Customer Reviews for

Desperate Desires

Average Rating 4
( 255 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

How many ways are there to capture your true love's heart?

Lady Lucinda Davenport has come up with a brilliant plan to save her husband's family from taking her estate after his death - get pregnant and produce an heir. This is a great plan and would work except her husband is not well and unable to provide her with what she n...
Lady Lucinda Davenport has come up with a brilliant plan to save her husband's family from taking her estate after his death - get pregnant and produce an heir. This is a great plan and would work except her husband is not well and unable to provide her with what she needs to make this happen. The backup idea is even better, kidnap a man who has no interest in a relationship and have him impregnate her. Wait that is the best backup plan you have?

Lucinda handpicked Lucien Brandford, fourth Duke of Carlsborough to help her with her goal and his past should make this easy to accomplish. He has a reputation about London for only having an interest in what money can be produced not heirs. Lucinda plotted and executed the perfect plan and before Lucien recovered from the drugs he had been given he finds himself shackled to a bed and a woman trying to seduce him. Lucien did not like Lucinda's idea when she told him what was going on but Lucy presented a really convincing case to him and it helped that at the time she was naked.

The affair they begin is racy, hot and over the top passionate with one man determined to show one woman every bit of life's pleasure that she has missed. They begin to trust, learn to whisper secrets in the dark and once freed from his restraints Lucien shows Lucinda how much a man can give to a woman who is yearning for carnal knowledge.

This book is about discovering who you are deep down inside where you keep your thoughts private and your desires to yourself. When Lucien and Lucinda get together they realize that there are not enough nights to quench their need for one another. Their story while not conventional is extremely enjoyable.

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on April 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

From Alexandra Cenni, "Poisoned Rationality" (Hamilton, NJ)

Hot and Very Sexy Times...I like the cover to Desperate Desires, thought I'd point that out. I like that Lucinda's hair is a brilliant contrast to the sheets and her skin. The red hair is a fairly important attribute since its not an 'ordinary' color paired with her eye...
Hot and Very Sexy Times...I like the cover to Desperate Desires, thought I'd point that out. I like that Lucinda's hair is a brilliant contrast to the sheets and her skin. The red hair is a fairly important attribute since its not an 'ordinary' color paired with her eyes in the story.

The synopsis is what caught my attention. It doesn't mention a few pertinent details (she's married), and some of what it talks about is glossed over in the novella itself (there's really no indication of her dislike or interest in the ton). Where the story really shined was in portraying the seductive dance that Lucien and Lucinda engage in. They're powerfully attracted to each other from the first, there's no doubt on that. Even while being abducted Lucien had control over how quickly lust hit him and Lucinda was oggling him quite a bit.

Wolffe draws out Lucinda's reasons and story, which frustrated me at times as much as it did Lucien. She'd let little tidbits fall, but other then vague indications of what was happening there was nothing until around the middle of the story. Truth be told the excuse Lucinda uses is rather flimsy and Lucien cuts through that logic pretty quickly. As far as plot device needed to keep them in bed as often as possible, it worked quite well.

I was also rather skeptical about several plot turns. Maybe I'm just too naive and innocent in the ways of the bedroom, but can you honestly go a couple days without remembering to eat or drink and do nothing but make love? And later Lucinda's husband seems to go from 'this is what I want' to 'jealous rage' (which is acceptable and understandable all things given) but then...the ending. Wolffe didn't show us, or even hint to us, how Lucien and the husband finally came to some arrangement. I can't be sure if she had a word count restraint or if she just felt the talk didn't need to be explained since the evidence was shown, but it left me wanting more.

What I really enjoyed was the cast of secondary characters. From Lucinda's feisty servants to her husband and brother, they sparkled. I loved that Maddy was so outspoken and quick with her temper (and fists). Not that she was violent, persay, but very passionate and loyal to those she cared about. She cared little for rank--if you pissed off her protective instincts it's a slap for you. The interactions between the characters were all warm and genuine feeling, you could feel the affection they all held for each other and for Lucinda.

