Customer Reviews for

Desires of the Dead (Body Finder Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 302 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(178)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Suspenseful Thrill Ride!!

The Body Finder was one of my favorite books of 2010, so I was extremely excited when I found out there was going to be a sequel. I was very curious to see how Kimberly Derting would continue Violet's story since the first book could very well be a stand alone book. Wha...
The Body Finder was one of my favorite books of 2010, so I was extremely excited when I found out there was going to be a sequel. I was very curious to see how Kimberly Derting would continue Violet's story since the first book could very well be a stand alone book. Whatever it would be, I was positive that I wanted to see more, lots more, of Violet and Jay as a couple. She completely delivered on that front!

Violet and Jay are one of the most amazing couples in Young Adult fiction, and I think a lot of it has to do with how well they know each other. They have numerous things in common, they're considerate to one another, they have trust, love and definitely a lot of attraction. In this book they become even more intimate, and those scenes when they are together are written beautifully! But like any couple, things aren't always perfect, and Violet and Jay go through a rough patch that nearly killed me. I was in so much pain for them!

While in The Body Finder Violet's family is in the forefront, in Desires of the Dead it's her friends who have taken the spotlight. Chelsea and Claire have some of my favorite scenes in this book. As far as the new characters go, I'm really interested in seeing what roles Sara Priest and Rafe will play in future books.

Another thing I was happy to see were the chapters where we get to hear from "the bad guy". It was one of my favorite things from The Body Finder.part of what made it so creepy was getting into the killer's head. The ones in this book are more disturbing than creepy, but they were just as fascinating.

Kimberly Derting delivers another exciting, suspenseful mystery with Desires of the Dead. She kept me on the edge of my seat, holding my breath, those last few chapters. If you're looking for a book that will get your heart racing, from both the suspense and the romance, this is it. :)

posted by mtz1101 on February 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Slightly disappointed, but still a reasonable story

I read the first book and really enjoyed it, so I decided to read the second book. It has a great story line, with several twists that I didn't see coming. By the ending, you can tell there will be more books. As for the characters, Violet really got on my nerves. S...
I read the first book and really enjoyed it, so I decided to read the second book. It has a great story line, with several twists that I didn't see coming. By the ending, you can tell there will be more books. As for the characters, Violet really got on my nerves. She's really indecisive and mopey. She is not the lovable character from the first book. Also, this book has more mature content (as Violet and her boyfriend take things further than teens should). I would not recommend this book for younger teens.

posted by NookBookMommy on September 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Suspenseful Thrill Ride!!

    The Body Finder was one of my favorite books of 2010, so I was extremely excited when I found out there was going to be a sequel. I was very curious to see how Kimberly Derting would continue Violet's story since the first book could very well be a stand alone book. Whatever it would be, I was positive that I wanted to see more, lots more, of Violet and Jay as a couple. She completely delivered on that front!

    Violet and Jay are one of the most amazing couples in Young Adult fiction, and I think a lot of it has to do with how well they know each other. They have numerous things in common, they're considerate to one another, they have trust, love and definitely a lot of attraction. In this book they become even more intimate, and those scenes when they are together are written beautifully! But like any couple, things aren't always perfect, and Violet and Jay go through a rough patch that nearly killed me. I was in so much pain for them!

    While in The Body Finder Violet's family is in the forefront, in Desires of the Dead it's her friends who have taken the spotlight. Chelsea and Claire have some of my favorite scenes in this book. As far as the new characters go, I'm really interested in seeing what roles Sara Priest and Rafe will play in future books.

    Another thing I was happy to see were the chapters where we get to hear from "the bad guy". It was one of my favorite things from The Body Finder.part of what made it so creepy was getting into the killer's head. The ones in this book are more disturbing than creepy, but they were just as fascinating.

    Kimberly Derting delivers another exciting, suspenseful mystery with Desires of the Dead. She kept me on the edge of my seat, holding my breath, those last few chapters. If you're looking for a book that will get your heart racing, from both the suspense and the romance, this is it. :)

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Such a great series! I LOVE JAY!

