Customer Reviews for

Desert Gift

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Interesting reading....

    Whew! This was a sometimes challenging book to read. Ultimately, I enjoyed it....but there were moments....Jillian, a marriage communication "expert" and her husband have been married more than 20 years when he blurts out that he wants a divorce - right as they are leaving to go on a part work (to promote her new book on, you guessed it, husband/wife communication), part vacation. He pushes her out the door with this new information and off we go on a journey of self discovery, re-learning how to relate to each other - Jillian becomes more and more aware of how she is perceived, and that good intentions do not always make wonderful results. I know I found myself relating more to her than her husband (who frustrated me - he spends years being a doormat, and then boom! 'I'm mad at how you've been treating me and we're done', instead of *saying something* as time passed) in this conflict.

    I thought the recipe idea that is mentioned in Jillian's book is cute and that this would probably be a good book for those needing to be reminded that a: how we see ourselves is not always how others do, and b: just because a couple has been married for a million years, does not always ensure long term success - like every other relationship, it takes constant work, healthy communication, and concentrated effort. But will be worth it in the end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Very good

    A very good book. I was surprised by the twists in the story but I enjoyed reading every one. I did not care for the recipe tie-in's such as "Crunchy casserole..." but it is worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    good

    Enjoyed this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Enjoyed

    Easy read and written well. Recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    SECOND CHANCES EVEN IN THE DESERT! DESERT GIFT BY SALLY JOHN....

    DESERT GIFT by Sally John is an interesting inspirational fiction Chicago and Los Angles. It is well written with depth and details.This is Book 2 in Side Road Series,but can be read as a stand alone. See "Ransomed Dreams".The characters are charming,engaging and will capture your heart. This is the story of Jillian Galloway and her journey after her world crashes down around her.When her husband of twenty-four years asks her for a divorce,her life is turned upside down and she wonders if everything she has built her life on is a sham. This is the story of life's unexpected detours,faith,trust,second chances,anguish,healing,emptimess,lies we tell ourshelves,the truths we sometimes overlook and the knowledge that God is always at work and right on time. This is a powerful story about married couples,their journey from the beginning to the end,their laughter,tears and the reassurance that life somethimes is not what it seems. It shows us God's love,understanding,hope and forgiveness.Desert Gift is a must for it shows us that we can find second chances and hope even in the desert. This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher. Details can be found at Tyndale House Publishers and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    Desert Gift

    Desert Gift by Sally John is a great novel. It shows lots of good descriptions and has a great plot. The characters are well developed and play their role in the book. Jill Galloway, a radio show host, has a big horrible surprise. Her husband tells her that he's tired of their marriage and wants a divorce. Her husband doesn't new wife, he just says he's done with marriage. Funny thing is Jill has a book about marriage, so how much will she sell? Hardly anything because she's divorced. Jill goes to a desert where her parents are and thinks over there about her mistakes. This is an amazing book. I recommend it to all married couples.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Fantastic Book!

    The Desert Gift by Sally John is the second book in the Side Road Series. It is an intriguing story that opens with Jillian Galloway, noted marriage and relationship counselor, author and radio show host being told by her husband that he wishes to have a divorce. Jillian is absolutely blindsided and shocked when she hears this and to make matters worse, she was on her way out the door to start her biggest book tour ever! While her world rapidly crumbles around her, Jillian heads to her parent's home in the California desert. Her journey is one of seeking the truth, finding herself and finding God while she walks the side roads of her life. Can she face the truth of her past? Will her marriage be saved? I found this book to be an insightful tale of one woman's struggle to navigate the bumpy roads when the storms of life fall upon her. The story is thoughtful, intriguing and captivating and it grabbed me by the heart and didn't let go till the very end of the book. I love reading a book where the characters are realistic, engaging and where their interpersonal relationships are deeply explored. This was the case with The Desert Gift. Ms. Sally John has done a fabulous job with this book! I can't wait to read book 1 of this series, Ransomed Dreams and book 3 of this series that is due out in Spring of 2012! Many thanks to Tyndale Publishing for providing me with the opportunity to review this book. My review is an honest expression of my feelings regarding this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read

    I have read Sally's book Ransomed Dreams and did a review on it last year. So this book Desert Gift is just as good if not better.

    Jullian Galloway's world was about to be upset as she and her husband Jackson who is a doctor were about to take their first vacation in years. They have one son and he is in Europe
    studying
    art and both of them have a very busy life. She is a talk show host on the radio about how to have a good and lasting marriage and had just published a book on the subject. But the morning they were supposed to leave for California for a tour of her book and a vacation, Jackson told her he was not going and that he wanted a divorce. This hit Jullian like a bullet as she could not understand why.

    She went ahead to California and left him at home, but she was so unhappy but he was so relieved that she was gone. He didn't really understand what had come over him either but he just wanted to be away from her. Jullian loved her radio show and really had the "big head" " over it and Jackson was a well liked surgeon so he felt the same way about himself.

