Customer Reviews for

Desert Heat (Joanna Brady Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This is such a great start to a great series. I found it n my Aunt's motorhome. I didn't think it was going to be anything specail, but it was great! Having grown up in Tucson and Sierra Vista, it gave me a whole new apprecitaion for the series. The story is amazing. It...
This is such a great start to a great series. I found it n my Aunt's motorhome. I didn't think it was going to be anything specail, but it was great! Having grown up in Tucson and Sierra Vista, it gave me a whole new apprecitaion for the series. The story is amazing. It is just one of those rare books that you can't wait to get back to because you're mind is just so wrapped up in it, it feels like you are still insie of it even after you are done reading for the day. The rest of the books just get better. When I get a new book of hers, I don't know what to do with myself. Anyway, read it. You'll know what I mean.

posted by Anonymous on May 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

I enjoyed the book and have started reading the second book in the series. I especially enjoy these books since I live in Cochise County and was a Deputy Sheriff for over 6 years back in the late 70's and early 80's.

The writing is easy to read and the book flows smo...
I enjoyed the book and have started reading the second book in the series. I especially enjoy these books since I live in Cochise County and was a Deputy Sheriff for over 6 years back in the late 70's and early 80's.

The writing is easy to read and the book flows smoothly. The only thing that slowed progress was Jance spent a lot of time on the personal lives of the characters. I would have liked more of the police related investigation stuff.

That being said, I recommend the book to everyone who enjoys a good drama and "who done it" book.

posted by AZShooter3431 on July 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is such a great start to a great series. I found it n my Aunt's motorhome. I didn't think it was going to be anything specail, but it was great! Having grown up in Tucson and Sierra Vista, it gave me a whole new apprecitaion for the series. The story is amazing. It is just one of those rare books that you can't wait to get back to because you're mind is just so wrapped up in it, it feels like you are still insie of it even after you are done reading for the day. The rest of the books just get better. When I get a new book of hers, I don't know what to do with myself. Anyway, read it. You'll know what I mean.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    This is the first book of J.A. Jance's that I have read. Being

    This is the first book of J.A. Jance's that I have read. Being the first of the series, it does a great job of setting up the characters for the rest of the series while getting you hooked on the general storyline. I think that you will like this book if you are ready for some crime solving and a tough woman with a soft heart.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Great reading.

    I truly enjoyed Desert Heat by J.A. Jance, the first in the Joanna Brady series. It has likeable characters and a great plot and ending. It sets up Joanna Brady as an established plot character, readying her for the second in the series, Tomb of Courage, which I am reading now.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Recommended

    I enjoyed the book and have started reading the second book in the series. I especially enjoy these books since I live in Cochise County and was a Deputy Sheriff for over 6 years back in the late 70's and early 80's.

    The writing is easy to read and the book flows smoothly. The only thing that slowed progress was Jance spent a lot of time on the personal lives of the characters. I would have liked more of the police related investigation stuff.

    That being said, I recommend the book to everyone who enjoys a good drama and "who done it" book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Could not put it down!

    I am SUCH a picky reader. I get really annoyed with myself, because sometimes it's really difficult to find a book that I'd like to read. I was looking for a new, established author who had lots of published books to read to keep me occupied for a good while. I found her. I did NOT want your typical homicide detective/courtroom/medical examiner novel that is ubiquitous now a days. This is the best book I've read in a long time and I plan to read all the Brady novels. I also am really impressed with the J.P. novels. I have yet to read the other series. Her books are ORIGINAL which is so refreshing...they have REAL suspense, and an actual PLOT. I highly recommend this if you're looking for a truly well written page turner!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    1st in a series of 13 books, a Joanna Brady series

    If you like a bit of a romantic mystery, this series fits the bill. My suggestion is to read them in order it kind of makes the series flow one book to another keeping the story line in line.

    I like this series because it is about a woman sheriff that has taken charge of her life after a traumatic experience (the death of her husband)
    The series has lots of great charecters and action.

    I am on the fourth in the series and I can't wait to move on to the next. one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Great book

    This is a good mystery with a spunky female as the main charcter. This is the first book in the Joanna Brady series. It has a plot that keeps you guessing and also has interesting characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Great book!

    Needed a new author and thought I would try J A Jance. Loved the book. Kept me wanting to read more. Will be reading all the books in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    JA JANCE DESERT HEAT

    LOVE J .A JANCE. BOOKS ALL HAVE ORIGINAL PLOTS, TWIST AND TURNS. I AM READING THE JOANNA BRADY SERIES AND PLAN ON READING HER OTHER SERIES AS WELL.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    If you love Arizona and hometown America, this is for you

    This is like a good USTV soap set in small Town Arizona, bit like the Waltons but the Heroine is a cop. Thats not meant to be a criticism, its just comfortable where the good guys and bad guys are obvious and telegraphed. Its a good lazy read and I will get the others in the Series, buying them in date order so as not to get ahead of the Brady Family's development. Got me hooked!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Good start to a Independent Woman Series

    A new to me series in the independent woman genre. Joanna Brady's husband is shot and left for dead. He was a deputy sheriff and running for sheriff in Bisbee, AZ. Suddenly, it seems everyone believes he was on the take, but Joanna and a few supporters do not believe this of him and set out to prove that he was murdered. A couple of convenient plot lines, but I was interested in the main character and will give the author another chance to see how this story develops.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Anonymous

    A quick read, but did not strike me as a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    weak effort

    Very poorly written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Her first book

    This is the book, I got hooked on. Perfection and they just kept getting better. You can not go wrong with a J. A. Jance mystery novel. Ages 16 and up. But in no way a YA adult.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Luck warm with no oasis in sight

    Neither gripping nor creative or remarkable pure formula if you can locate the rest still in pribt or at library you will see is same old same old with a horse

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2014

    This series is western state mystery woman in office combo

    Despite this i do not find the main characters likeable lacks humor and i really dont care about ranches etc and never watched gun smoke of all the lady sheriffs series they are borrow not keepers so check out e books at your local library. You do better with lady police in the southern ststes m.a.@sparta

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Sorry wrong book!

    It iz titeled Deserted By Edward Ballamy

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Great series

    I love reading this series. I really enjoy the characters. I am rereading this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Reeddoglr@aol.com

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Goodmorning people

    So so so so so so so so so so so so so
    BORED...................... lets have a party at this book

    0 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3