Customer Reviews for

Desperation

Average Rating 4.5
( 360 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(196)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

King takes his writing to the next level.

Everything seems normal for the various people travelling through Nevada on the U.S. 50, that is, until a cop with strange eyes pulls each of them over for no apparent reason. Mysteriously, each of the novelâ⿬⿢s characters are charged and arrested for crimes that t...
Everything seems normal for the various people travelling through Nevada on the U.S. 50, that is, until a cop with strange eyes pulls each of them over for no apparent reason. Mysteriously, each of the novelâ⿬⿢s characters are charged and arrested for crimes that they are almost certain they did not commit. One individual finds drugs in the back of his car and has no clue where they came from another is ushered into the back of the police car after all four of his tires were punctured by an inconveniently placed piece of police equipment. All of these individuals are taken to a small town in Desperation, Nevada, an area with a name that sets the mood for the novel. The plot takes an ugly twist almost immediately when the now erratic and seemingly insane cop kills off one individual and throws the rest into holding cells. From there, the main characters of the novel, which are surprisingly well developed, despite the large amount of them, try to break out of the copâ⿬⿢s prison (complete with a guard wolf), and escape from the twisted and plagued town which prays upon the fears and weaknesses of each individual, undermining their every move in an attempt to supply hosts for a greater, primal entity. While it may seem that Kingâ⿬⿢s novel is a bit out there and much too unbelievable to contain anything beside a fun read, this is not so. In fact, one of Desperationâ⿬⿢s most appealing factors is its in-depth analysis of the human psyche, which, as a real world application, presents a satisfying contrast to the novelâ⿬⿢s fantastical (Although I stress that it is darker and more twisted than the typical fantasy tales) plot. Combine such an intriguing, thought provoking story with Stephen Kingâ⿬⿢s writing, which describes every horrible moment of the novel in such a way that the reader can picture the scene perfectly. Desperation is the only book that I have ever read which was able, through such descriptive writing and a captivating, yet revolting (in a good way), tale, to make me paranoid for a while after putting it down at night. Thus, I give Desperation a full five star rating and label it as one of my favorite books.

posted by Anonymous on August 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

<3 it

I got up the courage to borrow this from the library because i had heard about stephen king and wanted try him out. I had a hell of a time trying to hide this book from my parents because of how big it was but i thought it was worth it. The villain seriously gave me nig...
I got up the courage to borrow this from the library because i had heard about stephen king and wanted try him out. I had a hell of a time trying to hide this book from my parents because of how big it was but i thought it was worth it. The villain seriously gave me nightmares and i couldnt sleep with my closet open. It was awesome. If u like to be scared read this at night alone. I thought that the story was really good. A lot of swearing though but not a big deal after a while. This book got me hooked on king. He is da bomb.

posted by 16956267 on July 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 360 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    King takes his writing to the next level.

    Everything seems normal for the various people travelling through Nevada on the U.S. 50, that is, until a cop with strange eyes pulls each of them over for no apparent reason. Mysteriously, each of the novelâ⿬⿢s characters are charged and arrested for crimes that they are almost certain they did not commit. One individual finds drugs in the back of his car and has no clue where they came from another is ushered into the back of the police car after all four of his tires were punctured by an inconveniently placed piece of police equipment. All of these individuals are taken to a small town in Desperation, Nevada, an area with a name that sets the mood for the novel. The plot takes an ugly twist almost immediately when the now erratic and seemingly insane cop kills off one individual and throws the rest into holding cells. From there, the main characters of the novel, which are surprisingly well developed, despite the large amount of them, try to break out of the copâ⿬⿢s prison (complete with a guard wolf), and escape from the twisted and plagued town which prays upon the fears and weaknesses of each individual, undermining their every move in an attempt to supply hosts for a greater, primal entity. While it may seem that Kingâ⿬⿢s novel is a bit out there and much too unbelievable to contain anything beside a fun read, this is not so. In fact, one of Desperationâ⿬⿢s most appealing factors is its in-depth analysis of the human psyche, which, as a real world application, presents a satisfying contrast to the novelâ⿬⿢s fantastical (Although I stress that it is darker and more twisted than the typical fantasy tales) plot. Combine such an intriguing, thought provoking story with Stephen Kingâ⿬⿢s writing, which describes every horrible moment of the novel in such a way that the reader can picture the scene perfectly. Desperation is the only book that I have ever read which was able, through such descriptive writing and a captivating, yet revolting (in a good way), tale, to make me paranoid for a while after putting it down at night. Thus, I give Desperation a full five star rating and label it as one of my favorite books.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Desperate!

