Customer Reviews for

A Density of Souls

Average Rating 4.5
( 194 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent thriller

Adolescence is difficult for even the most adjusted youngster, but for childhood friends Stephen, Meredith, Brandon, and Greg it is a nightmare. The foursome used to enjoy playing hide and seek in a nearby cemetery, but during a storm Meredith watches Greg and Stephen ...
Adolescence is difficult for even the most adjusted youngster, but for childhood friends Stephen, Meredith, Brandon, and Greg it is a nightmare. The foursome used to enjoy playing hide and seek in a nearby cemetery, but during a storm Meredith watches Greg and Stephen humping each other. She found the incident ugly and that day forever changed everyone¿s relationships. Meredith felt compelled to hurt Stephen . She succeeded by informing the high school¿s in crowd that he was a fag leading to Stephen becoming the prime target of everyone including Greg.

Greg and Meredith become an entry, but their relationship turns violent. Meredith becomes an alcoholic and Brandon turns into a maniacal terrorist. Now five years after starting high school, the former friends are together at a reunion that reveals frightening truths including a murder.

There is a vein of darkness and brooding disaster throughout the story line. This leads the audience to anticipate tragedy is about to strike at almost any moment even with the exciting climax providing a ray of light for the future. A DENSITY OF SOULS illuminates the reaction to alleged homosexuality by a predominantly heterosexual crowd and its aftermath on the victims of sexual choice bias. Christopher Rice shows he is a talented author who can spin a dark tale without the benefit of the supernatural or his mother¿s fame.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Don't Read it!

Christopher Rice has a clumsy writing style and no character development. His plots are predictable and boring. Don't waist your time with any Christopher Rice novel, trust me I unfortunately read three of them for a class at my university.

posted by 658584 on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent thriller

    Adolescence is difficult for even the most adjusted youngster, but for childhood friends Stephen, Meredith, Brandon, and Greg it is a nightmare. The foursome used to enjoy playing hide and seek in a nearby cemetery, but during a storm Meredith watches Greg and Stephen humping each other. She found the incident ugly and that day forever changed everyone¿s relationships. Meredith felt compelled to hurt Stephen . She succeeded by informing the high school¿s in crowd that he was a fag leading to Stephen becoming the prime target of everyone including Greg. <P>Greg and Meredith become an entry, but their relationship turns violent. Meredith becomes an alcoholic and Brandon turns into a maniacal terrorist. Now five years after starting high school, the former friends are together at a reunion that reveals frightening truths including a murder. <P> There is a vein of darkness and brooding disaster throughout the story line. This leads the audience to anticipate tragedy is about to strike at almost any moment even with the exciting climax providing a ray of light for the future. A DENSITY OF SOULS illuminates the reaction to alleged homosexuality by a predominantly heterosexual crowd and its aftermath on the victims of sexual choice bias. Christopher Rice shows he is a talented author who can spin a dark tale without the benefit of the supernatural or his mother¿s fame. <P>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2011

    This sounds familiar...

    Canon School = Newman School. If you're ever in New Orleans visit 1903 Jefferson Ave. He basically gave a map of the place in the first chapter. I should know I spent 6 years there. He described the school & students to a T. He basically wrote about his freshman year. This is a biography.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome book!

    If you can keep up with the huge amount of characters that there are, I recommend this book. It was so good! I couldn't put it down. Christopher Rice has a very complex writing style and you might find yourself getting a little lost but you won't be bored.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Density of Souls, a novel

    Coming soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    Don't Read it!

    Christopher Rice has a clumsy writing style and no character development. His plots are predictable and boring. Don't waist your time with any Christopher Rice novel, trust me I unfortunately read three of them for a class at my university.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book, up to his standards

    Really enjoyeed this book. I believe I have read his other books and find them all to be great reading. He has managed to captivate the reader to want to continue reading to the end.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Finally!! A well-written story with gay main characters!!

    I have to give the ultimate praises for Christopher Rice's first published novel. It was very well written and very intriguing. I've read a few books here and there with gay men as the main characters, but they have all been stereotypical and weak in their stories. Christopher brings to life all the characters in this novel and you feel absorbed into the psyches of every one of them. The twists and turns throughout the story (up to the very end) kept me going, as well as the detailed visual descriptions (Rice is definitely a descriptive writer). One of my favorite (and most emotional) passages from the book is: 'You told me about what you called the light in the darkness. About how life was neither good nor bad, but a combination of both and occasionally good things pop up in the middle of tragedy, but they still don't make tragedy go away. They can't protect you. They're just light. But what you didn't say is that sometimes, certain people can be a light in the darkness. There are some people in this world who are worth saving when other people decide they shine the wrong kind of light on the wrong kind of things. You have been and will always be my light in the darkness.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    Great!!!

