon, admit it... you did. If not... Ah! Light bulb moment. LOL.

    Sarah Rees Brennan's The Demon's Lexicon is definitely movie worthy. Listening Hollywood? Spielberg? Howard? Lucas? Bruckheimer? Just sayin'...

    Brennan's Ryves brothers are unequivocal, well written & intriguing! Brennan could of just written half the literary pyrotechnics & The Demon's Lexicon would still be electrifying!

    Brennan's debut is the just the tip of many great works of fiction to come from this amazing scribe.

    Nick is a determined character w/ an acerbic wit that distinguishes him from the standard male leads in today's young adult fiction. Vision's of Potter dance in my head. Nick could be distant kin to the incomparable Potter boy. I don't know, there is just something that sits on my shoulder & pokes me w/ this slight comparison.

    The Demon's Lexicon is set in contemporary London rich w/ action, raw w/ emotion & a dark, fast-paced read. Infact, you may find yourself sneaking off to read The Demon's Lexicon because you just have to know why...


    Nah... you'll have to read it to find out. Nope! No spoilers from me.

    Nick's raw personality is engaging & Alan... well... WOW!!!

    Mae is a secondary character tossed in as the "it girl" you know, the one that catches the Ryves' brothers eyes... Well, there is more to Mae than being the prize to the boy w/ the most toys. She is a strong willed character w/ spunk & a fierce devotion to her brother Jamie. Jamie is an interesting character & I am restless to learn more about him in the second installment.

    Mae & Jamie are not just filler Brennan tossed in to move the plot along, they are magnetic players that shine on their own.

    Brennan's The Demon's Lexicon doesn't just toss everything @ you & lets you shake you head in disbelief, it builds to a crescendo. Well, not to spoil any of the pulse pounding deliciousness... the pinnacle is shattering! 'Nuff said!

    Brennan does an excellent job unraveling secrets. Brennan's twists & turns propels the plot to spine tingling heights! Kudos to Brennan for making The Demon's Lexicon read like a 3D film.

    Please, pass the popcorn & diet vanilla Pepsi!

    Nick is an arrogant teenage boy who comes across unlikable, but you just smirk @ his 'tude & find yourself loving & hating him. So, Nick tends to be an enthralling character you love to hate!

    Alan is alluring & that's all you're getting from me!

    Brennan pens a world of body inhabiting demons, nefarious magicians & tosses in whimsy to make The Demon's Lexicon so darn entertaining!

    Nick & Alan's mom's intermittent presence made me want mom around more, but Brennan did a marvelous job creating her. Nick's strife & turmoil pulsated so intensely I kept holding my breath! Just thinking about it now has my skin prickling.

    The Demon's Lexicon's ending is mind-blowing!

    So, grab a copy of The Demon's Lexicon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    might be too dark for young readers, but a magical read nonetheless :)

    I'll start with the good, because there is plenty of good to be had. Sarah Rees Brennan's writing style is a breath of fresh air in the YA fantasy genre. Twilight ushered in a volley of books very simply written with heavy (and often, boring) make out scenes (simple is not bad; this is just an observation). Lexicon is not like that. There is a seamless cadence to Brennan's writing style; maybe it's the Brit factor. Maybe it's the snappy dialogue. Maybe it's magic :) Regardless of her method, this book has moments of sincere beauty. Also positive: excellent characterization of the two brothers. It's lovely to see a young man so affectionate toward his brother. That blend, the physical affection and the "obsesion", is what took this novel above and beyond for me. And this plot twist everyone is raving about ... so worth getting to. The final twist is what will have you pushing this book off on your friends, demanding they read it so you have someone to talk to. Most likely, you won't see it coming. And then you'll go back and read the clues and wonder how in the world you missed it.

    There were only a few places I stumbled in Lexicon, and I think they're worth mentioning here. First, I think this book is more suitable for older teens. There are some dark themes discussed in this book, namely some graphic imagery (such as an "animated" corpse). There is some blood. Some death. A mild torture scene. I'm not a prude at all, but you throw all that into one novel (whose target audience is 12 and above) and it has potential to induce a few nightmares. If you're giving this book as a gift to a younger teen, read it first. Consider the maturity of the teen in question. Then make your decision. The nookie factor in Lexicon is mild and believable; I can't imagine anybody would have a problem with it. And I don't remember any swearing (if there is something in there, it's not much). The imagery, however, is different. Also, this is a bit more high fantasy than I expected at first. I enjoyed the world of the Lexicon okay, but I didn't love it. I mostly skimmed over the part at the Goblin Market. I thought I would be riveted by the descriptions, and by what happened there, but I had a hard time getting into it. The book felt a little too similar to Cassandra Clare's books in a few places, but mostly it seemed to carry its own story. Finally, the cover of this book looks like an airbrushed t-shirt. Do not let the cover stop you from picking it up!

    If you're a fan of young adult fantasy, this is a book worth your time. The Demon's Lexicon is a good read, one of the better books I've read lately. In fact, it's hard to believe this is Sarah Rees Brennan's first novel because it's so well written. That said, I think it will be exciting to see her really come into her own with subsequent books. She's an exceptional talent, so I have no doubt they'll only get better. As a long time reader of her blog, this wasn't quite what I'd expected (or hoped for) but I wasn't disappointed either. I'm glad Nick and Alan have more adventures to come. I'll be happy, and all too eager, to tag along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1