Customer Reviews for

The Desecration: Antichrist Takes the Throne (Left Behind Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2002

    Best Book in the Series Since Trib. Force!

    I read this book within 24 hours of picking it up! Although some parts dragged, I really enjoyed it overall. It is exciting but very, very sad.(they killed off my favorite character that I was hoping to hear more of :( I don't really like any of the newer characters either,except Chang. I'll probably follow these books 'till the end,(hopefully soon, but doesn't appear so) but it would be so much more enjoyable if they'd add a character that I find likeable to replace the good one they got rid of. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2002

    Maybe he hurt himself?

    For me, the time between the books of the Left Behind series seems never ending. I look forward to each and every one. Tim LaHaye does a wonderful job of developing the characters in a way that let's you get to know them. You're not told the personality of each character, but they are revealed to you throughout the series. This book, however, was not quite to par with the rest of the series. It's seems to me that the plot moved a bit to fast, and things didn't have time to unravel as they did in previous volumes. It's almost as if Mr. LaHaye hurt himself making the previous books as outstanding as they are. I expect the rest of this series to hold the attention of everyone who reads them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2002

    9 books and they're only half way?!?!?!

    It's a good book in a good series. Personally, I like the Lord of the Rings series better, but this whole series is a quick read and are half decent books. I personally recommend (if you didn't read any of them yet) waiting until all of them are out, and then reading one after another. I did that with the first 8 and it really kept my attention. This one I forgot who some of the characters are since there's like 50 of em, and every book adds more to replace ones that died. I just don't see how many books they plan on putting out. An 18 book series has to be some sort of record and that's if they continue at the current pace. Personally I believe they'll slow it down even more and milk the series for 20 books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2001

    Getting rather dark

    While this book was good, I found it harder to read than the previous eight, more because the books are getting heavier with each new release. It was also harder to get into than others, but it finished just as strong and fast. I think these books are a great way to learn about the tribulation period before Christ's return. Some feel it is preachy; I do not. I think Jenkins and LaHaye actually do a good job of keeping it objective. Their topic is a very slanted topic, and all they are doing is giving a story of what the Bible predicts will happen. I have learned more about that period from reading this series then virtually anywhere else. I absolutely suggest this book, and the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2001

    I never buy hard backs but made exceptions with this series

    The authors take Bible prophecy and give it some fictional characters making anyone who reads it enthralled. I have taken stock of my walk with Christ since reading the series. The emotions run high with each and every page turned and I am looking forward to the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2001

    Are we Living in the End Times?

    I have never read these authors before, although I have seen their books in the book store. And so I Picked up Desercration. Being a student of Theology at one time, and, and doing Old Testament studies, they follow the story line well. Armageddon and the Antichrist, which fits in to todays, plot, one could say. In a like manner, I read a recent book called the Last Trumpet and the Woodbridge Demon, that does the same thing, but the authors is not a story, and that is what makes it more scarey; he seems to know what is going to happen next, and it does. And when I put them both together, everything seems to fit, the Old and New Testaments. I mean he gives warnings, and names cities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2001

    Great message, not great writing

    Please don't get me wrong. I really like what LaHaye is doing with this series. However, from a reader's standpoint, I found this novel disappointing because of an emphasis on plot to the detriment of character development. Not only should these events be shown, but I think it's important to tell how a main character is 'changed' through what happens to him or her. This is not something I'm seeing in this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2001

    GREAT SERIES but ....

    Jenkins and LaHaye are disappointing. They've been milking every last cent out of the Mark and this is why it is taking so long for them to drop this title. Supposed to be dropped in June, it's not getting dropped in near November. On top of that there will be 12 total books in the series and they have now decided to drop ONE BOOK PER YEAR. Which means afer Desecration, don't expect to hear from them again until this time next year! It's very sad and disappointing ... Other than that, it's a very moving series and a very compelling (and true) interpretation of the end times. DO READ THIS SERIES.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1