Customer Reviews for

Desires of the Dead (Body Finder Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 302 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(178)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Suspenseful Thrill Ride!!

The Body Finder was one of my favorite books of 2010, so I was extremely excited when I found out there was going to be a sequel. I was very curious to see how Kimberly Derting would continue Violet's story since the first book could very well be a stand alone book. Wha...
The Body Finder was one of my favorite books of 2010, so I was extremely excited when I found out there was going to be a sequel. I was very curious to see how Kimberly Derting would continue Violet's story since the first book could very well be a stand alone book. Whatever it would be, I was positive that I wanted to see more, lots more, of Violet and Jay as a couple. She completely delivered on that front!

Violet and Jay are one of the most amazing couples in Young Adult fiction, and I think a lot of it has to do with how well they know each other. They have numerous things in common, they're considerate to one another, they have trust, love and definitely a lot of attraction. In this book they become even more intimate, and those scenes when they are together are written beautifully! But like any couple, things aren't always perfect, and Violet and Jay go through a rough patch that nearly killed me. I was in so much pain for them!

While in The Body Finder Violet's family is in the forefront, in Desires of the Dead it's her friends who have taken the spotlight. Chelsea and Claire have some of my favorite scenes in this book. As far as the new characters go, I'm really interested in seeing what roles Sara Priest and Rafe will play in future books.

Another thing I was happy to see were the chapters where we get to hear from "the bad guy". It was one of my favorite things from The Body Finder.part of what made it so creepy was getting into the killer's head. The ones in this book are more disturbing than creepy, but they were just as fascinating.

Kimberly Derting delivers another exciting, suspenseful mystery with Desires of the Dead. She kept me on the edge of my seat, holding my breath, those last few chapters. If you're looking for a book that will get your heart racing, from both the suspense and the romance, this is it. :)

posted by mtz1101 on February 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Slightly disappointed, but still a reasonable story

I read the first book and really enjoyed it, so I decided to read the second book. It has a great story line, with several twists that I didn't see coming. By the ending, you can tell there will be more books. As for the characters, Violet really got on my nerves. S...
I read the first book and really enjoyed it, so I decided to read the second book. It has a great story line, with several twists that I didn't see coming. By the ending, you can tell there will be more books. As for the characters, Violet really got on my nerves. She's really indecisive and mopey. She is not the lovable character from the first book. Also, this book has more mature content (as Violet and her boyfriend take things further than teens should). I would not recommend this book for younger teens.

posted by NookBookMommy on September 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 306 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Suspenseful Thrill Ride!!

    The Body Finder was one of my favorite books of 2010, so I was extremely excited when I found out there was going to be a sequel. I was very curious to see how Kimberly Derting would continue Violet's story since the first book could very well be a stand alone book. Whatever it would be, I was positive that I wanted to see more, lots more, of Violet and Jay as a couple. She completely delivered on that front!

    Violet and Jay are one of the most amazing couples in Young Adult fiction, and I think a lot of it has to do with how well they know each other. They have numerous things in common, they're considerate to one another, they have trust, love and definitely a lot of attraction. In this book they become even more intimate, and those scenes when they are together are written beautifully! But like any couple, things aren't always perfect, and Violet and Jay go through a rough patch that nearly killed me. I was in so much pain for them!

    While in The Body Finder Violet's family is in the forefront, in Desires of the Dead it's her friends who have taken the spotlight. Chelsea and Claire have some of my favorite scenes in this book. As far as the new characters go, I'm really interested in seeing what roles Sara Priest and Rafe will play in future books.

    Another thing I was happy to see were the chapters where we get to hear from "the bad guy". It was one of my favorite things from The Body Finder.part of what made it so creepy was getting into the killer's head. The ones in this book are more disturbing than creepy, but they were just as fascinating.

    Kimberly Derting delivers another exciting, suspenseful mystery with Desires of the Dead. She kept me on the edge of my seat, holding my breath, those last few chapters. If you're looking for a book that will get your heart racing, from both the suspense and the romance, this is it. :)

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Reading Teen Review

    Desires of the Dead picks up where The Body Finder left off. Violet and Jay are just as disgustingly adorable as they were before, but Violet is haunted by the things that have happened to her. The book takes a different tone this time. Where I felt the first book was upbeat, funny, and cheerful (I know, strange considering the storyline), this book was much more somber. I feel like Violet bordered on depressed throughout most of the book. This is completely understandable considering what she has had to go through, and also considering the agonizing choices that she is having to make. But instead of leaning on Jay, and confiding in him, she begins to pull away from him, and the secrets take their toll on her and on their relationship. It was so frustrating to see her withdrawal, and consistently put herself in danger, making the same mistakes over and over. Sometimes I just wanted to shake her and scream, "DON'T GO OFF ALONE!! Especially when you have a creepy stalker!" *Shakes head in disbelief* I'm pretty sure that's what Jay wanted to say to her too! :)

