BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Desire Me (Legend Hunters Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    an enjoyable frolic

    In 1873 in Cornwall, young teen Maxwell Barrett found a map of Atlantis that over the next fifteen years he obtains enough substantive proof to affirm his belief the map is authentic. He obsesses over actually finding the lost continent to prove to the Solomon club members he belongs.

    Atlantis guardian Sabine Tobias needs the map possessed by Maxwell to decipher a prophecy. She makes a bet with Max with the stake being the artifact but she loses. Max is fascinated by her, which she plans to take advantage of even if that means seducing him. She needs the map as they need to decipher the prophecy as lives are being lost including Britain's generals. Queen Victoria is in jeopardy and next will be the Empire and then could be the world.

    The second Legend Hunters Victorian fantasy romantic suspense (see Seduce Me) is an enjoyable frolic as the treasure hunters find the greatest treasure in life is the women they cherish. Fast-paced and filled with non-stop action that would have Indiana Jones needing a respite, readers will want to join Max and Sabine as they team up in love and in decoding the map's riddle before a diabolical killer leaves both of them dead and the Empire in ruins.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    Another winner for Robyn DeHart and her fans

    A man who seeks to prove legends plus a woman who is the living embodiment of that legend equal an exciting and romantic adventure. Maxwell Barrett has long been fascinated by the myth of Atlantis and determined to prove it is not only a legend. He risks his life to bring back a lost artifact of that culture. Sabine Tobias is aware she is a descendant of those who fled Atlantis but has no idea of her place in both the history and the future of her people. As Maxwell and Sabine search for answers-and attempt to mislead each other-they are unaware of a third party who is obsessed by the prophesy of Atlantis, unaware that the string of murders of high ranking military men is linked to their investigation. To tell more would spoil the twists and turns of the intricate and imaginative plot Ms. DeHart has created.

    As well as the two leads, the author has populated the pages of Desire Me with fascinating characters. The most interesting are her aunts who educate and protect their niece but, in the end, cannot protect her from danger.

    The prologue--written with exquisite detail and breathtaking suspense-immediately drew me into the magic of this novel. In these pages, we learn the determination of the young Maxwell. Only later does the reader learn of the devastating consequences of that night and how it formed Maxwell, the man. I look forward to many more marvelous novels by Ms. DeHart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Legend Hunters... The Men of Solomon's meet in secret, their very existence only a rumor among the best of Victorian society.

    They are treasure hunters, men of wealth and title, seekers of myths and legends. And no legend is a mystifying as the lost city of Atlantis.

    Years ago, Maxwell Barrett found a map to Atlantis and dedicated his life to the search for the mystical lost continent. But when an alluring woman make a wager for the priceless artifact, he may have discovered an even greater treasure.

    A descendant of Atlantis, Sabine Tobias needs the map to decipher an ancient prophecy. What she doesn't need are the sparks flying between her and Max. He's too devilishy charming to be trusted: The fate of her people is at stake as well as her heart. Yet a ruthless killer also covets the map. Now Max and Sabine must race to decode the prophecy's riddle before this criminal fulfills his deadly mission. (excerpt back cover).

    My Review:

    This book, Desire Me, by Robyn DeHart is like a blend of Lara Croft Tomb Raider and Indiana Jones. The story is woven so nicely between Max's search for the lost city of Atlantis while helping Sabine understand the ancient prophecy concerning her family. They work well together to help both of them achieve their desires and in the end, it's truly a masterpiece in the making.

    This is the second book in the Legend Hunters series and yet can be read completely alone and still find so much excitement and intrigue with it. If you like stories like Romancing the Stone and Jewel of the Nile then this is a must read for you.

    I received this book, compliments of Hachette Book Group for my honest review. This book is available in paperback and eBook formats only. I would rate this book a 4.5 out of 5 stars. For more information on the book, the author and where you can obtain your own copy, please click on the link below:

    http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/books_9780446541978.htm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    The lost continent of Atlantis has been a topic of interest for a years. Does this place exist? Maxwell believes it is and he has found a map that will lead him there and he is determined to uncover the mystery.

