Customer Reviews for

Desperate Desires

Average Rating 4
( 255 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(164)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

How many ways are there to capture your true love's heart?

Lady Lucinda Davenport has come up with a brilliant plan to save her husband's family from taking her estate after his death - get pregnant and produce an heir. This is a great plan and would work except her husband is not well and unable to provide her with what she n...
Lady Lucinda Davenport has come up with a brilliant plan to save her husband's family from taking her estate after his death - get pregnant and produce an heir. This is a great plan and would work except her husband is not well and unable to provide her with what she needs to make this happen. The backup idea is even better, kidnap a man who has no interest in a relationship and have him impregnate her. Wait that is the best backup plan you have?

Lucinda handpicked Lucien Brandford, fourth Duke of Carlsborough to help her with her goal and his past should make this easy to accomplish. He has a reputation about London for only having an interest in what money can be produced not heirs. Lucinda plotted and executed the perfect plan and before Lucien recovered from the drugs he had been given he finds himself shackled to a bed and a woman trying to seduce him. Lucien did not like Lucinda's idea when she told him what was going on but Lucy presented a really convincing case to him and it helped that at the time she was naked.

The affair they begin is racy, hot and over the top passionate with one man determined to show one woman every bit of life's pleasure that she has missed. They begin to trust, learn to whisper secrets in the dark and once freed from his restraints Lucien shows Lucinda how much a man can give to a woman who is yearning for carnal knowledge.

This book is about discovering who you are deep down inside where you keep your thoughts private and your desires to yourself. When Lucien and Lucinda get together they realize that there are not enough nights to quench their need for one another. Their story while not conventional is extremely enjoyable.

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on April 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

From Alexandra Cenni, "Poisoned Rationality" (Hamilton, NJ)

Hot and Very Sexy Times...I like the cover to Desperate Desires, thought I'd point that out. I like that Lucinda's hair is a brilliant contrast to the sheets and her skin. The red hair is a fairly important attribute since its not an 'ordinary' color paired with her eye...
Hot and Very Sexy Times...I like the cover to Desperate Desires, thought I'd point that out. I like that Lucinda's hair is a brilliant contrast to the sheets and her skin. The red hair is a fairly important attribute since its not an 'ordinary' color paired with her eyes in the story.

The synopsis is what caught my attention. It doesn't mention a few pertinent details (she's married), and some of what it talks about is glossed over in the novella itself (there's really no indication of her dislike or interest in the ton). Where the story really shined was in portraying the seductive dance that Lucien and Lucinda engage in. They're powerfully attracted to each other from the first, there's no doubt on that. Even while being abducted Lucien had control over how quickly lust hit him and Lucinda was oggling him quite a bit.

Wolffe draws out Lucinda's reasons and story, which frustrated me at times as much as it did Lucien. She'd let little tidbits fall, but other then vague indications of what was happening there was nothing until around the middle of the story. Truth be told the excuse Lucinda uses is rather flimsy and Lucien cuts through that logic pretty quickly. As far as plot device needed to keep them in bed as often as possible, it worked quite well.

I was also rather skeptical about several plot turns. Maybe I'm just too naive and innocent in the ways of the bedroom, but can you honestly go a couple days without remembering to eat or drink and do nothing but make love? And later Lucinda's husband seems to go from 'this is what I want' to 'jealous rage' (which is acceptable and understandable all things given) but then...the ending. Wolffe didn't show us, or even hint to us, how Lucien and the husband finally came to some arrangement. I can't be sure if she had a word count restraint or if she just felt the talk didn't need to be explained since the evidence was shown, but it left me wanting more.

What I really enjoyed was the cast of secondary characters. From Lucinda's feisty servants to her husband and brother, they sparkled. I loved that Maddy was so outspoken and quick with her temper (and fists). Not that she was violent, persay, but very passionate and loyal to those she cared about. She cared little for rank--if you pissed off her protective instincts it's a slap for you. The interactions between the characters were all warm and genuine feeling, you could feel the affection they all held for each other and for Lucinda.