    The romance between Violet and Jay was very steamy. I really do adore them together. I think he is so ridiculously good to her. He's romantic and thoughtful, always putting what's best for her first. I do think the romance went a little overboard in this one. My daughter was reading a book recently and said she almost felt like a third wheel when she read about the heavy romance between the two main characters. That's kind of how I felt with this book. But the relationship between the two of them was still really cute, and the romantic tension later in the story was fierce. I felt so much emotion.....

    The mystery, suspense, twists and turns are almost as intense in this book as in the last one. Early in the story, you get a glimpse into the mind of a very disturbed girl who is out to get Violet. Kimberly does such an amazing job, pulling you into the thoughts of not just the main character, but also this other strange and sinister mind. My own mind was spinning, constantly coming up with different scenarios of who was out to hurt Violet and why. By the end of the book, I was exhausted! My heart was pounding right up to the last chapter!

    -Andye (http://ReadingTeen.net/)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Such a great series! I LOVE JAY!

    Desires of the Dead is the follow up to The Body Finder where Violet has the ability to find the dead if they are not properly laid to rest. She also sees a matching imprint on the killer which could make her extremely valuable if her gift is ever revealed. The only people who know about what Violet can do is her family, as it was passed through the women in her family, and also her best-friend-turned-boyfriend Jay. Jay learned about what Violet could do when they were kids and has always accepted who she is. There has been much swooning for Jay. When Violet finds an Echo, it seems to drain her of any energy until the body is put to rest. Jay is always by her side to keep her going but readers shouldn't get the impression that this makes Violet a fragile girl who needs to be saved; if anything, she doesn't run or hide from her gift.

    On a regular outing with her friend, Violet finds an Echo calling to her and drawing her closer. Violet isn't able to do anything without her friend finding out, but that doesn't mean that she will stop. This particular Echo changes Violet's life in more ways than she could imagine. In helping, she attracts the attention of the FBI and realizes since Jay is now her boyfriend, she can't tell him everything as she did when they were best friends. Jay, as a boyfriend, wants to protect Violet and that might mean telling her parents about the dangerous situations she puts herself in; but Violet isn't ready to share everything with her parents.

    With the FBI on her trail and Jay's overwhelming need to protect her, Violet also feels that she is being stalked. First, hang up calls and then, creepy gifts are left at her car and later, threatening letters. When she turns to Jay, she doesn't find the answers she needs and things get shaky. Violet is also dealing with the insecurities that come with dating a guy who every woman seems to want. I would like to include myself on that list! All the stress and secrets cause major problems for Jay and Violet. Kimberly writes scenes so beautifully that you can't help but to get emotionally invested in these characters. Jay, I heart you!

    I love that Violet's family members see that she is going through a lot and give Violet the space to deal with it in her own way, but they are always close enough if she needs them. I can't remember reading a YA book with such emotionally-stable families. Desires of the Dead really has it all! There is plenty of stalker/ killer creepiness, and yet lots of love, kissing, sweetness, and of course the emotional stuff. Kimberly Derting is an amazing author and has quickly become one of my favorites. I can see myself re-reading both The Body Finder and Desires of the Dead over and over. I would recommend this book to everyone and I see movie potential all over these books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Suspense...Romance...New Echoes...who could ask for more!!

    Desires of the Dead is the second book in the series The Body Finder. The love, passion, and suspense in the book are great. If you have read The Body Finder you will not be disappointed. However, I did find that Desires of the Dead was not as suspenseful as The Body Finder. I was still freaked out and felt like I need to lock the doors. However, The Body Finder left you not wanting to even leave your bed. So, just keep in mind that you may not be "pee your pants" freaked but you will definitely be left a little nerved.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    loved it!

    A little slow to start but well worth it. Great story, good characters, action, romance. Super.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Awesome sequel!!

    DESIRES OF THE DEAD, by Kimberly Derting, is the continuation of The Body Finder series. We left off with Violet and Jay turning their friendship into a relationship amid Violet coming out about her ability to sense the dead and the respective killer.

    Where I felt The Body Finder lacked in action, Desires of the Dead definitely upped the anty. Many heart-pounding situations were happening simultaneously, and I found myself speeding through the book to get to the end.

    Violet and Jay are the sweetest couple (probably ever) and I love how they went through numerous ups and downs together throughout the book. Violet's gift and her solo exploration of it was the main issue that poked holes in this relationship and showed them how to make it stronger.

