Customer Reviews for

Desire Untamed (Feral Warriors Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 312 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(84)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

great book! must read!

I love this book! Actually I love the entire Shape Shifter series. Once you pick up one book you won't be able to put it down until you've completely read the 3 books that is out. This series is more for adults. It will have you on the edge of your seat, just flipping ...
I love this book! Actually I love the entire Shape Shifter series. Once you pick up one book you won't be able to put it down until you've completely read the 3 books that is out. This series is more for adults. It will have you on the edge of your seat, just flipping through page after page, wanting to know what will happen next. This book is funny, witty, and sexy! I would completely recommend reading this book. And the great thing about this series is you can pick up any book and start reading without getting lost. You can read them in no particular order and still know what is going on. I can't wait for the next book to come out this year!

posted by 3333654 on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Redundant

The shape shifter battling demons while the rest of the human populations are oblivious is nothing new. The character development could use some work. The way the hero and heroine feel for each other becomes redundant.

posted by 8ntFrogn on December 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 314 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    great book! must read!

    I love this book! Actually I love the entire Shape Shifter series. Once you pick up one book you won't be able to put it down until you've completely read the 3 books that is out. This series is more for adults. It will have you on the edge of your seat, just flipping through page after page, wanting to know what will happen next. This book is funny, witty, and sexy! I would completely recommend reading this book. And the great thing about this series is you can pick up any book and start reading without getting lost. You can read them in no particular order and still know what is going on. I can't wait for the next book to come out this year!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    What a great book

    Loved it, I was looking for a new series to read, what a great book. If you like kerrylyn sparks books u will like these

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    graphically violent action-packed urban romantic fantasy

    Preschool teacher Kara MacAllister lives a sedate life until Lyon, leader of the shapeshifting Therian Feral Warriors, tries to abduct her He and his band of eight guardian warriors need Kara, who as the Radiant has the power to channel energy to them so that these feral Warriors can find, fight, and kill the dreaded draden energy suckers.

    Kara is attracted to her kidnapper, but still wants to go home and forget about Feral Warriors even after he tells her she is almost immortal like all Therians and is the chosen one who can save the world from the energy eaters. He further insists she must perform the ritual of mate choosing to accomplish her save the world mission; she wants to say no, but realizes she has no choice.

    DESIRES UNTAMED is a fast-paced, graphically violent action-packed urban romantic fantasy. In some ways the exciting thriller feels like a mystery as the Feral Warriors, their Radiant and readers struggle to uncover the identity of their clever enemy. Ironically, the "Untamed" Palmer world is developed as is the passionate relationship between Kara and Lyon; yet none of the key characters including the lead couple, come across as more than two dimensional. Still sub-genre fans who relish a hot romance inside a vivid escapade filled thriller will enjoy reading the opening of Pamela Palmer's "Untamed" world.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    Outstanding 1st book in Feral Warriors Series

    DESIRE UNTAMED by Pamela Palmer, first in the Feral Warriors series is out June 30th, 2009! I discovered Pamela Palmer's books with her Nocturne series (I recommend these too!). So when I saw this series coming too along with her time travels as Pamela Montgomerie I've been elated since!

    The Feral Warriors are a race of 9 surviving Therians. Therians are an immortal shape shifters that are out there to protect their race as well as humans from Daemons. Daemons are evil! They try to take the power from the Feral Warriors and use the power wrong (bad ways). So these 9 Feral Warriors try to keep the Daemons at a minimum. The Feral Warriors need energy from the earth to shape shift. They get this energy from a Therian called A Radiant who is female. A Radiant gives the 9 Feral Warriors strength through energy that she radiant to them so they can shape shift and fight. The Feral Warriors use their strength to take out the Daemons. There are also Mages that use magic but they are rivals of the Feral Warriors.

    Once I got into this series, it was so smooth sailing on this 'world this author created. I was understanding from the first page on. Author Pamela Palmer so gives this series a visual picture of everything! Too her site has an area devoted to this series that explains this all along with the characters. The 9 Feral Warriors are 9 different shape shifters. The first book is starts where their past Radiant has died and they need a Radiant. The longer they don't shape shift, the worse each of these Feral Warriors get (they go 'into their skin', in other words, their animal comes out in their fighting mode and they fight among their Feral Warriors friends. Lyon, is the leader among the Feral Warriors. You will love the names this author created for each of the 9 Feral Warriors! I love Lyon but too I'm in love with many of them, especially Tighe and Paenther. And yes, the names are similar, sometimes, to what they shape shift to. Since these Feral Warriors need a Radiant to get stronger, As a leader of the Feral Warriors, Lyon leads the Feral Warriors to a ritual that binds one of them as a mate to the Radiant Kara. Kara, their Radiant, is living among humans and she has no ideas she's of the Therian's race. When she's taken to learn her skills as a Radiant, she is resistant to this whole cause being so new and so much change for her.Too she has falling in love with Lyon but he's appears through the ritual, not designated to be her mate. This author will take you through this whole process that will lead to a beautiful HEA and too set you up to anticipate every one of the Feral Warriors HEA. The romance and passion between Lyon and Kara is intense, romantic and sizzling! I for one so can't wait for their books! Great thing is that book two, OBSESSION UNTAMED is out the end of July and the 3rd book, PASSION UNTAMED is out at the end of August. So we'll have the treat of 3 books in a row (plus her Time Travel as Pamela Montgomerie SAPPHIRE DREAMS on July 7th!! I so hope to be able to get this and bring you a review. I too plan to read each of these books and review.