    Desires of the Dead is the follow up to The Body Finder where Violet has the ability to find the dead if they are not properly laid to rest. She also sees a matching imprint on the killer which could make her extremely valuable if her gift is ever revealed. The only people who know about what Violet can do is her family, as it was passed through the women in her family, and also her best-friend-turned-boyfriend Jay. Jay learned about what Violet could do when they were kids and has always accepted who she is. There has been much swooning for Jay. When Violet finds an Echo, it seems to drain her of any energy until the body is put to rest. Jay is always by her side to keep her going but readers shouldn't get the impression that this makes Violet a fragile girl who needs to be saved; if anything, she doesn't run or hide from her gift.

    On a regular outing with her friend, Violet finds an Echo calling to her and drawing her closer. Violet isn't able to do anything without her friend finding out, but that doesn't mean that she will stop. This particular Echo changes Violet's life in more ways than she could imagine. In helping, she attracts the attention of the FBI and realizes since Jay is now her boyfriend, she can't tell him everything as she did when they were best friends. Jay, as a boyfriend, wants to protect Violet and that might mean telling her parents about the dangerous situations she puts herself in; but Violet isn't ready to share everything with her parents.

    With the FBI on her trail and Jay's overwhelming need to protect her, Violet also feels that she is being stalked. First, hang up calls and then, creepy gifts are left at her car and later, threatening letters. When she turns to Jay, she doesn't find the answers she needs and things get shaky. Violet is also dealing with the insecurities that come with dating a guy who every woman seems to want. I would like to include myself on that list! All the stress and secrets cause major problems for Jay and Violet. Kimberly writes scenes so beautifully that you can't help but to get emotionally invested in these characters. Jay, I heart you!

    I love that Violet's family members see that she is going through a lot and give Violet the space to deal with it in her own way, but they are always close enough if she needs them. I can't remember reading a YA book with such emotionally-stable families. Desires of the Dead really has it all! There is plenty of stalker/ killer creepiness, and yet lots of love, kissing, sweetness, and of course the emotional stuff. Kimberly Derting is an amazing author and has quickly become one of my favorites. I can see myself re-reading both The Body Finder and Desires of the Dead over and over. I would recommend this book to everyone and I see movie potential all over these books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Suspense...Romance...New Echoes...who could ask for more!!

    Desires of the Dead is the second book in the series The Body Finder. The love, passion, and suspense in the book are great. If you have read The Body Finder you will not be disappointed. However, I did find that Desires of the Dead was not as suspenseful as The Body Finder. I was still freaked out and felt like I need to lock the doors. However, The Body Finder left you not wanting to even leave your bed. So, just keep in mind that you may not be "pee your pants" freaked but you will definitely be left a little nerved.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    loved it!

    A little slow to start but well worth it. Great story, good characters, action, romance. Super.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    !news! I discovered enthralled has info on Rafe!!!!!!!!!!!the cute mysterious one!<3

    For anyone who is wondering about rafe's story you can find out a lil more about him and his first love named sophie in a book called Enthralled on page 285 by ms.Derting and the mini story is called skin contact. But i really do hope rafe has a happy ending he really should get one after all he has gone through

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Surprising!

    Page turner 100%. Great sequel. It was even more shocking then the first book. It kept you guessing til the very end.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    STUNNING LIKE A BOX JELLYFISH STINGING U CANT KEEP YOUR EYES OFF OF IT

    The book is the continuation of the body finder. This book might have a slow start but will definetly catch up and end up to be one of your top favorites. It keeps you flipping the pages nonstop until there is no more. AMAZINGLY AMAZING BOOK!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    even better

    Loved this book! I hope there are more to come!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Desires of the Dead was unexpectedly great. Where the first book

    Desires of the Dead was unexpectedly great. Where the first book seemed to lack a good murder plot this one delivered it. The sequel felt more centered on Violet and less focused on the romance which I felt previously took over the first novel which was both good and bad. It's even more intriguing with the introduction of four new characters. But I didn't care much for Mike and Megan they seemed like random obstacles that Violet had to deal with. The addition of the FBI on Violet's trail really kept me reading on because I wanted to see what they knew and what she would tell them. It didn't disappoint but the FBI weren't in as many scenes as I'd have hoped for. Violet's keeping a lot of secrets from Jay and at times I found that to be frustrating yet a little exciting. What I mean by that is I wanted to see what Jay's reaction would be since he's so fiercely protective of her and wants to shield Violet from danger and she's off doing things her way. Their was a moment in this book where it almost seemed like Violet's ability was manifesting itself in a new way—I really want that to be the case! Desires of the Dead weaves in two different stories at once and it was amusing and enjoyable to follow both. Like the first book it alternates viewpoints between Violet and an anonymous stranger whose keeping tabs on her. So far this series has its ups and downs but this sequel has renewed my excitement and I'm invested in it. Also it would seem the secondary characters have some depth to them after all but they still feel a bit underdeveloped and their personalities are continually changing. Despite the little things the book turned out to be really good, and I enjoyed it way more than The Body Finder which I also liked.

