Customer Reviews for

The Departed

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Departed by Shiloh Walker is a riveting story that will ling

The Departed by Shiloh Walker is a riveting story that will linger with you long after you have finished reading.

FBI Special Agent Taylor Jones has gathered a team of unusual agents. Each has a special talent that normal agents do not possess. Desiree Lincoln is one s...
The Departed by Shiloh Walker is a riveting story that will linger with you long after you have finished reading.

FBI Special Agent Taylor Jones has gathered a team of unusual agents. Each has a special talent that normal agents do not possess. Desiree Lincoln is one such agent. Dez can speak to the departed and try to bring them closure so they can pass on to the next world.
Taylor is haunted by the death of his little sister for over twenty five years. He is also deeply attracted to Dez and this has him torn in many directions. With agent Taylor the team and the mission always comes first.

Dez is bombarded on all sides by the dead and their wishes. It begins to take a toll on her health. Her last mission she was seriously wounded and it brought out her feelings for her boss. One night of searing passion with Taylor has Taylor wanted to protect Dez and to keep her safe. But Dez has ideas of her own and leaves the team.

Many months later Dez finds herself drawn to Taylor’s home town. When a murdering is on the loose Taylor’s team is called in to help. Dez and Taylor are forced to work together before the body count rises any higher.

Working together again has those strong feelings of attraction to come roaring back. Will Dez and Taylor’s renewed feelings survive a killer bent on revenge?

The Departed is another excellent book by Shiloh Walker. The book is fast paced and the tension is riveting. It’s a story that will haunt you. I love a good romantic suspense book and this is a gem.

posted by Judy_F on April 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not a romance

I don't mind the supernatural elements but 200 of the 235 pages are devoted to solving gruesome murders. "The Missing" was much better in the romance department.

posted by 8509126 on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Shiloh Walker is now on my list of favorite authors. I read her If You Know Her, If You Hear Her, If You See Her series before reading this one and have to say that I enjoyed them all immensely! I would not recommend them for the faint of heart or yound readers, as there is explicit sex, but I think it would make for an interesting book in an adult book club.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Departed by Shiloh Walker is a riveting story that will ling

    The Departed by Shiloh Walker is a riveting story that will linger with you long after you have finished reading.

    FBI Special Agent Taylor Jones has gathered a team of unusual agents. Each has a special talent that normal agents do not possess. Desiree Lincoln is one such agent. Dez can speak to the departed and try to bring them closure so they can pass on to the next world.
    Taylor is haunted by the death of his little sister for over twenty five years. He is also deeply attracted to Dez and this has him torn in many directions. With agent Taylor the team and the mission always comes first.

    Dez is bombarded on all sides by the dead and their wishes. It begins to take a toll on her health. Her last mission she was seriously wounded and it brought out her feelings for her boss. One night of searing passion with Taylor has Taylor wanted to protect Dez and to keep her safe. But Dez has ideas of her own and leaves the team.

    Many months later Dez finds herself drawn to Taylor’s home town. When a murdering is on the loose Taylor’s team is called in to help. Dez and Taylor are forced to work together before the body count rises any higher.

    Working together again has those strong feelings of attraction to come roaring back. Will Dez and Taylor’s renewed feelings survive a killer bent on revenge?

    The Departed is another excellent book by Shiloh Walker. The book is fast paced and the tension is riveting. It’s a story that will haunt you. I love a good romantic suspense book and this is a gem.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Not a romance

    I don't mind the supernatural elements but 200 of the 235 pages are devoted to solving gruesome murders. "The Missing" was much better in the romance department.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Fabulous book

    I read Missing, loved it and of course when this one came out, had to have it. Ms. Walker does not disappoint. The charecters and what they go through and feel comes through so very real. She had me tearing up a couple times. Hoping she comes out with another from this group soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    the missing part2

    the missing i ejoyed so much . i cried, laughed, screamed,angioused over that this book finnally i get to find out why taylor put the group together in the first place. can't wait to acacutly read the book remember dez talks to the dead.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another great well-written romantic suspense. We are first intr

    Another great well-written romantic suspense. We are first introduced to these characters in The Missing. But this can be read as stand alone.

    Taylor is the head of the FBI unit that investigates these "unique" crimes. Dez is one of the agents he employs because of her gift. They are both fairly successful at hiding their feelings for each other until Dez gets hurt. After finally connecting on the personal level they both desire, Taylor does a complete withdrawal.

    Dez tries to take this time to get away for a while. But her gift always follows. She ends up back in Taylor's hometown, unknowingly to both of them. Her she helps rescue a girl before tragedy strikes. But that is not the only thing that called her to this place and time. Taylor happens to be there at the same time in his old family home.

    Together we get to watch them come together to solve an old crime that has continued to haunt Taylor and learn how they really feel about each other and their own unique circumstances that have brought them together.

    The characters are well-written, they have histories that help define them. You want them to be happy, and understand they have to work though their issues to find that happiness but you cant help but root for them and hope it works out. The story keeps moving and keeps you reading as well. All in all an excellent romantic suspense. Great parts of romance and mystery are contained within the pages. If this is your genre you must pick it up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Annaribbit

    I have not read such a riveting, beautiful romantic/suspense novel such as the "Departed" in a long time. Read this book because it will leave quite an impression. I hope Shiloh Walker will continue with this series and write more about the FBI psychic team headed by Taylor Jones. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Koni

    Great read. Couldn't put it down. You don't really know how everything comes about until the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Amazing

    Great story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ive read several of Ms. Walkers books and I've loved them all. Y

    Ive read several of Ms. Walkers books and I've loved them all. You can't help but love the characters. Even the secondary characters are very deep.  I think I would really enjoy reading more about this psychic branch of the FBI.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    heart pounding, heart breaking and heart stopping.

    A great ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1