And in truth it was nice to read a romance where there were no 'villains' persay. The only villains spoken of were Lucinda's in-laws, but they're given a broad stroke as 'greedy' and 'rotten'. Beyond the fact that they'd hurt Lucinda, we learn very little else.

I would recommend Desperate Desires if you are looking for a hot and satisfying read. Its quick and sensual and well worth the price given to it on the Nook.

posted by Lisa_Jarvis on March 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    How many ways are there to capture your true love's heart?

    Lady Lucinda Davenport has come up with a brilliant plan to save her husband's family from taking her estate after his death - get pregnant and produce an heir. This is a great plan and would work except her husband is not well and unable to provide her with what she needs to make this happen. The backup idea is even better, kidnap a man who has no interest in a relationship and have him impregnate her. Wait that is the best backup plan you have?

    Lucinda handpicked Lucien Brandford, fourth Duke of Carlsborough to help her with her goal and his past should make this easy to accomplish. He has a reputation about London for only having an interest in what money can be produced not heirs. Lucinda plotted and executed the perfect plan and before Lucien recovered from the drugs he had been given he finds himself shackled to a bed and a woman trying to seduce him. Lucien did not like Lucinda's idea when she told him what was going on but Lucy presented a really convincing case to him and it helped that at the time she was naked.

    The affair they begin is racy, hot and over the top passionate with one man determined to show one woman every bit of life's pleasure that she has missed. They begin to trust, learn to whisper secrets in the dark and once freed from his restraints Lucien shows Lucinda how much a man can give to a woman who is yearning for carnal knowledge.

    This book is about discovering who you are deep down inside where you keep your thoughts private and your desires to yourself. When Lucien and Lucinda get together they realize that there are not enough nights to quench their need for one another. Their story while not conventional is extremely enjoyable.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Muy Caliente!!!

    Cover

    The cover is a standard portrayal of a romance novel. You know ... sexy, muscular man in a romantic embrace with a voluptuous, half-dressed woman. I'm a fan of the red on the cover, though. =)

    Plot

    The story started off uniquely enough with the abduction of a Duke. It didn't take long for the storyline to sizzle. Every time you flip a page, the two main characters are having a go. Speaking of which ... I had never heard sexual intercourse be referred to as a "tup," being "tupped" or "tupping." I rather enjoyed learning a new word for the act itself. I get tired of seeing "making love" or "sex."

    I am getting a little bored with all the main male characters in romance/erotica being well-endowed. Think about it ladies ... how many well-endowed men do you really know? I've ... "met" ... a few in my day, but the majority of the men are average or below average with a rare few being extremely below average (poor things).

    I do understand why all the main male characters in romance novels are this way, though. I mean, this is a fantasy. What woman doesn't want a well-endowed man thoroughly "tupping" her while telling her what to do and what he's going to do to her? ... ... hhmmm ... ... (*shaking head*) ... anyhow, back to the review ... =)

    Main Characters

    Lucien - A rich, well-endowed, muscular, single, domineering man who rather enjoys "servicing" and being "serviced" on occasion ... yeah ... I think that about covers it =)

    Lucinda - One of the co-conspirators behind the Duke's abduction. She is amazingly inexperienced and is an apt pupil for the Duke's teachings.

    Overall

    If you like spice, this short spicy novella is just for you. Just be forewarned ... have your lover near by. You're going to want to either act out what you read or create your own spice! =) Muy Caliente!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Desperate Desires is one hell of a sensual ride from start to finish, hot and spicy!

    3.5

    Lucinda Davenport needs to get pregnant to produce an heir and soon, with her husbands advanced age and health his despicable family is counting down the days until they can take over the estate and they aren't opposed to hastening it along.
    When her husband, the Earl, throws up an idea to kidnap a peer and seduce him to impregnate her Lucinda chooses Lucien Brandford, fourth Duke of Carlsborough. Little did she know that after one night in his arms she would be desperate for more. But when her husband becomes jealous of her attentions with the Duke their interlude is cut short and they may never again feel the passion that they found in each other's arm.

