Customer Reviews for

Desperate Housedogs (Pampered Pets Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Pamper yourself with a fun cozy mystery read!

I'm lucky enough to have read the advance reading copy and found it to be a light-hearted mystery with a likeable cast of characters set in wonderful Laguna Beach where pets are pampered and people are passionate about their four-legged family members. There's an excent...
I'm lucky enough to have read the advance reading copy and found it to be a light-hearted mystery with a likeable cast of characters set in wonderful Laguna Beach where pets are pampered and people are passionate about their four-legged family members. There's an excentric here and there and a pet pschologist who ends up solving a murder. The authors voice is clear with a bit of wry humor. I recommend this book if you like an quick enjoyable read. Can't wait for the next book in the series by Sparkle Abbey!

posted by TJW1950 on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Average

Okay, but not a reread for me. Author does keep more than one story line: one personal and one professional to the main character. Not a particulary devious plot. 212 pages long with a preview of another story.

posted by 7863911 on October 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wish it had been better

    The title drew me in, finished it because I hate to leave a book unread. While I wanted to like this book, animal murder mystery I just couldn’t. The main character Caro was flat to me, she was developed very little and I just couldn’t connect with her. I had a similar problem with all the characters not enough about them to be interested really if they lived or died. And Judd Malone the detective, come on, no romance there at all, just so much left unsaid it made me sad.
    The idea behind the book was original and it definitely was a light read. I am just sad it didn’t pull me in as much as I wanted.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Fun book.

    Light reading. But fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Great read!

    I enjoyed the book, so much I bought the second in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Desperate Housedogs (Pampered Pets Mystery Series #1)

    Enjoyed this book. Mystery mixed with humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    A good, fun read

    I enjoyed this book. The characters (including the pets) were fun. The plot was plausible and the ending a a surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Good Romance/Mystery. Worth the read.

    This book was very cute. The story was well written and the mystery plot was not obvious. Well worth the time. I enjoyed quite a bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Entertaining read; perfect for the beach.

    This is the first of this series I have read. It is "light" reading, but keeps your interest with humor and quirky characters. Facts about dog behavior and training run throughout the story. Just the kind of book to take on a trip to the beach, or read while waiting for an appointment. Eager to red the other books in the series and others by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Very funny!

    This is a cute start to what is sure to be a fun mystery series. Read it and laugh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Good read

    Cute story, loveable characters, pets sometimes overshadowed the plot, but I'd read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Good read on a rainy afternoon. I found the book to be enjoyabl

    Good read on a rainy afternoon. I found the book to be enjoyable. The story is about a young lady who, after a messy divorce, moved from Texas to California to start a new career as pet pschologist . When one of her customers is murdered and a very good friend has been arrested for it, she decides the police need her help in solving the murder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Eady read

    Good little clean, interesting mystrry. Special if you like dogs of all breeds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Amusing quick read

    Cute heroine that involves pets. Enjoyed the plot and characters. I will read the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Free fridays

    What happened to free fridays?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1