Customer Reviews for

Desert Flower: The Extraordinary Journey of a Desert Nomad

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Loved it

    Not much of an avid reader but I couldn't put this book down loved every bit of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    Recommended

    Some things in life are unimaginable. The thought of female circumcision is tough, along with the fact that so many choices are taken away from the girls of Africa. Mrs. Dirie did not forget where she came from even after becoming a model. She is the voice of those that have no voice. I'm sure it was tough for her to speak out concerning this act that is passed from generation to generation where she is from. Maybe one day it will come to an end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Age group?

    What age group is this for?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2012

    Read the Book-See the Movie!

    I had seen the movie without really knowing anything about it.I then had to find the book to learn more. Such a different belief system than what I am accustomed to. Especially the lengths they go to keep the females"pure", and then to be married off at such a young age to a much older man. How strong willed she had to be to escape and the obstacles
    that she continued to face were daunting. Yet she doesn't blame her mother, her religion,or her country except to want to make people aware of female circumscion as it is practiced now and have it stopped. She was a strong soul. It was a strong story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Great Journey!

    Interesting Story! Basic and easy to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Haunting story that will stay with you...

    a long, long time. Thank you, Waris, for sharing your story with the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2006

    Amazing

    This is one of the best autobiographies that I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2004

    A Shocking True Story!

    The contents in this book will hold your attention from the first page, to the very last. It was very intersting, I can't wait to purchase the sequel. This book is a movie in the making.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2003

    I loved this book

    I couldn't get over the trials and obstacles Waris managed to get through. It is a true tale of determination and achieving your goals. Everyone- male or female, black or white- should read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2002

    A Great Story of Hope

    I have never ever hear of story like this one. I was truely moved by her journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    INSPIRING AND TRULY ADMIRABLE!!!

    I was so moved by your story. It touched my heart and soul. I have never read any book remotely like this. It widely opened my eyes to the topic of FGM and how women are suffering from this globally. You are giving women around the world hope and serve as an excellent role model for all women regardless of background. THANK YOU WARIS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2001

    I know how must feel

    'Breaking the silence' is hard for many people, and your courage and strength as given to you by Allah, is what I truly admire. I feel there is more to you and more there is of you to share then that revealed in the book... coming from a similar culture and religion and practice (of this that has been practiced on me) I can relate to your concern and dilemma of thoughts. And how, you now believe you can best try to make changes for the better, (as other ¿Just don¿t know¿). As a social and cultural study student, banning cultural malpractices and improving the lives of many I have seen many suffer, is my dream. I pray it could be lived like yours somehow, someday! This book has been inspirational-thankyou.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2001

    AN INCREDIBLE LIFE, AN INCREDIBLE WOMAN

    Can you imagine going through half of what this woman and so many others in Africa have lived? A gutsy girl with nothing but the clothes on her back working her way to being an Ambassador and spokesperson for the millions of women silenced on this Earth is worthy of all praise. I couldnt put the book down. I never grew tired of reading this book until I was done. I had to re-read a few chapters to make sure I was taking in what I thought I was. I recommend everyone to read this captivating account of Waris Dirie's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2000

    A True Flower

    Words cannot express how this book has touched my heart. It is an outstanding piece of literary work. I recommend this book to everyone, both men and women. This book is a cry for freedom of the self. It is heart throbbing, breathe taking, yet in the end, joyous. Waris Dirie is 'A True Flower.'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 1999

    YOU ARE SO BRAVE!!!!!!!!!!

    Dear Waris, I can't think of how brave you are to expose yourself to the public just so you can help so many others out in this world who had or is suffering from what you had endured. Wish you all the best in your plans and may god bless you!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2