    This book has to be one of my favorite reads of all time. I was very impressed, seeing as how this was his first novel. He did a wonderful job. I'm sure he made both of his parents very proud. I'm REALLY hoping he writes a really good sequel because I would love to know what happens to the characters. Do they ever find out about their connection?! I will admit that I felt very weird about the ending. I was happy that the character found some happiness but with whom threw me for a little loop. Bravo Mr. Rice!!! P.S. PLLLLLLEEEAASSSEEEE make a sequel...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2006

    Dark and Twisted

    This book was incredible. Its dark elements and twisted plot made it a page-turner. It was hard to believe this a first novel for Rice.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Great First Novel

    I've read this book several times, and bought it shortly after it was released-years ago. I was literally shocked after first reading this novel, because this was the first published novel by Christopher Rice, and rarely before has a first time writer written such a wonderful first novel. This book had many twists and turns, and I continue to read it every once in awhile, and I urge anyone interested in Christopher Rice's novels to start with this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    I loved this book. Christopher Rice has created his own niche in

    I loved this book. Christopher Rice has created his own niche in writing with this strange, compelling story of mystery, atmosphere (you feel like you really do need to get out of the horrendous New Orleans humidity) and a cast of some really diverse personalities. It's a difficult book to attempt to describe, story wise; that takes care of itself. It's sometimes frustrating, often bewildering but ultimately rewarding. I love a book so steeped in atmosphere that you want to go there. When another author named Rice wrote a defiantly original story of a vampire being interviewed, she gave us the grit and grime of New Orleans of long ago, and I actually spent two weeks there, and everything she wrote was true, and I was able to walk those streets and visit landmark places.
    I mention this only because Mr. Rice has more than obviously inherited his mother's astounding talent for writing, yet he's done it in his own direction and his own vision. His mind seems to be one step ahead of him all of the time, making for a spontaneous twist here, a wild guess there and when the book ends, there is a subtle feeling that lasts for days. I like a book that makes me think about what I just read..&quot; It appears that the majority of other reviewers are also of that opinion. Christopher Rice is not new to the literary landscape; he has written other novels. But this is his &quot;breakthrough&quot; book, and he knows it. And I cannot wait to see what is coming next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Love your books!

    I must say I am thrilled that Anne Rice passed the suspense can't put it down gene on to her son Christopher. This book as well as his other available Nook Books are wonderful. I wasn't expecting the end twist, but that was the fun of reading A Density of Souls. It kept me turning the pages late into the night. I would love if the other books that are mentioned but not listed by B & N by this wonderful Author would become available on Nook as I no longer buy hard or paper back books. Christopher, your true critics are your fans and this fan loves your work as much as your mother's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    EASES NON-GAY READERS INTO AND OUT OF UNDERSTANDING PARTS OF THE CLOSET

    Wow. An apealing look into a world most people still kringe over and try to ignore. Very good novel by an innocent and somewhat inexperienced young gay man with a passion to share his emotions on friendship, cruelity, and persiverance. A GREAT STIRING NON-THREATENING READ. Very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Best book ever!!!!

    This is my 2 copy of this book. And evrn though i have read it like a millon times. It just keeps getting better and better. I am a huge fan and i own everyone of his books. This is by far the best one he's ever wrote. And this part gos out to the people who thunk that it't not a good book. Wake the heck up it's only the best book out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not for me

    Took a long time to make it through.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2005

    DON'T MISS READING THIS BOOK

    This is surprisingly a great book. The characters will draw you in and the story and plot twists are totally unexpected. You won't be able to put this book down. It will quickly become one of your favorite books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2005

    Not for the faint of heart.

    I found this book rather appealing, but it is not for the squeamish; the only fault I found was that the supporting characters sometimes came through as two dimensional. I however thought that plot was quite ensnaring, if somewhat implausible. I¿ve also noticed that a majority of the people that gave this book a less than complimentary review, mentioned in some way or another the homosexual overtones; many even focused their whole review on it. I find that unfair to the author, and to the many readers that that browse through these reviews. I believe than when opining of an author¿s work, the review should remain as un-biased as possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2005

    Definitely not too shabby

    I read the Snow Garden first because the library only had the Snow Garden and when I got around to reading this one, I loved it with equal intensity (as the Snow Garden). The characters are very well created, the plot grabbed onto me and I actually grabbed back (tee hee)... God I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2004

    Really a waste

    First off I want to say that if I had not read 'The Snow Garden' first, I may have never read it after this mess. I am an aspiring writer myself and love to read matereal by new authors...it helps me get in the right mind set, but this was a complete waste. I was expecting somthing earth shattering. Christopher was building me up for this big bang that never came. That and the fact that the last part, when you realize somthing that I guessed half way through, is really gross...like it gave me a really nasty taste in my mouth. Anyway, I guess I just wanted to write this because I read all these good reveiws about this guy, and I just finished it yesterday, and quite frankly, it was awful. Put the homesexual overtones aside, it could have still been a great story, if it just had a better bang...and what was up with Stephen ripping Jeffs insides inside out? I thought it was about to get good...but that was it...they say that and then never explain it...I'm lost. Don't bother, it's not worth it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    Great

    I'm a 15 year old boy and this was the best book I have ever read. Honestly, I don't read much and I couldn't put this book down. It made me think, alot. I enjoyed it being 15 but I know adults would enjoy it as well. It <i/>was</i> written for adults, so I urge you to go buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10