BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Descent

Average Rating 4
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(53)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Epic Adventure

I read alot of books and am picky. This is the best book I ever have read. I encourage everyone to read it. Jeff Long is a wonderful author. Advice to those who want to narrow down good books to read, I've found that when books have good reviews from the The Rocky Mo...
I read alot of books and am picky. This is the best book I ever have read. I encourage everyone to read it. Jeff Long is a wonderful author. Advice to those who want to narrow down good books to read, I've found that when books have good reviews from the The Rocky Mountain News on the jacket, the book is a great read.

posted by Anonymous on January 16, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Definitely a page-turner

Having just finished this book (after accidentally reading his second novel, Deeper, first), and reading some of the negative reviews, I felt the need to come to Long's defense.

I am definitely a fan of Long's work. He calls to mind a combination of the religious as...
Having just finished this book (after accidentally reading his second novel, Deeper, first), and reading some of the negative reviews, I felt the need to come to Long's defense.

I am definitely a fan of Long's work. He calls to mind a combination of the religious aspects of Dan Brown's Langdon series and Michael Crichton, with his thriller/science lesson type reads. While none of the three authors are commended for works of high literature, they all write gripping fictional accounts that just COULD be real. While there were certainly some unanswered questions in this first novel, I had the advantage of seeing where the story progressed later and realised that Long was purposely leaving certain parts of the plot unaddressed as a setup for the next part of the story.

Long brought some excellent geological and anthropological research to The Descent. While some have alluded to "offensive" language, it is important to remember that some of the references made in the story (Negroid, Oriental, etc) are, in fact, valid anthropological and ethnic references when discussing the history and evolution of mankind.

All in all, Long presents some fascinating material, wrapped in a dramatic package that drives you through the book at a whirlwind pace. After you tear through it, you will definitely want to look into some of the topics presented to learn more. I know I did!

posted by rball3 on August 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 1999

    An exciting adventure from the first page to the last

    This was an exciting read from beginning to end, in both a 'physical' and mental sense, that I did not want to put down. A classic adventure with all the right pieces, great characters and tremedous plotting. The most amazing thing about this book is some disappointing reader reviews - so there were some minor inconsistencies with the chronology, so M-16s shoot a different kind of round, etc, etc. Big deal! It's sad that people let something little ruin what is otherwise a great read, particularly when other aspects were obvously painstakenly researched. All in all, I highly recommend this book to others, and eagerly await Mr. Long's next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2014

    I found this book to be very scary!  A very good read.  Could no

    I found this book to be very scary!  A very good read.  Could not put it down.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Awful

    Worst book i ever read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Thrilling

    Gave me nightmares and had me looking ovr my shoulder at shadows of things that weren't there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely LOVED this book.  Could not put it down.  This is one

    Absolutely LOVED this book.  Could not put it down.  This is one I can see myself reading time and time again.   Would recommend to anyone of my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    This book is a page burner x10...I have purchased this book 5 ti

    This book is a page burner x10...I have purchased this book 5 times now due to lending it out and never getting it back. A MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Fantastic book

    Musr read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    It's been a long time since an adventure novel this original, th

    It's been a long time since an adventure novel this original, this
    well-developed, this genuinely exciting, came along ... Recommend it
    wholeheartedly to adventure-novel fans as well as anyone who likes
    something different. You wont be able to put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    the hard copy is 7.99 and the ebook version is 8.99. The publis

    the hard copy is 7.99 and the ebook version is 8.99. The publisher will never get my business when they're trying to take advantage of ebook popularity by charging more for ebooks than print versions. The print version has a higher cost of goods that the ebook and yet they're charging more for the ebook. Get real! Lower the cost of ebooks and get more sales!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Descent

    It is insulting to the memory of Jules Verne.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    My favorite book ever!

    Seriously the best book i have ever read. It has plenty of adventure, horror, creatures, and i love almost any book that deals with caves and creatures. So if abyone knows nymore books that are like "the descent" other then "beneath the dark ice" by greig beck or "beneath" by jeremy robinson then let me know because those are the only one's i can find. They are also really awesome books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Down right scary

    Sleep......right

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    Awesome

    This is one of those books you find yourself still thinking about year's later. DEEPER is just as good. I just wish Long would hurry and finish the finsl book of the triology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    YIKES!!!!!!!

    Have not been so scared by a book in a long time. After reading the first three chapters, was afraid to go to sleep, fearing I might dream what I read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic story telling!

    This was a great story. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking to get lost in the abyss of a great adventure. Long is a fantastic story teller, transforming the reader to another world deeper then ours. You will know the characters like you know your friends. Can't wait to read more by Jeff Long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enthralling, dark, and magnetic.

    When I acquired this book in a free exchange, I had no idea what I was getting into. The jacket blurb made it sound like a thriller set in the backdrop of mountain climbing. In fact, it is a reevaluation of human society in a mass-market paperback. While portions of the narrative described occurrences that were frightening and in ways disturbing to my world-view, it was strangely seductive- not physically, but experientially. The author made me consider possibilities I never would have previously. You too may hear the song emanating from the depths.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    love, Love, LOVE!!!

    I love this book! The Descent is one of the BEST books I have ever read! The story is horrifying yet mesmerising - it ultimately boils down to survival in the face of unspeakable evil. Thought provoking and throughly enjoyable. Characters are very well developed and you actually feel for them throughout the story. Page-turner you will NOT be able to put down, but don't read at night if you are easily frightened!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    not good

    After so much hype about this book i read it. I was a poorly written and should have had more accurate research. If you want a good novel of good versus evil read the Domain Trilogy by steve alten.

    The first is Domain

    The second is Ressurection

    The third is Phobos. (COMING SOON)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2006

    Good, not Great.

    I wanted to love this book. I was enchanted with its first few chapters. But in the end, there were too many unanswered questions. It jumped around too much in the beginning when the reader is trying to get a foothold on what's going on. Average character development. Huge potential as the next BIG horror/sci-fi thriller but falls a tad short of greatness though a valiant and intelligently written book. An abrupt quickie ending was a bummer. The author's SATAN is not quite as scary as he means him to be. The hadal girl's identity left this reader disinterested, as did the identify of Satan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2000

    Downhill

    As you read the very first chapters of Jeff Long's The Descent, you might well paraphrase Kevin Spacey's line in American Beauty and say to yourself: ¿this is the highlight of this book. It's all downhill from here.¿ The Descent begins well. The author establishes his own personal pace, and he has a tremendously firm narrative voice. The first chapters are exceendingly well thought and superbly executed. But then, so to speak, the descent begins. Real desperation surfaces when the reader notices there are so much tension building, so many questions unanswered (what about the little boy? The witches? Will Ali get Paget's disease?) - and so few pages remaining. What a cruel deception. A paced descent ends in such an indecent rush.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 108 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6