BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Descent Into Hell

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

riveting

I'm a big true crime fan, and this book is one of the best I've ever read. I had trouble putting it down. Kathryn Casey has once again surpassed my expectations.

posted by Anonymous on August 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Sad truth, moving story

While I agree with another reviewer that the book does have some spelling and grammar mistakes, I found the story to be very moving. Jennifer Cave's murder was an horrific act and Kathryn Casey did an excellent job presenting Cave's life story alongside the criminal ev...
While I agree with another reviewer that the book does have some spelling and grammar mistakes, I found the story to be very moving. Jennifer Cave's murder was an horrific act and Kathryn Casey did an excellent job presenting Cave's life story alongside the criminal evidence.

posted by 3207379 on December 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    riveting

    I'm a big true crime fan, and this book is one of the best I've ever read. I had trouble putting it down. Kathryn Casey has once again surpassed my expectations.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book caught my attention from the beginning. The author does a remarkable job of introducing all details. I respect her research with this brutal true story. It may be hard to read about stories like this, but being introduced to the real world and the creeps that are out there is important to me. This world is getting worse every day...and to read about bad people helps me to understand and be aware of what to look for in people. I am a realistic person and cannot live my life looking for just the 'good' in people. Focusing on that may cloud your opportunity to see the true colors...sad, but so true.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting true crime story

    The murder took place after I moved away from Austin, but brought back so many memories of my West Campus days. Note to Author: "the Drag" is Guadaluape between MLK and 30th = NOT 6th STREET. The Drag is the Drag (it's capitalized, too) and 6th Street is 6th Street! Other than that, you got a lot of the flavor right. There were plenty of girls like Jennifer and Laura and a few guys like Colton. I knew stranger people but for the most part, they grew up and regained touch with reality. So sad that Jennifer never got the chance to make her dreams come true.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2008

    Accurate account - Colton Pitonyak and Jennifer Cave murder

    Book is very well written. Good research and depiction of this true life horror. Recommend this author!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Sad truth, moving story

    While I agree with another reviewer that the book does have some spelling and grammar mistakes, I found the story to be very moving. Jennifer Cave's murder was an horrific act and Kathryn Casey did an excellent job presenting Cave's life story alongside the criminal evidence.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Couldnt put it down!

    Very well written. It is truly scary to see what effects a drug can do to a life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    I read this is a day

    Excellent book. You will not be able to put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    one of the best

    Kathryn Casey does an unbelievable job sharing this story. Excellent read and horrific story.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Excellent

    This book is an important insight into not only what a whril pool drugs and greed are it also, without preaching, shows what a monster can be created by a privleged childhood, especially one where a child is told covertly, if not overtlly, they are better than others because of their intellect or family money. Colton's family got him out of trouble with legal help - too bad he did not have to face more of the consequences of his behavior.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    A very good read!

    I began reading this book and was unable to put it down. Very well written and the author made you feel like you were there living the experience with the families.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Highly recommend for readers who non-fiction murder stories

    Kathryn Casey does a great job getting you into the story and attempting to make you feel what each person goes through in this tragic ordeal. I already bought an other book from Casey as I think she does a great job.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Wow!

    This book you can not quit reading!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Very well written, Page turner

    Excellent read Tragic story My heart aches for the Cave Family, God Bless Jennifer is now at Peace and watches over you

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Sounds familiar ...

    Just like the gentlemen I see at work. A look at the people and the system we trust to keep us safe -- and those they keep us safe from.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a well told true crime novel that revolves ariund the ca

    This is a well told true crime novel that revolves ariund the case of Jennifer Cave. While the story is horrific, Kathryn Casey goes into great detail about everything involved in this case. From the beginning to end readers will get a first hand glimpse at the life of all those involved in this terrible tragedy. For anyone that enjoys true crime novels I would HIGHLY recommend this one. A++++

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Couldn't put it down

    Author did a great job writing this book. I haven't had a book I couldn't put down in ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Horrific crime, Terrific book

    This is what a true crime book is supposed to be like! The author really puts a lot of work into her research of the case and it shows. I got so engrossed in reading this book I was late for an appointment!! Looking forward to reading other true crime books by Katheryn Casey if they are all written like this. She covers everything. At the end of the book, I felt like I knew all the major people involved.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2013

    Thought this book was very slow moving and repetitive. I felt li

    Thought this book was very slow moving and repetitive. I felt like I was constantly reading a series of adjectives or descriptions of the same characters and the book was not progressing fast enough. Found it very in line with the story, but could not get past the lengthiness of each sentence/paragraph/chapter. Ending up reading something else halfway through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Nice read.  The kind of book that keeps you immersed to the poin

    Nice read.  The kind of book that keeps you immersed to the point where you say " Holy sh**!! I have work in 5 hours!"  If you liked this book try reading Confessions Of The Oak Beach Drifter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    You have got to read this!!!

    Couldn't put it down. Just when I thought it couldn't get any stranger, there was another twist. It really shows that truth IS stranger than fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4