Customer Reviews for

The Descendants

Average Rating 4
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

great

Loved reading this book. Great story with great characters. couldn't put it down

posted by Leah-books on January 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Best book I've read in years--and I read a LOT of books!

This book was just about perfect. The dialogue--particularly in the case of Sid, Alex, and Scottie--was flawless. I'd seen the movie and enjoyed it, but had no real desire to buy the book until, on a whim, I took a look at the free sample. As soon as I started readin...
This book was just about perfect. The dialogue--particularly in the case of Sid, Alex, and Scottie--was flawless. I'd seen the movie and enjoyed it, but had no real desire to buy the book until, on a whim, I took a look at the free sample. As soon as I started reading, I knew that I wanted more. I finished the book in one sitting and now I can't wait to buy Hemmings' book of short stories! I love the honesty that radiates from this book. I love the fact that Joanie, the wife and mother in a coma, isn't portrayed as a one-dimentional "angel" snatched too soon from her family, but as a real, quite seriously flawed woman who is nonetheless deeply loved by her husband and daughters. Every character came across as somewhat odd, certainly flawed, and yet very human and in some way likable. Joanie's unreasonable father, who defends his dementia-stricken wife one minute and shouts impatiently at her the next is perceived by the reader as sympathetic and annoying at the same time, and Sid goes from providing one-dimentional comic relief at his introduction, to proving himself to be an integral character of many complex layers by the end. I loved this book, and am eagerly anticipating reading Kaui Hart Hemmings' next effort...whatever it may be.
--Kelly Armstrong.

posted by kelly-armstrong on January 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Great reading!

    I enjoyed the book very much but have to say - keep the kleenex box nearby.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Very much recommend

    I very much enjoyed; I wanted to read before getting out to see the Geo Clooney movie version. Only criticism is it got a bit drawn out at the end. Good good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Good read

    I thought this was a good book. About what appears to be a very disfunctional family experiencing a tragic loss and disturbing news.

    This story is about love, life, loss and everything that happens in between.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    I only cried once!

    Very good. Sad but good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Movie great, book even better.

    First saw the movie...which was great. Although I wondered if there was more to the characters as often stories get reduced when turned into screen plays. So, I bought the book. The movie is very true to the story, but the book adds additional depth to the characters, especially Joanie. Kaui Hart Hemmings is a wonderful writer. Great story and very well written. I highly recommend the book and the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Great read!

    Loved itz,

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Different!

    I found this to be an interesting read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    a must

    wonderful book almost everyone should read you will think about this book many times after you flip the last page

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Great

    Quick and excellent read. Loved it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Great Book

    Wanted to check it out before seeing in the theatre. Really a great story that is so simply written but kept you hungering for more!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2014

    I am so glad I read this book before seeing the move--I still ha

    I am so glad I read this book before seeing the move--I still haven't seen it--but my experience has always been that a movie can never capture
    a story as well as the book can. This novel had all the elements that make a story great--a unique and interesting plot that moves along well,
    well-defined and interesting characters, and a story that touches the reader on a personal level. It was alternately funny, frustrating, and sad, with
    very human and flawed characters. I would feel for Matt---the hurt and frustration for not being able to confront his wife about her betrayal,
    his emotional tug-of-war wanting to seek revenge on the other man, but as a father not wanting to pull apart a family, his trying to keep it together and allow his daughters to have a good memory of their mother despite his feelings., and his ultimate coming to terms with all that has happened and his life ahead. At the end I was really routing for Matt and his family, imperfect as they were. A great read--no wonder it was made into a movie. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Awesome novel

    Ah!... the story is awesome :) love this movie too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    In addition to my last post...

    At the ending if the story, there was no justice. And sadly, there was relatively no relatoin to their state (hawaii). Again, HAPPY READING!!!!! Angry Giraffe :L

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Loved this book!

    Saw movie first and still loved the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    I¿m not sure what to make of this book. I found myself enjoying

    I’m not sure what to make of this book. I found myself enjoying it despite the fact that I hate pretty much every character in it! A couple of spoiled brats, and absent father, and a stoned boyfriend don’t make for a likable bunch but the story is so well written and engaging I couldn’t help liking it and wanting to read on. The plight they find themselves in is heartbreaking but the journey they take really got me thinking more than a book has in a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    This is an amazingly entertaining and well written story! It is

    This is an amazingly entertaining and well written story! It is both fun
    and serious as well as sad and humorous - all at the same time. It deals
    with the vulnurabillity of life and how little, or how much, we are able
    to control it and thus influence our own life, and the life of those
    around us. You are almost a fly on the wall in the King family during
    this turnaround point in their lives. The story teller Matt, who's wife
    Joanie is in an irreversible coma, is about to loose his life as he has
    known it for decades. Matt is very honest about not only how much this
    "situation does not fit into his life right now", but also how
    he in his present situation has come to realize how much he loves
    Joanie. This, in spite of their differences in the approach to life and
    the fact that they have more or less grown to live each their own life.
    We get a very good picture of Matt's fear of how he is going to handle
    the future and especially his two daughters Alex and Scottie. It is
    through his eyes we get to know his daughters, and how they, each in
    their own way, deals with their own problems and the fact that their
    mother is in a coma from which she will not return alive. The dialogue
    between the sisters, their father and those around them, is very
    realistic and "spot on" in respect of all of them
    "showing off" to the world in order to try to hide the
    vulnerable state they are all in. Matt also let us in on how his
    father-in-law Scott feels about him and how Matt, in his opinion, is the
    root cause of his daughter's accident, and how Matt could have avoided
    the tragedy had he been more giving. It falls upon the older daughter
    Alex, to tell Matt that Joanie had an affair, a fact that further
    complicates Matt's life, as he sees it to be his duty towards Joanie to
    inform her lover, Brian, of her condition. It is a poorly hidden mission
    of revenge that Matt seeks out to achieve, now that he cannot get a
    reaction on his feelings of betrayal from the comatose Joanie. He is
    almost eagerly supported in his endeavours by Alex (and her sidekick of
    a friend Sid), who also felt betrayed when she found out about her
    mother. The story reads easily and it is difficult to let the book go,
    even if you have already seen the movie and know the plot. The book adds
    all the things which is difficult to show in a movie, which by the way
    did not let the original story in the book down. If you have seen the
    movie, it becomes even easier to imagine and re-live the characters of
    this wonderful story about life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    A summer day with George

    Since I had seen the trailers for the movie, I pictured George Clooney as I read the book. That in itself kept me reading. The author does a credible job of capturing the resentment and anger the older teen feels for her mother's indiscretion as well as the hope the younger sister holds for her mother's recovery. I could "hear" the husband's angst when he learns about his wife's adultery and wrestles with hating her or forgiving her. He will set the memory of his wife for both himself and his children. This book held no new insights to human nature; it was just a good summer read . . . especially with the image of George Clooney.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Can't wait to see the movie!

    Love the characters! Sad story but enough humour and unique story makes it more than a story about death. Really more of a story of memories and new beginnings.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9