    Violet is just getting on with her life months after almost being murdered by a serial killer...until she feels the pull of an echo at a shipyard. She does her best to ignore the call but when it won't leave her be she leaves an anonymous police tip and resumes her daily life with her best friend and newly turned boyfriend Jay Heaton. After the body of a small child is found Violet's certain she was careful enough not to be linked in any way to it—that is until the FBI show up at her school. It wouldn't be so bad if they just wanted to question her about the case but it seems like their less interested in the murder of the boy and more interested in her. Now she has to work even harder to keep her secret under wraps and its more complicated than she imagines when Jay seems to be spending more time with his new friend Mike and less time with her. It falls upon Violet to fix the mess she's gotten herself into—alone.

    Although Violet's actions made me a little angry at times that can be easily overlooked as the story was wholly enjoyable. Whereas The Body Finder felt like it was missing something Desires of the Dead was satisfying and a great entertaining read. I had a difficult time putting this one down. It's quick, has a compelling mystery with a totally unique paranormal twist. I'm excited to see what will come next in this series. Derting has created a different type of story that's bound to grab your attention. I'm sure that Desires of the Dead will resonate wonderfully with young adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Love it

    I love the body finder its so cute

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Anonymous

    This book along with the 1st was great i enjoyed it and violet and jay are soooo adorable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Must read.

    I love Body Finder and immediately had to read Desires of the Dead. Both great. I hope there is a #3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    DESIRES OF THE DEAD- A phenomenal sequel to THE BODY FINDER with new creepy cases and sexy kisses that keep you up all night!

    Several weeks have passed since the incidents of THE BODY FINDER. Now that Violet and Jay have changed their status from best friends and to more than friends one could think their relationship wouldn’t be intriguing anymore. Although they are together neither has lost his unique personality. Both protagonists develop new sides of their personalities and show that they can ,beside being together, still be two individuals.

    Kimberly Derting generously considered our demand for more Jay and Violet and wrote so many more exciting, romantic and steamy scenes that one has to love DESIRES OF THE DEAD only on their account.

    Violet is finally willing to explore the wide possibilities of her talent to sense the dead and Jay more than ever determined to protect her. There were times Violet annoyed me with her stoic and reckless behaviour, but in the end it were the conflicts, are always the conflicts that awake my interest.

    With the new case Violet is eventually thrown into and the involvement of the FBI, new dimensions of her ability are demonstrated. We get a glimpse of the working methods of the FBI and meet many new characters that communicate a different spirit than already established characters.

    We meet Sarah who works for the FBI and her assistant Rafe who is the most mysterious character in this series so far. Although Violet has a relationship with Jay there is something that also connects her with Rafe. He knows things he couldn’t know and does things he shouldn’t do.
    I sense a love triangle emerging and am really anxious to read about the relationship and feelings between the three of them. As I already stated I am team Jay , but I can’t resist that pull to excitingly new character Rafe. I really want to find out what’s the matter with him and which role he plays in Violet's life. He seems to have a special ability of his own and I cannot wait for Derting to reveal it.

    The new murder case is not the only criminal and immoral incident that is thematised. A new family has moved to town with a bunch of secrets in tow. I don't want to go into detail, you should find out yourselves.

    As in THE BODY FINDER Derting's writing is excellent and absorbing. She writes about the darker sides of life and the wicked thoughts of the human mind and is totally authentic and believable. Her language is rich, her characters are interestingly edgy and her story well-developed.

    The story is told from Violet’s point of view on the one hand, on the other we also hear thoughts and witness actions of another narrator. This person is not as insane as THE BODY FINDER murderer, but sometimes just equally creepy. Derting plays with her readers and our loyalty towards Violet when applying a second point of view that is determined by the hatred for Violet and whose actions are directed towards the goal of Violet’s destruction.

