Customer Reviews for

The Descent

Average Rating 4
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Epic Adventure

I read alot of books and am picky. This is the best book I ever have read. I encourage everyone to read it. Jeff Long is a wonderful author. Advice to those who want to narrow down good books to read, I've found that when books have good reviews from the The Rocky Mo...
I read alot of books and am picky. This is the best book I ever have read. I encourage everyone to read it. Jeff Long is a wonderful author. Advice to those who want to narrow down good books to read, I've found that when books have good reviews from the The Rocky Mountain News on the jacket, the book is a great read.

posted by Anonymous on January 16, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Definitely a page-turner

Having just finished this book (after accidentally reading his second novel, Deeper, first), and reading some of the negative reviews, I felt the need to come to Long's defense.

I am definitely a fan of Long's work. He calls to mind a combination of the religious as...
Having just finished this book (after accidentally reading his second novel, Deeper, first), and reading some of the negative reviews, I felt the need to come to Long's defense.

I am definitely a fan of Long's work. He calls to mind a combination of the religious aspects of Dan Brown's Langdon series and Michael Crichton, with his thriller/science lesson type reads. While none of the three authors are commended for works of high literature, they all write gripping fictional accounts that just COULD be real. While there were certainly some unanswered questions in this first novel, I had the advantage of seeing where the story progressed later and realised that Long was purposely leaving certain parts of the plot unaddressed as a setup for the next part of the story.

Long brought some excellent geological and anthropological research to The Descent. While some have alluded to "offensive" language, it is important to remember that some of the references made in the story (Negroid, Oriental, etc) are, in fact, valid anthropological and ethnic references when discussing the history and evolution of mankind.

All in all, Long presents some fascinating material, wrapped in a dramatic package that drives you through the book at a whirlwind pace. After you tear through it, you will definitely want to look into some of the topics presented to learn more. I know I did!

posted by rball3 on August 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2004

    Epic Adventure

    I read alot of books and am picky. This is the best book I ever have read. I encourage everyone to read it. Jeff Long is a wonderful author. Advice to those who want to narrow down good books to read, I've found that when books have good reviews from the The Rocky Mountain News on the jacket, the book is a great read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely a page-turner

    Having just finished this book (after accidentally reading his second novel, Deeper, first), and reading some of the negative reviews, I felt the need to come to Long's defense.

    I am definitely a fan of Long's work. He calls to mind a combination of the religious aspects of Dan Brown's Langdon series and Michael Crichton, with his thriller/science lesson type reads. While none of the three authors are commended for works of high literature, they all write gripping fictional accounts that just COULD be real. While there were certainly some unanswered questions in this first novel, I had the advantage of seeing where the story progressed later and realised that Long was purposely leaving certain parts of the plot unaddressed as a setup for the next part of the story.

    Long brought some excellent geological and anthropological research to The Descent. While some have alluded to "offensive" language, it is important to remember that some of the references made in the story (Negroid, Oriental, etc) are, in fact, valid anthropological and ethnic references when discussing the history and evolution of mankind.

    All in all, Long presents some fascinating material, wrapped in a dramatic package that drives you through the book at a whirlwind pace. After you tear through it, you will definitely want to look into some of the topics presented to learn more. I know I did!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Page Turner... with all-around goodness :)

    I really enjoyed reading this book and have already passed it along for another person to read. It was a very good all-around book: Suspense, Adventure, Mystery, Religion, and a dash of Romance. What more can you ask for? I'd highly recommend it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2000

    If you read one book this year make it this one

    This book while it is a long read it is completly worth the time it takes to read it. In all the books I have read in the past this one writes about human nature better than most books I have read. If the events that took place in this book were to happen tomorrow. I feel this book would become a work of Non-Fiction in many ways. The book is a real page turner with alot of suspence. Long; does a great job of tieing all the characters together as the book progresses.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    A Long Fan

    I have never read Jeff Long, but thoroughly enjoyed this book. He writes in the style that I love to read and pass on to my brother.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2003

    A Whiteknuckle Ride Of A Book!!!

    I began reading this book while on a vacation, and simply could not put it down! I consider myself a person who is hard to suprise, but the plot twists and turns left me breathless at times. This book explores the possibilities of another race of beings that live deep in the bowels of the earth. A mix of H.G. Wells,'Journey to the Center of the Earth', with a generous dollop of chills, surpise, suspense, and imagination. I'm looking forward to more work by Jeff Long. WOW!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Read this book!