    I could understand why a couple needed some time alone as my husband and myself just celebrated 50 years together, and sometimes I wish he would go fishing or something for a week or two and I am sure he feels the same way as he loves outside and I like to be inside so we really don't have a lot in common.

    I want to thank Tyndale Publishers for sending me this book and the review is my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Desert Gift

    This is the story of Jillian Galloway. Jill's an expert on marriage... or so she thought. Through her own radio show, speaking at churches, as well as teaching a ladies Bible study, she's helped countless couples with their marriages. Now, at the height of her career, she has a book being published and she is scheduled to speak at the Mega Church of her dreams. She's reached the top... until her husband's sudden announcement that he wants a divorce brings everything to a screeching halt.

    Jill's character was easy to relate to. She's a woman who knows all the answers. But she forgot one thing... to let God lead. I think the author did a wonderful job of portraying Jill. So often we get all the right answers and think we're good to go... then we leave God behind. I love how the other characters were forced to look at their own lives as well, not just blame Jill. This is a great book to remind us to take a look at ourselves and take responsibility for the mess we are in. Not just blame everyone else.

    This book has a great story with a wonderful message of forgiveness and restoration. Not just the main characters... but with the supporting characters as well. I loved them all. Couldn't put this book down. I'll definitely be reading more by Sally John. I think you'll enjoy it too! :)

    *Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review. -Thanks Tyndale House! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great real life read

    I enjoyed reading this book. Jillian was the quintessential formulaic Christian advisor ~ if you do this, then God, your husband, your friends, your family, will do that. Of course, that's not how it works all the time and it's not right, it's manipulative. Her husband, the partner in her perfect marriage that she has used as a basis for her radio program and her new book, rebells suddenly; and she is forced to deal with issues from her childhood. The characters that she meets when she decides to hide out at her sister's and her parent's, help her to discover where her assumptions have been wrong and how to move forward. I especially enjoyed Agnes an elderly member of the Casitas Pack who knew exactly what to say and when, communing with angels and giving indirect advice. One of the most difficult lessons in life is told in an imaginative and real-life manner including all the shocks and all the gifts. Definitely a good book to read.

    Thank you to Tyndale House Publishers who has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Desert Gift

    Jack and Jill (yes, like the nursery rhyme!) have been married for 25 years when one day Jack suddenly decides he wants a divorce. Jill must examine her entire life - and her career as a speaker and writer about all things marriage - to determine where things went wrong and if there is any way they can get their marriage back on track.

    Sally John is certainly a wonderful author. I have read several of her books previously and have enjoyed every one. For whatever reason, though, I had a hard time pushing through this one. I think it's because it's a little too realistic.The struggle between Jack and Jill was heart-wrenching at times and it was difficult to read. On the bright side, though, the main characters are thoroughly developed, and there are a number of supporting characters that truly add to the depth of the story. Additionally, Sally John really does a great job of telling a story and pulling you in. Even though there were times I wanted to put the book down because it was a tough read, I kept picking it back up.

    I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    A good read!

    Him: a well -respected podiatrist.

    Her: an up-and-coming Christian writer and speaker on marriage.

    Together: a marriage tumbling out of control.

    In Desert gift, Sally John introduces us to Jack, the doctor, and Jill, the motivational speaker. Throughout their 24 years of marriage, Jill has been honing her gift of communication. She has been studying marriages and relationships, interviewing experts in this field, and speaking on the topic on radio, at women's conferences and Sunday school.? Now - just as her first book tour is about to begin - Jack informs her that he wishes a divorce!

    Sally John has brought a difficult topic to the table. How many Christian marriages end because of non-communication or miscommunication? As we watch Jill unpack the many truths about her own shortcomings, we can take a few steps back and examine our own hearts. Through the introduction of different characters, Jill is finally able to admit her faults/sins, seek God on a truly intimate level, and ask His forgiveness. All the while, Jack is realizing that his life is not all that he thought is was.

    I enjoyed Desert gift and the chance it gave me to examine my own heart and motives. I could relate to the characters and the difficulties they found themselves in. I did have a hard time with the names chosen, Jack and Jill. I feel the author could have chosen more appropriate names for the main characters. Sally John did play on the nursery rhyme throughout the book.

    Click HERE to read an excerpt from Desert gift!

    Star rating: 4 out of 5

    I received a complimentary copy of Desert gift from Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    A good read~

    Him: a well -respected podiatrist.

    Her: an up-and-coming Christian writer and speaker on marriage.

    Together: a marriage tumbling out of control.

    In Desert gift, Sally John introduces us to Jack, the doctor, and Jill, the motivational speaker. Throughout their 24 years of marriage, Jill has been honing her gift of communication. She has been studying marriages and relationships, interviewing experts in this field, and speaking on the topic on radio, at women's conferences and Sunday school.? Now - just as her first book tour is about to begin - Jack informs her that he wishes a divorce!