    I am more than thrilled about Derting’s announcement of two more novels in THE BODY FINDER series and I am terribly curious to find out what happens next, which other bodies haunt Violet and if someone or somewhat could be able to come between this special something that connects Jay and Violet.

    THE VERDICT

    DESIRES OF THE DEAD can definitely fulfill the desires of every reader in search for a phenomenal novel with high creep 'n' cuddle factor!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    highly recommended

    this was an awesome book. the first 1 was better but this 1 was pretty good too. it eeps you wondering.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    Ughh

    Cant wait till The Last Echo:) I love Jay and Vi!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    L<3ve

    Desires of the Dead was just as good as The Body Finder! It was everything I had hoped it would be and more!

    Desires Of The Dead picks up 3 months after the first book. Jay and Violet are continuing with their relation and all their friends are still along for the ride. A brother and sister pair of new students arrive at their school which seems to be the start of new problems for Violet. Including the FBI seeming to having an interest in her.

    I loved this book just as much as the first! Jay and Violets relationship definitely goes through ups and downs and 100% heats up! And I was so happy with their journey in this book! I loved it! And I LOVE Jay <333. Chelsea is hilarious I love her. Also a new character I cannot wait to read more about is Rafe!!! I have a feeling he will be causing some trouble in the future Mr. Emo eye candy woo woo! :)

    Another thing I love about these books is how Derting let's us into the twisted minds of others. Just love the details, the torture, and the feelings in them! I got to admit, the animals parts most certainly make me sad.

    Overall I really adored this book! I cannot wait for book three!! This series is so worth the read! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good one! Better than the first one :)

    I really liked it =)
    It's way better than the first one, which I didn't like much >_<".
    There's more action in the story and more problems to solve :)
    It's really good, I can't wait for the third one, The Last Echo ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Great!

    I couldnt stop reading this book so i finished reading it at 2 IN THE MORNING!! Great plot and a great romance! Book 1 was amazing too! Great romance! And thriller! I totally recommend this! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    I couldn't put it down!!

    it was an amazing, well written book!! i couldn't put it down!! i highly reccomend it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    Ever since reading the spectacular start to this series, I've been dying to get my hands on more Jay and Violet stories. So, when a copy of the much anticipated sequel landed in my mailbox one rainy Thursday, I was nothing short of ecstatic. Luckily, Desires of the Dead proved to be a worthwhile companion to The Body Finder, because not only is there more more mysteries and romance in store for Jay, Violet, and us readers, but it took great new twists and turns!

    Desires of the Dead begins a few months after The Body Finder ended. Violet and Jay's relationship is stronger than ever, and Violet hasn't heard the echos in a while. Though, one day she hears an echo that leads her not only to the body of dead little boy but the unwanted attention of the FBI. Even worse, another person is attempting to play the game of cat and mouse with Violet, and Violet's relationship with Jay is falling to pieces with the addition of two new students to their group of friends. So, who will she turn to when everything begins to spin out of control? And will Violet and Jay get over their differences? Only time will tell in this highly anticipated sequel to The Body Finder.

    One of my favorite parts of Desires of the Dead was Violet and Jay. Violet is a girl who is fierce, smart, and loyal, a girl who has your back time and time again. I especially love the way Violet continues to use her abilities to find the dead and their killers to good use, even thought it puts huge emotional impacts on her and her relationships with others, because I feel that this shows how great of a person Violet is and how quick she is to sacrifice herself for others. Adding to this, Jay is yet again swoon-worthy in this addition because of the way he nearly always proved to be the picture-perfect boyfriend. Though, I have to admit, I did like seeing the bad sides of Jay and Violet's relationship in this sequel because it made it seem more even more realistic and true to life.

    Furthermore, I loved the new mystery Kimberly introduced in Desires of the Dead, because not only did we yet again have the perspective of the "bad" person but it provided so many great twist and turns to the story. I seriously had no clue how this one was going to end until the very last chapters, and that is a very good thing, in my opinion!

    Lastly, Kimberly Derting's writing was nothing but fabulous in this addition! I loved what she did she did with character and plot development in this.

    In all, Desires of the Dead is no where near sophomore slump, in my opinion, and I simply can't wait to read more by Derting, especially if the said story involves Violet, Jay, and the gang.

    Grade: A-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 178 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9