Customer Reviews for

Deployed

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    In Deployed, award-winning author Mel Odom fashions a cast as d


    In Deployed, award-winning author Mel Odom fashions a cast as diverse as any you might encounter in a trip to the mall. Small town single mother to hot-shot southern lawyer; witness protected street fighter to teenaged clerk at an auto parts store are all cobbled together into an instrument of war when the reservists of Marine Corps Charlie Company are activated and deployed to war ravaged Somalia.

    Mr. Odom shines a harsh light on the transformation citizen soldiers make when pulled from their kitchens, offices, and work sites to answer the call to serve. In this first book of his new series, Called To Serve, we see the what it costs military reservists to shift gears from normal domesticity into trained fighters; to change their very skin as it were. Fictional shape shifters have nothing on the men and women of Charlie Company.

    The action is fast paced with no punches pulled, the dialog crisp and relevant, the characterizations poignant. Meet these Marines and you won’t want to miss a single word of the upcoming sequels.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    This book was a little hard to follow at times but I enjoyed the

    This book was a little hard to follow at times but I enjoyed the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    I had a hard time following the book at first and could not fi


    I had a hard time following the book at first and could not figure out how all the different characters fit together but when they were sent overseas to serve together in the Marines it answered the questions I had.
    Pike, a hardened young man in the Witness Protection Program will do just about anything for his young friend and Bekah, a single young mother who is raising her young child with the help of her grandmother are two of the Marines the reader is introduced to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Lots of adventure

    Filled with lots of action this book is a great read for those who enjoy military fiction. I wish God was brought more into the story to really define this as a Christian fiction novel therefore I deducted a star. I do appreciate the descriptive battles and experiences of the Marines. I kept thinking these are descriptions in a novel -what must reality be like for those who really live this life? Thank God for those who serve in the US military!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Fantastic book! Bekah Shaw joined the marines in order to suppo

    Fantastic book! Bekah Shaw joined the marines in order to support her young son Travis when her husband left her. Her grandmother cared for the boy when she was sent first to Afghanistan and later to Somalia. When she returned home after her tour in Afghanistan, she went with her friend Connie to a local bar where they encountered both Billy Roy, her former husband, and Buck, who had cheated on Connie. When Buck hit Connie, Bekah intervened and using her marine training subdued Buck in spite of the knife he had. But when police came, Bekah was blamed and taken to jail. Her friend Connie didn't even back her up. But before she could go to trial, she was reactivated. Then the scene switched to a prison where Heath, a lawyer, was visiting his client Darnell Lester who was scheduled to die for killing a police officer. Heath was trying to get the sentence changed to life in prison so Darnell could have a positive influence on his daughter and grandchildren. Before Heath accomplished that he was called to active duty and sent to Somalia on the same plane as Bekah and Ralph Caxton, the man from the auto parts store in her town. And then there was another character, Pike Morgan, a mechanic in the witness protection program, whose young friend was concerned about his sister being turned into a drug addict. After he had solved that problem, he too ended up in Somalia. Interspersed with the stories of the private lives of these Americans that would be interrupted with a military tour in Somalia was the story of Daud, a leader of a small group who were trying to stop the al-Shabaab terrorists, but were not in favor of the Transitional Federal Government the Americans were trying to shore up. Once in Somalia the Americans bonded as they fought together against the al-Shabaab terrorists, with Bekah as a leader under Heath. The story is truly exciting and heartwarming. It was one adventure after another and you won't want to stop reading until you finish the book. And the ending is awesome. If you love adventure, suspense, and incredible drama, this book is fantastic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    Intense, Heart-Pounding Action, Believable Characters. Mel Odom

    Intense, Heart-Pounding Action, Believable Characters. Mel Odom is a great writer. I have read a few of his other books, and am always impressed by his skill and realism. I appreciate a clean story, with no foul language and no prurient scenes even in the combat scenarios. It takes talent to depict the brutality of war without unnecessary sensationalism. Character development is done very well. I understand who the characters are, and I feel connected with them, having their backgrounds explained clearly and compassionately. Tragic events are resolved in satisfying ways. I’m looking forward to reading the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    Very dark story of bandit gangs in Somalia and several very diff

    Very dark story of bandit gangs in Somalia and several very different Marine reservists sent as part of the security forces in Somalia. We meet each of the Marines in the midst of their homeland lives which are interrupted by their recalling. The most heartbreaking is the story of Bekah who is a single mother who must leave behind her six-year-old. Through their eyes, we feel the horror of war and the emotional toll it takes on the military on a mission to help the helpless.

