Customer Reviews for

Descendants

Average Rating 4
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

great

Loved reading this book. Great story with great characters. couldn't put it down

posted by Leah-books on January 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Best book I've read in years--and I read a LOT of books!

This book was just about perfect. The dialogue--particularly in the case of Sid, Alex, and Scottie--was flawless. I'd seen the movie and enjoyed it, but had no real desire to buy the book until, on a whim, I took a look at the free sample. As soon as I started readin...
This book was just about perfect. The dialogue--particularly in the case of Sid, Alex, and Scottie--was flawless. I'd seen the movie and enjoyed it, but had no real desire to buy the book until, on a whim, I took a look at the free sample. As soon as I started reading, I knew that I wanted more. I finished the book in one sitting and now I can't wait to buy Hemmings' book of short stories! I love the honesty that radiates from this book. I love the fact that Joanie, the wife and mother in a coma, isn't portrayed as a one-dimentional "angel" snatched too soon from her family, but as a real, quite seriously flawed woman who is nonetheless deeply loved by her husband and daughters. Every character came across as somewhat odd, certainly flawed, and yet very human and in some way likable. Joanie's unreasonable father, who defends his dementia-stricken wife one minute and shouts impatiently at her the next is perceived by the reader as sympathetic and annoying at the same time, and Sid goes from providing one-dimentional comic relief at his introduction, to proving himself to be an integral character of many complex layers by the end. I loved this book, and am eagerly anticipating reading Kaui Hart Hemmings' next effort...whatever it may be.
--Kelly Armstrong.

posted by kelly-armstrong on January 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Best book I've read in years--and I read a LOT of books!

    This book was just about perfect. The dialogue--particularly in the case of Sid, Alex, and Scottie--was flawless. I'd seen the movie and enjoyed it, but had no real desire to buy the book until, on a whim, I took a look at the free sample. As soon as I started reading, I knew that I wanted more. I finished the book in one sitting and now I can't wait to buy Hemmings' book of short stories! I love the honesty that radiates from this book. I love the fact that Joanie, the wife and mother in a coma, isn't portrayed as a one-dimentional "angel" snatched too soon from her family, but as a real, quite seriously flawed woman who is nonetheless deeply loved by her husband and daughters. Every character came across as somewhat odd, certainly flawed, and yet very human and in some way likable. Joanie's unreasonable father, who defends his dementia-stricken wife one minute and shouts impatiently at her the next is perceived by the reader as sympathetic and annoying at the same time, and Sid goes from providing one-dimentional comic relief at his introduction, to proving himself to be an integral character of many complex layers by the end. I loved this book, and am eagerly anticipating reading Kaui Hart Hemmings' next effort...whatever it may be.
    --Kelly Armstrong.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Loved reading this book. Great story with great characters. couldn't put it down

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Excellent book. I loved it!

    I loved this book. It looks at loss, forgiveness, and family in a way that was very real to me. I liked that it was set in Hawaii; I got a perspective of the islands that I didn't get as a tourist. The story really drew me in. Once I started reading, I didn't want to put this down. I was shocked at two things: this author is a woman (and I thought she really captured the perspective of a man so well) and, this is one of her first books. I'm looking forward to her next book!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Fantastic.

    Excellent read. Comical, touching. Great plot. I teared up in afew spots. Beautifully written.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Higly Recommend - you must check it out!!!!

    I could not put down this book!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    wonderful read

    quirky and wonderfully written, you will not want this story to end. loved it!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Must read

    The funniest tragedy i have ever read. Great writing.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Interesting

    I really had no idea what this book was going to be about and truthfully couldn't put it down despite the fact that it is kind of depressing. I liked the character development a lot and it was a quick moving book thought gloomy. Only gave it three stars because of that reason.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    WONDERFUL BOOK!!!!!

    I truly enjoyed reading this book. I could not put it down! The characters and plot draw you in. Worth the reading!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    I had a really hard time getting into this book, I nearly stoppe

    I had a really hard time getting into this book, I nearly stopped reading it several times within the first 75 pages. I didn't like any of the characters and I found the 10 year old daughter character (Scottie) very unrealistic. It would be very difficult no matter how messed up their family is for a child to become this raunchy in only 10 years. I was also disappointed with how little of the book has to do with the family's Hawaiian heritage. It isn't a horrible book, but not one I'm likely to keep in my collection.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great book!!

    This book is funny & entertaining and one of the best books i have ever read! I hope the author comes out with another hit book and not be a one hit wonder

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    mediocre

    Bought because of hype for movie but disappointed both in the weak plot and character development but also in the lack of insight into Oahu Culture.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Not exactly what I like to read

    I bought this book so I could read it before seeing the movie. Now, I have no desire to see the movie.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    So so story.

    The storyline is slim. There's a lot of word spinning around it. Matt, the protagonist, is a sad sack and most of his time is spent saying internally "poor me, I'm such a hopless father." I found myself not really caring about him. His daughters characters are better drawn. A quick read but not much more than that.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Loved this book..

    I could not put this book down, really enjoyed the humor and the writing style. I did cry in parts - very emotional! Sorry it is over..

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Love reading

    Readingthe sample makes me want to read the whole the
    Thing

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Love this book

    I really enjoyed reading this book. The author really knows how to capture a moment, funny, sad, awkward and I wanted to see them succced and become a family. I haven't seen the movie, and probably won't because I enjoyed the book too much to get caught up in what they didn't get right and there was so much internal dialog with the main character I don't know how that could be interpreted adeqquately enough onto the big screen to really understand his turmoil and struggle to be the Dad. It made me laugh and cry and hope for all of them to find who they are as a family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Good story

    I liked this story. It is pretty well written with a wrenching storyline. I liked all the characters so much that I want to know what happens now. Glad I read the book and may not see the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Highly recommended for anyone who has faced the challenges of family life and responsibility.

    A heart warming story of a father who faces the pending death of his wife, the reality of his present and future life with his two daughters, and the family's heritage as Hawaiians.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great story and a good read. The ending should have had more to

    Great story and a good read. The ending should have had more to it though...it gave the story no justice.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9