Customer Reviews for

Desired

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    "Let them whisper-the more they whisper, the farther away t

    "Let them whisper-the more they whisper, the farther away they are from the truth". –I really loved this quote from Tessa.:)

    This is the first book that I’ve read from this author, and I wasn’t disappointed, the story had me at its best.. :D I usually avoided writing long reviews, but this is the shortest I could manage with this book..:)

    Aside from the very beautiful cover, Desired is a book that covers not only romance, but also politics (reforms) and the roles and rights of women (Spousal abuse) in the society. It’s also a book of emotional wounds, hopes and all of the heart’s desires.

    I really enjoyed reading Tessa and Owen’s cat-and-mouse interactions. These two characters have been developed well. From the very first page of knowing them, I am already engaged as to what would happen to these two. Their train of thought, was fascinating, and seeing them try to discover and peel each other’s secrets is what I look forward to the most…

    I loved how Ms. Cornick developed the chemistry, it wasn’t forced at all, the fusion of these two was just plain perfect. Tessa may have look like a featherbrain, but underneath her smiles, and tempting body, lies an intelligent, admirable and caring woman.. she actually leads a reform movement and has an alter ego named Jupiter (a cartoonist), whom the government is pursuing. Owen is very tender, understanding, and a real protector, and he would do everything to heal the emotional wounds Tessa has.

    I loved the development of the story, especially how the two of them started to trust each other, and how their romance developed from pretense into something their heart’s desired. But at the end though, it seemed to me, that the story was rushed into its end. It’s like the author realizes, she’d written a lot already, so she decided to give it an end. It was just at the end of the story though, I still enjoyed this a lot.

    Another good thing about this book is there’s the right humor and intensity .I nearly died of laughter when Owen's virility was called into question..lol, and I shed tears when Tessa's true history was known.

    DESIRED moved me, I laughed and cried all throughout the story, and most importantly I had gained a better understanding of what happened in this regency era, but there’s a lot to learn more with the last book in the series, “Forbidden” coming this Summer 2012.

    It’s a refreshing, entertaining, fascinating, heart-wrenching romance! A must-read!

    Warning though, after reading this book, you would have an insatiable urge to buy the other books to learn about the side character’s own stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Consider me hopelessly in love!

    Nicola Cornick, you stay away from my nose! Remember how last October I inhaled Notorious because it was as addictive as dark chocolate? Well, I should have known better because Desired totally has this reader hooked on Nicola Cornick! Tessa and Owen had me at “hello” with their cat-and-mouse introduction. Their interactions were spot-on with the right balance between humor and intensity to satisfy this reader. I nearly died of laughter when Owen’s virility was called into question, and I shed buckets of tears when Tessa’s true history came to light. The story itself seems a little too picture-perfect as far as conflict and resolution goes, but the characters made the journey pretty darn enjoyable to worry about the details. I can attest that I immediately went and bought the first 3 books of the series to learn more about the side characters. If that is not an indicator of my Nicola Cornick addiction, I don’t know what is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Good read!

    Good read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Should I stop running and let you catch me?

    Teresa, Dowager Marchioness of Darent has to turn her terrible reputation around to save everything she cares for. Tess is determined to find a biddable man to marry her and has a remarkable knowledge of the institution, as this will be her fourth time down the aisle. Love may have certain advantages but control of the relationship is essential to its long-term success.

    After much thought and research, Tess has found the perfect man to suit her plans, Captain Owen Purchase, the Viscount Rothbury. This man is titled albeit through odd circumstances and he is a Yankee of all things but these are problems she can overcome because he has the one thing she covets, a sterling reputation. Owen fits the requirements and her proposition of a marriage in name only should be perfect for both of them or so Tess assumes. Owen for reasons he cannot begin to understand is drawn to Tess and his desire for her is rampant and something he is trying unsuccessfully to control. When the prospect of marriage is presented, he devises a plan to repair her reputation while allowing him to entertain all manner of adventure with her delectable body. She may think him incapable of showing her passion but Owen is determined to do just that.

    There are so many secrets these two harbor, that digging through them might take forever if not for the fact they are both headstrong and want answers now. Tess fears the touch of another man and believes intimacy will only cause more pain. Owen however is going to prove her wrong and trusts her enough to reveal those dark places he also hides from which will draw them closer together to fight the demons outside the door.

    With rebellion among the masses surrounding them, the ton looking down upon them, and family not rallying support for this union Tess and Owen move on and learn to live as a couple. The problems will not go away and the secrets when revealed may ruin both of them, but when they are in each others arms, nothing seems impossible to overcome.

    When you look for a romantic read and dream of magical endings Nicola Cornick delivers with every book. This series has moved flawlessly from one amazing story to the next with characters rich with mystery and beaming with the love of life. Each one blends to the next but can be read alone, but why would you limit yourself to just one book when there are so many more to enchant you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Historical Romance!!

    Desired is a beautiful Historical Romance. Nicola Cornick penned a heart-melting love story that's captivating. Cornick created a fantastic historical world. The storyline will take you into a world of radicals, abuse, healing and so much more. Teresa and Owen's love had me laughing and crying.

