Customer Reviews for

Derik's Bane (Wyndham Werewolf Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great paranormal romantic fantasy

In Massachusetts, Werewolf Antonia tells pack member Derik Gardner he must save the world from Morgan le Fay of Monterrey, California. Derik arrives at Dr. Sara Gunn¿s Monterey home, but she is working. Monks attack her, but they fall over each other like a comedy tea...
In Massachusetts, Werewolf Antonia tells pack member Derik Gardner he must save the world from Morgan le Fay of Monterrey, California. Derik arrives at Dr. Sara Gunn¿s Monterey home, but she is working. Monks attack her, but they fall over each other like a comedy team. Sara returns home where Derik having confirmed with Antonia that Sara is Morgan tries to kill her; instead she knocks him out giving him an aneurism. Being a werewolf, Derik heals fast. He informs her he could not kill her and then asks for food as he is hungry. He insists she is Morgan, but she denies that though she has always been lucky whenever she really needed something she got it. Derik also tells her he is a werewolf. She thinks he is a homicidal lunatic. Derik kisses her, but says they need to stop the bad guys from destroying the world....................... They visit her boss Dr. Cummings who says she is Morgan and that Derik as a werewolf is a lousy mate. He also says she must defeat Arthur's Chosen in Salem, Massachusetts who want her dead so that Arthur can return. Thus, begins the trek east together to save the world................................. DERIK¿S BANE is a unique well-written romantic fantasy with a Camelot twist. The strong lead characters, whose verbal fighting, including her dog jokes, are amusing while the Arthurian connection and the werewolf aspects cleverly add fun to a delightful tale. Though the heroine seems too accepting of his explanations especially since he tried to kill her, sub-genre fans will appreciate this fabulous cross country trek starring the world¿s most powerful sorcerer and the werewolf who loves her.......................... Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

brain candy

Derik, a werewolf from MaryJanice Davidson's east-coast Pack of Wyndham werewolves, is on a mission: he has been told to "take care of" Dr. Sarah Gunn, the reincarnation of Morgan Le Fay - lest she destroy the world. The only problem? Sarah isn't evil. In fact, she's do...
Derik, a werewolf from MaryJanice Davidson's east-coast Pack of Wyndham werewolves, is on a mission: he has been told to "take care of" Dr. Sarah Gunn, the reincarnation of Morgan Le Fay - lest she destroy the world. The only problem? Sarah isn't evil. In fact, she's downright cute, and too lucky for words. When Derik literally cannot kill her, he and Sarah decide to team up to take a cross-country road trip to track down and eliminate the real threat.

The story was cute. I finished it quickly, but I think if I had had to put the book down, I would have been hard-pressed to pick it back up. I didn't care overmuch what happened - I knew that Sarah and Derik would end up together and that the world would be saved. I knew the "twist" almost from the beginning.

The best way for me to describe Davidson's writing is "brain candy." I know it's empty calories, so to speak, but it's addictive in the same way cotton candy is: fluffy, full of air, saccharine-sweet, and you just can't get enough.

posted by AnkhetCM on December 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    brain candy

    Derik, a werewolf from MaryJanice Davidson's east-coast Pack of Wyndham werewolves, is on a mission: he has been told to "take care of" Dr. Sarah Gunn, the reincarnation of Morgan Le Fay - lest she destroy the world. The only problem? Sarah isn't evil. In fact, she's downright cute, and too lucky for words. When Derik literally cannot kill her, he and Sarah decide to team up to take a cross-country road trip to track down and eliminate the real threat.<BR/><BR/>The story was cute. I finished it quickly, but I think if I had had to put the book down, I would have been hard-pressed to pick it back up. I didn't care overmuch what happened - I knew that Sarah and Derik would end up together and that the world would be saved. I knew the "twist" almost from the beginning.<BR/><BR/>The best way for me to describe Davidson's writing is "brain candy." I know it's empty calories, so to speak, but it's addictive in the same way cotton candy is: fluffy, full of air, saccharine-sweet, and you just can't get enough.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great paranormal romantic fantasy