    I started reading Stephen King as a teenager. Back then he could throw anything at me and I ate it up. As an adult, he actually goes places I'm not sure I like him going and I'm totally horrified! He's still a masterful writer and if you love having the tarnation scared out of you, no one will do it better.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    Best of Everything, Tak!

    I think this book is classic Stephen King, and it represents the best of Stephen King. I loved this book for the same reasons I love The Green Mile and The Stand. The novel contains a well proportioned mix of fear, humanity, and spirituality. What made Desperation different from The Stand and The Green Mile was that the scare factor was much larger in this novel. There was a lot more violence, suspense, and thrill to it. However, the undertones of the story, i.e. the spirituality of it, was what really made it impossible for me to put down. I read it in less than a week, which is unprecedented for a slow reader like me. Don't listen to the nay-sayers. This book is VERY worth reading and I suggest you give it a try if you are feeling on the fence about it.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    best ever

    This is my favorite Steven King novel. I dont have any descriptive words on why other than I simply could not ever put the book down. As if I was living the story.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2001

    Great book

    'Desperation' is the best book I ever read...A real page turner. Keep up the good work, King!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Desperation this book is amazing!

    This book is just the perfect amount of scary, suspensful, and gory. The way Stephen King uses adjectives in this book is absolutely phenomenon. Kept me up all night I never wanted the book to end. If you're into suspensful books and you love Stephen King then this is book for you I would recommend this book highly!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    A very good book to read. Parts were so detailed that it was ha

    A very good book to read. Parts were so detailed that it was hard to sleep at night. As always when finishing his books I end up wanting more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    Tak!

    One of the only books over 500 pages to keep me hooked from start to finish. Some chapters, I'd say, were completely useless and therefor confuse the plot up a little. Great read, though, and I'd highly recommend it to anyone who likes good old fashion horror novels.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Too much of a good thing.

    King once stated that short stories are difficult for him because he "writes like a fat woman diets".
    This book is a case in point!
    Too long winded!
    I like his effort until he goes on and on and on; telling the same story from a dozen different angles.
    Thr first half was good but he just tired me out in the repetition.....this novel was about 150 pages too long.
    He reminds me of my father in law....just doesn't know when to shut up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Frightening!!!

    By far this is one of Kings most petrifying books...I like to read this one around Halloween with every light on, of course!! Wont be going to Nevada anytime soon...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Love this book!

    I actually read this book years ago and bought it to read it again. This book is thrilling from page 1 and never loses momentum. One of my faves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Just incase you needed a reason to be leary of small desert towns.....LOL. Great book!

    This was the 2nd Stephen King book I ever read and I couldn't put it down.....and that says a lot because I'm generally not a heavy reader. Great book! A must read for any Stephen King fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    Leave on a holiday and find yourself fighting for your life and

    Leave on a holiday and find yourself fighting for your life and soul. This is the basis of Stephen King's Desperation. I love Stephen King. In my opinion no other horror writer can match him, and this is definitely one of his better novels. Scary, thought-provoking and uplifting, this book is difficult to put down. I recommend it to fans and non-fans alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    Gud 1..:)

    Gud 1..:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Deep and involving

    This book makes you jump at loud noises even though it isnt that scary. An awesome story full of gore and a battle of good and evil. This is one of my favorites. I love the effect of gods hand in the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    ~Twi

    I find it very humerous that just because I am a Brony whenever I read this they assume it's a pony book, but they don't understand me when I sarcastically state, "Oh, yes, I know how fascinated Stephen King is in ponies; I hear his favorite is Pinkie Pie!"
    They always give this dumbfounded look, as if I had just spoken Japanese to them or something. I really do hate this new generation.
    Oh, and the book was brilliant as usual. I feel he could have added a few more scares, though.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Wordy, like most of King's books.

    Took me a while to get through and was slow and confusing at times. Ending was good but not crazy. I would not read it again but wpuld recommend if someone liked other King books. Original but gory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    To the Author

    That was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    TO ALL RPERS sorry for tresspassing

    Rp three ponies/three uniguses at mlp lall results. There is Sparkle Luck(women), Apple Leh(man), and Feather Crawl(girl). Their discriptions in mlp result two. There can be more than one rping the same unigus. Only rp them if you are a loyal active rper and you like my little pony. Please rp them!

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    To Author of Korra story

    Good job.i like it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 360 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18