BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Designed For Passion

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great beach read!

Widow Melodye Carter has turned her clothing boutique into a success while raising her rambunctious twins by herself. Deeply hurt by her late husband, she has sworn off men and marriage. Believing that her voluptuous curves make her unattractive, she's convinced she'll ...
Widow Melodye Carter has turned her clothing boutique into a success while raising her rambunctious twins by herself. Deeply hurt by her late husband, she has sworn off men and marriage. Believing that her voluptuous curves make her unattractive, she's convinced she'll be alone for the rest of her life. Detective Jim Ryman remembers the plus-size beauty from his youth, and he can't help the fires of attraction that burn through him when he sees her again. Melodye's husband's death has now been declared murder, and Jim has been assigned to investigate it, bringing them into close contact. But he is also dealing with demons from his past, and a failed marriage that ended in his wife's accidental death. Though they want to remain just friends, passion consumes them as they become closer than they planned. And their match-making grandparents scheme to see them happily married. But Melodye first needs to stand up to her mother's and sister's unkind comments about her weight, and both women's determination to keep her down. Jim is a knight in shining armor for his lady, as he supports Melodye and encourages her to blossom in her own light. And Melodye allows Jim to share his deepest feelings and process the grief he still feels about his late wife. This heartwarming story reveals their growth, both as individuals and as a couple, which will surely lead them to a lifetime of happiness together. Reviewer: Alice Berger, Bergers Book Reviews

posted by Anonymous on April 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good read

This book started off promising then it got a little too. slow. Then I put it down and came back to it and I didnt want to put it down. I loved how the story showed love without having to constantly throw the words around. The true love of a man and a woman whose . Goog...
This book started off promising then it got a little too. slow. Then I put it down and came back to it and I didnt want to put it down. I loved how the story showed love without having to constantly throw the words around. The true love of a man and a woman whose . Goog.actions speak louder than words. This is a good read once you get beyond the craziness of stuborness.

posted by NDBOYD on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    Different!

    While reviewing the book Designed for Passion, by Francine Craft I had a mixture of emotions and opinions. Francine Craft is an author of romantic fiction and has over 20 titles to her name. To summarize, Melodye Carter is a widow with twin boys who owns a boutique for plus sized women. Her marriage was not a happy one, nor was her childhood living under her mother¿s scrutiny and in the shadow of her sister. Melodye is a woman who wasn¿t willing to open her heart again. Detective Jim Ryman was assigned to her husbands murder. Jim, also a widow, has sworn off any and all emotional ties of romance since his wife¿s death. Together they help heal each others hearts, ridding them of painful scars and hoping to move on. Let me start by saying I had two issues with this book. First, the book is intended to center around the investigation into her husband¿s death. However, there was little in the way of an actual investigation mentioned, and when it was it was by way of fleeting comments. Second, the characters interactions with each other revolved around sexual reactions and not necessarily ones of the heart. This, at times, made it appear that there was nothing to the relationship but sex. For example, at a point in the first half of the book Jim is questioning a suspect and all that is said about feelings is the electricity between them. Nothing wrong with that, but in my opinion the way the characters were portrayed when together didn¿t leave me knowing what was really inside their heads or hearts. After saying that, it is apparent that Francine Craft is a born romantic and a great story teller. What I like most about the book was that the main character, Melodye, didn¿t fit the norm. Often times with romance you find that the characters fit into a perfect box and don¿t have many physical flaws. Melodye is a woman with glorious curves and is more of a character that I feel most women can relate to. I applaud the author for doing this. The secondary characters Bettina, her mother, and Lucia, her sister were down right cruel. The way the author wrote these segments made your heart ache for Melodye and could be quite a blow to your system. The initial attraction between Jim and Melodye kept me reading to find out what happened next. While reviewing I was at no time disinterested nor did I find any dead spots. I look forward to more of her titles in the future. Kelly Moran, Author and Reviewer

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    Great beach read!

    Widow Melodye Carter has turned her clothing boutique into a success while raising her rambunctious twins by herself. Deeply hurt by her late husband, she has sworn off men and marriage. Believing that her voluptuous curves make her unattractive, she's convinced she'll be alone for the rest of her life. Detective Jim Ryman remembers the plus-size beauty from his youth, and he can't help the fires of attraction that burn through him when he sees her again. Melodye's husband's death has now been declared murder, and Jim has been assigned to investigate it, bringing them into close contact. But he is also dealing with demons from his past, and a failed marriage that ended in his wife's accidental death. Though they want to remain just friends, passion consumes them as they become closer than they planned. And their match-making grandparents scheme to see them happily married. But Melodye first needs to stand up to her mother's and sister's unkind comments about her weight, and both women's determination to keep her down. Jim is a knight in shining armor for his lady, as he supports Melodye and encourages her to blossom in her own light. And Melodye allows Jim to share his deepest feelings and process the grief he still feels about his late wife. This heartwarming story reveals their growth, both as individuals and as a couple, which will surely lead them to a lifetime of happiness together. Reviewer: Alice Berger, Bergers Book Reviews

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Romance

    While reviewing the book Designed for Passion, by Francine Craft, I had a mixture of emotions and opinions. Francine Craft is an author of romantic fiction and has over 20 titles to her name.<BR/><BR/> To summarize, Melodye Carter is a widow with twin boys who owns a boutique for plus sized women. Her marriage was not a happy one, nor was her childhood living under her mother¿s scrutiny and in the shadow of her sister. Melodye is a woman who wasn¿t willing to open her heart again. Detective Jim Ryman was assigned to her husbands murder. Jim, also a widow, has sworn off any and all emotional ties of romance since his wife¿s death. Together they help heal each others hearts, ridding them of painful scars and hoping to move on.<BR/><BR/> Let me start by saying I had two issues with this book. First, the book is intended to center around the investigation into her husband¿s death. However, there was little in the way of an actual investigation mentioned, and when it was it was by way of fleeting comments. Second, the characters interactions with each other revolved around sexual reactions and not necessarily ones of the heart. This, at times, made it appear that there was nothing to the relationship but sex. For example, at a point in the first half of the book Jim is questioning a suspect and all that is said about feelings is the electricity between them. Nothing wrong with that, but in my opinion the way the characters were portrayed when together didn¿t leave me knowing what was really inside their heads or hearts.<BR/><BR/> After saying that, it is apparent that Francine Craft is a born romantic and a great story teller. What I like most about the book was that the main character, Melodye, didn¿t fit the norm. Often times with romance you find that the characters fit into a perfect box and don¿t have many physical flaws. Melodye is a woman with glorious curves and is more of a character that I feel most women can relate to. I applaud the author for doing this. The secondary characters; Bettina, her mother, and Lucia, her sister were down right cruel. The way the author wrote these segments made your heart ache for Melodye and could be quite a blow to your system. The initial attraction between Jim and Melodye kept me reading to find out what happened next. While reviewing I was at no time disinterested nor did I find any dead spots. I look forward to more of her titles in the future.<BR/><BR/> <BR/><BR/>Kelly Moran,<BR/><BR/>Author and Reviewer

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1