    In Massachusetts, Werewolf Antonia tells pack member Derik Gardner he must save the world from Morgan le Fay of Monterrey, California. Derik arrives at Dr. Sara Gunn¿s Monterey home, but she is working. Monks attack her, but they fall over each other like a comedy team. Sara returns home where Derik having confirmed with Antonia that Sara is Morgan tries to kill her; instead she knocks him out giving him an aneurism. Being a werewolf, Derik heals fast. He informs her he could not kill her and then asks for food as he is hungry. He insists she is Morgan, but she denies that though she has always been lucky whenever she really needed something she got it. Derik also tells her he is a werewolf. She thinks he is a homicidal lunatic. Derik kisses her, but says they need to stop the bad guys from destroying the world....................... They visit her boss Dr. Cummings who says she is Morgan and that Derik as a werewolf is a lousy mate. He also says she must defeat Arthur's Chosen in Salem, Massachusetts who want her dead so that Arthur can return. Thus, begins the trek east together to save the world................................. DERIK¿S BANE is a unique well-written romantic fantasy with a Camelot twist. The strong lead characters, whose verbal fighting, including her dog jokes, are amusing while the Arthurian connection and the werewolf aspects cleverly add fun to a delightful tale. Though the heroine seems too accepting of his explanations especially since he tried to kill her, sub-genre fans will appreciate this fabulous cross country trek starring the world¿s most powerful sorcerer and the werewolf who loves her.......................... Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Darce

    Glad I had such a wonderful impression on you ^-^ I knew you were gonna turn out to be a wimpy cu<3>nt when I told you off. That's what I call a character flaw, and I don't tolerate that sh<3>it from anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Roralheart

    NAME Roralheart.<p>AGE 20 moons<p>GENDER shecat <p>DESC a slender black shecat with small white and giner splotches across her entire pelt. She had white belly and chest and a long fluffy tail. Bright amber eyes. Fox like ears.<p>PERS meet her and find out! ;)<p>KIN Sorrel (mother dead) Kennedy (a half fox half cat. Her father dead.) No siblings<p>CRUSH none yet <p>MATE none <p>KITS none

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    SNOWPAW!!!

    NAME Snowpaw<br>
    AGE 9 moons<br>
    DREAM WARRIOR NAME Snowdrop<br>
    GENDER Shecat<br>
    APPEARANCE snow white with stunning ice blue eyes<br>
    PERS Funny, cool, smart, loyal, brave, adventurous

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Thunderclaw

    Name:Thunderclaw•••Gender:Tom•••Description:White with yellow eyes•••Mate:None•••Crush:None•••Kits:None•••

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Duskcloud

    Name- Dusjcloud<br>
    Age- 20 moons<br>
    Looks- black shecat with white and silver tabby stripes. Blue eyes.<br>
    Crush- yes<br>
    Mate- no<br>
    Kits- skykit, spiderkit and hawkkit and whitekit<br>
    Theme song- warrior by demi lavoto<br>
    Name- Skykit<br>
    Age- newborn (less than a moon old)<br>
    Looks- brown shekit with white patches, green eyes.<br>
    Kin- maouther- duskcloud, farther- unknown, brouthers, whitekit, spiderkit and hawkkit.<br>
    Theme song- raor by katy perri<p>
    Name- spiderkit<br>
    Age- see skykit's age<br>
    Looks- black tom with small silver and white specks. Amber eyes.<br>
    Kin- skykit, dusckcloud, whitekit and hawkkit<br>
    Theme song- battle scars by unkniwn artist<br>
    Name- hawkkit<br>
    Age- see spiderkits age<br>
    Looks- golden tabby tom with a white streak on his right ear, runt of the litter, blue eyes like his mouther.<br>
    Kin- skykit, whitekit, dusckcloud and spiderkit.<br>
    Theme song- tiptoe by imagine dragons.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Teslas bio updated

    Name Tesla. Is a red fox but all black with white paw tips..is 15 winters/moons old..he is valintearing for deputy but knows no one will pick him because hes a fox..crush...WindRace..mate..none but realy wants one. Kits/pups....none.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Shadowfang and Raindrop's bio

    Name: Shadowfang - Gender: Tom - A handsome jet black cat with amber eyes. - Kind and loyal. - Mate: None, looking. - Crush: Maybe...(better bio coming soon!) ••• Name: Raindrop * Gender: She * Description: Beautiful blue/grey cat with peircing green eyes. * She is loving and loyal and always kind. * Mate: None, looking. * Crush: Thats a secret...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    WindRace

    Name: WindRace Age: 24 moons Looks: she is a small slender all white she-cat with bright blue eyes. History: born into a non clan group of cats she left them as the leader died and the group gradually began to turn evil.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Streakfeather's bio

    Name: Streakfeather / Gender: Tom / Age: Around twenty-four moons / Appearance: He has silver fur with black streaks down his sides and back and blue eyes. He looks very thin and scrawny, but has strength as great as Tigerstar's. / History: Heeere we go. Streakfeather was born and raised in ShadowClan. His mother Oceanblaze was leader until she disappeared, leaving Autumnstar leader and himself deputy. However, one thing led to another and Applestar became leader while he was still deputy. He never met his father, his blood sister Featherkit died young, his adopted sister Rushingsnow disappeared, and Oceanblaze died, so he has no family. ...Okay, I'm done now.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    The characters were hilarious but the story was lacking. It was