    Sabine is a descendant of Atlanta and she needs the map in order to figure out a prophecy that was foretold long ago. She and Max become a team and it doesn't take long for the sparks to fly. Can they put their passion on the back burner and focus on the task at hand or will it be too much for both of them and force them to succumb to their overwhelming desires for one another.

    I'm a huge fan of Robyn's. I like how her books have just the right amount of passion and suspense. I finish her books feeling entertained, not overwhelmed. Once you start this book or the first book in The Legend Hunters series, you do NOT want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    Exciting and delightful!

    DESIRE ME by Robyn DeHart is a delightful interesting historical romance set in 1888 London. It is the second in the The Legend Hunters series but can be read as a stand alone. It is well written with depth and detail. It has mystery, murder, romance, sensuality, adventure, myths, legends, and treasure hunters. It is about the lost city of Atlantis descendants and their destiny. The hero is strong, handsome, a reowned treasure hunter who has always be engrossed with the legend of the lost city o Atlantis. He is more than willing to help the beautiful Sabine Tobias, a desendant of Atlantis. The heroine is engrossed with the handsome,reowned treasure hunter who is willing to help her fulfil her destiny. What an adventure they have with romance, sensuality, trouble, and mystery. They learn the true meaning of their destiny and the prophecy's riddle.This is a must read and a keeper. I would highly recommend this story. If you have not read the first in The Legend Hunters series (Seduce Me) I would recommend you pick it up also. This book was received for review and details can be found at My Book Addiction and More and Forever in imprint of Grand Central Publishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Romance and Adventure

    Robyn DeHart's latest installment in The Legend Hunters series fully lives up to the great start the first book, Seduce Me brought. Full of passion, intrigue, and a good deal of suspense, DESIRE ME, is a great pick for anyone looking for a great romance.

    This book begins in 1873 with our hero, Maxwell Barrett in his teenage years. Determined to prove himself and his theories, he sets out to find the fabled map of Atlantis. If he can prove the existence of this mysterious city, he will be able to prove that he's not just some crazy loon, but rather a person worthy of recognition.

    I have to say that the prologue, with young Max, was one of my favorite aspects of the book. This is a fairly simple section of the book, only spanning a few hours in Max's life. Still, it is so packed with action and suspense that by the end of it there was no question that I would be reading the rest of the book. Ms. DeHart is not an author that strings you along for a while, making you sit and wait for the action to pick up. No, rather, she gives it to you right from the beginning. She hooks the reader and quickly gets our adrenaline pumping as we wait to see if our hero of the book is going to live or die. Seriously - the prologue was fabulous.

    I'm sure we've all read a book before where the prologue or first chapter totally hook the reader. It's full of action or mystery and there is just no question that you'd read the rest of the book. Then you turn to the next chapter...and it all just falls flat. So much energy was put into perfecting that first hook that the rest of the story seems to suffer. Well, I'm thrilled to tell you that DESIRE ME is not one of these books. Ms. DeHart pulls us into the action from the start and continues the wild pace of her adventure through to the last page.

    As the story progresses, we learn more about Max and get to meet the heroine of our book. There is a bit of mysticism surrounding Sabine as she discovers that she is a descendant of Atlantis. Along with her aunts, she is charged with protecting its secrets, but when a prophecy and a darker evil arises that threatens to destroy all they've worked for, Sabine has to fight to discover the city first. Teaming up with Max in a sometimes uneasy alliance, the two race to find Atlantis before the force that is leaving a trail of dead bodies in his wake.

    Max and Sabine's relationship was wonderfully passionate and created a good deal of food for thought. While the two have an obvious spark between them, what will happen if they find Atlantis? Will their growing romance get in the way of unraveling the mysteries of Max's map? Will they both end up dead before either their mission or romance come to fruition?

    DESIRE ME is perfect for any reader looking for a hint of magic combined with a beautiful romance and spine tingling suspense. My only suggestion would be to make sure that you're sitting in a comfortable spot because, as I learned, you'll most likely end up sitting on the edge of your seat throughout the book and that can have dire consequences for your tailbone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 9 of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1