Customer Reviews for

Desert Gift

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Interesting reading....

    Whew! This was a sometimes challenging book to read. Ultimately, I enjoyed it....but there were moments....Jillian, a marriage communication "expert" and her husband have been married more than 20 years when he blurts out that he wants a divorce - right as they are leaving to go on a part work (to promote her new book on, you guessed it, husband/wife communication), part vacation. He pushes her out the door with this new information and off we go on a journey of self discovery, re-learning how to relate to each other - Jillian becomes more and more aware of how she is perceived, and that good intentions do not always make wonderful results. I know I found myself relating more to her than her husband (who frustrated me - he spends years being a doormat, and then boom! 'I'm mad at how you've been treating me and we're done', instead of *saying something* as time passed) in this conflict.

    I thought the recipe idea that is mentioned in Jillian's book is cute and that this would probably be a good book for those needing to be reminded that a: how we see ourselves is not always how others do, and b: just because a couple has been married for a million years, does not always ensure long term success - like every other relationship, it takes constant work, healthy communication, and concentrated effort. But will be worth it in the end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Carly

    She walked in eying and sat down in the towel he gave her. "Bullying. Its gettibg old.." she sobbed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Carly

    Carly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Very good

    A very good book. I was surprised by the twists in the story but I enjoyed reading every one. I did not care for the recipe tie-in's such as "Crunchy casserole..." but it is worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Sharptounge

    Can i be dep. Ot med cat? A black shecat meows

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Yewclaw

    U can join, but idk about depuy or med. Cat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    good

    Enjoyed this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Silverbullet

    Aloha.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Nightbird

    Namastay

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Transformers

    Galaxy Shuttle hovers over the sand. Hookfang shoots at him. They belly land. The rescue team ambushes the team of cons at the oil rig. Braver and Laster get stuck in quicksand. Blacker gets clobbered by the breast force. Greatshot tackled cons. Dezaras shoots a circut scramble arrow at Greatshot. "Greatshot! Look out!" Yells Blacker. Jaruga shoots missiles. The missiles hit and destroys the arrow, but Blacker's hand gets in the cross fire. His hand flys off. "Reatreat!!!!!" Yells Deathsaurus. The cans (sorry, cons) reatreat. The rescue team lift Blacker and carry him into Galaxy Shuttle and blast off for base.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    great Christian fiction

    Sally John has done it again!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Kinly

    *moans and kisses back, frenching him*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Enjoyed

    Easy read and written well. Recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    SECOND CHANCES EVEN IN THE DESERT! DESERT GIFT BY SALLY JOHN....

    DESERT GIFT by Sally John is an interesting inspirational fiction Chicago and Los Angles. It is well written with depth and details.This is Book 2 in Side Road Series,but can be read as a stand alone. See "Ransomed Dreams".The characters are charming,engaging and will capture your heart. This is the story of Jillian Galloway and her journey after her world crashes down around her.When her husband of twenty-four years asks her for a divorce,her life is turned upside down and she wonders if everything she has built her life on is a sham. This is the story of life's unexpected detours,faith,trust,second chances,anguish,healing,emptimess,lies we tell ourshelves,the truths we sometimes overlook and the knowledge that God is always at work and right on time. This is a powerful story about married couples,their journey from the beginning to the end,their laughter,tears and the reassurance that life somethimes is not what it seems. It shows us God's love,understanding,hope and forgiveness.Desert Gift is a must for it shows us that we can find second chances and hope even in the desert. This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher. Details can be found at Tyndale House Publishers and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    Desert Gift

    Desert Gift by Sally John is a great novel. It shows lots of good descriptions and has a great plot. The characters are well developed and play their role in the book. Jill Galloway, a radio show host, has a big horrible surprise. Her husband tells her that he's tired of their marriage and wants a divorce. Her husband doesn't new wife, he just says he's done with marriage. Funny thing is Jill has a book about marriage, so how much will she sell? Hardly anything because she's divorced. Jill goes to a desert where her parents are and thinks over there about her mistakes. This is an amazing book. I recommend it to all married couples.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not sure

    Jillian is a well known speaker and author on the subject of marriage communication. Jackson is a physician for Huffman Medical Group, he asked his wife Jill for a divorce after 24 years of marriage. He has fallen "out of love". Their son Conner, aged 23 is currently living in Europe. Jill's books reveal much about their marriage and the more she tries to reconcile the more he drags his feet. The memories are fresh in her mind, her thoughts consume her. The question remains, Can she get back what she needs and deserves in this life, and will it come with a price?
    The scene worked but I felt the characters lacked depth and I had a very hard time connecting with them. The novel started out great but quickly dropped off and sadly did not hold my interest to the end. My faith was challenged somewhat. It is an ok read but not sure if I would recommend it to others.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Excellent book about marriage!