    Teresa (Tess) is a woman who has been abused and damaged, and with three marriages, Tess is the gossip of the town. So marriage number four is not what she¿s looking for. But when she finds herself in a situation where marriage is the only answer¿for a woman in the eighteenth century¿Tess set her sights on Lord Owen Rothury. After hearing about his war injury, Owen was the perfect man for this marriage of convenience. Owen is also an investigator of the home office who¿s looking for the radicals. And Tess is a part of the radical reform. Tess figures she can protect her stepdaughter and herself through this marriage. Tess is a strong women who never gives up her control, especially in this world where men abuse and control women.

    Owen is man who has made a promise to himself to protect women after he failed to help a woman when he was younger. So it¿s not hard for Owen to be convinced by Tess to marry her in order to protect her stepdaughter. What started out as a marriage of convenience for Owen and Tess will become their heart¿s desire.

    Desired will capture your heart with Tess and Owen¿s romance, and a storyline that¿s filled with drama, humor, suspense, but most of all, the desire for love. A love that will heal broken hearts. I recommend Desired as a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    (4.5 for a slow start, but it finished strong so I'll bump it up to 5)

    This was the first Nicola Cornick novel I've read, but after this one I'll definitely be looking for more! The beginning was a bit difficult to get into I thought, but once it got going it was difficult to put it down. Both Tess and Owen had quite a bit of baggage going into their marriage, (which readers who have read the other novels in the series may already have known, and new readers will have it all explained to them eventually, so don't worry) and at times it seems they'll never be able to get around it. I loved the development of the relationship between these two--it was really very nicely done and quite sweet. The political/radical storyline, however, didn't ever quite feel totally developed--other than the fact that Tess's first husband embraced the cause, we really don't get a good feel for why she was willing to risk so much for it or even exactly what it was the radicals were hoping to solve and how. Again, perhaps this was covered in earlier novels, maybe not--in the end it really didn't take away from my enjoyment of the book at all, so I'm wiling to overlook it. On the whole, this one kept me up until the wee hours finishing it, and I look forward to more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    One of Cornick's best

    Tess Derant has perfected the image of a feather-brained widow thrice over. Secretly she is active in radical politics and draws political cartoons. This has caught the attention of the government, which is now bent on arresting and hanging the lead troublemakers. An accidental meeting outside a brothel after a political rally puts Tess literally in the arms of American turned viscount Owen Purchase. He is working for the government and quickly realizes Tess' double life. When Tess needs a quick wedding to gain respectability and a protector, she decides to kill two birds with one stone and proposes to Owen. Owen sees marriage to Tess as a way of both keeping an eye on her activities and fulfilling his desire for her. This book is 5th in a series but is a satisfying read on its own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Engaging Read

    Featherbrained, "shallow as a puddle" are misconceptions that Lady Tess Darent cultivates about herself. Three times a widow, Tess is totally disillusioned about the institution of marriage. Her radical reform work, philanthropy, and her intelligence are secret to all except a few, but her "believed" amoral behavior, her extravagance, and her beauty fascinate and keep the Ton furnished with lots of gossip material. No one knows the fear that haunts her nights and controls so many of her actions.

    Tess is a strong heroine who does what must be done to take care of those she loves and defenseless women and children who have been wronged at the whims of men. She is a secret crusader sailing under the false colors of a rule-breaking social butterfly that has no concern for her reputation.

    Owen Purchase, Viscount of Rothbury, a friend of Tess's brothers-in-law, is also a favorite subject for the Ton. American-born, an adventurer, and explorer, Owen inherited a title and all the Rothbury holdings in England. Now he tries to steer his way through English Society while working for the Home Secretary, Lord Sidmouth. His beloved ship "Sea Witch" sits idle in port. He misses his old way of life on the open seas, but he soon finds intrigue enough as he pursues and is pursued by the inscrutable beauty, Lady Tess Durant.

    Nicola Cornick weaves a bevy of secondary characters into the story as Owen and Tess come to terms with the horrors and misdeeds of the past in order to meet new threats and challenges that press in and could get them hanged. If you have read other novels by Ms. Cornick, you will get to catch up with some characters you will recognize, like Tess's sisters, Joanna and Merryn and their husbands Alex and Garrick; Garrick half-brother, Tom Bradshaw and his wife Emma; and her brother Justin Brooke.

    The sub-plots and back story add layers of cruel machination and unconscionable misdeeds as well as some efforts made to atone for past sins. The antagonists range from corrupt politicians to warped and perverted peerage. They raise the stakes in conflicts to help create some pulse-pounding scene as Tess comes closer and closer to being trapped. Of course, the despicable artist Melton sets off one of the major turning points that reveals a new facet of the incredible Tess-lots of excitement.

    Desired is chock full of delightful and revealing dialogue, subtle humor, and bit-by-bit falling in love scenes that carry the reader along on a tantalizing and sometime scary journey toward a happy-ever-after for the hero and heroine. The unexpected twists and turns keeps one turning pages. A wonderfully entertaining read.
    Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1