    The characters were hilarious but the story was lacking. It was just too fast. Nothing got explored.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    So much for a sample

    I always like to view a book before buying, as I dont want to be stuck with something I have no interest in. Reason being for a sample. Ha! What sample????? The supposed sample is 9 pages which none of its the actual book. Not one sentence! Acknowledgments and critic reviews does me no good in a sample I need some of the story/book. Does this make me want to buy this book? Not a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    A favorite

    I've read this one probably 20 times- a mjd favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    I've not previously read a Wyndhma Werewolf Tale, so I came into DERIK'S BANE with no preconceptions. I enjoyed the story, the characters, and the typical MaryJanice Davidson wit, although I did find the ending (which happened in about two pages) a wee bit far-fetched. <BR/><BR/>Derik Gardner, hottie and member of the Wyndham Pack, has recently been feeling a little out of sorts. When he loses control one morning and gets into it with alpha Michael Wyndham (his leader and best friend since childhood), he realizes that something has to change. <BR/><BR/>And change they do. Derik has been informed that the reincarnation of Morgan La Fay, great sorceress and sister to King Arthur, not to mention historically believed to be a betrayer of a nation, has now taken the body of spunky, cute nurse with a doctorate Sara Gunn. His mission? "Take care of" Ms. Gunn, and prevent her from destroying the world. <BR/><BR/>Sara is a little perturbed by Derik's arrival on her doorstep, but no more so than she was by the guys in red monk's robes who tried to kill her at the hospital where she works later that day. It seems strange things are always happening to her, but her "luck", as she calls it, in turn causes weird things to happen to the bad guys. <BR/><BR/>As Derik attempts to take care of Sara by killing her, he realizes that he, superior body be damned, can't hurt her. So if you can't beat 'em, you join 'em, right? Sara and Derik set off cross-country to Salem, Massachusetts, where the sect of King Arthur resides, determined to save the world from destruction. <BR/><BR/>DERIK'S BANE is a fun, enjoyable read. In typical MJD style it's got passion, hilarious dialogue, a yummy hero, and a spunky heroine. What it lacks is a try believable ending (Sara KICKS the baddie to destroy it), but overall this is a fun way to spend an afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    So Very Not Good

    Tried so hard to be funny and witty and just tried a bit too hard. So very unoriginal and bland and just not funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Nurses and Monks and Werewolves - Oh, My!

    I've not previously read a Wyndhma Werewolf Tale, so I came into DERIK'S BANE with no preconceptions. I enjoyed the story, the characters, and the typical MaryJanice Davidson wit, although I did find the ending (which happened in about two pages) a wee bit far-fetched. Derik Gardner, hottie and member of the Wyndham Pack, has recently been feeling a little out of sorts. When he loses control one morning and gets into it with alpha Michael Wyndham (his leader and best friend since childhood), he realizes that something has to change. And change they do. Derik has been informed that the reincarnation of Morgan La Fay, great sorceress and sister to King Arthur, not to mention historically believed to be a betrayer of a nation, has now taken the body of spunky, cute nurse with a doctorate Sara Gunn. His mission? 'Take care of' Ms. Gunn, and prevent her from destroying the world. Sara is a little perturbed by Derik's arrival on her doorstep, but no more so than she was by the guys in red monk's robes who tried to kill her at the hospital where she works later that day. It seems strange things are always happening to her, but her 'luck', as she calls it, in turn causes weird things to happen to the bad guys. As Derik attempts to take care of Sara by killing her, he realizes that he, superior body be damned, can't hurt her. So if you can't beat 'em, you join 'em, right? Sara and Derik set off cross-country to Salem, Massachusetts, where the sect of King Arthur resides, determined to save the world from destruction. DERIK'S BANE is a fun, enjoyable read. In typical MJD style it's got passion, hilarious dialogue, a yummy hero, and a spunky heroine. What it lacks is a try believable ending (Sara KICKS the baddie to destroy it), but overall this is a fun way to spend an afternoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2007

    enjoyable and funny

    I love sci-fi love stories. the story starts slow but picks up. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2007

    i love her books no matter what!

    I love mjd's books! I enjoyed this book as much as I enjoyed all the others.. I will continue to buy any and all of her books! no matter what the reviews are..good or bad! she has undead and uneasy coming soon..and is currently working on sleeping with the sharks,the royal mess,dead and loving it 2, and some others..I will also buy those!! love her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2006

    This was a disappointment!!

    I picked up this book because I liked the 'Undead' series. And I have to say that this was a complete let-down. While it was witty and funny, I found the plot to be boring and predictable. I expected so much more from the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4