    Jillian Galloway, a marriage expert with her own radio show, is about to go on her book signing tour in California when Jack, her husband of 24 years, announces he wants out of their marriage. The news leaves Jillian spinning - for not only is her marriage crumbling apart, but it leaves her profession in question. How in the world does a marriage expert's marriage fall apart? Jill goes back to her childhood home and reconnects with her parents, her sister, and some old friends. She also meets some new friends who challenge her in her faith.

    I really liked this book. I'm not married, but it was nice to read a Christian fiction book that brought in principles for a godly marriage - food for thought for the future! I found myself swept up in Jillian and Jack's story, and I really empathized with them. I also really appreciated the way the author had the couple honestly deal with marital problems, and not just "neatly wrap things up" the way fiction sometimes can. I highly recommend this book to anyone who's married, or would like to be someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Is Your Perfect Marriage Safe from Divorce?

    Desert Gift Book One in Side Roads Series By Sally John Is Your Perfect Marriage Safe from Divorce? By KitKatDoe on 7/9/2011 Author Sally John's new series Side Roads debuts with a captivating novel Desert Gift. At first glance, it appeared to be another broken marriage novel, but as I read through it, Ms John kept me guessing with characters that were down to earth, believable, and definitely ones that every day people could relate to. The conversations could be right out of anybody's kitchen table; sadly enough the books steers to what appears to be a probable divorce. Suspenseful characters draw you in all the way through, and keep you guessing until the very end as to the outcome of the marriage. The book shares God's heart toward His children during difficult times, and the loves demonstrated by friends and family during crisis. This is definitely a must read novel. This was a book I reviewed for Tyndale House Publishers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Fantastic Book!

    The Desert Gift by Sally John is the second book in the Side Road Series. It is an intriguing story that opens with Jillian Galloway, noted marriage and relationship counselor, author and radio show host being told by her husband that he wishes to have a divorce. Jillian is absolutely blindsided and shocked when she hears this and to make matters worse, she was on her way out the door to start her biggest book tour ever! While her world rapidly crumbles around her, Jillian heads to her parent's home in the California desert. Her journey is one of seeking the truth, finding herself and finding God while she walks the side roads of her life. Can she face the truth of her past? Will her marriage be saved? I found this book to be an insightful tale of one woman's struggle to navigate the bumpy roads when the storms of life fall upon her. The story is thoughtful, intriguing and captivating and it grabbed me by the heart and didn't let go till the very end of the book. I love reading a book where the characters are realistic, engaging and where their interpersonal relationships are deeply explored. This was the case with The Desert Gift. Ms. Sally John has done a fabulous job with this book! I can't wait to read book 1 of this series, Ransomed Dreams and book 3 of this series that is due out in Spring of 2012! Many thanks to Tyndale Publishing for providing me with the opportunity to review this book. My review is an honest expression of my feelings regarding this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read

    I have read Sally's book Ransomed Dreams and did a review on it last year. So this book Desert Gift is just as good if not better.

    Jullian Galloway's world was about to be upset as she and her husband Jackson who is a doctor were about to take their first vacation in years. They have one son and he is in Europe
    studying
    art and both of them have a very busy life. She is a talk show host on the radio about how to have a good and lasting marriage and had just published a book on the subject. But the morning they were supposed to leave for California for a tour of her book and a vacation, Jackson told her he was not going and that he wanted a divorce. This hit Jullian like a bullet as she could not understand why.

    She went ahead to California and left him at home, but she was so unhappy but he was so relieved that she was gone. He didn't really understand what had come over him either but he just wanted to be away from her. Jullian loved her radio show and really had the "big head" " over it and Jackson was a well liked surgeon so he felt the same way about himself.

    I could understand why a couple needed some time alone as my husband and myself just celebrated 50 years together, and sometimes I wish he would go fishing or something for a week or two and I am sure he feels the same way as he loves outside and I like to be inside so we really don't have a lot in common.

    I want to thank Tyndale Publishers for sending me this book and the review is my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2