BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Descendants

Average Rating 4
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

great

Loved reading this book. Great story with great characters. couldn't put it down

posted by Leah-books on January 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Best book I've read in years--and I read a LOT of books!

This book was just about perfect. The dialogue--particularly in the case of Sid, Alex, and Scottie--was flawless. I'd seen the movie and enjoyed it, but had no real desire to buy the book until, on a whim, I took a look at the free sample. As soon as I started readin...
This book was just about perfect. The dialogue--particularly in the case of Sid, Alex, and Scottie--was flawless. I'd seen the movie and enjoyed it, but had no real desire to buy the book until, on a whim, I took a look at the free sample. As soon as I started reading, I knew that I wanted more. I finished the book in one sitting and now I can't wait to buy Hemmings' book of short stories! I love the honesty that radiates from this book. I love the fact that Joanie, the wife and mother in a coma, isn't portrayed as a one-dimentional "angel" snatched too soon from her family, but as a real, quite seriously flawed woman who is nonetheless deeply loved by her husband and daughters. Every character came across as somewhat odd, certainly flawed, and yet very human and in some way likable. Joanie's unreasonable father, who defends his dementia-stricken wife one minute and shouts impatiently at her the next is perceived by the reader as sympathetic and annoying at the same time, and Sid goes from providing one-dimentional comic relief at his introduction, to proving himself to be an integral character of many complex layers by the end. I loved this book, and am eagerly anticipating reading Kaui Hart Hemmings' next effort...whatever it may be.
--Kelly Armstrong.

posted by kelly-armstrong on January 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Very Enjoyable!

    Fun and easy read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Better than i thought

    Good book. I am glad i picked this to read. All the characters are interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Funny and Poignant

    This book was hilarious, sad, and overall an enjoyable read. I definitely recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    Good Read

    Good story of a father who has been a workaholic. After his wife dies, he has to get re-acquainted with his kids and deal with unresolved issues in his marriage. Facing what is really important - family and conservation of land or money - is a topic that would be interesting to book clubs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2012

    Good read. You'll laugh And you'll cry.

    Good book. I saw the movie afte, they left so much of the book out. I don't know why the authors let them do that!!!! Anyway. I digress. The book is better than I thought it would be I actually couldn't put it down. I highly recommend you read it! Let me know if you like it. Sid was my favorite by the end of the book. :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    MUST READ!!!!!

    Enjoyable. Highly recommended, a page turner.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    DaddyMacD

    Good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    The Descendants

    A very touching story of family and how life can change in a moment. I was moved by the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    the decendenst

    I think it was great! I really think you should read it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    The Descendants

    A good read. Laugh out loud and secretly cry all mixed together. Had some trouble with pages not turning on my Nook color....but finished it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    5 Stars!

    Loved this book. Whitty, well written, easy read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    good vacation read Good vaczation read

    Sympathetic characters who are real flawed people in adifficult situation

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Bit of a slow read and story line was not unique and ending expected!

    Book is a bit of a slow read. The ending was expected, story line was not unique. Setting of the story was wonderful and made the story what it is. True to the Hawaiian islands. I read on my Nook Color and there were several spots in the book where I could not advance the page and actually had to select a page number several pages beyond where I was reading, therefore I missed a number of pages and lost the story line with those pages. Did not make it enjoyable because of the this.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    A sad yet moving story

    This is a story about a dysfunctional family. The father is unattentive and a workaholic, the mother is in a coma caused by a boating accident and the two daughters (18 and 10) are trying to deal with the idea of their mother dying. I did not like the language from the eighteen year old especially but I gather that I am kind of old fashioned there. As the family deals with the tragedy that has consumed their lives and the knowledge of the mother's betrayal, they come to know each other better. The ending to my mind was hopeful if not happy. I enjoyed the book. I have not seen the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    recommended

    Easy read!
    HAVEN'T FINISHED IT AS YET BUT FIND IT VERY COMPELLING

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Great read

    Warm interesting read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Excellent! Couldn't put it down!

    If enjoy a story about love, family, and connection, this is the book for you. The characters are rich, complex, and real. Expertly written

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    great book.

    great book. have not seen the movie. would recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Loved it

    Really enjoyed this book, hope to see the picture soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great read!

    I only had about 20 minutes, but the next think I knew is that i couldn't put the book down, and had to wait for a good time to put it down to do anything. I had finish it in one sitting and the sleep I gave up, was worth loosing to read this story.

    I will definitely see the move, and likely read the story again (a few times). It will be one that with each 'exposure' you will pick up a few more nuances to the story, or a few more of the subtleties.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9