BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Desperation

Average Rating 4.5
( 364 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(198)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(50)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

King takes his writing to the next level.

Everything seems normal for the various people travelling through Nevada on the U.S. 50, that is, until a cop with strange eyes pulls each of them over for no apparent reason. Mysteriously, each of the novelâ⿬⿢s characters are charged and arrested for crimes that t...
Everything seems normal for the various people travelling through Nevada on the U.S. 50, that is, until a cop with strange eyes pulls each of them over for no apparent reason. Mysteriously, each of the novelâ⿬⿢s characters are charged and arrested for crimes that they are almost certain they did not commit. One individual finds drugs in the back of his car and has no clue where they came from another is ushered into the back of the police car after all four of his tires were punctured by an inconveniently placed piece of police equipment. All of these individuals are taken to a small town in Desperation, Nevada, an area with a name that sets the mood for the novel. The plot takes an ugly twist almost immediately when the now erratic and seemingly insane cop kills off one individual and throws the rest into holding cells. From there, the main characters of the novel, which are surprisingly well developed, despite the large amount of them, try to break out of the copâ⿬⿢s prison (complete with a guard wolf), and escape from the twisted and plagued town which prays upon the fears and weaknesses of each individual, undermining their every move in an attempt to supply hosts for a greater, primal entity. While it may seem that Kingâ⿬⿢s novel is a bit out there and much too unbelievable to contain anything beside a fun read, this is not so. In fact, one of Desperationâ⿬⿢s most appealing factors is its in-depth analysis of the human psyche, which, as a real world application, presents a satisfying contrast to the novelâ⿬⿢s fantastical (Although I stress that it is darker and more twisted than the typical fantasy tales) plot. Combine such an intriguing, thought provoking story with Stephen Kingâ⿬⿢s writing, which describes every horrible moment of the novel in such a way that the reader can picture the scene perfectly. Desperation is the only book that I have ever read which was able, through such descriptive writing and a captivating, yet revolting (in a good way), tale, to make me paranoid for a while after putting it down at night. Thus, I give Desperation a full five star rating and label it as one of my favorite books.

posted by Anonymous on August 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

<3 it

I got up the courage to borrow this from the library because i had heard about stephen king and wanted try him out. I had a hell of a time trying to hide this book from my parents because of how big it was but i thought it was worth it. The villain seriously gave me nig...
I got up the courage to borrow this from the library because i had heard about stephen king and wanted try him out. I had a hell of a time trying to hide this book from my parents because of how big it was but i thought it was worth it. The villain seriously gave me nightmares and i couldnt sleep with my closet open. It was awesome. If u like to be scared read this at night alone. I thought that the story was really good. A lot of swearing though but not a big deal after a while. This book got me hooked on king. He is da bomb.

posted by 16956267 on July 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    King takes his writing to the next level.

    Everything seems normal for the various people travelling through Nevada on the U.S. 50, that is, until a cop with strange eyes pulls each of them over for no apparent reason. Mysteriously, each of the novelâ⿬⿢s characters are charged and arrested for crimes that they are almost certain they did not commit. One individual finds drugs in the back of his car and has no clue where they came from another is ushered into the back of the police car after all four of his tires were punctured by an inconveniently placed piece of police equipment. All of these individuals are taken to a small town in Desperation, Nevada, an area with a name that sets the mood for the novel. The plot takes an ugly twist almost immediately when the now erratic and seemingly insane cop kills off one individual and throws the rest into holding cells. From there, the main characters of the novel, which are surprisingly well developed, despite the large amount of them, try to break out of the copâ⿬⿢s prison (complete with a guard wolf), and escape from the twisted and plagued town which prays upon the fears and weaknesses of each individual, undermining their every move in an attempt to supply hosts for a greater, primal entity. While it may seem that Kingâ⿬⿢s novel is a bit out there and much too unbelievable to contain anything beside a fun read, this is not so. In fact, one of Desperationâ⿬⿢s most appealing factors is its in-depth analysis of the human psyche, which, as a real world application, presents a satisfying contrast to the novelâ⿬⿢s fantastical (Although I stress that it is darker and more twisted than the typical fantasy tales) plot. Combine such an intriguing, thought provoking story with Stephen Kingâ⿬⿢s writing, which describes every horrible moment of the novel in such a way that the reader can picture the scene perfectly. Desperation is the only book that I have ever read which was able, through such descriptive writing and a captivating, yet revolting (in a good way), tale, to make me paranoid for a while after putting it down at night. Thus, I give Desperation a full five star rating and label it as one of my favorite books.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Desperate!

    I started reading Stephen King as a teenager. Back then he could throw anything at me and I ate it up. As an adult, he actually goes places I'm not sure I like him going and I'm totally horrified! He's still a masterful writer and if you love having the tarnation scared out of you, no one will do it better.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    Best of Everything, Tak!

    I think this book is classic Stephen King, and it represents the best of Stephen King. I loved this book for the same reasons I love The Green Mile and The Stand. The novel contains a well proportioned mix of fear, humanity, and spirituality. What made Desperation different from The Stand and The Green Mile was that the scare factor was much larger in this novel. There was a lot more violence, suspense, and thrill to it. However, the undertones of the story, i.e. the spirituality of it, was what really made it impossible for me to put down. I read it in less than a week, which is unprecedented for a slow reader like me. Don't listen to the nay-sayers. This book is VERY worth reading and I suggest you give it a try if you are feeling on the fence about it.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    best ever

    This is my favorite Steven King novel. I dont have any descriptive words on why other than I simply could not ever put the book down. As if I was living the story.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2001

    Great book

    'Desperation' is the best book I ever read...A real page turner. Keep up the good work, King!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Desperation this book is amazing!

