Customer Reviews for

Desperate Housedogs (Pampered Pets Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Pamper yourself with a fun cozy mystery read!

I'm lucky enough to have read the advance reading copy and found it to be a light-hearted mystery with a likeable cast of characters set in wonderful Laguna Beach where pets are pampered and people are passionate about their four-legged family members. There's an excent...
I'm lucky enough to have read the advance reading copy and found it to be a light-hearted mystery with a likeable cast of characters set in wonderful Laguna Beach where pets are pampered and people are passionate about their four-legged family members. There's an excentric here and there and a pet pschologist who ends up solving a murder. The authors voice is clear with a bit of wry humor. I recommend this book if you like an quick enjoyable read. Can't wait for the next book in the series by Sparkle Abbey!

posted by TJW1950 on October 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Average

Okay, but not a reread for me. Author does keep more than one story line: one personal and one professional to the main character. Not a particulary devious plot. 212 pages long with a preview of another story.

posted by 7863911 on October 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Pamper yourself with a fun cozy mystery read!

    I'm lucky enough to have read the advance reading copy and found it to be a light-hearted mystery with a likeable cast of characters set in wonderful Laguna Beach where pets are pampered and people are passionate about their four-legged family members. There's an excentric here and there and a pet pschologist who ends up solving a murder. The authors voice is clear with a bit of wry humor. I recommend this book if you like an quick enjoyable read. Can't wait for the next book in the series by Sparkle Abbey!

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Excellant read

    I had a lot of fun reading this one. Four paws way up!!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2012

    Delightful cozy mystery with strong characters and a well develo

    Delightful cozy mystery with strong characters and a well developed plot. And DOGS!!! I look forward to seeing more of Caro, Detective Malone and Sam. Only time will tell, but the battle between Caro and Mel over the ugly, but valuable, broach from their grandmothers provides lots of opportunity for future interaction and humor.
    Sometimes in cozy mysteries, I wonder why the protagonist gets involved in the investigation, but liked Kevin so I wanted Caro to address his murder.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Caro and her cousin Mel both think that they were grandma "

    Caro and her cousin Mel both think that they were grandma "Tillie" Matilda Montgomery's favorite granddaughter. That explains the horrible brooch they keep stealing from each other. Perfectly clear..right? Well that's only the first thing that will take some explaining, some amateur detective work and some deduction to clear up.
    Caro is the owner of the PAWS clinic, Professional Animal Wellness Specialist Clinic, in Laguna Beach. She caters to an upscale clientele that has issues with their dogs that they need help with. First a client dies right after Cara was with him. Turns out it was murder!
    Ruby Point, an exclusive gated community has lots of secrets. Detective Judd Malone wants Caro to keep her nose out of those secrets and his murder investigation! Let's just say our ex-beauty queen, southern gal has not learned to let things go. Not just Grandma's brooch! A great, funny romp! I won't spoil it for you. I know you will love the lighthearted mayhem too. These are people I'd like to know more about!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    Enjoyed Caroline and the dogs

    Review:Desperate Housedogs by Sparkle Abbey
    5 STARS
    I enjoyed Carolina Lamont who counsil dogs and their owners. She goes to their homes and helps train and figure out dogs bad behaviors. She also has a feud with her cousin their grandmother left a pin to her favorite grandaughter with gems in it. They both think they should own it and go after it in serious way. They are fun to watch.
    One customer that Carolina had was Kevin and his two dogs. after she left his house he was murdered. Detective Judd Malone questioned her they think she was last one to see Kevin. She realized the next day that her pin might have been lost their so she snuck back in and searched Kevin's house till she found where he put it. She actually picked up a book and took it with her that had everyones names in it with a code after each name.
    Caroline started to try and figure out the codes in the book that she copied before giving it to Detective Malone. Detective Malone kept telling her to leave it alone and let them do their job. Caroline could not stop and she found a lot of secrets that Kevin had written down in code.
    It was a good detective book. Had lots of dogs and told a little about each breed. Caroline seems like a real person with good and bad habits and history with families. I would love to read more stories with her in it and Detective Malone.
    I was given this ebook to read in exchange for honest review from Netgalley.
    12/01/2012 PUB Bell Bridge Books

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Great Cozy Mystery

    Fun cuaracters, plenty of pampered pets, and a great mystery combined fo r a quick readvery fun and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Great cosy read!

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a great cozy mystery, and laugh out loud funny. I'm looking forward to others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    A Good Read

    This is a fun read and if you like dogs and appreciate how much they are like humans you will like this - the mystery - the unique characters including the animals will have you laughing. Just a fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    A fun romp

    This is a light-hearted run in the park, perfect for a summer day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    What fun!  If you love mysteries and you love dogs, you will lov

    What fun!  If you love mysteries and you love dogs, you will love this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    To Mystery Meow

    What are you a detective?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    To mysterymeow

    My name is veronica and my boyfriend has bewn acting very strangly lately and i think he is hiding something

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Yeah

    Idvcudgjjk

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    To detective

    A slim black haired girl walked in. She sat down and pulled a peice of blank paper and lay it on his desk. She then said" you know USEing LEMON JUCIE is very nice TO UNCOVER deep blemishes. Here is a MESSAGE from my sister."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    MysteryMeow

    Thanks. Ill try and complete the case for you two. And to the one who i need to find out a name, I need at least one clue.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2