Customer Reviews for

Demonsouled

Average Rating 4
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Really!?

Great book! Solid writing! This book is worthy of being sold not passed out for free. Thanks to the author for his generosity! To the person below... this is a place for reviews, not synopsis of the whole damn book mmkay?

posted by OliverJJ on August 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Worth the download because it's free. I enjoyed the story line once I was tnough the first two chapters. However, there were so many grammatical errors, it made me nuts. I purchased the second book in the series, and to my dismay, found that there were just as many erro...
Worth the download because it's free. I enjoyed the story line once I was tnough the first two chapters. However, there were so many grammatical errors, it made me nuts. I purchased the second book in the series, and to my dismay, found that there were just as many errors, if not more, as in the first.

posted by Anonymous on September 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    This book surprised me.

    This book, actually the series, surprised me. When I began reading, I didn't expect it to grab me like it did. I found myself beginning to care what happened to the characters. It won't be everyone's cup of tea, but it's right up my alley.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Very impressive fantasy story!

    Zombies, knights, elves, & fair damsels...need I say more? This story has it all. I would compare it to a good Raymond Feist story with excellent duos & foil characters. I will be buying the sequel.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I was really tempted in the early chapters to stop reading this

    I was really tempted in the early chapters to stop reading this book and write a scathing review.  
    But I persisted, and I am glad I did.  Make no mistake, the first two chapters was the weakest in the book,
    a poor start to what became a fairly interesting story, the beginning of a series I will continue.

    Starting with the basics:  second-son of a defeated lord returns to his home after 15 years with friends in tow
    to discover all is not well.  Early adventures are extremely stereotypical but get through past White Rocks and
    things get more interesting.  The story becomes far more complex than a straight "sword and sorcery,"
    with scenes reminiscent of Terry Brooks and Robert E. Howard (the latter of which I will return to later).  
    The author takes great pain, I suspect, to tie trinitarian Christianity and allusions to Satan(ism) into the story,
    making the final battle between Maezel and the TRUE villain (no spoiler here, read the book, seriously) a light vs. 
    darkness duel that surprised me a bit.  

    Positives:  ignoring the HIDEOUS opening chapters, the characters grow and develop, the plot and characters
    move together in interesting ways.  Location matters, unlike some fantasy novels, and the tight geography is
    given loving attention.  

    Negatives:  Need I mention again that one does not start a series off with chapters that are bordering on "it was
    a dark and stormy night" stereotypical?  The other real complaint, which is a little more forgivable, is the dialog,
    especially in the first third of the book.  Phrases such as "I say" and other such SCA claptrap get quite tired very
    quickly.  It seems that the author actually improved as the story progressed, much as I think Terry Brooks did
    in his original Shannara novel.  Under minor complaints, characters were introduced too quickly, with the result
    that it took an excessive amount of time to actually form connections.  

    Now, to the Robert E. Howard connection:  Mr. Moeller must be a serious fan.  One of the MAJOR plot points
    around the cult that drives much of the story comes almost directly from several of Howard's Conan stories.
    This is NOT a complaint because anyone who has read Howard's collections know that mimicking Conan
    stories is a recipe for excellent "sword and sorcery" tales.  If a reader of my review were to decide, upon reading
    this book, to look up the original Barbarian stories, they would find that Mr. Moeller and Mr. Howard share some
    of the same methods.

    I give this 4 out of 5 stars because, for all of its positives, the opening was unforgivable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Zuvembies, politics, swords and socery, evil afoot, whew. What a

    Zuvembies, politics, swords and socery, evil afoot, whew. What an adventure! Had a sad moment though, wasn't all good guys winning. sniffle. But am now looking forward to reading more of what life is going to throw at Mazael!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    This book is stunning! At first the sudden introduction of many

    This book is stunning! At first the sudden introduction of many characters confused me slightly, but once you get to grips with the names it really is an amazing novel!
    I am surprised that it is free! The author must have underestimated the book's potential. I will definitely be reading the second book!
    I  thoroughly recommend this book to all fantasy lovers!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    A good exciting read!

    Mr. Moeller created a new mythology and a new hero for me to become invested in. I enjoyed the writing style and how there was no reak break in telling to explain a mythology or concept; it was all worked through in what read as natural dialogue and through the thoughts and actions of the main character of Mazael.

    There were wonderful historical references and new fantasy elements and magic with really great imagery. The mystery of events kept my attention - there was definitely a cinematic quality to the entire piece.

    There were a few rough points and a few moments where it felt too "deus ex machina" but I could overlook that for the enjoyment of reading. I definitely recommend this to any fan of fantasy writing and looking for a rousing adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Great

    Entertaining book, enjoyed the book imensley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Very good

    A must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    The book was a very fast read.  I like that the author did not g

    The book was a very fast read.  I like that the author did not get caught up with endless descriptions of unimp
    ortant things.  Good characters and lots of action. The grammatical errors did take away a better rating.
      I have read the thw first two books and will read the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    This is a good series.  I am on the 3rd book.  You have to get p

    This is a good series.  I am on the 3rd book.  You have to get past the first boring 2 or 3 chapters of introducing characters, explaining backgrounds and relationships in this first book to get into the story.  I had started this about 3 or 4 times only to put it aside for another more interesting book before I finally skimmed over those first chapters to get more into it.  After that it held my interest and upon finishing I was eager to purchase the next book and the next.  My only complaint is against the errors in grammar and an over use of some phrases and the most annoying misuse of the word besides, a preposition meaning apart from or adverb meaning as well, instead of properly using the word beside a preposition meaning next to.  Overlooking all that, and considering the book is free, I recommend it to anyone who likes fantasy with lots of fighting the dark forces and a little romance thrown in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Good read

    Cant wait to read the next stories in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    Pretty good

    A litttle slow starting but a pretty good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Can't believe this was free

    A good fast paced read that was very entertaining Thanks to the author for making it free

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Good book, get an editor!

    The material itself, the plot, and characters are quite likable. This is an enjoyable read, not very deep but it keeps the pace well and is entertaining. There are a number of places the plot gets a bit repetitive and predictable but not to the point of annoyance.

    What IS annoying about the book, and really the entire series, is the lack of an editor. The formatting is terrible and there are an amazing number of missed or misspelled words. I know it's free and that is great - and it got me to buy 3 more after it, so now get an editor! I'll even volunteer if you want to send me the book first before publishing it here! :-)

    These books show as 800 plus pages but really are only about 400 if you take out the extra spaces.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Well written.

    An impressive story from a not well known author. Filled with adrenaline laced action, remarkable characters, and witty humor, this is a must read for any fantasy lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Good

    The only problem i would say is there r a lot of small characters without much backround which makes parts of it confusing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Good read

    Was an interesting story, definitely going to continue the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Interesting read

    I read this story with no idea what it was about. I took the chance and was glad to find out that it was a decent read. you can identify with the characters and what they are going thru. It does read sort of like a "B" movie with a limited budget. I do however like "B" movies. The story was entertaining and wasn’t drawn out. Some of the conversations or verbiage that the author used, I wouldn’t have. This seems like nitpicking but you can drop the medieval lingo and concentrate on the conversations. It can be distracting as you read the series which I did. I did like all the books and were worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    What a great book!

    This book was a little hard to get into, at first, but I realized that it may have to do with the format. Yet, as one continues to read, one just gets caught up in the wonder of it. It was fast-paced, with well-drawn characters, and engaging plot. Good job, Mr. Moeller!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Good

    Smart move, making the first in a series free. At times the characters are frustratingly blind, but not without reason. All in all, I enjoyed it and look forward to reading the rest.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4