    This book is just the perfect amount of scary, suspensful, and gory. The way Stephen King uses adjectives in this book is absolutely phenomenon. Kept me up all night I never wanted the book to end. If you're into suspensful books and you love Stephen King then this is book for you I would recommend this book highly!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Frightening!!!

    By far this is one of Kings most petrifying books...I like to read this one around Halloween with every light on, of course!! Wont be going to Nevada anytime soon...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Love this book!

    I actually read this book years ago and bought it to read it again. This book is thrilling from page 1 and never loses momentum. One of my faves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Ember

    I absolutely loved this book! Honestly it has become one of my favorite books of all time, I could not put it down! I just finished The Regulators and was so glad I read this one first. It has the right amount of everything....horror, gore, a complete storyline (including backstory), sacrifice, love, friendship....I teared up at the end! The "excused early" pass, you all know what I'm talking about, it gave me goosebumps! This is the Stephen King I love...a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    I just read The Regulators, which is a companion book of sorts t

    I just read The Regulators, which is a companion book of sorts to Desperation. Unfortunately, The Regulators, which was written as a Bachman book, was not very good, but Desperation is a proper King story, and I really like it. I've seen the miniseries version, and at first I was upset because the low-budget TV images kept coming to mind for all the characters, but about 100 pages in, my mind had overwritten them and was charting its own territory -- with King's help, of course. Good book with surprisingly engaging prose at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Just incase you needed a reason to be leary of small desert towns.....LOL. Great book!

    This was the 2nd Stephen King book I ever read and I couldn't put it down.....and that says a lot because I'm generally not a heavy reader. Great book! A must read for any Stephen King fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Deep and involving

    This book makes you jump at loud noises even though it isnt that scary. An awesome story full of gore and a battle of good and evil. This is one of my favorites. I love the effect of gods hand in the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    To the Author

    That was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    TO ALL RPERS sorry for tresspassing

    Rp three ponies/three uniguses at mlp lall results. There is Sparkle Luck(women), Apple Leh(man), and Feather Crawl(girl). Their discriptions in mlp result two. There can be more than one rping the same unigus. Only rp them if you are a loyal active rper and you like my little pony. Please rp them!

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    To Author of Korra story

    Good job.i like it :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Part 1

    Snow falls softly for as far as the eye can see. Cynali watches in wonder, bundled up in warm furs. Snow rarely falls in the south pole, but it piles up because there is no warmth to melt the snow that is all ready on the ground. She reaches her hand out, and catches a small glittering flake on her dark mitten. Snowflakes were said to have patterns, but all that Cynali say before it melted was a clump of fragile ice shards. "Cynali, come in! You haven't finished your chores yet!" Called her mother, Sura. Cynali frowned a bit and got to her feet. She was tall for a seven year old. Her dark brown hair reached just past her shoulders and was braided with light blue beads. Her front hair was messy and touseled, and hung in her face. She took one last glimpse of the falling snow and walked toward the igloo that she called home. To get inside, she had to push past a hanging pelt and walk through a small tube like tunnel. Her mother was waiting inside, sitting on a mat by the fire pit in the center. Her kind brown eyes were looking down at a pair of pants. "You didn't finish patching these up" she sighed without looking up. "Mom, it was SNOWING outside. I had to go and watch" Cynali countered. With a huff of bordom, she sat on the mat next to her mother. Sura passed the ripped trousers to her daughter. "Your father should be back soon, so don't dilly dally" she instructed, getting to her feet. Cynali watched her mother leave the igloo. Like always, she would go to Pala's igloo. Pala was a friend, and she needed help prepairing dinner for her own large family. Cynali shook her head and grabbed her needle and some thread. The smell of the cooking sea prunes in her own home wafted around, making her stomach growl. She started sewing and let her mind drift. After going on a hunting and fishing trip for four days, her father Roukka would finally be coming home! A smile crept onto her face. A sharp pinch jerked her back to the present and she cried out. A small drop of blood beaded up on her finger. She cringed and sucked on her finger gently. She didn't yet know how to use her amatuer waterbending powers to heal, so she walked out to gather some snow. She had just bent down to pick up a clump when a horn sounded. Through the falling snow she could just make out a group of people. They were back! Everyone was exiting their homes to greet husbands, siblings, and friends. Cynali ran foward and let her father scoop her up into a hug. They had caught a lot of fish! She could see the other men hauling large nets. Cynali walked back to her mother with the group. While everyone talked and greeted one another Cynali thought she could hear a distant humming. The horn blared again, and everyone was silent. There was definitely a humming sound, and it was getting closer. Within a few minutes, she could see the plane landing at the edge of the small village. No one moved. Five men got out of it and started slowly coming forward. The only sound was their boots crunching over the snow. Who were these people, and what did they want? To be continued at the next result....

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Amazingly horrifying

    Dumdumdada

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Desperation to Read a Good Book!

    I truly enjoyed Desperation by Stephen King! The plot was amazing and well thought up. This was my third taste of a Stephen King book, the other two being Colarado Kid and The Last Stand. It was extremely hard for me to guess what was going to happen next. Mr. King writes what you would never expect!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Read this review :)

    This book is really good. It has alot of bad words, profane and related topics.. But very good. I would say ment for age 14 and up atleast. STORY AWESOME!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!

    I love King's work and this book is definitely one of my favorites. If you're worried about the story starting slow like some of his others dont! Crazy things start happening almost immediately which makes it almost impossible to put down. I highly recommend this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 198 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10