And in truth it was nice to read a romance where there were no 'villains' persay. The only villains spoken of were Lucinda's in-laws, but they're given a broad stroke as 'greedy' and 'rotten'. Beyond the fact that they'd hurt Lucinda, we learn very little else.

I would recommend Desperate Desires if you are looking for a hot and satisfying read. Its quick and sensual and well worth the price given to it on the Nook.

posted by Lisa_Jarvis on March 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very sweet and exceptionally spicy

    In London, England, in 1796, beautiful and feisty Lucinda is about to become a widow. Her much older wealthy husband is in ill health. Fearing that his devious relatives will try to step in and take everything from her, because there is no heir, Lucinda has hatched a plan to solve this dilemma. Enlisting the aid of her loyal servants and her giant brother, she sets out to kidnap the Duke Lucien Douglas IV. The success of this mission is critical to all who are involved because the estate of the Lucinda's husband is home to all of them.

    Wise to the ways of the world, Lucien is extremely surprised to discover himself so easily kidnapped. Initially he is angry and resistant to the idea of helping Lucinda, especially when he learns her criteria for choosing him. When he finds himself unable to resist her charms, he quickly changes his mind. Caught up in their desire for each other, they seem to forget all else. When Lucinda's allies step in to help bring them back to reality, they find themselves lost to each other. It is now Lucien's mission to find Lucinda.

    "Desperate Desires" perfectly blends erotica, romance and humor. I found the whole eccentric cast of characters to be endearing. The sensual scenes are beautifully written and extremely erotic. I think most readers will find themselves wishing that they could be in Lucinda's shoes. I guess I shouldn't say "shoes" because she certainly wasn't wearing any in the most intense scenes. Terri Wolffe definitely managed to capture my attention with this tale. I highly recommend "Desperate Desires" to readers who enjoy erotic romances.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Warning: hot, hot passion and scorching romance!

    Desperate Desires was well-written and all the "flavors" of the book came through wonderfully. It's a short read but this book packs a punch. When Lucinda abducted Lucien, the duke was thrown for a loop. From their verbal exchange during the carriage ride it was clear that the duk wanted to do her bodily harm. But by the time he's tied to her bed all that seemed to change because the erotic scenes that followed left me shaking my head. My, my, my, was all I could say. I don't know if it's possible to make love like they did, but if it is, where o where is my Lucein! Terri Wolfe has got to do a sequel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    BREATHLESS DECADENTS IS DESPERATE DESIRES!

    Rush into the breathless erotic Regency world in romance author Terri Wolfe's contagiously enticing novella, DESPERATE DESIRES which take readers on a scandalous peril of kidnapping intrigue and the desperate desires of an untamable love.


    There is nothing like a strung conning unconventional female lead in a romance book. Lady Lucinda Davenport is that in spades. She is more comfortable running her estate manner and dealing with numbers than to be bothered with the ton. There is only one thing she needs desperately and Lucien Brandford, fourth Duke of Carlsborough is just the sort of man she needs. Her and her feisty band of hooligans set out to entrap, kidnap and persuade him to Lucinda's way of thinking.

    All right I confess, the kidnapping scene had me giggling. Even though the Duke was severely outraged he was more than a little excited to be in this Lady of Deceptions presence.
    Lady Lucinda was a wonderfully entertaining character to read because she is unique in knowing what she wants. Shegoes for it and doesn't apologize for her tactics in achieving her goal. She is a well-rounded character that had me laughing at her antics. There were moments that I felt for her plight being married to a lord on the cusp of dying with known heir in sight. If she didn't succeed in seducing Lucien and bearing an heir the estate would slip through her fingers.