    The details of the situation in Somalia are vividly illustrated and so tragic. The author gives us a needed insight into the plight of these people living in a land where human life is of little value and death from outlaws or starvation is more likely than not. So sad but the author provides a ray of hope in the darkness with the story of a child. This was not "cozy" reading but had several important lessons learned by the characters. God is still in control.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    I enjoyed this book a lot more than I expected to. I don't usual

    I enjoyed this book a lot more than I expected to. I don't usually read military fiction, but I'm glad I read this one. The only thing that I really wanted to know at the end was what happened to Kufow, but other than that, it was really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2013

    Bekah is a single mother and a Marine Reservist. When her unit i

    Bekah is a single mother and a Marine Reservist. When her unit is activated, she is sent to Somalia, where she encounters danger and excitement.

    I liked the overall story and there was plenty of action to keep the reader interested. However, this book is rather graphic in the portrayal of war. I realize it is a war book but I didn't need so many descriptions of what was happening to people in the battles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Enjoyed

    I really enjoyed this book but was confused by the introduction of all the characters. But when it all finally came together it was hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hmm... Where to start? Honestly, about a third into the book,

    Hmm... Where to start?

    Honestly, about a third into the book, the whole plot totally changed, so I don't quite know which part to review. For the first seven chapters of the book, we spend time with Sergeant Lance Corporal Bekah Shaw, who is just living as a civilian, since she's a Marine Corps reservist. So, we see her going about life as a single mom, dealing with baby daddy drama that culminates in a bar fight for which she's held responsible. 

    And then suddenly, just as that's going on, in chapter 8 we're all the sudden in Somalia, following an incredibly violent terrorist whose actions are described in gory, gory detail. (Seriously, this book is NOT for the faint of heart or stomach.)

    For the next third of the book or so, we jump around from Bekah's story, to the terrorists, to other Marine reservists who later get called up with Bekah, but it all feels so disjointed and unconnected. As I got into the book, I realized the author must be using this book to set up an entire series, but I feel like it could have been done in a clearer, more guided way. I really spent the whole middle of the book with my head spinning, trying to keep all of the characters and their sudden back stories straight. 

    Then, for the last third of the book, we're in Somalia for good as the Marines seek to eliminate warring factions of terrorists.  As I said earlier, this is an incredibly graphic book, moreso than it probably needs to be. There's something much more violent about reading things like, "bullets riddled his face and his blood spurted out all over Bekah" or "she thrust the grenade under his body and a moment later he exploded, with blood covering the walls all around them" rather than just watching it in a movie, as here my imagination has to come up with the picture and its rather disturbing. I found it to be distracting, but maybe the author wanted to give you the feeling of being right there on the battlefield with the characters. 

    Anyway, if you're a fan of war stories and don't mind the violence, you might enjoy this contemporary novel based on current events. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2013

    USMC Lance Corporal Bekah Shaw has seen a lot in her 25 years.  

    USMC Lance Corporal Bekah Shaw has seen a lot in her 25 years.  She is the mother of 6 year old Travis, a marine reservist, abandoned by her philandering ex-husband Billy Roy (who was uninterested in being a dad, and who also has an extreme amount of animosity towards her.)




    Rageh Daud's wife and son were killed by al-Shabaab faction in Somalia, and he is now bent on revenge.  He will do whatever it takes, even going back to the mercenary life he knew before his business career and his family, to avenge their honor.




    Lawyer (and USMC Lieutanant Reservist) Heath Bridger is tired of trying to live up to his father's expectations, and they are not close.  It colors many aspects of his life.




