Customer Reviews for

A Density of Souls

Average Rating 4.5
( 195 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Excellent thriller

Adolescence is difficult for even the most adjusted youngster, but for childhood friends Stephen, Meredith, Brandon, and Greg it is a nightmare. The foursome used to enjoy playing hide and seek in a nearby cemetery, but during a storm Meredith watches Greg and Stephen ...
Adolescence is difficult for even the most adjusted youngster, but for childhood friends Stephen, Meredith, Brandon, and Greg it is a nightmare. The foursome used to enjoy playing hide and seek in a nearby cemetery, but during a storm Meredith watches Greg and Stephen humping each other. She found the incident ugly and that day forever changed everyone¿s relationships. Meredith felt compelled to hurt Stephen . She succeeded by informing the high school¿s in crowd that he was a fag leading to Stephen becoming the prime target of everyone including Greg.

Greg and Meredith become an entry, but their relationship turns violent. Meredith becomes an alcoholic and Brandon turns into a maniacal terrorist. Now five years after starting high school, the former friends are together at a reunion that reveals frightening truths including a murder.

There is a vein of darkness and brooding disaster throughout the story line. This leads the audience to anticipate tragedy is about to strike at almost any moment even with the exciting climax providing a ray of light for the future. A DENSITY OF SOULS illuminates the reaction to alleged homosexuality by a predominantly heterosexual crowd and its aftermath on the victims of sexual choice bias. Christopher Rice shows he is a talented author who can spin a dark tale without the benefit of the supernatural or his mother¿s fame.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Don't Read it!

Christopher Rice has a clumsy writing style and no character development. His plots are predictable and boring. Don't waist your time with any Christopher Rice novel, trust me I unfortunately read three of them for a class at my university.

posted by 658584 on April 28, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 195 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    Great

    I'm a 15 year old boy and this was the best book I have ever read. Honestly, I don't read much and I couldn't put this book down. It made me think, alot. I enjoyed it being 15 but I know adults would enjoy it as well. It <i/>was</i> written for adults, so I urge you to go buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2004

    Great Book

    I do agree with GT on some points, but I thought that this was another page turner as well. A great short read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2004

    interesting

    Well i do like anne's work. A friend recommended this book to me. I will admit this book touched me but christopher seems almost to cynical and cruel to his charaters. All the killing of the ones you love most i did shed a tear. It a a great book i do recomend it but its not for the light hearted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    Complete drivel

    After seeing how successful this novel has been, I finally decided to read it. I've never read a novel with such a badly disjointed plot, Mr. Rice's editor really dropped the ball on this one. There's not one sympathetic character to be found and I felt that some of the side plots seemed to have been created solely to fill in dramatic gaps. Waste of money, waste of time, don't bother with this one.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2004

    Incredible

    It's a really awesome book with sweet and disturbing moments. You won't wanna put it down once you get goin'. I cried like 4x because of things that happen to Stephen. Great book but if you're homophobic, don't read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    this book rocks

    This book was a one you could not put down. I have given it to several friends to read and everyone of them has finished it in a day or less. I look forward to another book by mr rice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2003

    Wonderful Debut

    Amazingly complex and well-plotted mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2003

    Couldn't Put It Down!!!

    I got this book when I was in NYC over the summer, not really intending on reading it. But when I finished my last book, Belinda, I picked it up anyways. I COULD NOT PUT IT DOWN!!! I believe I read it in about 3 sittings. Great book! Sexy! Furiously paced! Shocking! I'd recommend it to anyone. But if you're a homophobic, beware.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2003

    Unbelieveable

    WOW!! This book is definately a must read. The story is all too real. I felt that i was in the book with the characters, and living each ordeal with them. Each page left an impressionable image on me. I have to admit that i did shed a fair amount of tears. I highly recommend this novel to any and everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2003

    Touching

    Having been a fan of Anne Rice for many years, I expected her young son's first book to be a half-hearted, juvenile attempt at vampiresque fiction. I was terribly wrong. Within the first few chapters, I had so attached myself to Stephen that my heart broke with each turn of the page. The characters were realistic and cruel and honest and sad. Call if fiction if you will, but the message is true. Christopher's ability to create these types of characters will take him far as a writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2003

    amazing

    this is the most beautiful and heart breaking book I've ever read, just an amazing book from start to finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2003

    wow

    This book is a great read. It's definitly not for those lacking an open mind. The characters are almost too morally sound at times but I still couldn't stop reading this, I can't wait to read snow garden.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2003

    The darkest truest tales i have read this year. It was great!

    This story completely turned my way of thinking things around. It kept you in suspense from the start of the book, and kept you guessing who dun it type of thing. I absolutely loved it. Rice has a long way ahead of him before he retires!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2003

    Incredibly Addictive

    I purchased 'A Density of Souls' on a mere whim. I'm not a fan of Anne Rice's material, nor am I a fan of mysteries--in fact, I've a strong disliking for both. It sounds somewhat silly, but the cover was simply so pretty that I grabbed it without thinking. I sat down with it two days later, and began to read. The result? I couldn't put it down for a second, honestly. While the plot is somewhat rushed at times and some of the imagery sketchy, the characters are incredibly well mapped out and quite likeable. I could relate very much to poor Stevie, who was sweet and my favorite character, and saw far too many of my acquaintances in Greg and Brandon. Meredith disgusted me (in a good way) and Jordan was absolutely wonderful. Bits of the story were terrifying, while others were heartwarming--it was a fun roller coaster ride to read and I, for the most part, enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2003

    amazing!

    i wish i would have found this book sooner. i can't even describe it. i am speechless. it's unlike anything i've ever read. i started it, and could not put it down. it's a must read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2003

    Wonderful Book, AND I DONT EVEN READ!!!

    I absolutley LOVED this book, it was great. I can not wait for Chris Rice to write another Novel so I can read it. I cried so many times I can not even count. I related with one particular charter in the book in ways that were ironic, and I guess that is why I liked the book so much. I have recommended that everyone that I know read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2003

    A College Student from Texas

    This book is probably the best book I have ever read. I didn't want to put it down for fear that I would miss something. It made me mad, sad, happy, confused, frustrated, anxious, and excited all at the same time! I have never read any other book like it. I hope Christopher continues to write wonderful novels like this one, or better!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    I love it~

    I was 13 when I read this (and now i'm 14~!) and I loved it! Its the best slash book I have ever read. I've read some other nice books, but most of them were boring and never really had a plot. However, this has a plot, a confusing one, but none the less, a damn good plot. I've never read a book more than once, but I couldn't help it! I read it the second time. Stephen..., the way Christopher rice describes him,... he just has an air of depression and fragility around him, yet at the same time, he seems so strong. I love Stephen, and if it weren't for the fact that I could borrow it from the library, I would buy it right away! ^.^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2003

    Disappointing

    I can't believe so many people gave this book 5 stars. It was a slow read and the story line was a bit of a stretch. I was so disappointed, that I tossed the book from my collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2002

    For Whom the Bell Tolls

    If there is ever going to be a book that shows how teenage angst and feelings that drive you over the top work, this will be it! In the tradition of many fine writers of the gothic genre, Rice slaps you right in the face with boldness, drags you to his lair of sickening mystery and keeps you captivated with extreme skill right up to the moment you dare to breath again. Far too often, authors are scared to do what this one does; tell the whole nasty truth! No doubt critics, who think the sun shines out of their overeducated ..., will raise their voices and have a field day to kill off this pure and honest piece of art. Well, what do they know. This voice from Belgium just has two words for the author: Bravo!More!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 195 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10