Customer Reviews for

Desert Heat (Joanna Brady Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This is such a great start to a great series. I found it n my Aunt's motorhome. I didn't think it was going to be anything specail, but it was great! Having grown up in Tucson and Sierra Vista, it gave me a whole new apprecitaion for the series. The story is amazing. It...
This is such a great start to a great series. I found it n my Aunt's motorhome. I didn't think it was going to be anything specail, but it was great! Having grown up in Tucson and Sierra Vista, it gave me a whole new apprecitaion for the series. The story is amazing. It is just one of those rare books that you can't wait to get back to because you're mind is just so wrapped up in it, it feels like you are still insie of it even after you are done reading for the day. The rest of the books just get better. When I get a new book of hers, I don't know what to do with myself. Anyway, read it. You'll know what I mean.

posted by Anonymous on May 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Recommended

I enjoyed the book and have started reading the second book in the series. I especially enjoy these books since I live in Cochise County and was a Deputy Sheriff for over 6 years back in the late 70's and early 80's.

The writing is easy to read and the book flows smo...
I enjoyed the book and have started reading the second book in the series. I especially enjoy these books since I live in Cochise County and was a Deputy Sheriff for over 6 years back in the late 70's and early 80's.

The writing is easy to read and the book flows smoothly. The only thing that slowed progress was Jance spent a lot of time on the personal lives of the characters. I would have liked more of the police related investigation stuff.

That being said, I recommend the book to everyone who enjoys a good drama and "who done it" book.

posted by AZShooter3431 on July 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Rg

    Walks in. Pfffft that kid think hes mister big and bad (-.-) ive seen butterflies tougher. *talks to herself* grrrrrrrr..... *scowls* i

    0 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    Sandshade's story part 2

    "What?" Sandkit recalled Nightbriar looking unexpectingly at Ivykit and smiling. She remembered Nightbriar flinching when Marshkit saddly said thier father must of died. Nightbriar had said: " That wouldent happen in a long time," When Tidekit was afraid he'd die young. She recalled Ivykit falling into the river and Nightbriar saving him. " What is right," mewed Ivykit. " Some ranks are a little too risky to mate,let alone medicine cat. Just saying!" Puddlekit nodded. " Well, Nightbriar and me are in love... So...." Sandkit sighed. The Clan deputy,Orangewhiskers,padded over to the kits. " Want to play Clan?" All five kits bounced. " Our Clan will be called HazelClan. And i'm Orangestar,the leader. Sandshade will be my deputy. Puddlesplash is medicine cat. Okay,let the game begin." **** " Im tired" Ivykit was padding up to the moutainside with Orangewhiskers and Greenfeather flanking her,Rosepaw,the new apprentice,akwardly limping by her side,and her Littermates padding beside her,and Sandkit sighed. For the sake of StarClan! But Ivykit was a pretty good role model for Padpaw,Holepaw,and Wetpaw,the other naughty apprentices. They were learning moves with their mentors,And Rosepaw padded to her mentor,Heronleaf. Greenfeather padded up to his apprentice,Padpaw. The apprentices were on the last assesment. Soon Wetpaw was sitting by his mentor,Orangewhiskers,and Swampstar sitting on the rock. " All cats who climb the tallest peaks gather under the Cloudrock for a Clan meeting!"
    OAK'S DUD (WELL,A DUD IN MY OPINION IS WHATS HAPPENING)
    Oak the kittypet watched in horror as the foxes,thier Russet-red fur stained with blood,and thier paws wet with blood,lean over the dead body of his mother,Mist,satisfied. Then they ran speedily away from the tunnel. Oak found Herb & Tree,his sisters,leaning over the body of Jayjaw,a rogue that was thier father. At least the two loved ones were together. Water closed up on Herb,and Tree pushed her up. The cats padded away,forever covered in pure grief.

    0 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Just got done reading this book and i thought it was a great boo

    Just got done reading this book and i thought it was a great book!! I would definitely recommend it to people. Getting ready to read the 2nd book of the series, Tombstone Courage!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    A good Read

    Desert Heat is the first book in the Joanna Brady Series. J.A. Jance has wonderful characters that are well rounded and immediately likeable.
    There are conflicts the main character must over come and crimes to solve. There are relationships in the book that provide insight into the Joanna Brady Character. Once you start reading you can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Great Read.

    The wife and I both have read this nook book and have enjoyed it very much. Read it and we are sure you will agree. We will be reading the rest of the series.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Long drawn out, unclear characters

    Very difficult to read. The characters not well defined and the plot not well written. Book drags on and could have been reduced in pages by 150. I would try another book in this series to see if it is worthwhile but I doubt it.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3