    Lucien Brandford, the fourth Duke of Carlsborough is exceedingly dashing and is quite swoon worthy. He is a damaged and tortured soul(my favorite kind) who loved and lost abysmally. Now he finds himself a prisoner to a red haired beauty that not only stirs his blood like no other but his heart as well.

    I adored the fact that Lucinda and Lucien succumb so fast to the mutual desires so fast. There is no mistaking the sexual chemistry between the to major protagonist. The love scenes are well written and full formed scenes which are filled to the brim with erotic d sensual delights that made me blush a time or two.

    Rounding out DESPERATE DESIRE is a cast of spicy hooligans whom at first are all gung ho for the little charade and the kidnapping of the Duke. But the more Lucinda and Lucien spend time together her fair band of merry helpers starts to disband causing some much needed drama. The character that struck me and kept me entertained along this morsel of a read was the Duke himself. How could I not be drawn to a man who had to give up is first love who bore his child? He has to watch from the sidelines as she grows up never knowing that she is his daughter. I felt for him when he discovered the true reason he was tied from wrist to ankle to Lucinda's bed.


    Throughout DESPERATE DESIRES a thread of tolerance and understanding wove its thread through the book. Lucinda understood that by kidnapping, seducing the Duke to bear his illegitimate child to keep Champney Court safe and slipping through her hands she would cause irreparable damage. She chose to continue on the affair involving her heart knowing there was no happy ending to her story. Lucien came to the same conclusion but decided it was better to have these sparse moments with the woman he loved than to never have been with her at all.

    DESPERATE DESIRES is like a sweet chocolate creamed filled Bon Bon. Small in size but a potentate punch back with decadent flavors that entice your senses and urge you on for more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Desperate Desires is filled to the brink with passion!

    This story had me at hello! Romance, suspense, and comedy all in one. I truly enjoyed Desperate Desires, but like the other reviewers, I too wish it had an epilogue. I think there should have been more to the story of how Lucinda and Lucien finally ended up after Lucien went through so much to find Lucinda. Still, this story was awesome. The sex scenes were beautifully written and the chemistry between the hero and heroine was off the hook. This debut erotic romance is a keeper. I for one, couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Fantastic Debut!

    This explosive and beautifully written novella is sure to warm your hearts and leave you wanting more. Set in 1796 London, Lady Lucinda Davenport must become pregnant in order to secure her inheritance upon her husband's demise. With her husband's support and direction, she sets her attention on the handsome and virile Lucien Brandford, the fourth Duke of Carlsborough. What follows is the capture and seduction of Lucien. His initial anger, frustration and passion towards Lucinda exquisitely borne by this reader. And when he turns the tables on Lucinda and she becomes the captive, he teaches her lesson after passionate lesson. I did worry about the premise - a married woman seeking a "stud" to provide her with an heir. I'm very much a proponent of fidelity in any relationship - married or not. However, the author does a beautiful job providing the justification behind the Davenports desperation as well as Lucinda platonic relationship with her husband. I was convinced that this adventure began as a way to protect Lucinda and the inhabitants of the estate. And, when Lucinda and Lucien didn't leave their room for days, causing the husband to become so jealous he made Lucien leave, it brought reality into the equation. His unforeseen reaction didn't surprise me one bit. It is very rare that I'm so taken with a novella. I like full characterization and a fully built world complete with secondary characters that add depth and color to the story. This novella had it all but I am hoping for a sequel. I would like to know how Lucinda and Lucien handle their two year separation and how they overcome the greedy and malicious relations bent on killing her husband and taking Lucinda's inheritance. I'd like to see Lucinda's reaction upon meeting Lucien's family - I loved their wit and sarcasm. And lastly, was that a tease about Nathan? Will he have a story? Bravo Ms. Wolffe! Your writing was superb, the cast was perfect, the premise unique, the love scenes purely erotic and tasteful, and all-in-all a sincere pleasure to read! A perfect blend of humor, suspense and romance. I'm looking forward to more from you. We need more erotic historical romance so please bring us more! This book was received free of charge.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    All hot and bothered

    The story, the characters and their relationships were engrossing and wonderful. I'm still thinking about the book long after I was done reading it. It is a keeper and I will be rereading it. I really wish the author would write more books but when I checked I couldn't find any. Terri Wolffe, when's the next one?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    LOVE IT! LOVE IT!!!!