    This book caught me from the very beginning and I ended up reading it non-stop in just a few hours.  I loved how the author bounced back and forth between several seemingly different story lines but seamlessly wove them together in the end.  There are other compelling characters, and it appears this book is the first of a new series.  I am excited to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    Though I am against divorce (at least in most cases) and women b

    Though I am against divorce (at least in most cases) and women being in the military, this book was quite an adventure. It opened my eyes to some of the horror in other parts of the world, and I could sympathize with most of the characters in one way or another. None of the main characters were Christian, however, so that was a bit disappointing. Bekah had some sort of peace come upon her later-on in the book, but the gospel message was not there. If you're looking for an exciting military read that is clean (though violent), then this book may be something to try, but if you're looking for a strong Christian story, this is not it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Deployed is not my typical read, but I must admit that it was in

    Deployed is not my typical read, but I must admit that it was interesting. The beginning was a bit confusing as character after character were introduced in what seemed to have no connection. However, when you learned that all of these seemingly unrelated characters were getting deployed as Marine reservists, the story started falling into place. I found Deployed to be well written, although intense, at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    I had never read any books by Mel Odom before this one. Now I am

    I had never read any books by Mel Odom before this one. Now I am looking forward to reading another as soon as I can! I think he did a great job portraying the challenges that people in the military face as they leave their families to travel to others countries to serve in the military. Some scenes were hard to read in terms of the violence, but I think the author did an accurate depiction of atrocities that happen every day in different parts of the world. All in all, I think it was a great book and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a realistic depiction of serving in the military.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    Bekah Shaw is a single mother divorced from a serious low-life s

    Bekah Shaw is a single mother divorced from a serious low-life she should never have married in the first place. She joined the Marine reserves, never expecting to be deployed, but has spent six months each in Iraq and Afghanistan. In the opening of the book, Bekah gets into a fight in a bar with a man much larger than her who starts beating her friend. Everyone (including said "friend"), agrees with the aggressor, saying Bekah started it unprovoked and she is arrested. While she's waiting for her trial, she is once again called to active duty, this time to Mogadishu.

    I knew this was going to be a hard book to review going into it due to my personal views on women in the military--especially combat, but I worked hard to set that aside and go into it with an open mind. I know some have said a woman would not be leading a fire team, but I did some research and found out that there are actually women marines (or at least one that I know of) that are fire team leaders.

    The story felt rather disjointed for the first part of the book as character after character is introduced, but then finally starts to coalesce when they all end up deployed together. I'm not military, so I couldn't speak as to the reality of the combat situations, but it felt very realistic and well done.
    That said I'll move on to what really dropped this review in my opinion. This book is marketed as "Christian Fiction". I beg to differ. The book starts with Bekah in a bar for beer with friends. Pretty much everyone introduced in the book is either blatantly non-Christian or the subject is ignored. God is barely mentioned through almost the entire book. A few remembered Bible verses from childhood and an "epiphany" during battle that maybe this moment is why God has you here accompanied by a prayer that you can make that perfect shot does not a Christian book make. I kept waiting for a Christian character to show up, one of the characters to remember enough from childhood to get saved, or even for salvation to just be mentioned! Nada. As a military fiction book, I think it's pretty good. As a Christian fiction book, it fails miserably. Very, VERY disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    This was a good book.  Bekah is a single mother, waitress and Ma

    This was a good book.  Bekah is a single mother, waitress and Marine reservist.  She has been deployed twice already but shortly after some significant trouble at home, she is activated and sent to 
    Somalia.  Rageh Daud grew up under a man who taught him everything he knew, but none of it was of the respectable nature.  He since went to college, married and had a son.  While he was a respected businessman, all that changed when he lost his wife and son.  Now he is exactly what his father trained him to be.
    This book was exceptionally well researched.  I liked Bekah.  She wants to take care of herself, her son and her granny and became a reservist to do just that.  Her ex husband was a louse and I could have happily seen bad things happen to him and other certain characters!  The author writes the book from different character's perspectives and I enjoyed getting to know all three of them through their actions and thoughts.  The message that God has a plan for each of us is woven quite well into the storyline but isn't 'in your face'.  I think the author did a great job with this book.
    I rate this one a 4/5.  It was good and eye-opening.  I will definitely read the next in this series.




    Thank you to the author for providing the review copy of this book.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2