Customer Reviews for

Desperate Duchesses (Desperate Duchesses Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Good Indeed.

I don't feel that the story was scattered at all. I truly enjoy Eloisa's books because there is rarely some big bad monster of a man hiding in the wings. Her stories seem much more plausible for real life and are simply about people. This was a fun story that took a bit...
I don't feel that the story was scattered at all. I truly enjoy Eloisa's books because there is rarely some big bad monster of a man hiding in the wings. Her stories seem much more plausible for real life and are simply about people. This was a fun story that took a bit to really get started, but once it did it moved quite swiftly. All the characters were overly fun and well developed. I only cried the smallest amount toward the end but most of the time I was smiking and laughing. The story was well wrapped up at the end. To me there were no dangling characters or wayward thoughts. This certainly is worth the buy and tthe whole series is worth investing in.

posted by LisaMR on May 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I hope the next one is better

I have read several of her books and looked forward to this one as they have all been very good. Ouch! This one is a struggle to get through. None of the characters make you care about what happens to them and the situations are sometimes confusing. Not this authors bes...
I have read several of her books and looked forward to this one as they have all been very good. Ouch! This one is a struggle to get through. None of the characters make you care about what happens to them and the situations are sometimes confusing. Not this authors best work for sure!

posted by Anonymous on July 6, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    Very Good Indeed.

    I don't feel that the story was scattered at all. I truly enjoy Eloisa's books because there is rarely some big bad monster of a man hiding in the wings. Her stories seem much more plausible for real life and are simply about people. This was a fun story that took a bit to really get started, but once it did it moved quite swiftly. All the characters were overly fun and well developed. I only cried the smallest amount toward the end but most of the time I was smiking and laughing. The story was well wrapped up at the end. To me there were no dangling characters or wayward thoughts. This certainly is worth the buy and tthe whole series is worth investing in.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    Engrossing Characters

    I tend to be a very picky reader and tend to hate romance novels that spend too much time with secondary characters, and this one spends so much time with the secondary characters it¿s hard to call them secondary, but I loved this book. I wasn¿t even finished before I went on-line and ordered every one of the author¿s books. The characters are so complex and engrossing, that they pull you in despite their many, many faults. The lead romance could have used a bit more time to develop, but it was beautifully sensual and lovely. And Bravo to the author for having the courage to write something other than regency.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2007

    Thoroughly enjoyable

    I really enjoyed this book and it was my first one by this author. I found the characters entertaining and I loved the references to chess. James put a new spin on romance novels and I found it quite refreshing. I enjoyed the fact that she left you hanging with some of the plot because it made me feel as though she's going to write a sequel. Which I really hope she does. I found all the characters to be very flawed which made them very human and many of their reactions were surprising which accentuated their uniqueness. A fun read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Wonderful

    I almost putthis book down because i couldnt get into the beginning of the book. I am so happy thzt i stayed with it because i thoroughly enjoyed the story. Looking forward to the next book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    Great Historical Romance

    A friend recommended this series to me and this was the first one I read. At first I had a difficult time becoming interested in the plot because the author assumes the reader is accustomed to terms from regency period. I imagine if you have read many historical novels of this period it would easier to dive right into the story. Once I became familiar with the language I found it a fun sexy read. The characters are obviously well suited for each other and the reader is rooting for them to get together. There is a great deal of secondary characters who the author is obviously introducing so that the reader is interested in them. They will clearly be popping up in future installments in the series. I am concerned, yet intrigued, because many of these characters seem to lack character which may make them unsympathetic primary characters in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    New Series

    I actually liked this book. They way she writes took a bit to get used to but by chapter 2 it was all good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    First book of the series..

    This is the first book by Eloisa James that I read. And of course it starts out her series. Well at first I was a little confused by the writting bc she goes back and fourth. Never read a book quite like this one before. But I loved it bc you learn not only about Roberta and Damon but you also learn about the other characters that are in books that follow. I would def recommend this series. If you love romance, and stories about the ton you will love this! One of the best series I've read to date. And I will be buying the Essex sister books next!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2009

    Fun Escapism

    Nice for a long airplane ride-- I don't usually buy romances, but this one was pretty good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    Too many characters

    I could see where the author was going with this series, but honestly, the only characters that I was interested in were the Duke & Duchess of Beaumont. THEIR story was the one I want to hear about and could have been written in one book instead of being drawn out into several in this 'series'. The 'main' characters where uninteresting and I frequently hit skim-mode through out the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2007

    Delicious

    I love Eloisa's books because she never writes down to a reader. They are witty and smart, and you can re-read them and always find something new. Desperate Duchesses is sexy, complex, and the dialogue made me LOL several times. I can't wait for the next one in this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2007

    A Fun New Sub-Genre of Romance

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters felt very 'real' for their time period and the historical detail was rich and layered. The book was very fresh and almost more like an ensemble comedy/drama with a lot of witty banter. My favorite characters were Jemma and her estranged husband and I hope we'll be seeing more of them later in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2007