    Sally John has brought a difficult topic to the table. How many Christian marriages end because of non-communication or miscommunication? As we watch Jill unpack the many truths about her own shortcomings, we can take a few steps back and examine our own hearts. Through the introduction of different characters, Jill is finally able to admit her faults/sins, seek God on a truly intimate level, and ask His forgiveness. All the while, Jack is realizing that his life is not all that he thought is was.

    I enjoyed Desert gift and the chance it gave me to examine my own heart and motives. I could relate to the characters and the difficulties they found themselves in. I did have a hard time with the names chosen, Jack and Jill. I feel the author could have chosen more appropriate names for the main characters. Sally John did play on the nursery rhyme throughout the book.

    Click HERE to read an excerpt from Desert gift!

    Star rating: 4 out of 5

    I received a complimentary copy of Desert gift from Tyndale House Publishers for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    Marriage Isn't Easy

    It's not quite that simple. There's a disconnect because we're not who we were when we got married. This is not the life I signed up for. We've both changed too much.

    Jillian Galloway is a nationally syndicated host of her own radio show. She is about to step into the world of book touring with her very first book. Her subject of expertise? Marriage. Her work is based on listening to countless women talk about their marriages as well as her own experience of being married to Jack for twenty four years. As their marriage is long lasting and secure, the book is full of stories and examples of their own life together. Jack even created recipes for the book. They'll do the book tour then have a well deserved vacation together. Life couldn't be better. As they depart their home, Jack tells Jillian that he isn't going and wants a separation. Before she can catch her breath and respond, he puts her in a taxi and begins his new solitary life. Jillian's world comes crashing down as everything she has believed in gets challenged, including her relationship with God.

    Having recently read The Beach House by Sally John, I was excited to read another of her books. She did not disappoint in her well developed characters and real to life plot. She makes an excellent point through the book that marriage is not a one-size-fits-all venture, there is no formula to follow for the perfect marriage. There are many books and "experts" which offer good advice, but they do not guarantee anything. Without a formula to solve the problems, Jillian wonders if there is any way to repair her marriage and herself. I like the way the story is unpredictable, moving forwards and backwards as each character makes decisions. I enjoyed less the subplot of her son, saying more would spoil the tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book!

    I enjoy a lot of fiction and while my favorites are romances I do enjoy the stories that take place after the happily ever after as well. With last year's release, Ransomed Dreams, Sally John earned her place on my must read authors list. The continuation of her Side Roads series features yet another couple whose marriage is in crisis. While not as dramatic as the Montgomery's story, Jillian and Jackson Galloway's marriage is falling to pieces too. Jillian, a renowned marriage expert doesn't see the bombshell that her husband drops coming in the least. Just when she's about to head out on tour, her world, her career and her marriage are at stake.

    Jill is a terrific character, while she appears confident and poised she's almost reached her breaking point with the news that her husband wants a divorce and her son has surprised her with an engagement announcement. To get away and give Jackson the space he wants she visits her family in the California desert. Jill's desert visit was my favorite part of this book. Her reconciliation with her family, the appearance of an old flame and some new and unexpected friends definitely make things interesting.

    I did have an issue with how Jill dealt with the death of of someone she had grown to care for and the lack of actual communication between Jack and Jill but other than that I found this to be a realistic and believable book. The author doesn't shy away from issues such as jealousy, communication and trust, things that everyone faces at one point or another in their lives. I think this a book any couple could read together and potentially learn from.



    * I received my complimentary ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for posting my honest review.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Real - everyone can take something away from this one

    A book about a marriage falling apart didn't appeal to me at the outset. I'm more about romance and happily every after. There is a part of me that also thinks being real is valuable and I wondered just how this author tackled this very important topic. Was it sugar coated? Was everything fixed with a fancy dinner and flowers? Did a prayer make everything all better?


    The truth is this book was refreshingly real in many ways. Jillian has been telling everyone how to make sure their marriages are perfect but she hasn't been taking note of her own. Her husband isn't even sure why he wants out at first - just that he feels like he can't breathe and that she is the cause of his pain.


    As time passes Jillian has to take a hard look at who she has become and whether she likes that person. Then she deals with her faith and how she feels about family as well. Only then is she truly ready to try and fix her marriage. Her husband deals with his own issues. Neither is perfect and on top of their marriage problems, their son comes back from a trip with a surprise fiance. They want to get married right away - so now the stunned couple have a wedding to plan while their marriage is disintegrating.


    What I liked is that there were no easy answers given in the book. People judged, fought and struggled in a way that was both unique to her situation and that many people will be able to relate to. I thought the characters were well written. I got angry and felt bad for them at different times in the story. I don't know that enjoy is the right word for the book - but I took away a lot from it and I would suggest it to others.
    Tyndale provided my copy in return for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1