    Please write more of these. Kathleen Woodiness was the first romance book I read. After that I was hooked. This book had me hooked frome the first page. I just wanted more of it. Keep up the good work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2011

    Wonderful

    I read it twist. I was flabbergasting. I could not put the book down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    5 stars for the plot

    I loved this book....It starts off with Lucien, Duke of Carlsborough, getting abducted and dragged off to a far away country estate. He's given his marching orders and promptly chained to a bed where he's told he'd better "put up or shut up" if you get my drift. But that's when the sparks start to fly. I loved the romance between the hero and the heroine and I admit that I was more than a little in love with Lucien. Where can I find him? All in all, Desperate Desires ranged from heart rendering to heart thumping. It was very well written and the tantalizingly gripping love scenes will have you begging for more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    Short and sweet!

    110 pages of sheer delight. Well written with no "fillers" Loved it. Looking for more from Terri Wolffe. Where is it????

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2011

    True Romance mixed with intense passion

    I liked many aspects of this book: the romance, the sensuality, the chemistry between Lucinda and Lucien. But what stood out for me are the secondary characters. They added a lot of fun and humor to the storyline. Once I started reading, I couldn't put it down. Not disappointed by any means, but Terri Wolffe could have made this a longer story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Romantic and funny

    Desperate Desires is a romantic, erotic tryst with a very humorous edge. I really enjoyed the cast of characters, Maddy, Ginny, Henry and Georgie, who brought to life the story. The ending could have been longer as I wanted to know more details about what happened after the story ended. Great chemistry between Lucinda and Lucien made this and enjoyable story well worth the price paid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Captured my heart

    Desperate Desires is an exciting story filled with passion and mystery. Terri Wolffe shows her flare for storytelling with vivid descriptions and portrayals of her characters. I absolutely loved Lucien! His tenderness towards Lucinda is adorable. My only gripe is the ending. While I was satisfied, I wanted much more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    From Pacific Book Review, Nicole Sorkin | Managing Book Review Editor

    Desperate Desires (A Sweet and Spicy Novella) by Terri Wolffe,

    In Desperate Desires (A Sweet and Spicy Novella) by Terri Wolffe, Lady Lucinda Davenport has determination beyond anyone's wildest dreams and aims to obtain what she wants: Lucinda creates an elaborate scheme to kidnap and hold hostage Duke of Carlsborough, Lucien Bradford.

    Desperate Desires will keep the reader on their toes the whole time, and have them wondering what will happen next. This novella succeeds on many different levels. The characters are very well developed, the storyline is superb, and the descriptions of the time period create wonderful mental images.

    Desperate Desires is a great mix of romance and psychological thriller. It transports the reader from their couch to 17th century London, England, with all of its splendor, beauty and hardships. I felt the title is most appropriate for this book given the obsessive love Lucien and Lucinda for one another. The love scenes are steamy and hot, and I would consider this book suitable for mature adults. Overall, I enjoyed this novella and would recommend Desperate Desires (A Sweet and Spicy Novella) to others romance book enthusiasts and historical fiction lovers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2011

    Titilating and sexy!

    I loved this novella. Terri Wolffe captured the intensity, sexuality, and romance of Lucien and Lucinda. All the characters were complex and interesting. Beautifully written, and I felt that this novella packed a powerful punch. I can't wait to see more from Terri Wolffe. The storyline is sexy and smart. I strongly recommend reading if you want a sexy romp tale. Beware, you'll want more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    Sexy and smart...thank you Terri Wolffe

    I was intrigued by the book's description and purchased it...the price was right. I didn't expect to be floored by this very romantic story that is bursting with sexy interludes that will take your breath away. All I can say is Wow...Terri Wolffe...great imagination, smart, sexy, and romantic. You won't be able to stop reading it. A note to the author, what's next?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    A heartwarming and erotic tease - Highly Recommended!