    SCRUMPTUOUS

    James writes the sort of characters that I love, flawed and funny and sexy. I love how she weaves the characters' stories together and especially the women's relationships, to make a big, satisfying story. In DESPERATE DUCHESEES she's done this again. Damon is a sexy, sexy animal and Roberta is his match in wits as well as wants. Unique amongst romance writers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    Lady Roberta St. Giles wants a husband and her father isn't helping matters any. Known as the Mad Marquess, her father's unusual poetry and unusual lifestyle has scared away any suitors that may have been interested in the lovely Lady Roberta. It is clear Lady Roberta will have to take matters in her own hands. After spying the beautifully proper Duke of Villiers at a ball, Lady Roberta heads to London on a mission to become the next Duchess of Villiers. With the help from a very distant relative, the Duchess of Beaumont, Lady Roberta captures the eye of not only the Duke of Villiers but of the Duchesses brother, the Earl of Gryffyn. Eloisa James writes such smart and witty romances that I can't help but adore them. And I do adore Desperate Duchesses. I was quite desperate myself for Roberta to pick the man I was crazy in love with and my heart would have been broken if she hadn't. With a story that will just suck you right in, Desperate Duchesses has secondary characters that will leave you begging for the next in this series. I am, well, desperate for more Desperate Duchesses! Annmarie reviewed for Joyfully Reviewed

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    I hope the next one is better

    I have read several of her books and looked forward to this one as they have all been very good. Ouch! This one is a struggle to get through. None of the characters make you care about what happens to them and the situations are sometimes confusing. Not this authors best work for sure!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Slow starter

    Not one of her best efforts but not bad overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Wonderful

    Truly a great plot. Interesting characters and just enough heat. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Part 7

    I laugh a bit. "Sorry". I see that the boat has gone several feet away from the shore. I wave to my mother and she does the same. "When unexperienced waterbenders feel strong emotion, they can have a powerful yet uncontrolled effect on the water" he explains. "Okay, sorry, I will try that again" I say. I get into stance and do the movement several times over until we are moving steadily through the water. With a burst of joy I realize that I was living my dream, traveling the world. "This is so great!" I shout happily. The rippling water smooths out as we gain speed. A few more miles out, I can feel us slowing down. I create a small ribbon of water and twirl it through my fingers before it falls back into the sea. "You are losing focus. Remember, you are in control of the water. It will do what you want it to. Draw power off of the moon" he reminds me, waterbending a thick stream of water around him and letting it splash back into the ocean. I concentrate hard and draw another stronger ribbon of water. The movement feels natural somehow, and I form the water into an orb. I toss it from hand to hand, and then cry out as it breaks over my head. "What happened? I thought I had good concentration!" I splutter. I can tell Noatak is holding back a laugh. "You are just getting tired. It took a lot of stamina getting the boat to go that fast at your level" he tells me. I force the water to run off of me when suddenly the tiredness of the day crashes over me. Noatak notices. "Go to sleep for a while, I will stay awake" he says. I nod tiredly and rest my head on my arm. For a minute I just look at Noatak. The swelling moon had just risen, and the last golden rays of sun made him look like he was glowing. Then I drift off with the steady swaying of the boat. My dreams are dark. I see myself run to the edge of the ice on the day my father died. I watch as I sob, and then a hand grabs me and is dragging me towards the watery grave. I look back and scream. It is a skeleton, one wearing an Equalist suit. I plunge into the cold water, floating into the darkness. As my seven year old self watches and paws at the water with fear stricken eyes. I jolt awake with a gasp, causing the boat to sway. Noatak looks at me, concerned. "Are you all right?" He asks me. "No" I admit, still feeling the boney hands around my ankles. "Do you want to talk about it?" He asks me. I shake my head. "I will be okay" I say. "It is your turn to sleep" I tell him. He nods and goes over to take my place. "Wait, did you heal yourself today" I ask him. "I got everything except my neck" he says. I pull up some water and watch as it begins to glow. I reach my hand toward him and he grabs my wrist. I tense. "Please let me help you" I whisper. Slowly his hand falls away, and I run my hand over the patch of angry red skin. His eyes close and I let him sleep. To be continued at the next result...

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    All over the place

    It made more sense towards the end.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not my favorite by this author

    Let's just put it this way - I couldn't bring myself to read the entire book. And I love Eloisa James. This was just not her best effort to date. Too many characters, many of them difficult to like, and some of the story lines were just uncomfortable. I doubt that I will read the rest of the series, so I hope that James gets them published quickly so that we can all move on to things better and more enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    This new Eloisa James novel sparkles with dry wit and unusual, appealing characters! I really loved the hero and liked the way the heorine matured. The subplots were fascinating and I look forward to the next installment in the series. Once you start this book you won't want to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4