    Here's the blurb for DESIRE UNTAMED from Pamela Palmer's site as well as links for her site:

    Kara MacAllister's quiet small-town life is transformed forever the night a powerful stranger rips her from her home, claiming she is the chosen one - the key to his survival. Spiriting her away into the rain-soaked night, Lyon reveals a truth Kara can barely credit. She's

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2013

    This book was such an emotional roller coaster! The story opens

    This book was such an emotional roller coaster! The story opens up with a short stint with the Ferals, but then jumps right to Kara’s life-changing night, when Lyon shows up and takes her home with him, whether she likes it or not. She’s heart-broken over the life she left, utterly terrified of the unknown before her, and completely addicted to her kidnapper. While Lyon tries to reassure Kara and make her comfortable, he knows how much the Ferals need her to assume her role as their Radiant, and she can’t help but be overwhelmed by their intensity.

    As Lyon tries to calm and protect her, he finds he’s unable to keep himself fully under control around her. She’s got him completely enthralled with her more-than-willing attitude and luscious, responsive body. When his beast gets the best of him, no one can tame the raging desire that flows out of him, except maybe Kara. It may just be too late when they finally figure that out.

    There are twists and turns along this ride. One minute I’m smiling to myself because a moment shared was so touching and sweet, and the next I’m crushed because of something that happens or that they’re reminded of. Just when you think they’re getting something right and everything will be ok, it all backfires and they’re in even deeper trouble. I also had some laugh out loud moments, such as when the Shaman orders everyone to get laid to rid them of magic. For some reason the song “Sexual Healing” then got stuck in my head *giggle*. There were a few mysteries that I could guess at pretty easily, but there were also questions that were much harder to answer and some surprises that I couldn’t see coming.

    We see primarily from either Lyon’s or Kara’s eyes, but occasionally from someone else’s when it’s pivotal to the plot, so we feel the impact of every event that’s experienced, especially the emotions Lyon and Kara feel when together. The book is very well written, and while it’s a romance about animalistic men, Pamela Palmer shows their gentle and caring side, and does it without using any vulgar language (not that it’s a bad thing). However, she does show their animalistic side in their rituals…let’s just say, they’re not shy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Palmer¿s world of immortals, daemons, and shapeshifters is fun,

    Palmer’s world of immortals, daemons, and shapeshifters is fun, exotic, and extra animalistic. It’s hot in every way. Sex is a common theme in the Feral Warrior culture, so if you blush easily or are faint of heart, this may need to be put on the back burner. However, if you’re down for a little feral sizzle in your life to heat up these cold winter months, jump in bed with the Warriors. You won’t be sorry. Palmer taps into humanity’s wild side with this series, and is wonderfully unapologetic. Kara’s personality is one that can be admired, once she gets over her shock of the situation. Lyon is the kind of man that most women dream about: masculine, a little bossy, tender, loving, and not afraid to fight for what, and who, he loves. The warriors themselves are hilarious and create fantastic peripheral characters. You’ll be clamoring for the next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed this book and already started the second one. I had this on my to read list forever and finally picked it up at the library. I purchased the next one on my nook because I didnt want to have to wait for the next!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    first

    this is the first book in the series

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Redundant

    The shape shifter battling demons while the rest of the human populations are oblivious is nothing new. The character development could use some work.
    The way the hero and heroine feel for each other becomes redundant.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Amazing

    Excellent

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Great series

    Good read. Good characters. Interesting new world of shapeshifters. Plenty of hot romance, action and violence to keep my glued to the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Pink i pad

    Pink i pad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    A different kind of were-story.

    A different kind of were-story. I really liked it and recommend the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    From Staci

    Great first read from Pamela Palmer!! This book has it all; Action, Romance, Suspence. Lots of twists and turns. Willl keep you enthralled. Love it. I will definitely be reading the whole series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    not worth the money

    This book was recommended by a coworker, she said her and her daughter love this book, well at first I thought that I bought the wrong book, nope, don't read this book, spend a few more dollars and get a good book, I feel bad writing a bad review, sorry to those who did like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    What a great start to a series!!!

    I soooo love this book!!! I'm an avid reader, and just stumbled onto this series!!! I've read all 7 books in this series so far, i have to say Ms. Palmer is up there with the likes of J.R Ward, Lara Adrain, and so many others!!! In terms of action, romance, and the great storylines !! There just not vampire storys, but shapeshifters storys!!! I would highly reccomend to adult readers, that you read this series!!!!! You won't be dissapointed!!! Thease warriors kick serious butt, and are hot to boot!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!

    Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Great!

    Love this series! Dont read out of order, i made that mistake

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Highly recommended

    It was amazing. If you like shapeshifters this is your book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Loved it!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 314 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16