    One of my favorite books of all time, impossible to stop reading•••intense, frightening, and just so good!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    Jeff Long writes compelling novels

    It's been awhile since I read The Decent. There is no connection between Long's book and the recent cheesy movie that came out. When the book first debuted, there was talk of a screenplay.
    Basically, the book explores mankind's devolvement as a "mountain-climber" finds strange beings deep within our earth. Long keeps his books very interesting. Definitely a page-turner.

    Bill McNeace

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Poorly written and full of offensive adjectives

    There are so many problems with this book. Gaping plot holes render the story completely illogical and impossible to follow. On top of that, the author uses ridiculously offensive and colonial language, surprising and upsetting for a novel written in 1999. A couple of examples: referring to the subterranean creatures as having "negroid" noses and foreheads, as well as "a peculiar Oriental" way of communicating. No, I am not making this up. Do not read this book, it is a waste of time and money.

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2006

    you get caught up in the action

    Very intricate plot....lots of characters that you get attached to. Long tells a great story and makes this adventure story sound a lot more believable than you would ever think possible. Definitely makes you think

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2003

    Much Better than Year Zero

    Jeff Long has made a great novel. At first I was a bit reserved about reading this book since I first read Year Zero and was sort of disapointed. However, this book pulled me in and I could not put it down. After the book was over I was yearning for more. I would highly recommed this book for anyone looking for a good Thriller/Action novel! I can't wait for more!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Loved it

    Very original. Well worth the money. Will definately read more by this author. You won' t be disappointed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    Horribly bad

    I completely agree with the review prior to mine about how bad this book is

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2007

    yeah, it's a good one.

    You don't have to think too hard to enjoy this one. Creepy, but not super scary. The characters are prepared so the reader is as well. Think - flipping through channels on the TV, coming across a movie in progress that looks interesting, getting sucked in and when it's over - going 'yeah, I enjoyed that.'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2002

    Treachery

    Jeff Long writes one hell-of a book...With many story lines, and vibrant characters. The story never gets dull, only more complicated. But you won't be disapointed at the end.Just when you think you have " Satan " in your grasp! The never ending circle continues...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    Outstanding Idea but lacked a middle

    After starting the book you are grabbed by both ears and shoved head first into a dark and disturbing idea. What if Hell was based on a real place. The book is a Insomniacs dream for the first several chapters but then if jumps 3 years with no explanation of what happened. As you can read in some other reviews Jeff Long is a great writer who in the middle got writers block. I feel that there is enough missing in the middle that I am looking for his sequel / prequel. About what happened to Ike for 11 years and why all of a sudden Branch started showing the deformities instantly when others took prolonged exposure to the underworld. And what happened in the 3 years of the war against hadie. I did enjoy the book as his writing is fluid but for some reason he seems to change the storyline after the 1st few chapters. And I for one feel the ending was rushed. Although the book scared the hell out of my sister.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2002

    One helluva good book.

    For most of the summer I was searching for a great read, but was constantly disappointed with predictable adventure novels and dull ideas. The Descent pulled me out of my reading hole with its thrilling, original plot. You simply cannot pass this one up. Are you going to miss the chance to explore Hell and come face to face with its horrifying denizens? I can't think of any adventure reader who would. Please ignore the carping reviewers of this book. These pages fly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2002

    Are you willing to expand your thinking to 'pushing the envelope'?

    If you can, you will find this a mesmerizing read. The author has a definite way with words and knows how to use them to challenge you. For the person that transforms words into visual images like I do, it's better than any movie I've seen since 'Silence of the Lambs'. It's a rather involved story line that gets long in the tooth in some parts and I would have liked a more thrilling ending....but after all you've read before, I don't know if I could come up with one suitable either. I couldn't put it down! Of all life's scenarios and real life fiction and horror, nothing would surprise me. This book is today's version of Orson Welles' 'War of the Worlds'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2001

    Great book to get!

    This book is definitely worth buying! I found it hard to put the book down...lots of action and suspense....great book to have!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2000

    a real sense of place

    Even though the book is internally inconsistent and defies logic at times, the way in which Long immerses the reader in the fictional environment makes it a worthwhile reading experience. I lived in hell with the characters for three days--even felt a little claustrophobic while I wasn't reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6