    I liked the introduction of new characters in this book. Sara, the FBI agent, and her 'helper', Rafe, added to the mix of this really great sophomore novel of the series. I was intrigued (and still am) with Rafe and his mysersious connection with Violet. I hope to see these characters in future books.

    My love for Violet and Jay, many new characters, and this cover (BEAUTIFUL!) really made this book linger in my mind long after it was finished. I cannot wait for the next one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    !news! I discovered enthralled has info on Rafe!!!!!!!!!!!the cute mysterious one!<3

    For anyone who is wondering about rafe's story you can find out a lil more about him and his first love named sophie in a book called Enthralled on page 285 by ms.Derting and the mini story is called skin contact. But i really do hope rafe has a happy ending he really should get one after all he has gone through

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Surprising!

    Page turner 100%. Great sequel. It was even more shocking then the first book. It kept you guessing til the very end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    STUNNING LIKE A BOX JELLYFISH STINGING U CANT KEEP YOUR EYES OFF OF IT

    The book is the continuation of the body finder. This book might have a slow start but will definetly catch up and end up to be one of your top favorites. It keeps you flipping the pages nonstop until there is no more. AMAZINGLY AMAZING BOOK!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Slightly disappointed, but still a reasonable story

    I read the first book and really enjoyed it, so I decided to read the second book. It has a great story line, with several twists that I didn't see coming. By the ending, you can tell there will be more books. As for the characters, Violet really got on my nerves. She's really indecisive and mopey. She is not the lovable character from the first book. Also, this book has more mature content (as Violet and her boyfriend take things further than teens should). I would not recommend this book for younger teens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    even better

    Loved this book! I hope there are more to come!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    Great sequel to an thrilling series!

    After reading The Body Finder I was a bit curious to find out what Kimberly Derting would come up with in the next book in the series. The Body Finder does not leave you on a cliffhanger, the problem was resolved and it had a great ending that could've made it a stand alone novel. Even though I wasn't really sure what to expect on Desires of the Dead, I knew that I definitely wanted more of Jay and Violet, but mainly swoon worthy good guy Jay. Thanks to my generous friend, I had the opportunity to read Desires of The Dead and get to know more about these wonderful characters.

    Desires of the Dead started off a little slower for me than The Body Finder did, it took me just a little longer to get into it and it had a bit of a different feel to it. Just like in The Body Finder we get to see the story unfold from Violet's point of view but also from someone else, someone that's jealous of Violet's happiness and secretly hates her. It wasn't as creepy as the chapters we got from the killer in the first book but it was still a little disturbing to see the point of view of someone full of hate and jealousy, someone that seems damaged, but I really didn't feel she was as dangerous as the killer in the first one. I did find it very interesting that the titles from each of the stalker's chapters was named after one of the seven deadly sins and they fit each little chapter perfectly. I ended up liking that a lot, we get a feel of what this person is really like and what's going through the stalker's mind, I loved that we get little clues into who might be the stalker with each chapter as we read.

    At first I wasn't so sure I was liking the direction that the story was taking, we have the stalker and at the same time we have Violet trying to understand her ability a lot more and get a little control over it. We also have the addition of a couple of new characters that might play an important role in Violet's future and what she decides to do with her powers, I wasn't so sure how that was going to turn out. After a while and once I got into the book I decided the new direction the story was taking was going to be a good one in the end and since it didn't really affect the love I had for Jay and Violet I was ok with it.

    You really have to read it to find out what it is because I don't want to spoil it for you. Just know that Kim once again throws those twists and surprises as the story is unfolding that prove all of your predictions wrong, just like she did in the first book. Even though it didn't give me the chills and goosebumps like The Body Finder did, I still liked Desires of the Dead a whole lot! I love Jay and Violet's relationship and how it grows even stronger in this one, the writing that flows easily and the well developed characters, even the side characters that we get to know a lot more. Definitely a great sequel and I cannot wait to see what will happen next in this series because even though it doesn't end in a cliffhanger it leaves you wondering of the possibilities of Violet's future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I had high hopes for this one. It's hard not to when the first in a series comes out with a bang. With the paranormal element and a cast of characters you can't help but love, I think think series will go far.

    I really love Violet's ability. The author has definitely put some thought into it. Each death has a distinctive call for Violet and I think that is truly a unique aspect to this story. I think she's really coming to terms with what she can do. Before it was just a matter of animals and proper burial. I think she's realizing she can use it for the greater good. I like the character growth involved in this. Although there was awhile there she was your typical teenage girl. It had nothing to do with her ability and everything to do with Jay. I wanted to smack her and tell her to stop being so foolish.

