Customer Reviews for

Deployed

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    This book was a little hard to follow at times but I enjoyed the

    This book was a little hard to follow at times but I enjoyed the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    I had a hard time following the book at first and could not fi


    I had a hard time following the book at first and could not figure out how all the different characters fit together but when they were sent overseas to serve together in the Marines it answered the questions I had.
    Pike, a hardened young man in the Witness Protection Program will do just about anything for his young friend and Bekah, a single young mother who is raising her young child with the help of her grandmother are two of the Marines the reader is introduced to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Lots of adventure

    Filled with lots of action this book is a great read for those who enjoy military fiction. I wish God was brought more into the story to really define this as a Christian fiction novel therefore I deducted a star. I do appreciate the descriptive battles and experiences of the Marines. I kept thinking these are descriptions in a novel -what must reality be like for those who really live this life? Thank God for those who serve in the US military!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    Very dark story of bandit gangs in Somalia and several very diff

    Very dark story of bandit gangs in Somalia and several very different Marine reservists sent as part of the security forces in Somalia. We meet each of the Marines in the midst of their homeland lives which are interrupted by their recalling. The most heartbreaking is the story of Bekah who is a single mother who must leave behind her six-year-old. Through their eyes, we feel the horror of war and the emotional toll it takes on the military on a mission to help the helpless.

    The details of the situation in Somalia are vividly illustrated and so tragic. The author gives us a needed insight into the plight of these people living in a land where human life is of little value and death from outlaws or starvation is more likely than not. So sad but the author provides a ray of hope in the darkness with the story of a child. This was not "cozy" reading but had several important lessons learned by the characters. God is still in control.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Deployed is not my typical read, but I must admit that it was in

    Deployed is not my typical read, but I must admit that it was interesting. The beginning was a bit confusing as character after character were introduced in what seemed to have no connection. However, when you learned that all of these seemingly unrelated characters were getting deployed as Marine reservists, the story started falling into place. I found Deployed to be well written, although intense, at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    This was a good book.  Bekah is a single mother, waitress and Ma

    This was a good book.  Bekah is a single mother, waitress and Marine reservist.  She has been deployed twice already but shortly after some significant trouble at home, she is activated and sent to 
    Somalia.  Rageh Daud grew up under a man who taught him everything he knew, but none of it was of the respectable nature.  He since went to college, married and had a son.  While he was a respected businessman, all that changed when he lost his wife and son.  Now he is exactly what his father trained him to be.
    This book was exceptionally well researched.  I liked Bekah.  She wants to take care of herself, her son and her granny and became a reservist to do just that.  Her ex husband was a louse and I could have happily seen bad things happen to him and other certain characters!  The author writes the book from different character's perspectives and I enjoyed getting to know all three of them through their actions and thoughts.  The message that God has a plan for each of us is woven quite well into the storyline but isn't 'in your face'.  I think the author did a great job with this book.
    I rate this one a 4/5.  It was good and eye-opening.  I will definitely read the next in this series.




    Thank you to the author for providing the review copy of this book.  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1