    Wow, Desperate Desires is a scandalous and sinfully delicious tale.
    This novel is an erotica, pure and simple, which means a whole lot of sex. A whole lot, which, I loved every minute of it but others may not. Just a fair warning.

    Since this is a novella the relationship between the main characters move at a very quick pace and I enjoyed the development between Lucinda and Lucien. There were numerous, full, and mind-blowing love scenes right away and every page had a new one.
    The story itself was fun and the dialogue between characters interesting. Lucinda and Lucien enjoy an entertaining back and forth relationship, with control changing hands numerous times. I think they balanced each other out nicely.
    Wolffe has a very different writing style then what I am use to, the story was narrated to you and came from several different points of views. This didn't flow as smoothly as it could have and in some instances I had to back track to see which character I was dealing with at the time but it was still enjoyable.
    Also, the sexual language was a little off for a Duke and Countess in that time period, it leaned more towards a street urchin or doxy and took away from the story a bit. Though my main dislike centered on the Earl, Lucinda's husband, whose character was pretty much omitted at the end. He understandably has some issues about the situation with his wife and the Duke afterwards and makes some decisions that drastically affect Lucinda and Lucien's relationship but we never hear anymore about it. Not how the main characters felt about this, how it was worked out or new views seen on it. We just skip to a happily ever after for them and I felt that this was an important topic that should have been delved into more instead of rushed through for a quick ending. I would of given this novella a higher rating if it wasn't for that.

    Overall though this is a good read if you're looking for some hot and spicy action, just plan to have your significant other or a cold shower on hand while reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    very sexy read

    i love this book,really hope she writes more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    This book kept my attention

    A co-worker was glued to her kindle, so I ordered my copy via nook. Have to admit that I was looking forward to the sizzling passion between the hero and heroine. I was not disappointed as they spent most of the book in bed! Despite their constant bickering its clear that they're helplessly drawn to each other which leads to their timeless bond and ultimate love. Of course, the characters are in constant turmoil, and that can be aggravating at times, but the book is worth the read bcuz the plot alone is pretty good. But I think what really shores the story up is the character Maddy. Maddy is trip! Because of her, this is not your typical romance book. Instead, it is a steamy read with funny characters weaved in between.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    ;0)

    4.5****stars

    BRIEF SUMMARY
    Lucinda has abducted the Duke, Lucien for reasons unbeknownst to him. He isn't too happy after begin chained, drugged and mistreated by a giant in a carriage. Lucinda is ok with her simple life until she has to hatch a scheme to kidnap the Duke. The Duke is quite happy with his life; he isn't married, has no children and likes loose women. Once he figures out the reason for his abduction, begin kidnapped is not bad but a pleasure for him.

    THOUGHTS
    This is an extremely erotic historical read that I enjoyed. The acts and language are very explicit, so if you're a junkie for erotica then this would be a perfect read for you. Some moments had a tiny bit of Dom/sub kinky moments, nothing bad. It is more of a do as I say, I'm in control thing, but enjoyable. What I loved about this book and what it reminds me of, is Prisoner of my Desire by Johanna Lindsey/ the Movie Indecent Proposal. When you put those two together, it was an entertaining read. Though it's a novella with continuous hot sex, the author was still able to give us a decent storyline to read about that was ok, most of the characters were enjoyable to read. I found the plot between The Earl, Lucinda's husband, and herself to be interesting but a little unsure of how I felt about it. I thought this would be a major turn off but personally, for me it worked. For readers thinking of purchasing the book, if you don't mind that she is a married woman then you won't mind the read. I know to some the thought of her being married to someone else does not seem romantic, but it worked in this storyline.

    What I didn't really care for, is that you read what Lucinda needed to do with Lucien, but why took some time for me. In addition, the ending was ok, it felt more of a quickie ending with the happily ever after moment. Nevertheless, I really enjoyed the read.

    Story: FAIR
    Intimacy: AMAZINGLY GOOD & (D.R.I.P) = Don't Read In Public
    Enjoyment: GOOD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2