    I hope Jay is always there to be her knight in shinning armor. It's not that she needs saving, but the dead call to her so strongly that sometimes she doesn't realize the danger she puts herself in. He's known her for so long and cares for her so much that it's hard not to find him so endearing. I also liked the addition of Rafe. I hope the author doesn't make it a love triangle in the future. But Rafe would make a great shoulder for Violet to lean on.

    I pegged the mystery pretty easily this time. But, I don't think it was about the mystery in this installment. It was about Violet accepting that she can use her ability to help others. Which brings us to the FBI involvement. I wasn't sure about Sara at first. I couldn't figure out what she was after. But, I was glad she was so interested in Violet and I think she (and her crew) can really help Violet.

    I highly recommend this series to anyone that likes a touch of mystery mixed in with their paranormal. It's perfect for teens and adults!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Awesome

    Another great book from this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Desires of the Dead was unexpectedly great. Where the first book

    Desires of the Dead was unexpectedly great. Where the first book seemed to lack a good murder plot this one delivered it. The sequel felt more centered on Violet and less focused on the romance which I felt previously took over the first novel which was both good and bad. It's even more intriguing with the introduction of four new characters. But I didn't care much for Mike and Megan they seemed like random obstacles that Violet had to deal with. The addition of the FBI on Violet's trail really kept me reading on because I wanted to see what they knew and what she would tell them. It didn't disappoint but the FBI weren't in as many scenes as I'd have hoped for. Violet's keeping a lot of secrets from Jay and at times I found that to be frustrating yet a little exciting. What I mean by that is I wanted to see what Jay's reaction would be since he's so fiercely protective of her and wants to shield Violet from danger and she's off doing things her way. Their was a moment in this book where it almost seemed like Violet's ability was manifesting itself in a new way—I really want that to be the case! Desires of the Dead weaves in two different stories at once and it was amusing and enjoyable to follow both. Like the first book it alternates viewpoints between Violet and an anonymous stranger whose keeping tabs on her. So far this series has its ups and downs but this sequel has renewed my excitement and I'm invested in it. Also it would seem the secondary characters have some depth to them after all but they still feel a bit underdeveloped and their personalities are continually changing. Despite the little things the book turned out to be really good, and I enjoyed it way more than The Body Finder which I also liked.

    Violet is just getting on with her life months after almost being murdered by a serial killer...until she feels the pull of an echo at a shipyard. She does her best to ignore the call but when it won't leave her be she leaves an anonymous police tip and resumes her daily life with her best friend and newly turned boyfriend Jay Heaton. After the body of a small child is found Violet's certain she was careful enough not to be linked in any way to it—that is until the FBI show up at her school. It wouldn't be so bad if they just wanted to question her about the case but it seems like their less interested in the murder of the boy and more interested in her. Now she has to work even harder to keep her secret under wraps and its more complicated than she imagines when Jay seems to be spending more time with his new friend Mike and less time with her. It falls upon Violet to fix the mess she's gotten herself into—alone.

    Although Violet's actions made me a little angry at times that can be easily overlooked as the story was wholly enjoyable. Whereas The Body Finder felt like it was missing something Desires of the Dead was satisfying and a great entertaining read. I had a difficult time putting this one down. It's quick, has a compelling mystery with a totally unique paranormal twist. I'm excited to see what will come next in this series. Derting has created a different type of story that's bound to grab your attention. I'm sure that Desires of the Dead will resonate wonderfully with young adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Love it

    I love the body finder its so cute

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    great follow up

    I was absolutely in love with the first book and I am very pleased to say this one was just as good!! A little eerie, great storyline and the character Violet I just love her and the situations she faces and how she handles them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    highly recommended

    this book was not as good as the first book in the series
    but i still enjoyed reading it! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Diaz

    Omg this book is so great on the first book i was confused a bit my the back and forth between chapters and the preditors mind but on this one i figured it out the body finder was slightly better only by an inch though but the relationship between violet and jay was way more intense in this one.thumbs up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended Series

    I really enjoyed The Body Finder, and Desires of the Dead was just as amazing. In fact, I liked it more than the first book.

    There never seems to be a dull moment in Violet's life. A new family moves to town, someone starts threatening her, and someone has discovered that she has a secret talent. To top it all off, she is keeping everything from her boyfriend, Jay.

    This book was gripping and it gave me chills. I really liked the mystery and the suspense. I also liked Rafe. He's quiet and mysterious and I want to know more about him.

    I absolutely loved this book, and can't wait to read The Last Echo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 306 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16