    I was surprised to discover how much I enjoyed reading Desperate Desires. I loved how the romance and sexual tension built up between the characters. For me, it was refreshing that the heroine and hero didn't jump into bed on page one. You can sense the connection building between these two characters so that when the sex scenes do occur, they're so hot they burn right off the pages. The way Lucien and Lucinda made love to each other was so vivid, you felt like you were there. I would say that this novella was well worth the money spent. When I got to the end, I didn't want it to end! I wanted the story to continue. I'm looking forward to reading more books by Terri Wolffe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    Different plot, good hot sex

    Fairly well written. Interesting story with spicy hot sex. Only about 120 pages but a lot happens in them. Would look forward to a sequel. First book I've read by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Part 16

    I dream that I am on a boat, traveling down a murky river. Tree grow out of the water, and reach so high that I can not see the tops, they fade out. "Where am I?" I ask no one. The hazy yellow air is thick but not hot. "The spirit world" answered a mans voice. I turn around but can not see anyone. Then the boat stops, and a figure rises out of the water. A bald man with arrow tattoos, and a brown beard. "Avatar Aang?" I ask in awe. He nods. I am puzzled. "Why have you come to me? Why am I even here? I am not the Avatar" I say in a small voice. "We have chosen your destiny. You are not the avatar, but what you have to do is something that only an avatar could" he says calmly. I gape at him. "So then why can't the Avatar do it?" I ask numbly. I know what he is talking about. The Blood Plague. "Everyone is important and and everyone has their own destiny. Avatar Korra has her own things to do. We have chosen you and Noatak for this" he explains. I look around as the past avatars appear all around Aang. Avatar Roku, Kyoshi, Kuruk, and so on. "This is an honor, but it is extremely dangerous. Be careful" Aang speaks with the voice of all the Avatars. Then the Spirit world distorts and dissapears in a flash of light. I open my eyes and sit up slowly. I feel peaceful. Had I actually gone into the Spirit world? An honor indeed. I got up and got prepared for the day. After I got dressed, I went over to the fire place. The chilly morning was biting but the fire was toasty. I saw Noatak and Jira sitting around the table. I joined them. "Some tea?" Asks Jira kindly. I accept a cup, and sip the warm liquid slowly. Noatak is stoney. "What is going on?" I ask both of them. Jira does look troubled. "Akiro is worse...he is...going to leave this world soon" she says slowly. I feel my heart freeze and thud painfully. Why a child? I notice smoldering anger in Noatak's eyes. "This man is sick" he says, his voice thick with hatred. He goes outside and I frown. Jira has her eyes closed. I put my cup down and get up. I don't see Noatak at first when I step outside but I spot him sitting against a snow bank a few feet away. I go and sit by him, my hands on my knees. "You are mad, but you still think we should wait don't you?" I ask, looking at my fingers. "Yes" he sighs. "Last night, I had a dream. I was in the Spirit world and I met Avatar Aang" I start. I watch Noatak carefully, but his emotions are guarded well. "He told me we had been chosen to stop this creep. Avatar Korra has her own problems". I watch him cringe at the mention of Avatar Korra. Did he know her? I got up and brushed dusty snow off of me. Something flickered in the corner of my eye. A shadow. "Did you see that?" I ask him. He slowly stands up. I see it again, this time Noatak does too. A man. To be continued in next book.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    A Very Good Read!

    I loved Desperate Desires. Can someone tell me where on earth a woman can find a good man like Lucien? Oh, that's right. It was only fiction. I will read more by this arthor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9